Non-Gaa Forum

Absolutely delighted for Italy. Playing against the officials also at the end. I saw at least 2 forward passes and possibly a foot in touch while Scotland launched their last series of attacks. Delighted they held on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7898 - 09/03/2024 16:11:01    2530473

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Hasn't SF always been run by a NGO - the Army Council?

At a time of record levels of homelessness, lack of housing and long waiting lists the Government was wasting time and money on a frivolous meaningless Referendum.
If there's a problem with 1930s social mores in the Bunreacht why not go through and modernise the entire document?"
Women trade unionists supported the article on women in home in 1937 because they saw a single earning family as the best option.

That became norm for 2/3 generations but has been dismantled under liberalism.. Now both partners need to work in vast majority of cases to have a place to live.

Progress? Anyway, people have seen through them all today, More to come I suspect. Pity we don't have plausible alternative yet.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 09/03/2024 16:23:02    2530478

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Absolutely delighted for Italy. Playing against the officials also at the end. I saw at least 2 forward passes and possibly a foot in touch while Scotland launched their last series of attacks. Delighted they held on."
Massive turnaround since the world cup but anyone who watched the nextflix 6N series would have picked up on the issues that may have been behind it and for me there looked to be a breakdown in relationship between the players and head coach - knowing that you will lose your job after the world cup I guess didn't help either

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 09/03/2024 16:38:35    2530485

Bullied out of it big time by England who should have won by 10pts. O'Mahoney ill disciplined again.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 09/03/2024 18:48:25    2530498

Dreadful performance by Ireland. The build up was hard to listen to. Fair play to England.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7898 - 09/03/2024 18:57:53    2530499

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Dreadful performance by Ireland. The build up was hard to listen to. Fair play to England."
What exactly was 'hard to listen to' in the build up?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2467 - 09/03/2024 19:16:37    2530502

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Dreadful performance by Ireland. The build up was hard to listen to. Fair play to England."
They deserved to lose but I wouldn't say they were dreadful. Took a last second kick to secure the win for England.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 09/03/2024 19:21:18    2530503

I wonder about democracy sometimes when a party which only got 7% at the polling station ends up with three of the most incompetent ministers in the history of the state.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 09/03/2024 19:21:22    2530504

Every single pundit crowing about how we are on a different level. Predicting easy win. All of them. Heaslip and Stringer beyond a joke in build up. 6 nations weaker than it ever has been and we might be the best team in it but we are not as good as everyone says. Did nobody watch the Wales game? Can't understand the hype.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7898 - 09/03/2024 19:27:46    2530507

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "What exactly was 'hard to listen to' in the build up?"
I would guess the Irish rugby fraternity and their media poodles blowing smoke up each others Archibalds.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 09/03/2024 19:35:44    2530508

England almost beat South Africa at the recent World Cup semi. I didn't think the performance was dreadful. England won the collisions comprehensively all day, and have to be given credit for that Couple that physical advantage with their capacity to disrupt the Irish lineout and scrum, and it left Ireland scrapping for crumbs to get a foothold in the game. England were world cup semi finalists in 2023. Ireland were not. England almost won that semi-final too, it should be acknowledged.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 09/03/2024 19:42:25    2530509

Replying To Galway9801:  "They deserved to lose but I wouldn't say they were dreadful. Took a last second kick to secure the win for England."
Pre match England 9/2. The spread with bookies was 12-15 points. England written off and called poor by everyone. Ireland apparently used to favourites tag and it won't faze them one bit.

Then we see more missed tackles than we have in years. Line-out malfunction, pretty toothless in attack. Daft penalties given away by experienced players. Very dependant on Bundee to get us some momentum. Tell me what game you were watching?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7898 - 09/03/2024 19:47:57    2530511

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "England almost beat South Africa at the recent World Cup semi. I didn't think the performance was dreadful. England won the collisions comprehensively all day, and have to be given credit for that Couple that physical advantage with their capacity to disrupt the Irish lineout and scrum, and it left Ireland scrapping for crumbs to get a foothold in the game. England were world cup semi finalists in 2023. Ireland were not. England almost won that semi-final too, it should be acknowledged."
And here we are, post game, with 20 20 vision saying of course this could happen. The same pundits like Heaslip and Stringer will use the same logic. Pity it wasn't evident pre game.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7898 - 09/03/2024 20:00:26    2530512

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Pre match England 9/2. The spread with bookies was 12-15 points. England written off and called poor by everyone. Ireland apparently used to favourites tag and it won't faze them one bit.

Then we see more missed tackles than we have in years. Line-out malfunction, pretty toothless in attack. Daft penalties given away by experienced players. Very dependant on Bundee to get us some momentum. Tell me what game you were watching?"
A 'shock' that wasn't shocking at all, especially considering England's level of comfort throughout the game. Pundits seemed to forget that England were seconds away from beating South Africa at the semi-final of the 2023 world cup.

The doubt seemed to be about England's capacity to bring their A game today, after showing lacklustre form in recent outings. Once England managed to bring that A game, Ireland were always going to have their hands full to win it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 09/03/2024 20:07:14    2530514

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "A 'shock' that wasn't shocking at all, especially considering England's level of comfort throughout the game. Pundits seemed to forget that England were seconds away from beating South Africa at the semi-final of the 2023 world cup.

The doubt seemed to be about England's capacity to bring their A game today, after showing lacklustre form in recent outings. Once England managed to bring that A game, Ireland were always going to have their hands full to win it."
Grand so it wasn't a shock to me and you. But absolutely nobody was talking pre match the way you are now.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7898 - 09/03/2024 20:33:22    2530518

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And here we are, post game, with 20 20 vision saying of course this could happen. The same pundits like Heaslip and Stringer will use the same logic. Pity it wasn't evident pre game."
It was evident to me. 5/6 nations history is littered with home teams bringing big performances to thwart grand slam hunting sides. Heaslip, Stringer and Jackman possibly fell into the trap of thinking that England couldn't raise their level in a couple of weeks, from the form they appeared to be in. They were wrong, and should've known better.

It's a compliment to that Irish side in a way that England mustered up their A game for the day, when they clearly weren't sufficiently motivated by any other 6 nations challenge to date in the competition.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 09/03/2024 20:55:07    2530524

Most enjoyable game to watch. Was tempted to take the spread on England thinking it would be close but didn't. Silly odds really given WC etc. Not to mention Ireland's tendency to choke on big days. Or is that u kind?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 09/03/2024 21:01:19    2530525

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "I wonder about democracy sometimes when a party which only got 7% at the polling station ends up with three of the most incompetent ministers in the history of the state."
I'd agree.
They should be entitled to make up a majority government, but shouldn't hold the balance of power thereafter.
The DUP were the same for a short while across the water. And the PDs made an existence out of propping up the very party they claimed the couldn't be a part of.

Not sure how you get around it.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 09/03/2024 21:08:04    2530526

Replying To Galway9801:  "They deserved to lose but I wouldn't say they were dreadful. Took a last second kick to secure the win for England."
Common sense goes out the window after a 1 point defeat.
All 3 of the England tries came with Ireland down to 14 (1 injury, 1 concussion, 1 yellow).
Genge should've seen red in the first half and you could hear the Irish players on ref mic asking him to look at it. He refused.
And as you say, a 1 point win with the last kick of the game on top of all that good fortune. It was a freak win.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 09/03/2024 21:21:45    2530530

Replying To cavanman47:  "Common sense goes out the window after a 1 point defeat.
All 3 of the England tries came with Ireland down to 14 (1 injury, 1 concussion, 1 yellow).
Genge should've seen red in the first half and you could hear the Irish players on ref mic asking him to look at it. He refused.
And as you say, a 1 point win with the last kick of the game on top of all that good fortune. It was a freak win."
Jesus lads get a grip. So soft on ourselves. If this. If that. Can't read this stuff. Absolutely no excuses. Poor today. And poor against the worst Welsh team in living memory.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7898 - 09/03/2024 21:32:18    2530531