All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Why rank them below KK, or is it Westmeath you have at 2?"
Fortune favours the brave!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 12/08/2023 10:21:39    2500157

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "My point was not anti Galway (although I do admire the amnesia regarding the ten year stats on our mutual rivalry!).

More that ranking teams outside of Limerick, and at a push the stripey men and Clare, is bald men arguing over the comb territory."
Ten year stats, jaypers ye are fierce sophisticated in Dublin! Being a Connacht county we wouldn't be bothered with such stats, apart from the 2017 one.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 12/08/2023 10:30:31    2500160

Replying To baire:  "Ten year stats, jaypers ye are fierce sophisticated in Dublin! Being a Connacht county we wouldn't be bothered with such stats, apart from the 2017 one."
I can see where you wouldn't be into the stats :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 12/08/2023 13:35:26    2500189

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Ye can talk all the we beat them, they beat them, them beat us, we should be ranked above them etc. The season is over and all that matters is where the Liam McCarthy is residing and the players will pick up their celtic crosses at a function later in the year."
And maybe that doesn't matter a whole lot either. ....in the context of global warming.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 12/08/2023 13:36:50    2500190

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "And maybe that doesn't matter a whole lot either. ....in the context of global warming."
Very true. Sure they're amateurs tipping away at their hobby in the end of the day, just like some other guy playing darts or snooker or fishing.

Although personally I think hurling to be one of the finest sports in the world, in my top 3 anyway, many of my colleagues say that they can't really take it seriously because it is amateur. Here in the US, we freely use the word amateur to refer to someone who is poor or inadequate at something.

While watching hurling on the TV in the local, it isn't uncommon for someone to sarcastically pass the remark, "Oh, how are those amateurs getting on today?"

So, don't take it too seriously lads. It's only a game, and an amateur one, at the end of the day.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1914 - 12/08/2023 14:41:27    2500196

Limerick are the All Ireland Champions, fair play to all concerned in the Treaty County, it's up to the chasing pack to up our game & try & match & surpass what this top class side bring to the table.
At this juncture Limerick are a formidable unit & seem to have an answer for all questions posed by their opponents, any side facing the Treaty men in 2024 will have alot to ponder upon.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 106 - 12/08/2023 14:55:35    2500199

with sean finn and declan hannon bk in 2024 and an older cathal o neill colm coughlan adam english and from what i'm hearing aidan o conor was playing out of his skin coming up to the all ireland final the chasing pack would want to get moving fast. even tho they will never mention it to the media the drive for 5 is going to bring a savage hunger from limerick to go down as the greatest hurling team of all time. its going to take some outfit to wrestle the liam mccarthy from them.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 12/08/2023 17:47:13    2500213

Replying To munsterchamps:  "with sean finn and declan hannon bk in 2024 and an older cathal o neill colm coughlan adam english and from what i'm hearing aidan o conor was playing out of his skin coming up to the all ireland final the chasing pack would want to get moving fast. even tho they will never mention it to the media the drive for 5 is going to bring a savage hunger from limerick to go down as the greatest hurling team of all time. its going to take some outfit to wrestle the liam mccarthy from them."
The biggest challenge to Limerick next year is to get out of Munster,this is nothing against Galway or Kilkenny, Munster is so hard to get out of,if we manage to get out of Munster I be be confident.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 12/08/2023 18:30:11    2500216

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I can see where you wouldn't be into the stats :-)"
Fair play to you! Always knew you had a soft spot for Galway! If I were a Dublin hurler I wouldn't pay any heed to stats either, I'd concentrate on the hurling!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 12/08/2023 19:10:03    2500226

Replying To cityman73:  "The biggest challenge to Limerick next year is to get out of Munster,this is nothing against Galway or Kilkenny, Munster is so hard to get out of,if we manage to get out of Munster I be be confident."
Limerick's toughest challenges this year, were in Munster. It could be the same in 2024.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 12/08/2023 19:23:26    2500228

Replying To cityman73:  "The biggest challenge to Limerick next year is to get out of Munster,this is nothing against Galway or Kilkenny, Munster is so hard to get out of,if we manage to get out of Munster I be be confident."
I'd say Kilkenny and Galway would be delighted if you didn't get out of Munster as 1 of them would likely win the AI.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 12/08/2023 22:06:24    2500243

Replying To Viking66:  "No we would be behind Clare by any yardstick we haven't beaten them in ages despite getting close the last day, and Galway likewise, although in our last 4 championship meetings we have drawn twice. Haven't beaten Westmeath in Championship in a lot of years, or Dublin since 2018, but there has been a draw in the last 4 championship meetings, and that win in 2018. Hard to know how we would get on against Tipp or Waterford, both seem to have gone back alot since we last lost to them, although if last year doesn't turn out to be an anomaly then so have we. Cork after Kilkenny would be our biggest rivals since the 50s as in our players raising their game against them, but we haven't played them in championship in 8 seasons now, although we won that last meeting. And we haven't played Limerick in a Championship game since 10 years ago."
Tipp bet Clare. And Clare are established top3 material, if that isn't a myopic observation.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 12/08/2023 23:46:40    2500259

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "My point was not anti Galway (although I do admire the amnesia regarding the ten year stats on our mutual rivalry!).

More that ranking teams outside of Limerick, and at a push the stripey men and Clare, is bald men arguing over the comb territory."
You can play the comb too of course, and in Clare according to Daly speech, they love their hurling, but they love their traditional music too. So if Clare are among the baldies fighting over the comb, I see your point that they're more entitled to the comb, due to their love affair with traditional music.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 13/08/2023 00:11:01    2500262

Replying To Viking66:  "I'd say Kilkenny and Galway would be delighted if you didn't get out of Munster as 1 of them would likely win the AI."
If Galway can overcome their key rivals in Dublin, or indeed vice versa, then either would have to be considered challengers in that instanc, dár le Baire, ar aon nós :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 13/08/2023 08:11:12    2500269

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If Galway can overcome their key rivals in Dublin, or indeed vice versa, then either would have to be considered challengers in that instanc, dár le Baire, ar aon nós :-)"
1 Leinster in 62 years! Hard to rival that comb of yours Barney!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 13/08/2023 17:51:43    2500315

Replying To baire:  "1 Leinster in 62 years! Hard to rival that comb of yours Barney!"
If we'd gotten byes into all Ireland finals and finals for 100 years we might have done better :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 13/08/2023 19:06:06    2500331

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If we'd gotten byes into all Ireland finals and finals for 100 years we might have done better :-)"
I'd say the lure of the big ball had much more to do with your losses than the lopsided provincial system.
Tugann muintir na Gaillimhe neart tacaíochta don iomáint i mBÁC. Ní hiad iománaithe na Gaillimhe údar bhur bhfrustrachais. Féach ar lucht na peile agus ar chultúr fríth-iománaíochta na hard-chathrach i dtosach…

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 13/08/2023 20:49:52    2500352

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Tipp bet Clare. And Clare are established top3 material, if that isn't a myopic observation."
Did you watch the Tipp Clare game? Clare were the better team by a good bit. Tipp only won because of Foudy.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/08/2023 08:25:38    2500390

Replying To Viking66:  "Did you watch the Tipp Clare game? Clare were the better team by a good bit. Tipp only won because of Foudy."
No missed that on GaaNoGo. Foud for thought, I guess.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 14/08/2023 13:33:32    2500470

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Why rank them below KK, or is it Westmeath you have at 2?"
To be fair to westmeath they have 3 points out of wexford in the last 2 seasons the same as yourselves

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2664 - 18/08/2023 10:51:19    2501122