All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023

Replying To ahsure.:  "Ye don't unfortunately, Kerry will make light work of if imo."
I will be there in hope rather than expectation. I do think we had a couple more gears today and if we can frustrate Kerry with our defensive shape then you never know I suppose. But Kerry will target McGuigan and could keep him limited to frees with their quality. That will cause us a real problem.

In saying all that as impressive as Kerry were yesterday Tyrone were very poor and had one of those days where they didn't bring any intensity. Derry will bring that at least. I think Dublin should take care of Monaghan handy enough.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 02/07/2023 18:39:39    2491453

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Why was that Mayo goal disallowed? Looked a perfectly good goal."
Ball touched the ground while held between his knees and then took it off the ground again held between his knees. A foul! Great call by the ref!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 02/07/2023 18:40:15    2491454

Mayo embarrassing the west again in Croker..

An awful pity Galway were ravaged by injuries and unavailability..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 02/07/2023 18:41:33    2491455

Way draw was structured was kerry or dublin so was happy either way. Unless you are v lucky going to be playing one of the big guns in a semi final. Least unlike 14 and 17 when we met in Q/F have an extra weeks rest. The dublin bench as ever looks phenomenal. We have never played dublin before at this stage of championship so we have to relish it and give it our best shot.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 02/07/2023 18:45:01    2491459

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The rest are only chasing their own tails, wonder is this the last we'll see of the great Aidan O'Shea and Cillian O'Connor?? (tongue in cheek)
What chance does anyone give Derry or Monaghan against either of the big 2?
I'd love to see Monaghan winning Sam but in reality it's not going to happen, they'll give it a lash though that's for sure, might not be far away."
Gas that lads still think C O Connor is over rated. After all he has done and the amount of injuries he has come back from. There are a few Donegal posters that have a serious problem with Mayo and the posts and language they use are remarkably similar...........

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 02/07/2023 18:49:11    2491462

Replying To greysoil:  "Kerry won't have any fear after the hammering they gave Tyrone yesterday"
Especially in the stands.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 02/07/2023 18:57:28    2491470

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "I will be there in hope rather than expectation. I do think we had a couple more gears today and if we can frustrate Kerry with our defensive shape then you never know I suppose. But Kerry will target McGuigan and could keep him limited to frees with their quality. That will cause us a real problem.

In saying all that as impressive as Kerry were yesterday Tyrone were very poor and had one of those days where they didn't bring any intensity. Derry will bring that at least. I think Dublin should take care of Monaghan handy enough."
Agree with a lot of that to be fair. Great to be in it! Best of luck.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 02/07/2023 18:58:42    2491471

Replying To Belclare:  "Mayo embarrassing the west again in Croker..

An awful pity Galway were ravaged by injuries and unavailability.."
Jesus..that's a bit nasty. Saying "its a pity .." about Galway etc etc is a bit like saying if my aunt had cajones she'd be my uncle. Hate to see people rubbing it in like that.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2023 19:00:44    2491474

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "No harm but the Dublin and Kerry games were both boring as shite. At least Armagh and Monaghan had some excitement to it"
Excitement especially in the stands.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 02/07/2023 19:04:24    2491476

Replying To Saynothing:  "Especially in the stands."
Wrong response? Intended for below.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 02/07/2023 19:05:25    2491477

Replying To ahsure.:  "Agree with a lot of that to be fair. Great to be in it! Best of luck."
Thanks and yeah I will enjoy taking my dad and son to the game. We will need all the luck we can get!!

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 02/07/2023 19:07:55    2491479

Kerry and Derry have not played each other for many years. Derry are a quality opponent. Provincial winners and group winners. I'd imagine it will be Dublin v Monaghan on Saturday week and Kerry v Dublin on Sunday. Kerry and Derry have farther to travel. Sunday afternoon for both will be preferable.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 02/07/2023 19:13:41    2491487

Hope at least one of the Ulster teams can upset the Kerry V Dublin inevitability vibes emerging from the weekend.

It's intriguing because Derry have the capacity to frustrate the life out of Kerry but it will take the best performance of this progressive two year cycle they've been on. If they have another gear or two, it must come out now. My fear is their reliance on McGuigan. If they can find scores from Glass, Rodgers, Ethan Doherty, McKinless and McFaul, they can really challenge Kerry in my view. They probably have regrets about the Galway semi final last year and this is the stage they wanted to get back to. I think they will deliver a big performance but whether that's enough is another thing given that Kerry look to be red hot.

Monaghan and Dublin is interesting for me given that it's surely the last sting from Beggan, McManus, Hughes, Duffy and Co.. I think they will throw the kitchen sink at Dublin and they've no big fear of Dublin over the years. Dublin looked good today though and their depth is serious. The hunger is back with a vengeance despite not quite having the fluidity in attack of the Gavin years. Still lots of threat up top in Basquel, O'Callaghan, Mannion and that quality might tip it. But overall I think these two semi finals will be closer than many envisage.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 02/07/2023 19:16:37    2491488

An awful pit Galway can't beat Mayo in a knockout game you mean

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 02/07/2023 19:19:16    2491492

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Most posters on here seem quite content for teams to go head to head with Dublin for 35/40 mins then watch Dublin go up into second gear and win by q dozen or more. Is that your idea of great entertainment?"
I will decline to agree with you.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 02/07/2023 19:21:54    2491494

Mayo were the away team for the second weekend in a row. Monaghan have been drawn as an away team for the semi-finals. "There's no doubt about it, when you are comfortable and you play there seven or eight times a year, you are very comfortable with the environment..."

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 02/07/2023 19:30:39    2491502

Congrats to the Dubs. Extra game last week didn't help us but suspect Dublin would have had too much for Mayo any case.

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 02/07/2023 19:32:46    2491504

I am expecting a defeat against Kerry, I recall watching the 2004 semi in section 302 I think.

Something I noticed today is that Mayo people call their mothers "mam". We in county Derry tend to call out mother's "the mother".

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 223 - 02/07/2023 19:33:11    2491506

You still crying over Mayo beating Galway 3 out 4 games this year, ye got lucky last year and bottled the final..
Kerry and Dublin the only serious football teams in the country

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 02/07/2023 19:50:37    2491521

Replying To legendzxix:  "Mayo were the away team for the second weekend in a row. Monaghan have been drawn as an away team for the semi-finals. "There's no doubt about it, when you are comfortable and you play there seven or eight times a year, you are very comfortable with the environment...""
Stop whining

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2023 19:53:19    2491523