Podcasts & Hurling Celebrities

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's probably because a lot of podcasts are fairly bland but I'm happy to pay €5 plus VAT for Smaller Fish. Wooly Parkinson is a cantankerous argumentative at times but he has some good analysts. Has a fes pods per week and could have 5 in a wedk during champioship. Will also cover club championship. I'm not his agent, honestly!

Football show - Cian Ward, Aaron Kernan, Conan Doherty, Brendan Devenney.

Hurling show - Ollie Baker, Brian Carroll, Aidan Harte, Niall Rigney and Paddy Stapleton

Irish down under - Zach Tuohy and Nicholas Walsh

Hurling and farming - Damien Hayes

No way I'd pay for the Examiner pod (plus de paper) or the Mayo News GAA pod. I think a share of TV licence money should go to free independendent pods not presented by journalists or affiliated with radio stations, newspapers, well off celebrities. I'm amazed Pat Spillane is so stuck for a few quid that himself Lyster and Mulcahy want to be paid for their pod!"
Eamon Dunphy is cantankerous, but insightful and entertaining. That fella just has a bad attitude and a chip on his shoulder.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 401 - 16/06/2023 14:26:09    2486913

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tomás O'Sé's pod is back for season 4. Interviews with Mike Frank Russell and Larry Tomkins.

link"

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 21/06/2023 14:57:10    2488177

Really interesting interview on the GAA social with Willie Anderson, talking about getting his kids into GAA and playing himself etc even though coming from a unionist/rugby background.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1354 - 23/06/2023 12:27:03    2488630

Replying To slayer:  "Just wondering what other folks here watch pre & post match?

I was sent the Shane Stapleton podcast last night and watched it all. Michael Ryan, ex Waterford & Westmeath Manager was on it. It was entertaining. Michael Ryan's love of and enthusiasm for the game is refreshing. Don't normally watch these things, prefer to read other people's opinions here, but podcasting seems to be big business these days.

They discussed topics like Davy Fitz's puck out strategies. Ryan clearly is a man who thinks simple is best & let players play. He summed Waterford up by saying he had no problem with the current Management team staying in place but they need to learn from 2023. What was also refreshing about him is that he didn't talk about himself much. It was all about the here & now.

Was also sent the video of a hurling celebrity from the terrace on the final whistle. Won't say who it was but sounds like 'Rough Vegan'. The video was shot among young Clare fans and it reminded me of Ron Burgundy in his prime. I was absolutely skitting at it, hard to take it seriously.

I also think paying for these podcasts is a joke. People are paying enough to go to games."
On the quest for a decent podcast myself, especially one that doesn't just cover champagne hurling. A few worth mentioning, The Backdoor GAA one was pretty good, but they seemed to abandon hurling for a while and I lost interest. I was listening to Dalo's hurling show and it was good. Dalo himself is great to listen to, while TJ Ryan and Ken Hogan are very knowledgeable. But it is hijacked by Landers who only wants to talk about Horse Racing, Man United and give out about Irish Trad music. It also barely covers the Leinster matches, let alone the lower tiers.
The RTE one as some already said is way too safe, a lot of great hurling knowledge but drab and boring.
The Hurling Pod, I was loving it and especially with Will O'Callaghan I thought it would talk a bit about the weaker counties, but apart from the Joe McDonagh it doesn't which was evident when the lower tier cup finals didn't even get a fleeting mention. I'll continue to listen to the Hurling Pod as it is the best I've found so far and very entertaining with James Skehill and Paul Murphy.
One thing I find funny about all these pods is they all give out about the GAA or RTE for their coverage of hurling at the lower levels, yet none of them talk about the lower tiers themselves.
Does anyone know of a pod that covers all levels of hurling and not just the Champagne top level, the Football ones cover every aspect and all divisions.

Be gentle my first post

brookerbruiser (Dublin) - Posts: 5 - 23/06/2023 17:21:42    2488709

Smaller Fish free hurling show will be in Liberty Hall on the 21st.

Last years show:

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 04/07/2023 21:24:43    2492294

Replying To brookerbruiser:  "On the quest for a decent podcast myself, especially one that doesn't just cover champagne hurling. A few worth mentioning, The Backdoor GAA one was pretty good, but they seemed to abandon hurling for a while and I lost interest. I was listening to Dalo's hurling show and it was good. Dalo himself is great to listen to, while TJ Ryan and Ken Hogan are very knowledgeable. But it is hijacked by Landers who only wants to talk about Horse Racing, Man United and give out about Irish Trad music. It also barely covers the Leinster matches, let alone the lower tiers.
The RTE one as some already said is way too safe, a lot of great hurling knowledge but drab and boring.
The Hurling Pod, I was loving it and especially with Will O'Callaghan I thought it would talk a bit about the weaker counties, but apart from the Joe McDonagh it doesn't which was evident when the lower tier cup finals didn't even get a fleeting mention. I'll continue to listen to the Hurling Pod as it is the best I've found so far and very entertaining with James Skehill and Paul Murphy.
One thing I find funny about all these pods is they all give out about the GAA or RTE for their coverage of hurling at the lower levels, yet none of them talk about the lower tiers themselves.
Does anyone know of a pod that covers all levels of hurling and not just the Champagne top level, the Football ones cover every aspect and all divisions.

Be gentle my first post"
TJ Ryan can't even pick his nose never mind pick a team.

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 05/07/2023 11:22:36    2492362

Replying To brookerbruiser:  "On the quest for a decent podcast myself, especially one that doesn't just cover champagne hurling. A few worth mentioning, The Backdoor GAA one was pretty good, but they seemed to abandon hurling for a while and I lost interest. I was listening to Dalo's hurling show and it was good. Dalo himself is great to listen to, while TJ Ryan and Ken Hogan are very knowledgeable. But it is hijacked by Landers who only wants to talk about Horse Racing, Man United and give out about Irish Trad music. It also barely covers the Leinster matches, let alone the lower tiers.

Be gentle my first post"
Welcome fellow Dublin hurling fan we need a few more of us around here!
It would be impossible for The Hurling Pod to cover the lower competitions, they did cover the final of the Joe Mc fairly well but they can't really be expected to know who the top Longford hurlers are for example. They aren't full time at it.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 05/07/2023 12:25:33    2492390

There was a small discussion on another tread there recently about why Tipp are disliked.

Have a listen to the latest Premier View Podcast for anyone that is interested and the answer will become clear. At one stage one of the lads says that he wont listen or take advice from anyone "who is from a county that has won less than 10 All Irelands" hahahahaha

On a separate note, the Podcasts are great and a much better analysis than the Sunday game. I like the OTB Hurling Podcast, Our Game Podcast and I subscribe to Dalo's Hurling show

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 05/07/2023 12:45:35    2492396

Replying To tiobraid:  "His head is fairly big tho in fairness..."
Haha cannot get my head around people loving Skehill. This is the lad who was on Gogglebox. Loves the attention and he is playing to the gallery on the podcast as well.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 05/07/2023 16:02:01    2492478

Be gentle my first post"
I agree with every word.. Landers is painful and I was just saying to a mate that they're always talking about soccer and horse raising and full of "in joke" between a few buddies... not for me at all.. and I was expecting lots as Daly is a great hurling man who's opinions I love listening to.
The hurling pod.. Best postcast by a county mile

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 63 - 05/07/2023 19:14:01    2492518

Tommy Walsh on off the ball is brilliant,could listen to the man all day,no hidden agendas or going after people,just purely talking about hurling.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 05/07/2023 20:50:57    2492536

Replying To cityman73:  "Tommy Walsh on off the ball is brilliant,could listen to the man all day,no hidden agendas or going after people,just purely talking about hurling."
I totally agree. I avoid OTB like the plague, mistake ridden and full of nonsense. But I'll always tune in if I know Tommy Walsh is a guest.

The man chats away like he's talking to someone in a pub. No BS at all, just hurling mad.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 07/07/2023 10:40:45    2492826

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 23/07/2023 01:38:13    2496203

Replying To TomWex:  "I agree with every word.. Landers is painful and I was just saying to a mate that they're always talking about soccer and horse raising and full of "in joke" between a few buddies... not for me at all.. and I was expecting lots as Daly is a great hurling man who's opinions I love listening to.
The hurling pod.. Best postcast by a county mile"
The Hurling Pod is great.
Those boys are great.
I can't listen to Dalo and co. Cliched, tedious nonsense about drinking and a share in some horse. The best days work they did was putting it behind the pay wall!

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1741 - 24/07/2023 12:48:04    2496510

Replying To slayer:  "I totally agree. I avoid OTB like the plague, mistake ridden and full of nonsense. But I'll always tune in if I know Tommy Walsh is a guest.

The man chats away like he's talking to someone in a pub. No BS at all, just hurling mad."
I bet if you went to Tullaroane Tommy would getting as excited at number 25 on the u9 team improving how he picks up the ball as the top player starring.
I would say his positivity is infectious on all.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 25/07/2023 15:56:39    2496850

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I bet if you went to Tullaroane Tommy would getting as excited at number 25 on the u9 team improving how he picks up the ball as the top player starring.
I would say his positivity is infectious on all."
Meant Tullaroan, not Tullaroane. Predictive text.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 25/07/2023 18:29:23    2496909

Comhrá le Tomás, All Ireland final preview with Joe Brolly and Conor McManus.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 25/07/2023 23:52:35    2496947

Spillane, O'Rourke, Brolly get the band back together.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 29/07/2023 09:55:08    2497542

I went to two live events the off the ball pod and colm Parkinson's one in liberty hall and I taught both both were very good. I'd say the Parkinson one was better because it was much more engaging in the crowd. Got to meet the guests and had great craic with joe quaid Ollie baker and even the Kilkenny lads John power and eoin Larkin

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 30/07/2023 11:53:44    2497677

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "I went to two live events the off the ball pod and colm Parkinson's one in liberty hall and I taught both both were very good. I'd say the Parkinson one was better because it was much more engaging in the crowd. Got to meet the guests and had great craic with joe quaid Ollie baker and even the Kilkenny lads John power and eoin Larkin"
you must have little to do

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 308 - 30/07/2023 18:08:43    2497770