National Hurling League 2023

Good result for Kildare today vs Offaly. Really should have won it ....they were 6 points up and cruising midway through the 2nd half, then conceded as bad a goal as you could ever see, followed it up with a 2nd poor one to concede, game looked like it was going away from them but they gritted their teeth and ground out a draw with a point from a free deep in injury time. Last 10 minutes were really exciting and overall a draw was a fair result.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 19/03/2023 15:09:13    2464741

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Good result for Kildare today vs Offaly. Really should have won it ....they were 6 points up and cruising midway through the 2nd half, then conceded as bad a goal as you could ever see, followed it up with a 2nd poor one to concede, game looked like it was going away from them but they gritted their teeth and ground out a draw with a point from a free deep in injury time. Last 10 minutes were really exciting and overall a draw was a fair result."
Offaly better team in first half, 3 points up at ht. Kildare upped it in second half, going 7 points up, before 2 Offaly goals, and a point levelled it. A few bad wides cost Offaly the win they needed, when leading by a point. Kildare equalised with an injury time free, after Offaly failed to clear a dropping ball.
Kildare in the league final, Offaly now meet Kerry in a semi final next weekend. All to play for.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 19/03/2023 16:59:06    2464815

Replying To thelongridge:  "Offaly better team in first half, 3 points up at ht. Kildare upped it in second half, going 7 points up, before 2 Offaly goals, and a point levelled it. A few bad wides cost Offaly the win they needed, when leading by a point. Kildare equalised with an injury time free, after Offaly failed to clear a dropping ball.
Kildare in the league final, Offaly now meet Kerry in a semi final next weekend. All to play for."
Kildare the better team in the second half, conceded two soft enough goals. Offaly like Kildare unbeaten in the league, yet Kerry could end up in the final.

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 19/03/2023 17:46:36    2464836

David Fitzgerald sent off for Clare today, is that him out of Tipp championship match? if so it's a big lose

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 19/03/2023 18:40:03    2464859

Congratulations to the Kildare Hurlers! Making great strides.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 19/03/2023 19:52:21    2464892

Replying To ke40:  "Kildare the better team in the second half, conceded two soft enough goals. Offaly like Kildare unbeaten in the league, yet Kerry could end up in the final."
I don't agree with third place getting a semi-final. Kildare and Offaly should both be promoted and straight into a 2A final. Laois and Westmeath who both have lost 5 from 5 should both be relegated from Division 1.
The tiered championships promote the winners. League should have more movement of teams between divisions.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7821 - 19/03/2023 20:03:12    2464897

Replying To tiobraid:  "Bennett is a joy to watch the way he hurls. Unfortunately ye have a local surgeon down there who has operated on many GAA players hips. Many believe a lot didn't need surgery. Thankfully it seems players the last couple of years are looking at other avenues. I'm no surgeon tho so maybe Bennett was one that he helped. I could rattle or numerous intercounty players who have had hip surgery. Two all Ireland winners from Tipp and KK that it definitely didn't help.

Regarding the Tipp team you're referring to I can't really comment only that I know they were different times. However it wasn't any different in most counties. There was serious incidents in Laois, Galway and the rest too.

On a more current note though do you think refs aren't protecting Waterford players or why are they picking up so many cards this year? They're out on their own in terms of yellow and red cards."
The reason I have given before tiobraid. Silly retaliation. Going back to Mullane and before. It cost us an All-Ireland that year. A Cork player in that dressing room came out and said Brian Murphy was told to niggle him and he would react. No excuse. Play the game tough but completely selfish getting sent off for a stupid reaction.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/03/2023 21:49:42    2464947

Replying To Viking66:  "Tipp were famous for it back in the day. But you have lads in your current team with well earned reputations for being plain dirty rather than hard."
Viking66 I am surprised at you. I am not saying everyone that played or play for us are angles. But on the current team ? Not anymore than anyone else and less than some.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/03/2023 21:54:39    2464952

Replying To Canuck:  "Viking66 I am surprised at you. I am not saying everyone that played or play for us are angles. But on the current team ? Not anymore than anyone else and less than some."
Sorry Canuck I shouldn't have said lads. It's more so lad. You should've been at the challenge game up here when your 1st team played our 3rd team and seen the carry-on of Gleeson. Most of the rest of the lads played hard bordering on dirty as Davy wanted to make a point I think. He went way past that though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 20/03/2023 07:21:46    2464958

Replying To Canuck:  "Viking66 I am surprised at you. I am not saying everyone that played or play for us are angles. But on the current team ? Not anymore than anyone else and less than some."
I dont think Waterford are dirty but there is a discipline problem there. They have 8-9 red cards in the last two leagues. Far more than any other county

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/03/2023 08:56:13    2464970

I definitely would not consider Wexford in any way a dirty team id say very few if any hatchet men left in game thankfully
Maybe back in the days of "hells Kitchen " but even then there was few enough of bad injuries of course Tom Walshe in 1967 final was terrible but some Kilkenny people said that may have been an accident.

The Hurling helmet have been a brilliant invention.

I diden't make the Clare V Cork game in Ennis watched bits off it last night and watched a fair bit of Waterford V Kilkenny live i am not sure is it me of has hurling become fairly boring & predictable tactics is everything now its a much more skillful game now but i am not so sure is it a better game.

Limerick look really comfortable it will take a mighty effort to take them out

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 20/03/2023 09:33:48    2464983

Replying To clooney:  "I definitely would not consider Wexford in any way a dirty team id say very few if any hatchet men left in game thankfully
Maybe back in the days of "hells Kitchen " but even then there was few enough of bad injuries of course Tom Walshe in 1967 final was terrible but some Kilkenny people said that may have been an accident.

The Hurling helmet have been a brilliant invention.

I diden't make the Clare V Cork game in Ennis watched bits off it last night and watched a fair bit of Waterford V Kilkenny live i am not sure is it me of has hurling become fairly boring & predictable tactics is everything now its a much more skillful game now but i am not so sure is it a better game.

Limerick look really comfortable it will take a mighty effort to take them out"
This years league def hasnt been the most exciting. Teams dropping everyone back for puckouts is madness. Tipp done it for the third quarter against Waterford as well and its awful stuff to watch. There seems to be less man on man now than ever as well.
The art of goalscoring seems to not be a priority in most counties. Be interesting to see if anyone has stats on that over the years.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/03/2023 10:21:14    2465012

with all the talk about tipp back to their best i still think they won't make it out of munster . my reason is that i think they are going at full throttle at the moment and don't think they will improve much come munster championship. my 3 to come out are limerick clare and cork. waterford are gone bk since fitz has come in , i don't know how any county board would let him manage their team .....he can't see whats going on in a match because all he is doing is roaring at officials and jumping around the place like a mad man . watch john kiely michael o donoghue or liam cahill standing on the line with arms folded taking it all in .

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 20/03/2023 10:21:34    2465013

Looks like the "el classico" of hurling...........Tipperary v Cork League Final, now that should be a cracker!!!
P.s wait for that limrik fairy's comments.......

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 20/03/2023 10:31:36    2465019

Replying To Canuck:  "The reason I have given before tiobraid. Silly retaliation. Going back to Mullane and before. It cost us an All-Ireland that year. A Cork player in that dressing room came out and said Brian Murphy was told to niggle him and he would react. No excuse. Play the game tough but completely selfish getting sent off for a stupid reaction."
I heard Tommy Walsh talk once about the great Kilkenny team being cold blooded rather than hot blooded and i think that sums up the way a successful team should be. You go out with the mentality that you are best and the strongest and are going to impose yourself on the other team, you don't react and play into the games of the opposition trying to upset you. If you start thinking you are the victim in the oppositions games then you've already lost. Kilkenny hit Limerick with a storm in 2007 in the all ireland for example and we were the reactive victims.

It took Limerick a long time to learn this lesson. In Limerick we had so many sob stories and heartbreak and tales of woe and nearly getting there, it's like Kiely came in and said lads forget about the past, in fact lets never even mention it again, ye guys write your own script and go your own way and no team, no matter what they do we are not going to change what we are doing. Obviously there are a few exceptions and a times you willl be human and breakout but in the main i think Limerick have followed this mantra.
The likes of Waterford who have had some of the most talented teams in the country over the years have never learned this lesson imo. Its engrained into the mindset of the big three with decades of success behind them but for teams outside of it its different. I think Caroline Currid had a lot to do with this mindset which blended nicely with a team of young guys coming in to the panel in 2017 who knew nothing but success.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 20/03/2023 10:40:39    2465029

Replying To munsterchamps:  "with all the talk about tipp back to their best i still think they won't make it out of munster . my reason is that i think they are going at full throttle at the moment and don't think they will improve much come munster championship. my 3 to come out are limerick clare and cork. waterford are gone bk since fitz has come in , i don't know how any county board would let him manage their team .....he can't see whats going on in a match because all he is doing is roaring at officials and jumping around the place like a mad man . watch john kiely michael o donoghue or liam cahill standing on the line with arms folded taking it all in ."
LIMERICK/CORK/TIPP TO COME OUT OF MUNSTER ID SAY

UNLESS WE BEAT TIPP IN ENNIS FIRST DAY OUT WE WILL BE IN BIG TROUBLE TIPP WILL HAVE IT WELL TIMED I KNOW THAT ITS TOUGH BEING IN A LEAGUE SEMI OR FINAL BUT KILKENNY MANAGED IT WELL IN THEIR POMP.

ITS NO SURPRISE THAT THE 4 BEST TEAMS ARE IN LEAGUE SEMIS WITHOUT TOO MUCH SWEAT BEING LOST

ID SAY NO TEAM WILL MAKE IT A PRIORITY TO WIN LEAGUE BUT WONT GIVE IT UP TOO EASY EITHER.

IS A PITY THE WAY THE LEAGUE HAS BEEN DEMEANED THERE WAS SOME GREAT HURLING MATCHES IN NOVEMBER ECT BACK A NUMBER OF YEARS AGO.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 20/03/2023 11:06:46    2465049

Replying To katser:  "Looks like the "el classico" of hurling...........Tipperary v Cork League Final, now that should be a cracker!!!
P.s wait for that limrik fairy's comments......."
Only one comment worth making..
God help you.. but you're so so needy.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 20/03/2023 11:10:11    2465053

Replying To katser:  "Looks like the "el classico" of hurling...........Tipperary v Cork League Final, now that should be a cracker!!!
P.s wait for that limrik fairy's comments......."
:) :) It'll be nice to give them a run out alright

Both motoring well

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 20/03/2023 11:22:04    2465063

Replying To clooney:  "LIMERICK/CORK/TIPP TO COME OUT OF MUNSTER ID SAY

UNLESS WE BEAT TIPP IN ENNIS FIRST DAY OUT WE WILL BE IN BIG TROUBLE TIPP WILL HAVE IT WELL TIMED I KNOW THAT ITS TOUGH BEING IN A LEAGUE SEMI OR FINAL BUT KILKENNY MANAGED IT WELL IN THEIR POMP.

ITS NO SURPRISE THAT THE 4 BEST TEAMS ARE IN LEAGUE SEMIS WITHOUT TOO MUCH SWEAT BEING LOST

ID SAY NO TEAM WILL MAKE IT A PRIORITY TO WIN LEAGUE BUT WONT GIVE IT UP TOO EASY EITHER.

IS A PITY THE WAY THE LEAGUE HAS BEEN DEMEANED THERE WAS SOME GREAT HURLING MATCHES IN NOVEMBER ECT BACK A NUMBER OF YEARS AGO."
If they got rid of the stupid 1a and 1b and the pointless semifinals and finals it would be more relevant straight away.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 20/03/2023 11:50:28    2465091

Replying To munsterchamps:  "with all the talk about tipp back to their best i still think they won't make it out of munster . my reason is that i think they are going at full throttle at the moment and don't think they will improve much come munster championship. my 3 to come out are limerick clare and cork. waterford are gone bk since fitz has come in , i don't know how any county board would let him manage their team .....he can't see whats going on in a match because all he is doing is roaring at officials and jumping around the place like a mad man . watch john kiely michael o donoghue or liam cahill standing on the line with arms folded taking it all in ."
I agree with what you're saying, munsterchamps. Tipp have had a good league and have improved quite a bit on last year, but have they taken any big scalps yet? Kilkenny were very understrength when they played Tipp, as were Waterford, and they would have been expected to win the other three games. Their defence hasn't really been tested yet and is very inexperienced - since last year they've lost Paudie Maher, Craig Morgan and Barry Heffernan to injury, as well as their best defender last year, the late Dillon Quirke. Ronan Maher went off injured yesterday so himself and Cathal Barrett could be out for another few weeks. If they have six new defenders next Sunday they could be in big trouble if Limerick are at anything near full throttle. You're right about the Waterford manager. I didn't realise until I saw the Examiner this morning that he was yellow-carded in Kilkenny yesterday - that's two yellow cards in a week!

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 20/03/2023 12:12:50    2465104