Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Afinestick:  "Fixtures for the leinster championship are out. We face Dublin at home first . In my eyes this is a must win game. Its about time we put one over the Dubs after the last few years narrow loses. A win would be a huge boost before a tough trip to Corrigan park to play Antrim"
There's nothing between us and Dublin. If we are properly prepared we should have every chance of winning. But then so do they!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 01/11/2023 10:27:53    2511141

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Leinster championship:

Dublin Home
Antrim Away
Galway Home
Carlow Away
Kilkenny Away

Those first 2 games dictate the fate of our summer I think. It is vital we get at least 3 points from those first 2 games if we're to have any hope of getting into the last 6."
No point being afraid of it.

If we prepare well and bring our best performance consistently we should be trying to win all 5.

In reality, we need to beat Dublin, carlow, antrim

And not lose to both kk and Galway.

That's what we need if we're to have any ambition of winning another leinster title which I think we can do.

I have said the same thing the last two years and stand by it.

2 lapses in concentration against Dublin and westmeath have cost us massively.

Dublin have the upper hand on us for a couple of years on head to head so need to throw everything at them.

Trip north will be extremely dangerous but we should be winning that game with all due respect.

We are due a performance against Galway as it seems to be every second year.

Again, not taking for granted but we should beat carlow.

Onto the old enemy and anything can happen

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2663 - 01/11/2023 11:36:48    2511157

1st 2 games are critical, every championship game v Dublin since 2017 has been a 1 score game so that's a 50/50 as things stand in my view, Belfast will be a serious banana skin, looking at the fixtures they are in Nowlan Park in round 1 so could see them been pragmatic and realistically really targeting our game, Dublin only drew up there last year which shows how tricky in can be.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 01/11/2023 12:09:06    2511159

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "1st 2 games are critical, every championship game v Dublin since 2017 has been a 1 score game so that's a 50/50 as things stand in my view, Belfast will be a serious banana skin, looking at the fixtures they are in Nowlan Park in round 1 so could see them been pragmatic and realistically really targeting our game, Dublin only drew up there last year which shows how tricky in can be."
First game is critical . If we are heading to Belfast after a loss we could be under serious pressure. A win would be a massive boost and give us momentum and confidence heading to play Antrim

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 01/11/2023 12:54:45    2511162

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I somehow doubt after beating Shels by 17 points earlier in the year, winning their QF by 29 and SF by 18 that their management decided their not good enough to go man on man, somehow I imagine the Shels management and understandably so tried to keep things tight."
Well if you were there you would have seen it yourself. That however is the point - why and I disagree with Viking on the reasoning that they should practice tactics now that they use in Adult. Underage should be about teaching kids all the skills of the game they will need in the future - if its just about winning then its no wonder kids give up the game. To say that they will never have to defend one on one is ridiculous as coaches are always looking for ways to get around the sweeper. If they do - what is the option left - foul the player. Teach the skills of the game in underage and allow players to test themselves.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 01/11/2023 19:35:37    2511220

Aidan O'Connor proposed for U20 hurling manager with backroom team of Ronan Byrne, Colm Breen, Mitch Jordan and Kieran Joyce.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 02/11/2023 09:46:30    2511248

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Aidan O'Connor proposed for U20 hurling manager with backroom team of Ronan Byrne, Colm Breen, Mitch Jordan and Kieran Joyce."
Dont know much about him

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 02/11/2023 10:28:43    2511253

Replying To zinny:  "Well if you were there you would have seen it yourself. That however is the point - why and I disagree with Viking on the reasoning that they should practice tactics now that they use in Adult. Underage should be about teaching kids all the skills of the game they will need in the future - if its just about winning then its no wonder kids give up the game. To say that they will never have to defend one on one is ridiculous as coaches are always looking for ways to get around the sweeper. If they do - what is the option left - foul the player. Teach the skills of the game in underage and allow players to test themselves."
You're probably hitting a key point there.

I know from my own experience it tends to e about participation and learning until about under 14. The first big drop off occurs there.

You'll see lads hang on until minor then and another exodus when they get to college age.

Unfortunately everyone is trying to win so nobody is going to break the mould.

You even see it with the go games.

The kids know exactly what the score is

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2663 - 02/11/2023 11:20:24    2511266

Replying To zinny:  "Well if you were there you would have seen it yourself. That however is the point - why and I disagree with Viking on the reasoning that they should practice tactics now that they use in Adult. Underage should be about teaching kids all the skills of the game they will need in the future - if its just about winning then its no wonder kids give up the game. To say that they will never have to defend one on one is ridiculous as coaches are always looking for ways to get around the sweeper. If they do - what is the option left - foul the player. Teach the skills of the game in underage and allow players to test themselves."
I think you and I have a different view of a sweeper. A sweeper to me is a 3rd midfielder who sits deep. He makes himself available in space for offloads after a back has won a ball and should be an excellent long passer of a ball forward. He also has to be a good reader of the game. He also has to cover for any backs who go forwards to get scores, an essential feature of the modern game and one of the main reasons there are higher scores these days. So he has to be able to defend 1 on 1 himself. And by having such a player it doesn't mean any of the back 6 shouldnt be able to defend, because even with a plus 1/sweeper/3rd midfielder backs are likely to be 1 on 1 anyway. By having such a player it can mean an extra back if both teams withdraw a forward to play that role, but then usually at least one back is further up the pitch in the modern game anyway. Hurling has evolved massively this millennium. Forwards have to be able to hook, block, tackle, harry, press etc as well as any of the backs, while backs have to be able split the posts from 70/80 yards. It's going like Cruyffs total football soccer revolution. Its vitally important for both club and county that lads get experience playing that role.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 02/11/2023 15:14:59    2511314

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You're probably hitting a key point there.

I know from my own experience it tends to e about participation and learning until about under 14. The first big drop off occurs there.

You'll see lads hang on until minor then and another exodus when they get to college age.

Unfortunately everyone is trying to win so nobody is going to break the mould.

You even see it with the go games.

The kids know exactly what the score is"
The kids would be telling us the score!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 02/11/2023 15:16:00    2511315

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Aidan O'Connor proposed for U20 hurling manager with backroom team of Ronan Byrne, Colm Breen, Mitch Jordan and Kieran Joyce."
He managed the minors before. And Rapps. Other than that I know little about him. Is Kieran Joyce the Kilkenny hurler Kieran Joyce?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 02/11/2023 15:19:22    2511316

Replying To Viking66:  "He managed the minors before. And Rapps. Other than that I know little about him. Is Kieran Joyce the Kilkenny hurler Kieran Joyce?"
It's that Kieran Joyce all right, from The Rower-Inistioge.

Not sure who exactly Rory Jacob had lined up for the backroom team that was deemed not quite strong enough. But this combination seems relatively strongly anyway, so hopefully whatever went on behind the scenes can be set aside, and all go forward to just do their best for Wexford next year.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 02/11/2023 22:29:32    2511364

No easy games for Keith Rositter but we knew that before the draw was made. Hopefully management will get the lads right for 2024.
The backroom team looks strong on paper but can they get wins when the going gets tough?
I can't see them making silly mistakes as happened during Egan's tenure.
Losing to Dublin ( again) would be a major setback.Facing the safrons up north will be tricky to say the least. I believe Kilkenny and Galway can be beaten but only if we bring our A game In both
Matches.
Flannery and Mythen could well be the difference next year compared to last year.
It will be very interesting to see what changes they bring in. 60 players will start training later this month so let's see how they fare as the season gets underway.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 02/11/2023 23:34:14    2511366

Is Aidan staying on with rapps next year ? Surprised none of his backroom team with rapps making his proposed back room for u20

BacksAndForwards (Wexford) - Posts: 34 - 03/11/2023 13:01:13    2511419

Replying To Pikeman96:  "It's that Kieran Joyce all right, from The Rower-Inistioge.

Not sure who exactly Rory Jacob had lined up for the backroom team that was deemed not quite strong enough. But this combination seems relatively strongly anyway, so hopefully whatever went on behind the scenes can be set aside, and all go forward to just do their best for Wexford next year."
Jacobs backroom team included Sean Treacy (Clare senior hurling coach under Brian Lohan), Joe Kearns (one of the most knowledgeable and experienced coaches in the county), Tony Murphy (Ballymurn senior hurling manager and coach 2021-23), Noel Carton (Cloughbawn coach 2023) and Olympian Adam Nolan. Jacob has worked with this u20 group for the last two years as lead coach. His set up is light years ahead of what the county board has put forward for the job and there are serious questions marks over the direction of hurling in the county after that set up failed to get the full backing. Apparently he was the one the co chairman wanted for the job but the co chairman wanted another person added to the set up and Jacob held his ground feeling his management was very strong already and there was no role for another person within this. Fair play to him for sticking to his principles. He pulled his name out of the hat after being told he was getting the job but the county chairman failed to give his set up the full backing unless this extra person was added

Clarkie494 (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 03/11/2023 14:37:25    2511440

Replying To Clarkie494:  "Jacobs backroom team included Sean Treacy (Clare senior hurling coach under Brian Lohan), Joe Kearns (one of the most knowledgeable and experienced coaches in the county), Tony Murphy (Ballymurn senior hurling manager and coach 2021-23), Noel Carton (Cloughbawn coach 2023) and Olympian Adam Nolan. Jacob has worked with this u20 group for the last two years as lead coach. His set up is light years ahead of what the county board has put forward for the job and there are serious questions marks over the direction of hurling in the county after that set up failed to get the full backing. Apparently he was the one the co chairman wanted for the job but the co chairman wanted another person added to the set up and Jacob held his ground feeling his management was very strong already and there was no role for another person within this. Fair play to him for sticking to his principles. He pulled his name out of the hat after being told he was getting the job but the county chairman failed to give his set up the full backing unless this extra person was added"
It looked a strong team. Noel Carton was tactically very astute this year. Hard to know how it would've gone.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 03/11/2023 18:09:17    2511459

Replying To Clarkie494:  "Jacobs backroom team included Sean Treacy (Clare senior hurling coach under Brian Lohan), Joe Kearns (one of the most knowledgeable and experienced coaches in the county), Tony Murphy (Ballymurn senior hurling manager and coach 2021-23), Noel Carton (Cloughbawn coach 2023) and Olympian Adam Nolan. Jacob has worked with this u20 group for the last two years as lead coach. His set up is light years ahead of what the county board has put forward for the job and there are serious questions marks over the direction of hurling in the county after that set up failed to get the full backing. Apparently he was the one the co chairman wanted for the job but the co chairman wanted another person added to the set up and Jacob held his ground feeling his management was very strong already and there was no role for another person within this. Fair play to him for sticking to his principles. He pulled his name out of the hat after being told he was getting the job but the county chairman failed to give his set up the full backing unless this extra person was added"
I heard Sean Tracey was only available every second weekend.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 03/11/2023 21:04:18    2511467

What was Candidate C ( Mickey Laffan ) backroom team? Anyone?

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 03/11/2023 22:00:35    2511473

Both look very strong choices TBH, maybe County Board were wanting to enhance what was already there? That should be a good thing No? Did Rory manage or coach any other clubs? Has he been over hurling development in St Peter's? O'Connor was over this group of young hurlers since U-14? That was probably the difference. Lost out to Kilkenny by a point or 2 as I remember, had chance that day too,so maybe a bit of unfinished business. Some very good players U20 for 2024, hopefully we get a good run and a Leinster, Galway who are very strong play in Leinster I think this year, makes it harder again. Best of luck to all Managers for 2024. We could certainly do with some silverware.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 03/11/2023 22:40:03    2511474

What you're leaving out is that Treacy from Clare was only going to available every second weekend and couldn't even guarantee that he'd be at all matches. Manager selection commitee wanted somebody who'd be there more often. Jacob wouldn't budge.

Hurler12345 (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 04/11/2023 15:51:06    2511493