Don't like it then don't watch. They're not out there to entertain you, they're out there to win for their county. And guess what, they're ulster champions and in an all Ireland semi final
Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 02/07/2023 15:18:01 2491347 Link 0 |
That is how Derry play. It isn't pleasing on the eye but it is effective and we had a time of playing the 'right way' which saw us achieve nothing.
Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 212 - 02/07/2023 15:25:44 2491353 Link 0 |
Pure defensive rubbish from Derry, yet Kerry bring in a Tyrone man to help them in their defensive rubbish. Paudi Clifford snarling at players on the ground, oh aye sir really nice.
Neartheborder (Derry) - Posts: 59 - 02/07/2023 15:28:27 2491354 Link 0 |
By the same logic why are Dublin not better at hurling? They are a football county the same way Cork is a hurling county. The footballers get virtually no players from East Cork and the hurlers likewise from West Cork. It's different for counties ,such as yourselves, who put all their resources into football. Absolutely nothing to do with being "well run"
Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 61 - 02/07/2023 15:31:54 2491356 Link 0 |
If your post was meant to be humourous it failed pitifully. I posted a legitimate question. Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 763 - 02/07/2023 15:33:02 2491357 Link 0 |
And that is what I did! I expected ot to be a borefest and didnt watch -- just got a few updates on radio. Will watch Mayo vs Dublin though. Ought to be easier on the eyes.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2015 - 02/07/2023 15:33:44 2491359 Link 0 |
No completely get it and the system and it's effectiveness etc. I think Monaghan are less defensive than yesterday's game suggested but players have to do what they have to do to win. I think Monaghan got about 7 scores from play after an hour and a half and Armagh one or twi more. That Derry Cork game was awful as well. But happy for Monaghan and looking forward to seeing McManus in action again.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 02/07/2023 15:39:54 2491363 Link 1 |
Derry aren't easy on the eye but are solid and good side who get the job done. They will need to be much better in the Semi Final as Kerry and Dublin/Mayo are much stronger than Cork. Glass was immense. Mcguigan was poor today and has probably removed himself from the POTY conversation. They'll need him firing in two weeks. Best of luck in the Semi's. Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 61 - 02/07/2023 15:41:39 2491364 Link 0 |
Well done yesterday, Mick. All Kerry have to do now is turn up and collect the cup on the big day; a bit like 2002 and 2003. All joking aside, they're some machine when they get into full operation, and I don't think that yesterday was them at actual full throttle. There's more to come, I feel! foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2202 - 02/07/2023 15:44:23 2491365 Link 1 |
At what point do you stop using inferior opposition as an excuse for great football and give great teams the credit that they're due. Are Tyrone now "vastly inferior" because Kerry outclassed them? Another red bus parked in the first game today. Awful stuff. You've got to call a spade a spade. That goes for all teams, Dublin included.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 02/07/2023 15:49:34 2491366 Link 2 |
I'm I right in saying Derry can't play Monaghan in the semi final ? artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 02/07/2023 16:15:55 2491371 Link 0 |
Dublin were nowhere near being competitive for a god 10 years, then they had a shake up of their structures and now they're the standard in football and are making strides in hurling. Cork started to twist and whine over money when you were looking like winning both all irelands and yous have achieved nothing since. Infighting and messing like that doesn't happen in Dublin, Kilkenny, Limerick and Kerry these days. Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 02/07/2023 16:20:26 2491372 Link 0 |
Why was that Mayo goal disallowed? Looked a perfectly good goal. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 02/07/2023 16:30:43 2491373 Link 1 |
Big turning point, Small buys free in 26 th minute, then goal disallowed for Mayo 2 minutes later. Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 02/07/2023 16:31:35 2491374 Link 4 |
Yes repeat pairings are being avoided.
Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 212 - 02/07/2023 16:34:38 2491375 Link 0 |
You replied to me with your wrong handle I'm afraid. But in all honesty I asked 3 good questions to see had tlypu a comment and I also answered your query on the timekeeping. So unsure what you actually mean by gaslighting but I would love your opinion on the other points I made in honesty. Answer on whichever handle you like I don't mind the Mayo or galway.
farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 300 - 02/07/2023 16:40:08 2491376 Link 0 |
Fair play Dublin and Mayo; best game of the weekend with good football being played. A welcome reminder of what football can be. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 02/07/2023 16:46:42 2491378 Link 1 |
Not denigrating Dublin or kerry at all,, two fantastic teams, I'm just disagreeing with the notion that watching them hammer teams way way worse than them is more exciting than watching an evenly fought close competitive contest between two hard hitting teams.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 02/07/2023 16:48:11 2491380 Link 0 |
Surely that rule should be scrapped for a semi final?
thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 02/07/2023 16:54:27 2491382 Link 0 |
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 02/07/2023 17:01:27 2491383 Link 0 |