Donal O'Gs Comments On Football In General And The TC In Particular

Donal's comments on the Tailteann Cup were a disgrace. However many comments on this thread are equally bad and it's turned into hurling vs football sh*te. Ffs those of ye giving out about Donal Ógs comments while ripping hurling people who prefer Hurling are just as bad. It's grand to prefer one over the other but you don't have to needlessly diminish the sport you don't like in the process

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 17/05/2023 13:20:44    2479243

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Of course there are one sided football matches, but that is at least acknowledged and debated. Poor quality hurling contests on the other hand are not exposed to the same scrutiny. The point is that if they were, some of the hyperbole around hurling would be more difficult to justify.
More 'exposure' of hurling would inevitably mean more poor quality games for the casual supporter to watch. That might have the opposite effect to intended."
This is where the "there's no bad hurling games" or "a bad game of hurling is better than a good game of football"

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/05/2023 13:31:06    2479245

Replying To yew_tree:  "I love watching a good hurling game. The skill is amazing but I prefer football."
I'm that way but with a preference for hurling, I've no time for anyone putting down the other code whichever way their preference is.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 17/05/2023 14:06:16    2479251

A lot of football equivalents of Donal Og posting on this topic bashing hurling!!!

dingle82 (Down) - Posts: 212 - 17/05/2023 14:11:45    2479253

I prefer hurling. While I agree with most of the comments Donal Og made, the comments made about the Tailteann Cup & football in general were divisive. I don't see the need to pit one sport against the other. It is great to have hurling on TV but at the same time the Tyrone v Monaghan & Derry v Armagh games were brilliant.

Whilst preferring hurling, I still think the most iconic moment in Gaelic games history was the 1982 football final, Seamus Darby & all that. So always best to give Gaelic football the respect it deserves.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 17/05/2023 14:20:50    2479255

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "there was one game of u 20 hurling last year, it was claimed to be a classic, between scores.wides,65s,frees,subs the ref blew the whistle 91 times in 60 /63 minutes, boring in understatement"
It was anything but boring. I tuned in at start with no real intention of watching it through and I stayed to the end. Excellent match that was in balance right up to the end and featured some brilliant skills on both sides.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 17/05/2023 14:26:53    2479257

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "there was one game of u 20 hurling last year, it was claimed to be a classic, between scores.wides,65s,frees,subs the ref blew the whistle 91 times in 60 /63 minutes, boring in understatement"
Which classic was this?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 17/05/2023 14:28:48    2479258

Replying To yew_tree:  "I love watching a good hurling game. The skill is amazing but I prefer football."
I'm the same.

But imo modern day hurling is hyped up to be something it's not because the scoring is higher than never. What's ignored is the amount of wides in games and the amount of scores that come from frees.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/05/2023 14:29:19    2479259

Replying To royaldunne:  "I agree. It's a minority sport that has little appeal outside a small number of counties. Yet corporations are expected to bow down to it."
It's only a minority support because some counties and clubs don't promote it properly as they should. Both football and hurling should be promoted equally. The GAA is the GAA, not the HA or GFA.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 17/05/2023 14:33:56    2479260

I would be the other way around but I still enjoy a good game of football and always did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 17/05/2023 14:34:53    2479261

I think Hurling is exciting to be fair and a great spectacle at its best but it is also not without its flaws. I think its become a bit too easy to score with the light sliotar. When you see the corner backs floating over points from within their own 21 while a skill in itself I think it suggests that its gotten too easy to score points.

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 17/05/2023 14:39:01    2479265

football is the game

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 17/05/2023 14:47:01    2479272

Replying To oneoff:  "There are few things more cringe than listening to the likes of Donal Og talk about hurling and trying so desperately hard to make it out to be something it's not."
You have an opinion on hurling and so does Donal Og. However, you think it's cringe that he has an opinion!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 17/05/2023 16:16:56    2479280

Replying To royaldunne:  "I agree. It's a minority sport that has little appeal outside a small number of counties. Yet corporations are expected to bow down to it."
They also don't acknowledge that Ulster had its own version of hurling which would have been very similar to shinty. The GAA codified the rules based on the southern version of the game. Clubs in Ulster and some Connacht/Leinster counties stopped playing and Gaelic football took over. Some areas like the Antrim Glens made the transition. Inishowen was a hotbed of hurling in Donegal. It made a bit of a comeback when people from hurling counties moved north for work.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 17/05/2023 16:25:17    2479282

This whole thread and a lot of the comments just show how petty and narrowminded a lot of people in the GAA. Its rather sad really. The GAA as an organisation has done and continues to do, a massive service to this country and yet you have people within it who want to belittle other parts of the organisation. Who cares if a kid ends up playing football or hurling but give them the choice because at the end of the day its about keeping the kids playing sport and preferably in the GAA. Nobody is doing the GAA any favors by creating or having these views of other sports within the organisation.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 17/05/2023 16:31:10    2479283

At the end of the day this is another classic example of there being too much content being created in the world and in particular by untalented people who target engagement through stoking controversy and we are all fools for giving him any attention.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 17/05/2023 17:13:41    2479291

Replying To royaldunne:  "Totally agree. One of the reasons why I really don't like hurling"
Football snob getting upset by Hurling snob.
Irony isn't really your thing I'd say.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 17/05/2023 17:32:15    2479292

Whatever about hurling snobbery ,football snobbery is certainly alive and well if this thread is anything to go by

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 17/05/2023 18:37:03    2479297

Almost every sport on earth is a minority sport with a limited appeal outside its traditional enclaves.
That goes back to history,culture, a game being passed down through generations, or spread through empire, migration etc,, and has little to do with aesthetics.
Hurling is a wonderful and unique part of our heritage.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 17/05/2023 19:30:16    2479305

In fairness I would be a football man, but I also love attending the big hurling games where the commitment , skill and honesty is first class. Munster hurling final is one of the best sporting events you could attend.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 17/05/2023 19:33:42    2479307