Podcasts & Hurling Celebrities

Just wondering what other folks here watch pre & post match?

I was sent the Shane Stapleton podcast last night and watched it all. Michael Ryan, ex Waterford & Westmeath Manager was on it. It was entertaining. Michael Ryan's love of and enthusiasm for the game is refreshing. Don't normally watch these things, prefer to read other people's opinions here, but podcasting seems to be big business these days.

They discussed topics like Davy Fitz's puck out strategies. Ryan clearly is a man who thinks simple is best & let players play. He summed Waterford up by saying he had no problem with the current Management team staying in place but they need to learn from 2023. What was also refreshing about him is that he didn't talk about himself much. It was all about the here & now.

Was also sent the video of a hurling celebrity from the terrace on the final whistle. Won't say who it was but sounds like 'Rough Vegan'. The video was shot among young Clare fans and it reminded me of Ron Burgundy in his prime. I was absolutely skitting at it, hard to take it seriously.

I also think paying for these podcasts is a joke. People are paying enough to go to games.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/06/2023 12:51:02    2486420

Replying To slayer:  "Just wondering what other folks here watch pre & post match?

I was sent the Shane Stapleton podcast last night and watched it all. Michael Ryan, ex Waterford & Westmeath Manager was on it. It was entertaining. Michael Ryan's love of and enthusiasm for the game is refreshing. Don't normally watch these things, prefer to read other people's opinions here, but podcasting seems to be big business these days.

They discussed topics like Davy Fitz's puck out strategies. Ryan clearly is a man who thinks simple is best & let players play. He summed Waterford up by saying he had no problem with the current Management team staying in place but they need to learn from 2023. What was also refreshing about him is that he didn't talk about himself much. It was all about the here & now.

Was also sent the video of a hurling celebrity from the terrace on the final whistle. Won't say who it was but sounds like 'Rough Vegan'. The video was shot among young Clare fans and it reminded me of Ron Burgundy in his prime. I was absolutely skitting at it, hard to take it seriously.

I also think paying for these podcasts is a joke. People are paying enough to go to games."
It's probably because a lot of podcasts are fairly bland but I'm happy to pay €5 plus VAT for Smaller Fish. Wooly Parkinson is a cantankerous argumentative at times but he has some good analysts. Has a fes pods per week and could have 5 in a wedk during champioship. Will also cover club championship. I'm not his agent, honestly!

Football show - Cian Ward, Aaron Kernan, Conan Doherty, Brendan Devenney.

Hurling show - Ollie Baker, Brian Carroll, Aidan Harte, Niall Rigney and Paddy Stapleton

Irish down under - Zach Tuohy and Nicholas Walsh

Hurling and farming - Damien Hayes

No way I'd pay for the Examiner pod (plus de paper) or the Mayo News GAA pod. I think a share of TV licence money should go to free independendent pods not presented by journalists or affiliated with radio stations, newspapers, well off celebrities. I'm amazed Pat Spillane is so stuck for a few quid that himself Lyster and Mulcahy want to be paid for their pod!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 14/06/2023 14:34:01    2486443

Replying To slayer:  "Just wondering what other folks here watch pre & post match?

I also think paying for these podcasts is a joke. People are paying enough to go to games."
Subscription TV is one thing but Subscription podcasts? What will be next? Subscription radio?

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 14/06/2023 14:42:27    2486445

I do pay for second captains podcast.

Simply because i have an interest across a brad range of sports and get numerous episodes per week.

They regularly have Malachy Clerkin and Jamie Wall talking about hurling and both are excellent, also not afraid to disagree with each other forcefully at times.

Micheal Murphy and Paul Flynn do the football, murphy is not as good as Mc Conville but hes getting there, their discussion recently about the state of football was interesting, particularly both saying players really shouldnt be the ones having all the say on rule changes and structures etc because they look at it solely from the focus of whats best for them and their team and not the game overall.

Murphy alluded to it now that hes retired and not involved he has a different view on things than he would have had as a player, it was interesting as we always tend to go with what players want..

The best GAA podcast out there at the minute is the GAA Social ironically from the BBC! Definitely more football orientated but excellent, their recent episode with Sambo Mc Naughton was one of the best GAA podcast episodes ive heard, Philly Mc Mahons wasnt far behind. Its more that just analysing games, its more like a podcast episode of Laochra Gael.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1354 - 14/06/2023 14:46:58    2486446

Very annoyed that Dalys one has gone to paid podcast. Listened to it every week but I'm not paying for it. I also enjoyed Colm Parkinsons one but he moved from GAA Hour and went to paid one as well.
Any other good hurling ones? I've a gap in my drive home from work!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/06/2023 14:48:19    2486448

Off the Ball's Hurling and Football pods are brilliant, the football is Tommy Rooney James O Donoghue and Paddy Andrews - I would rarely listen to the hurling one but have heard that's just as good too

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 140 - 14/06/2023 14:59:08    2486454

The Hurling Pod is really good. Skehill is some mad character and knows every dark art in the game.
Off The Ball always has good hurling pundits, Tommy Walsh, Jamesie O'Connor, Anthony Nash, all do good analysis.
I liked A Hurlers Life until Brian Carroll stopped doing it.
I never warmed to Dalo & Co because they'd hardly mention any Leinster county yet they'd go on and on about any match involving a Munster County.
I don't pay for any GAA podcasts either and don't have enough interest in Gaelic football to pay for Parkingson.
I do pay for Second Captains because I like their stuff about football.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 14/06/2023 16:02:35    2486466

Working at home for the best part of 3 years ive heard my fair share, Our Game would be my favourite, 1 not mentioned that depending on the guests can be good the throw in from the independent,its hurling pods this championship with Mullane and Eddie Brennan are really good.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 15/06/2023 00:08:42    2486552

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Off the Ball's Hurling and Football pods are brilliant, the football is Tommy Rooney James O Donoghue and Paddy Andrews - I would rarely listen to the hurling one but have heard that's just as good too"
I enjoy both I must say.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 15/06/2023 00:09:11    2486553

I paid for the Dalo pod. Did it one night locked like an eejet. I do pay forwoolys pod aswell but he has something everyday except Fridays. The hurling pod on off the ball is good skehill is a mad man but has some great insights. The football pod is good too. The rte ones are **** but I listen to them they just skim off them. I see woolly tore strips off them for their video version of it the other day

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 15/06/2023 08:55:22    2486566

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "I paid for the Dalo pod. Did it one night locked like an eejet. I do pay forwoolys pod aswell but he has something everyday except Fridays. The hurling pod on off the ball is good skehill is a mad man but has some great insights. The football pod is good too. The rte ones are **** but I listen to them they just skim off them. I see woolly tore strips off them for their video version of it the other day"
Skehill is a great lad to listen to. Pure honesty and no BS at all.

This is a man who blocked a sliothar with his head in the 2018 all Ireland final, so if he says something, you can be fairly sure he can back it up.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 15/06/2023 11:23:45    2486614

Dalos podcast was good, a bit too much "our time was the best" and a few of them lacked a bit of knowledge on other counties or players, there was a good few mistakes or that kinda thing and bit more skewed to Munster. I thought TJ Ryan was very good, he'd have good craic but was the most up to speed on current hurlers, from managing Linerick recently and involved with St Thomas's, Brian Hogan was good too. Mark Landers seemed to just be on it to be a bit of a joke. Dalo as well was grand when he was talking about Clare, maybe hyping them up to better than they've proven to be. But still was a good podcast but definitely not worth paying for. Also bar when Brian Hogan or Cyril would be on it, there'd only be passing mention of Leinster. Even the Harty Cup used to get longer mentions than Kilkenny, Galway, Wexford etc would get. (Brian Hogan had a great line about Harty Cup winners not doing that well in all Ireland series "ye seem to forget that there's a bigger competition once you get out of the province")
Our game is a good one I feel, they gave up on the pay wall too which was great. Good interaction between viewers, hosts and guests. It's never boring and gives most teams a good time allocation for the most part. Probably my personal favorite. There's a few good more localized podcasts like The Wexford hurling podcast for Wexford, the backdoor podcast for Galway, tippcast for Tipp etc which always a good listen I found. More indepth for those counties and good to get their takes on stuff.
The RTE one isn't great, just a light version of the Sunday game really.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 15/06/2023 12:36:16    2486637

Tomás O'Sé's pod is back for season 4. Interviews with Mike Frank Russell and Larry Tomkins.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 15/06/2023 16:34:41    2486721

Replying To slayer:  "Skehill is a great lad to listen to. Pure honesty and no BS at all.

This is a man who blocked a sliothar with his head in the 2018 all Ireland final, so if he says something, you can be fairly sure he can back it up."
His head is fairly big tho in fairness...

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 16:42:06    2486722

Replying To KnockaineyAbú:  "Subscription TV is one thing but Subscription podcasts? What will be next? Subscription radio?"
Subscription HoganStand.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2484 - 15/06/2023 22:53:19    2486756

Replying To tearintom:  "I do pay for second captains podcast.

Simply because i have an interest across a brad range of sports and get numerous episodes per week.

They regularly have Malachy Clerkin and Jamie Wall talking about hurling and both are excellent, also not afraid to disagree with each other forcefully at times.

Micheal Murphy and Paul Flynn do the football, murphy is not as good as Mc Conville but hes getting there, their discussion recently about the state of football was interesting, particularly both saying players really shouldnt be the ones having all the say on rule changes and structures etc because they look at it solely from the focus of whats best for them and their team and not the game overall.

Murphy alluded to it now that hes retired and not involved he has a different view on things than he would have had as a player, it was interesting as we always tend to go with what players want..

The best GAA podcast out there at the minute is the GAA Social ironically from the BBC! Definitely more football orientated but excellent, their recent episode with Sambo Mc Naughton was one of the best GAA podcast episodes ive heard, Philly Mc Mahons wasnt far behind. Its more that just analysing games, its more like a podcast episode of Laochra Gael."
Plus one for Second Captains and GAA Social.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 16/06/2023 10:01:27    2486782

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Subscription HoganStand."
That might mean 50+ plus subscriptions for some posters here CC! Could be a good filter. Knockainey has a great point though. Some pods and radio stations aren't worth giving up your freetime to listen to never mind paying for them. It depends what you like and see the value if youre gonna pay. Unfortunately it's a TikTok effect. Too many people with no talent thinking they're hilarious and have something to say putting themselves online.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 16/06/2023 10:41:10    2486790

Had to block the celeb on social media. Toxic.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 16/06/2023 10:53:04    2486791

Totally HATE the RTE GAA podcasts. They are full of Sunday Game pundits saying nothing.
Dalo and them talk as much about horse racing and drinking than hurling.
Its a saturated market as it is let alone paying €5 a month to listen. Its not as if they offer anything unique for that.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 16/06/2023 11:15:04    2486799

I like The Hurling Pod, tidbits from Off the Ball with Tommy Walsh and Nash with others. The Throw-in is also good. Similarly feel the GAA podcasts are light enough in depth.

If,like my wife ,you're from Ulster but hurling mad, you'll only hear about top level hurling on most of these podcasts. You wont have any focus on non munster/leinster hurling. Most of the focus on each of them is Munster hurling. I wouldn't pay for any podcasts.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 119 - 16/06/2023 11:19:46    2486804