Usa Clubs Should Be Banned From Taking Players Other Than Bona-Fide Students From Ireland In Summer

Replying To rossno1:  "Only one way to find out is to challenge it. If I was a manager of a club in Ireland and I lost a county final to a team who contained players who had played championship football in the US then I would without doubt put in an objection stating the rule violation."
Would they not have to transfer to the club in the US to play championship over there? And if so they wouldn't be playing for their home club until they transfer back?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 09/08/2023 16:33:28    2499780

Replying To Viking66:  "Would they not have to transfer to the club in the US to play championship over there? And if so they wouldn't be playing for their home club until they transfer back?"
Yes that's my understanding but what I would like to see is the rule applied or amended to read once you play in one championship for one club you cannot play in a second championship for another club. That's the rule applied everywhere except the USA at the moment and for me that needs to be addressed.

rossno1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 09/08/2023 18:58:46    2499796

Replying To rossno1:  "Yes that's my understanding but what I would like to see is the rule applied or amended to read once you play in one championship for one club you cannot play in a second championship for another club. That's the rule applied everywhere except the USA at the moment and for me that needs to be addressed."
Why? They are in entirely different compeitions and on another continent thousands of miles away.
I can never get over the begrudgery from some that surrounds young lads heading to the US to play a bit of football. There will be time enough for changing nappies, worrying about bills and playing club championship at home (not that they're missing this at it is).

If it ever came to pass that club players within a county, or even Ireland, were attempting to play in two different championships then yes I'd agree we'd have an issue. In fact, if memory serves me didn't NUIG used to participate in the Galway SFC once upon a time? I have a vague memory of Colm McFadden playing for NUIG in the Glaway SFC one summer. Maybe Galway posters could help with this... but that was a complete outlier which no longer happens as far as I know.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 10/08/2023 10:35:17    2499840

Replying To rossno1:  "Good man so its fine in your eyes for certain clubs to adhere to the rules and for others to break them. I sincerely hope your opinion is not a representative one..Just to let you know I would put an objection in before any game so the club that is breaking the rules are aware up front as they should be aware they are breaking a rule of fair play within the gaa.."
The USA clubs and Australian clubs don't play in the All Ireland Chamionship so no players are playing for two clubs that could end up in the same competition. London Clubs play in the All Ireland Championship.
Can you report all the clubs to Croke park and get them kicked out if you are so sure they are cheating. You would get far with that objection i would say. You would be laughed at.....

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 10/08/2023 10:37:09    2499841

Replying To sourmilk93:  "The USA clubs and Australian clubs don't play in the All Ireland Chamionship so no players are playing for two clubs that could end up in the same competition. London Clubs play in the All Ireland Championship.
Can you report all the clubs to Croke park and get them kicked out if you are so sure they are cheating. You would get far with that objection i would say. You would be laughed at....."
That makes sense, I actually thought that the winners of the USA championship played in the connaught club championships. Thanks for clarifying this makes perfect sense. All I was trying to ensure was that the rules were being applied correctly everywhere. I have one other question then and it would be great to clarify this too. Why do the gaa insist on players going to the USA or Australia being official transfers and why do players need to go through that process if you are transferring from a club in ireland to a club in the usa or Australia if they are not competing in the all ireland club championship?

rossno1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 10/08/2023 11:39:13    2499857

Replying To rossno1:  "Yes that's my understanding but what I would like to see is the rule applied or amended to read once you play in one championship for one club you cannot play in a second championship for another club. That's the rule applied everywhere except the USA at the moment and for me that needs to be addressed."
Are the USA championships official though? And why exactly should a young lad not play the game he loves when he is travelling?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 10/08/2023 12:39:38    2499875

How about breaching the amateur ethos?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1464 - 10/08/2023 12:45:12    2499877

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Why? They are in entirely different compeitions and on another continent thousands of miles away.
I can never get over the begrudgery from some that surrounds young lads heading to the US to play a bit of football. There will be time enough for changing nappies, worrying about bills and playing club championship at home (not that they're missing this at it is).

If it ever came to pass that club players within a county, or even Ireland, were attempting to play in two different championships then yes I'd agree we'd have an issue. In fact, if memory serves me didn't NUIG used to participate in the Galway SFC once upon a time? I have a vague memory of Colm McFadden playing for NUIG in the Glaway SFC one summer. Maybe Galway posters could help with this... but that was a complete outlier which no longer happens as far as I know."
In relation to NUIG. You couldn't play at the same level in another championship. For example students from Galway who came from intermediate clubs could play senior championship with College and intermediate with their club. But not senior for both. That was the rule at the time. No longer an issue obviously.

NorthWestern (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 10/08/2023 13:46:28    2499885

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "How about breaching the amateur ethos?"
Ah yes "amateur"....ahem...

If we're going down that route we'd need to start looking far closer to home first. But noone wants to open that can of worms I'd say.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 10/08/2023 13:48:58    2499886

Replying To Viking66:  "Are the USA championships official though? And why exactly should a young lad not play the game he loves when he is travelling?"
I think there is a need to look at the USA or Australia competitions from two perspectives, the student perspective and non-student perspective. I think from the student perspective any rule that the GAA has should have little or no restriction in terms of transferring between clubs but I think the rule is being used by players who are not students going to the usa for 3 months or going on a holiday for 6-12 months. In my opinion they should not be treated the same as students so is it right that they can transfer back and play for a second club in a second championship in the same calendar year ? I think it's something for discussion even though they do not play in all ireland club championship.

rossno1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 10/08/2023 14:34:41    2499899

Replying To NorthWestern:  "In relation to NUIG. You couldn't play at the same level in another championship. For example students from Galway who came from intermediate clubs could play senior championship with College and intermediate with their club. But not senior for both. That was the rule at the time. No longer an issue obviously."
Ah right you are. McFadden's club St. Michael's would have been Intermediate at the time which enabled him to play for NUIG in the Galway SFC.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 10/08/2023 15:38:25    2499925

Replying To rossno1:  "I think there is a need to look at the USA or Australia competitions from two perspectives, the student perspective and non-student perspective. I think from the student perspective any rule that the GAA has should have little or no restriction in terms of transferring between clubs but I think the rule is being used by players who are not students going to the usa for 3 months or going on a holiday for 6-12 months. In my opinion they should not be treated the same as students so is it right that they can transfer back and play for a second club in a second championship in the same calendar year ? I think it's something for discussion even though they do not play in all ireland club championship."
Most of the lads from Wexford that have gone travelling went straight after they finished college, or in some cases on a year break from teaching or other profession they took up straight away after leaving college/University. Either way why should they not play for their club if they choose to and if the club wants them to, regardless who they played for in Oz or the States or wherever? If I was a club manager I'd rather the lads did something to keep their eye in while they were away. And as regards penalising a lad purely because he wanted to travel smacks of petty jealousy. I don't know of a single lad who went anywhere just to play substandard hurling or football for buttons. Many do play while they are away but it isn't the main reason they go in the first place. Pathetic carry on out of lads on this thread whinging about it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 10/08/2023 16:09:50    2499934

Tomsmith here

It should be oted that I said Bona fide students could go to the USA to play yes to play but not to get paid.
I see a certain element from th eplay for pay brigade seem to voice an opinion agh sure if a fellow wants to go and get paid why not... That is the money Bags from the US clubs words.
I again ask the question do these money bags be out in a cold January Say morning trairing young players. Where or what is the youth Policy in these clubs.

Ban play for pay now and suspend these money bag fellows

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 11/08/2023 09:40:28    2500012

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

It should be oted that I said Bona fide students could go to the USA to play yes to play but not to get paid.
I see a certain element from th eplay for pay brigade seem to voice an opinion agh sure if a fellow wants to go and get paid why not... That is the money Bags from the US clubs words.
I again ask the question do these money bags be out in a cold January Say morning trairing young players. Where or what is the youth Policy in these clubs.

Ban play for pay now and suspend these money bag fellows"
We should look closer to home if you want to stop pay for play. The US club are causing little or no damage to the game, compared with the likes of a recent transfer back home that got that club over the line.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 11/08/2023 10:24:03    2500018

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

Ban play for pay now and suspend these money bag fellows"
Students will always go the US every summer on J1's. Most aren't paid. I'd say the % that do are county players but a small enough number in the grand scheme of things. There are so, so many other more important issues that the GAA need to sort out ahead of this. I don't get why so many have a bee in their bonnet about it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 11/08/2023 12:21:11    2500049

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Students will always go the US every summer on J1's. Most aren't paid. I'd say the % that do are county players but a small enough number in the grand scheme of things. There are so, so many other more important issues that the GAA need to sort out ahead of this. I don't get why so many have a bee in their bonnet about it."
Probably because it's making a joke of the game in the US.

It was my boyhood dream to win a Chicago "Championship" medal !

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1464 - 11/08/2023 13:32:27    2500063

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Students will always go the US every summer on J1's. Most aren't paid. I'd say the % that do are county players but a small enough number in the grand scheme of things. There are so, so many other more important issues that the GAA need to sort out ahead of this. I don't get why so many have a bee in their bonnet about it."
Lockjaw Donegal

Tomsmith here from Cavan
Lockjaw as one that comes from a Town near you who havent aGreat regard for Rules and regulations I feel its alittle rich to post what you posted.
If you look at Tomsmiths post I say let students go and play in the USA,, but not get paid.
What I am hitting out at is the adult players who Buckle to the US money Bags invitations to play for pay in the US
Money or should I say Dollars should not change hands for a person to play GAA

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 11/08/2023 13:59:04    2500070

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Probably because it's making a joke of the game in the US.

It was my boyhood dream to win a Chicago "Championship" medal !"
I don't think anyone in the history of the universe has ever uttered those words.

How is it making a joke of the game in the US? This year alone we've seen New York make big strides with their first senior championship win, as well as winning an All Ireland junior title. These teams were predominantly made up of home grown players. So the suggestion that mercenary county players heading over for a summer is somehow disrupting their progress doesn't add up.

Could it be perhaps that they are learning good habits from county players that head over? Learning off some of the best and adopting that in theri own preparations and games?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 11/08/2023 14:36:50    2500085

Replying To tomsmith:  "Lockjaw Donegal

Tomsmith here from Cavan
Lockjaw as one that comes from a Town near you who havent aGreat regard for Rules and regulations I feel its alittle rich to post what you posted.
If you look at Tomsmiths post I say let students go and play in the USA,, but not get paid.
What I am hitting out at is the adult players who Buckle to the US money Bags invitations to play for pay in the US
Money or should I say Dollars should not change hands for a person to play GAA"
I fear that you have become a bit confused Tom. Just what town is it you think I come from?
OK so the non-student "adult" players shouldn't get paid. What is your opinion on the many club and county managers up and down the country who are handsomely rewarded? Lets have every club in the country open up their books and have a good look at the "miscellaneous" and "team" expenses shall we?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 11/08/2023 14:40:05    2500086

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I don't think anyone in the history of the universe has ever uttered those words.

How is it making a joke of the game in the US? This year alone we've seen New York make big strides with their first senior championship win, as well as winning an All Ireland junior title. These teams were predominantly made up of home grown players. So the suggestion that mercenary county players heading over for a summer is somehow disrupting their progress doesn't add up.

Could it be perhaps that they are learning good habits from county players that head over? Learning off some of the best and adopting that in theri own preparations and games?"
Irony doesn't cross a line from Sligo to Dundalk it seems.
Big difference between New York GAA, a regulated County who enter teams in Connacht SFC, Tailteann and Junior FC, and the Chicago, Boston and other maverick outfits who run "Champoonships" between teams of Sumner imports from Ireland.
Sod the full time resident players and as for underage.......

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1464 - 11/08/2023 17:05:47    2500109