Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I wasn't debating who is imposing more tariffs. Trump literally doesn't understand how they work. He has been caught on camera numerous times in recent interviews clearly not understanding how they work and how they affect American consumers."
For some reason the one reply where I agreed with you wasn't posted.

You're absolutely correct that he doesn't understand tarrifs.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 16/09/2024 15:39:45    2570184

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "If he doesn't understand them when he imposed them, then why is the current regime doubling down on what he imposed?

Means the democrats don't understand tariffs either doesn't it?"
You don't read posts do you? He can impose as many as he wants. So can the Democrats. My point do for the 3rd time is he talks about Tariffs as part of his economic plan. But has multiple times failed to understand what they are and how they work. I mean you can actually look this up.

You seem to defend him randomly and will argue against everything. You are the man, probably the only one who thought Trump would stay calm in the debate and not make an eejit out of himself on multiple issues. But please keep half reading my posts and then arguing back with random stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8062 - 16/09/2024 16:25:08    2570199

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You don't read posts do you? He can impose as many as he wants. So can the Democrats. My point do for the 3rd time is he talks about Tariffs as part of his economic plan. But has multiple times failed to understand what they are and how they work. I mean you can actually look this up.

You seem to defend him randomly and will argue against everything. You are the man, probably the only one who thought Trump would stay calm in the debate and not make an eejit out of himself on multiple issues. But please keep half reading my posts and then arguing back with random stuff."
The man is an eejit in many ways as is the other candidate. Nobody arguing there.

It is not arguing back with random stuff to suggest that if you think his tariffs policy is a joke or whatever, then Biden going along with them and adding to them is a bigger joke.

Protectionism is a political policy that go hand in hand with an America first isolationist view, how do you know this isn't exactly what he wants to create with tariffs.

All the media said he had a bad debate but all the polls favoured him afterwards, so figure that one out.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 16/09/2024 16:55:34    2570208

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "The man is an eejit in many ways as is the other candidate. Nobody arguing there.

It is not arguing back with random stuff to suggest that if you think his tariffs policy is a joke or whatever, then Biden going along with them and adding to them is a bigger joke.

Protectionism is a political policy that go hand in hand with an America first isolationist view, how do you know this isn't exactly what he wants to create with tariffs.

All the media said he had a bad debate but all the polls favoured him afterwards, so figure that one out."
For the 4th time Trump doesn't understand how Tariffs work. That's all i said. You can post all you want and ramble about Democrats imposing tariffs. That's not the point i was making. As for your point on polls post debate? I mean Tucker Carlson would be proud of you lads.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8062 - 16/09/2024 18:59:34    2570231

Replying To TheFlaker:  "For the 4th time Trump doesn't understand how Tariffs work. That's all i said. You can post all you want and ramble about Democrats imposing tariffs. That's not the point i was making. As for your point on polls post debate? I mean Tucker Carlson would be proud of you lads."
True that and neither does Biden

You don't trust polls?

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 16/09/2024 21:45:17    2570256

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "True that and neither does Biden

You don't trust polls?"
Biden is gone lad. What he did is in the past. Do i trust polls? Polls have showed Trump down overall including losing the debate so not sure what polls you look at?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8062 - 17/09/2024 08:53:59    2570289

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Biden is gone lad. What he did is in the past. Do i trust polls? Polls have showed Trump down overall including losing the debate so not sure what polls you look at?"
Harris is linked to Biden and his presidency and he very much is still the president...in name anyway, but not so certain he is anywhere near running the show there.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 17/09/2024 10:53:37    2570323

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "Harris is linked to Biden and his presidency and he very much is still the president...in name anyway, but not so certain he is anywhere near running the show there."
What polls are you looking at that said he won the debate and has him ahead?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8062 - 17/09/2024 12:08:53    2570346

Nothing like a good old fashioned conspiracy theory lads and ladies. How about this one. A would be shooter sits in a bush for 11 hours. An eagle eyed special agent spots the barrel of a rifle jiggling and poking out of the bush and lets off a few shots. The would be Lee Harvey Oswald legs it leaving all his gear behind without getting a shot off. Nobody gets hit, thankfully. Somebody spots the vehicle reg , informs the police who are able to trail him and make a "peaceful" arrest at the first available convenient spot for such. Jack Reacher has nothing on this.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 17/09/2024 12:16:03    2570349

You're all raving here about who'll be the next American President, what's more worrying for me the is last time roughly 50/50 of their population thought a doting Biden or a whacky Trump were suitable to be President at all,
same this time Trump versus the laughing Hyena. I think I'd prefer Trump tbh. Tough choice though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2946 - 17/09/2024 12:56:07    2570357

Replying To Freethinker:  "Nothing like a good old fashioned conspiracy theory lads and ladies. How about this one. A would be shooter sits in a bush for 11 hours. An eagle eyed special agent spots the barrel of a rifle jiggling and poking out of the bush and lets off a few shots. The would be Lee Harvey Oswald legs it leaving all his gear behind without getting a shot off. Nobody gets hit, thankfully. Somebody spots the vehicle reg , informs the police who are able to trail him and make a "peaceful" arrest at the first available convenient spot for such. Jack Reacher has nothing on this."
We really are living in wacky times when they look back at this time from circa 2016 to today people will wonder what they hell was going on

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 17/09/2024 13:01:37    2570360

Replying To TheFlaker:  "What polls are you looking at that said he won the debate and has him ahead?"
I didn't say that the polls said he won the debate, I said he is ahead in the polls after it

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 17/09/2024 13:09:58    2570366

Replying To Freethinker:  "Nothing like a good old fashioned conspiracy theory lads and ladies. How about this one. A would be shooter sits in a bush for 11 hours. An eagle eyed special agent spots the barrel of a rifle jiggling and poking out of the bush and lets off a few shots. The would be Lee Harvey Oswald legs it leaving all his gear behind without getting a shot off. Nobody gets hit, thankfully. Somebody spots the vehicle reg , informs the police who are able to trail him and make a "peaceful" arrest at the first available convenient spot for such. Jack Reacher has nothing on this."
If someone who had voted in a Republican primary had been arrested with an assault rifle and scope waiting for Harris you can imagine what the consequences would be.

Because it was the other way around, it is being basically pushed out of the news cycle or like the previous attempt suggested that the target himself was behind it.

This time four years ago the Democrats were bailing out rioters and arsonists let loose after an aggravated drug addicted burglar died during an arrest,

And the Orange man is the bad one. The war monger who uniquely among American Presidents in generations didn't start one war.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2964 - 17/09/2024 13:41:37    2570375

Am I the only person who finds all this second assassination attempt very suspicious..no shot fired from the so called shooter..no one it seems only those close to trump knew he was going golfing,yet some fella hid in bushes for 10/11 hours hoping he might get off a shot which he failed to do..is it weird that this happens a few days after he lost the live tv debate according to all the experts..I don't make a habit of following American politics but this election I'm keeping an eye on just to see what Americans think their future might be..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2333 - 17/09/2024 13:52:27    2570381

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If someone who had voted in a Republican primary had been arrested with an assault rifle and scope waiting for Harris you can imagine what the consequences would be.

Because it was the other way around, it is being basically pushed out of the news cycle or like the previous attempt suggested that the target himself was behind it.

This time four years ago the Democrats were bailing out rioters and arsonists let loose after an aggravated drug addicted burglar died during an arrest,

And the Orange man is the bad one. The war monger who uniquely among American Presidents in generations didn't start one war."
Not sure any president ever has had the power to start a war tbh Barney. Like most if not all democracies, you can vote for whichever hue of politician you like in America, but the same people will be running the country after the next election as were running it before it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13329 - 17/09/2024 14:09:09    2570386

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "I didn't say that the polls said he won the debate, I said he is ahead in the polls after it"
What polls have him ahead? Do you want me to post the list of every poll for you or do you want to keep making stuff up? Because I can post a link for you. He has only ever been ahead in 2 polls out of all the recognised polling companies. That's 2 out of about 15.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8062 - 17/09/2024 14:11:54    2570388

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If someone who had voted in a Republican primary had been arrested with an assault rifle and scope waiting for Harris you can imagine what the consequences would be.

And the Orange man is the bad one. The war monger who uniquely among American Presidents in generations didn't start one war."
It's almost unbelievable that a lad would sit in the bushes for 10 or 11 hours waiting for Trump then get peacefully arrested. His base will be riled up for a fight. Almost unbelievable.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8062 - 17/09/2024 14:29:20    2570394

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Am I the only person who finds all this second assassination attempt very suspicious..no shot fired from the so called shooter..no one it seems only those close to trump knew he was going golfing,yet some fella hid in bushes for 10/11 hours hoping he might get off a shot which he failed to do..is it weird that this happens a few days after he lost the live tv debate according to all the experts..I don't make a habit of following American politics but this election I'm keeping an eye on just to see what Americans think their future might be.."
I find the first one every bit as suspicious. In fairness don't think it's any secret Donald spends most of his time golfing where he was.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 17/09/2024 14:41:29    2570400

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's almost unbelievable that a lad would sit in the bushes for 10 or 11 hours waiting for Trump then get peacefully arrested. His base will be riled up for a fight. Almost unbelievable."
If he had been killed you would probably claim he killed himself!

Democrats - with the support of Republicans who now support Harris! - are the ones who unleashed hell in Iraq, Afghanistan and Libya for no good reason. Then having made a mess, crawled out and abandoned people to the Taliban and their ilk. Democrats are also the ones who are standing over the slaughter in Gaza .

These are you "good guys" I take it?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2964 - 17/09/2024 16:41:28    2570425

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If he had been killed you would probably claim he killed himself!

Democrats - with the support of Republicans who now support Harris! - are the ones who unleashed hell in Iraq, Afghanistan and Libya for no good reason. Then having made a mess, crawled out and abandoned people to the Taliban and their ilk. Democrats are also the ones who are standing over the slaughter in Gaza .

These are you "good guys" I take it?"
Can you let me know when i posted on here that the Democrats are amazing, that Joe Biden is amazing and that Harris is amazing. Thanks.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8062 - 17/09/2024 17:10:31    2570433