Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To jm25:  "Let me just say the only sound bite I listened to from him was he employs 200-300 people don't know if that's true or not and Dublin City centre is an unsafe place and I agree with anyone who says that"
I'd say a significant amount his employees are security. Not in the city centre either.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12279 - 19/03/2025 13:01:50    2597254

The "rags" bit is massively overplayed by the way
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12270 - 19/03/2025 12:17:08

Working class cos-play.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 19/03/2025 13:02:06    2597255

Replying To Trump2020:  "Begrudge Trumps birth all you want as if he could control who his parents are. As for land stolen: every inch of this flat earth was stolen at one time or another by someone but of course you just cherry pick to suit your bias. Under CURRENT rules there is LEGAL immigration and ILLEGAL immigration and almost every country has some sort of rules so stop crying about that as it's a waste. As for legal issues of him and Trump with women I truly don't know what happened just like I didn't know what happened with BILL CLINTON and all the women that accused him."
Yes but you don't hear about those conquerors giving out about other immigrants only a generation or 2 later.
From Trump tower you can likely see the Statue of Liberty. And probably Ellis island too. Most of the people who landed there didn't have visas, and likely no ID either. These were the people who built modern day America.
Clinton was another shady lad, Biden likewise. If you look back over the very short history of the country you are living in you would see most of its Presidents weren't great men. That's partly why so many were shot at, and shot dead. Trump will likely be remembered less fondly than most in the fullness of time, kind of a celebrity social media clown with no real policies that anyone could stick with, not even himself. That's the problem with most silver spoon types, there's nothing in them at the end of the day.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15231 - 19/03/2025 13:14:12    2597262

Replying To jm25:  "Let me just say the only sound bite I listened to from him was he employs 200-300 people don't know if that's true or not and Dublin City centre is an unsafe place and I agree with anyone who says that"
Fair enough. I don't know how many people he employes.
But re: Dublin city centre, the subtext of that soundbite was that immigrants are to blame for it.
Which is totally incorrect, racist nonsense.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9693 - 19/03/2025 13:24:41    2597264

Replying To Breffni40:  "The "rags" bit is massively overplayed by the way"
He was an apprentice plumber, Mick Smufitt wasn't his auld fella. The man did well for himself and didn't get it handed to him.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7855 - 19/03/2025 13:31:00    2597266

Replying To Breffni40:  "I'd say a significant amount his employees are security. Not in the city centre either."
Not should it be in fairness

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1417 - 19/03/2025 13:44:53    2597270

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Fair enough. I don't know how many people he employes.
But re: Dublin city centre, the subtext of that soundbite was that immigrants are to blame for it.
Which is totally incorrect, racist nonsense."
Correct I remember walking through OCOnnell st after game v Armagh or Derry in 2022 and couldn't believe how it had deteriorated since I'd lived up there and majority of issues were with locals

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1417 - 19/03/2025 13:48:05    2597271

Have to say that this "special guest" did make some entrance into the Oval Office. His usual swagger stepped up a notch or two. More side to side ish. I thought he might not get through the door. If he had had on a suit that fitted, his shoulders might not have gotten through.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1546 - 19/03/2025 13:48:58    2597272

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He was an apprentice plumber, Mick Smufitt wasn't his auld fella. The man did well for himself and didn't get it handed to him."
Well it's all relative, he didn't grow up in abject poverty as is often implied. He went on the dole by choice because he could live comfortably on it to pursue his dream. I don't begrudge his achievements. He reached the top of his sport and fair play to him. There's no need to spin it into more than it is.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12279 - 19/03/2025 14:00:36    2597275

Replying To jm25:  "Not should it be in fairness"
No I mean he needs a lot of security due to his clientele and associates

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12279 - 19/03/2025 14:05:59    2597277

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He was an apprentice plumber, Mick Smufitt wasn't his auld fella. The man did well for himself and didn't get it handed to him."
You can buy ass but you can't buy class.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2223 - 19/03/2025 14:58:35    2597290

Replying To Breffni40:  "Well it's all relative, he didn't grow up in abject poverty as is often implied. He went on the dole by choice because he could live comfortably on it to pursue his dream. I don't begrudge his achievements. He reached the top of his sport and fair play to him. There's no need to spin it into more than it is."
No spin from me.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7855 - 19/03/2025 15:08:33    2597291

Replying To Bon:  "You can buy ass but you can't buy class."
True story. But in McGregor's case being a low class talker rakes in the dollars. Loads of Yanks buy PPV to cheer for him in fights and a load more do it hoping he'll be beat.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7855 - 19/03/2025 15:25:55    2597294

I respect what he achieved as a sportsman. The fighting game is a tough way to make a living and he has made more money than any of us will make in our lifetime. Lots of successful boxers came from similar backgrounds. But it didn't turn them into *****-up, unhinged, right-wing bigots.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9693 - 19/03/2025 15:30:46    2597295

Replying To GreenandRed:  "No spin from me."
Fair. I just think a "rags to riches" story is someone from the favelas for example winning the world cup or something. I'd imagine CMcG always had a good pair of shoes to his name. Living in Lucan and binning a good apprenticeship to train fulltime on the dole is not the same thing for me.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12279 - 19/03/2025 16:10:01    2597301

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes but you don't hear about those conquerors giving out about other immigrants only a generation or 2 later.
From Trump tower you can likely see the Statue of Liberty. And probably Ellis island too. Most of the people who landed there didn't have visas, and likely no ID either. These were the people who built modern day America.
Clinton was another shady lad, Biden likewise. If you look back over the very short history of the country you are living in you would see most of its Presidents weren't great men. That's partly why so many were shot at, and shot dead. Trump will likely be remembered less fondly than most in the fullness of time, kind of a celebrity social media clown with no real policies that anyone could stick with, not even himself. That's the problem with most silver spoon types, there's nothing in them at the end of the day."
Those that landed at Ellis Island came with whatever was required at that time. They entered LEGALLY. It's the same as your Front Door as in people can come in the right way or the wrong way. This isn't rocket science.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2439 - 19/03/2025 16:20:37    2597304

Replying To Trump2020:  "Those that landed at Ellis Island came with whatever was required at that time. They entered LEGALLY. It's the same as your Front Door as in people can come in the right way or the wrong way. This isn't rocket science."
Agree 100% but your country has changed now. Nowadays its not "give us your poor" it's "if you are rich we will sell you a place in our country".

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15231 - 19/03/2025 17:03:20    2597320

Replying To Trump2020:  "Those that landed at Ellis Island came with whatever was required at that time. They entered LEGALLY. It's the same as your Front Door as in people can come in the right way or the wrong way. This isn't rocket science."
I'd sat the natives would beg to differ. Not much respect for their front door

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12279 - 19/03/2025 17:42:34    2597333

Replying To Breffni40:  "I'd sat the natives would beg to differ. Not much respect for their front door"
I'm no Trump fan but you can't have millions of illegals crossing the border. There is never much talk about what the Spanish or Portuguese did in South America. Even Ireland was colonised down the centuries before the Brits. Vikings, Normans etc…bottom line is all land is stolen land if you go back far enough.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11510 - 19/03/2025 19:07:58    2597348

Replying To Breffni40:  "I'd sat the natives would beg to differ. Not much respect for their front door"
Like I pointed out in an earlier post-every square inch of Earth was fought over and taken at one time or another and them Natives did some very bad things to other Natives but you go ahead and cherry pick the history book to suit your bias. Should we reset all laws to DAY ONE whenever that was?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2439 - 19/03/2025 19:58:38    2597353