Donegal Club Football

If Eunans can only score 1 1 in a League match , how will they score in a Championship match.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 15/06/2022 19:47:27    2425244

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I think Eunans will be hard to beat. They won it with a young team last year and they're only going to get better as they get more physically stronger and streetwise. Shane O'Donnell has been excellent and I get the feeling his brother Niall will want to prove a wee bit of a point. He didn't see much county action this year for one reason and another. But there's no doubting his ability. I wonder is Conor Morrison anywhere near a return to action? It would be fantastic to see him back. A superb defender with a great attitude."
I'm not sure niall will want to prove a point. I think he'll rather want to find his real form and get back to himself. He had a hamstring injury during the tyobe league match that seemed to hold him back.
The other thing about eunans that the older players aren't old and won't be deteriorating as footballers. Tobin, dowling are both under 20s and should develop even further. I wonder will we see much of ciaran Moore. I think he added a lot when he came on in derry against tyrone. I see darragh ellison back on the team sheet as well.
Based on the way rory kavanagh interviews I'm not sure he'll be changing their style. I hope he opens them up and encourages the creativity that this team have.

I think Leo mcloone being passed his best will hurt nc. Though Thompson, mckelvey and ethan odonnell will certainly help them along. I wonder will eoghan mcgettigan be getting back for them. In fairness to NC they also seem to really good at developing players. Their players in the donegal minor team were very decent. There numbers aren't huge and wonder how they do that so well.

Hard to see gweedore being good enough. That great year they had was the mix of old and young with mcniallais the cream on top. That mix is gone now.
I don't think mcbrearty or Ryan mchugh are at the level of a few years ago so not sure on kilcar but draw will be a factor for them and the bigger teams.

Aodh ruadh strike me as a team committed to the league . They had no pull from the county and they'll be ok in championship too but not enough to get beyond maybe a semi. Glenswilly should arrest their slide as four masters. Glenfin also should be relatively competitive.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 688 - 15/06/2022 21:29:44    2425256

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I'm not sure niall will want to prove a point. I think he'll rather want to find his real form and get back to himself. He had a hamstring injury during the tyobe league match that seemed to hold him back.
The other thing about eunans that the older players aren't old and won't be deteriorating as footballers. Tobin, dowling are both under 20s and should develop even further. I wonder will we see much of ciaran Moore. I think he added a lot when he came on in derry against tyrone. I see darragh ellison back on the team sheet as well.
Based on the way rory kavanagh interviews I'm not sure he'll be changing their style. I hope he opens them up and encourages the creativity that this team have.

I think Leo mcloone being passed his best will hurt nc. Though Thompson, mckelvey and ethan odonnell will certainly help them along. I wonder will eoghan mcgettigan be getting back for them. In fairness to NC they also seem to really good at developing players. Their players in the donegal minor team were very decent. There numbers aren't huge and wonder how they do that so well.

Hard to see gweedore being good enough. That great year they had was the mix of old and young with mcniallais the cream on top. That mix is gone now.
I don't think mcbrearty or Ryan mchugh are at the level of a few years ago so not sure on kilcar but draw will be a factor for them and the bigger teams.

Aodh ruadh strike me as a team committed to the league . They had no pull from the county and they'll be ok in championship too but not enough to get beyond maybe a semi. Glenswilly should arrest their slide as four masters. Glenfin also should be relatively competitive."
Yeah the more I think of it the more I cannot see which team can realistically match Eunans. Maybe if Glenties get one last tune out of the older boys they could upset them. In a one off game who knows? But as for the rest, I can't see it.

It would be great to see some more open football. Aside from my obvious Donegal bias and disappointment, you'd have to admire the way Armagh went about their business last weekend. I've often heard the line that the reason we play through the hands so much is due to our close proximity to the wild north Atlantic coast. But Kerry is hardly in the Canaries is it? A major rethink needed I think as to how we're coaching our footballers. The defensive, counter attacking stuff served us well a decade ago but it's had its day now in my opinion.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 16/06/2022 11:33:37    2425328

Draws and formats now available for tomorrow nights draws.

Lifford seniors entering a championship for reserve teams yet again this year despite holding their own in their senior league.

Will Termon seniors be entering the Senior B competition as well?

Will Convoy seniors be entering the Intermediate B competition as well?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 796 - 20/06/2022 09:04:04    2426243

With county action coming to a finish soon, would there be any interest amongst the Donegal hoganstand forum users in me running a similar predictions competition for the Donegal Club Championship?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 21/06/2022 11:43:05    2426563

Replying To jacktheboy:  "If Eunans can only score 1 1 in a League match , how will they score in a Championship match."
Not sure why we getting singled out on all the comments on that match .

Few things -

There was 2 teams involved.

We have racked up big score lines in both games since.

Kilcar haven't - both their games have been low scoring.

Decent scores kicked in all games prior to this.

The game wasn't overly defensive in terms V any other - it's just the shooting / finishing was dreadful from both teams

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 21/06/2022 12:21:40    2426599

Replying To Lockjaw:  "With county action coming to a finish soon, would there be any interest amongst the Donegal hoganstand forum users in me running a similar predictions competition for the Donegal Club Championship?"
Yes I would b interested if you had the time.

Hopefully tho that 1 poster on the donegal forum page doesn't hijack this page too not allowing others have opinions and call them names when he gets caught out all the time…..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 21/06/2022 12:23:36    2426602

Replying To Lockjaw:  "With county action coming to a finish soon, would there be any interest amongst the Donegal hoganstand forum users in me running a similar predictions competition for the Donegal Club Championship?"
Sounds good

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 21/06/2022 13:50:52    2426644

You did a great job with the intercounty one fair play.

More of the same with a club twist would be welcome if you have the time.

GRMA

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 796 - 21/06/2022 14:53:38    2426666

Great idea if you have the time Lockjaw.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 21/06/2022 15:08:15    2426672

Yeah I probably will. I'll include junior and intermediate championships as well. Looking forward to the draws tonight.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 21/06/2022 15:14:14    2426674

Jesus, Mary and Joseph....I popped on to the Donegal GAA website there hoping to be able to download this year's Championship groups and fixtures. A simple enough request you'd imagine. Not so much. It really is amateur hour and an embarrassment.

Anyway....

Senior Group A:

1 - Glenswilly
2 - Gaoth Dobhair
3 - St Eunan's
4 - Killybegs
5 - Four Masters
6 - Aodh Ruadh
7 - Kilcar
8 - St Michael's

Senior Group B:

1 - Glenfin
2 - MacCumhaill's
3 - Milford
4 - Cloughaneely
5 - Ardara
6 - St Naul's
7 - Naomh Conaill
8 - Realt na Mara, Bundoran

Weekend One - August 13th/14th

Killybegs v Glenfin
Kilcar v Milford
Aodh Ruadh v Realt na Mara, Bundoran
Four Masters v Cloughaneely
Glenswilly v Naomh Conaill
Gaoth Dobhair v Ardara
St Eunan's v St Naul's
St Michael's v MacCumhaill's

Weekend Two - August 20th/21st

Cloughaneely v Kilcar
Glenfin v Gaoth Dobhair
St Naul's v Glenswilly
MacCumhaill's v Four Masters
Milford v St Michael's
Naomh Conaill v Killybegs
Realt na Mara, Bundoran v St Eunan's
Ardara v Aodh Ruadh

Intermediate Group A

1 - Burt
2 - Naomh Muire Lower Rosses
3 - Gaeil Fhánada
4 - Termon
5 - Malin
6 - Dungloe

Week 1: Burt v Dungloe, Naomh Muire Lower Rosses v Malin, Gaeil Fhánada v Termon
Week 2: Malin v Burt, Termon v Naomh Muire Lower Rosses, Dungloe v Gaeil Fhánada
Week 3: Burt v Termon, Naomh Muire Lower Rosses v Gaeil Fhánada, Malin v Dungloe
Week 4: Gaeil Fhánada v Burt, Dungloe v Naomh Muire Lower Rosses, Termon v Malin

Intermediate Group B

Group B
1 - Downings
2 - St Mary's, Convoy
3 - Naomh Bríd
4 - Naomh Columba
5 - Buncrana
6 - Red Hugh's

Fixtures:
Week 1: Downings v Red Hugh's, St Mary's, Convoy v Buncrana, Naomh Bríd v Naomh Columba
Week 2: Buncrana v Downings, Naomh Columba v St Mary's, Convoy, Red Hugh's v Naomh Bríd
Week 3: Downings v Naomh Columba, St Mary's, Convoy v Naomh Bríd, Buncrana v Red Hugh's
Week 4: Naomh Brídv Downings, Red Hugh's v St Mary's, Convoy, Naomh Columba v Buncrana

Junior Group A

Group A
1 - Pettigo
2 - Moville
3 - Naomh Colmcille
4 - Letterkenny Gaels
5 - Carndonagh
6 - Na Rossa

Fixtures
Week 1: Pettigo V Moville, Naomh Colmcille v Letterkenny Gaels, Carndonagh v Na Rossa
Week 2: Moville v Naomh Colmcille, Na Rossa v Pettigo, Letterkenny Gaels v Carndonagh
Week 3: Pettigo v Naomh Colmcille, Carndonagh v Moville, Na Rossa v Letterkenny Gaels
Week 4: Letterkenny Gaels v Pettigo, Naomh Colmcille v Na Rossa, Moville v Carndonagh

Junior Group B

Group B
1 - Robert Emmets
2 - St Eunan's D
3 - Naomh Padraig UC
4 - Urris
5 - Naomh Ultan

Fixtures:
Week 1: Robert Emmets v St Eunan's D, Naomh Padraig UC v Urris, Naomh Ultan bye
Week 2: Urris v Robert Emmets, Naomh Ultan v Naomh Padraig UC, St Eunan's D bye
Week 3: Naomh Padraig UC v Robert Emmets, St Eunan's D v Naomh Ultan, Urris bye
Week 4: Robert Emmets v Naomh Ultan, Urris v St Eunan's D, Naomh Padraig UC bye
Week 5: St Eunan's D v Naomh Padraig UC, Naomh Ultan v Urris, Robert Emmets bye

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 22/06/2022 09:32:53    2426752

Interesting scoreline in the Naomh Conaill - Gaoth Dobhair match last night. By the sounds of things both teams just played off the cuff with little regard for defensive structures. Obviously things will be a lot different in August when the serious stuff starts.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 22/06/2022 16:21:45    2426896

https://donegalgaa.ie/all-football-championship-fixtures/

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 462 - 23/06/2022 09:49:13    2426974

Last round of league games in Division 1 this weekend. As expected, Glenties and Kilcar will most likely contest the league final.

At the other end, Ardara's proud record of playing in Division 1 for nearly 40 years could be at an end. Even if they avoid the automatic drop this weekend they will have to follow that up with another win in a play off.

Interesting how the Killybegs game is the one game that is going ahead on Friday with the other games scheduled to throw in at the same time on Saturday evening. Who is the head of the fixtures committee again???

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 796 - 06/07/2022 12:28:32    2430066

Replying To peiledoir20:  "More importantly in club footballs they are PEOPLE first.

I think this is what a lot of egotistical coaches are forgetting and only seem to be concerned with themselves. I have noticed in the county since the county leagues started this year a raft of reserve games being called off. Will be interesting to see the total figures from the CB at year end. Players are just fed up with it and pulling the plug. We are hemorrhaging club players in this county as the enjoyment has been sucked out of playing.

It's more of a chore than a hobby to players these days."
I posted this over 6 weeks ago. The penny finally seems to have dropped with the CB with Ed Byrnes article today in the Democrat.

He talks about midweek games, regional leagues etc.

He also notes that most postponements are happening in Divisions 1A and 1B - clubs who take football more seriously - further testament that the enjoyment is being sucked out of the games.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 796 - 21/07/2022 10:18:24    2433277

I read that piece last night online in regards to fixtures being cancelled.

The county board has to show more respect to reserve teams/games. The old cliche of these games being for older lads etc.. Majority of reserves teams are now made up of 17-21 year olds.

That age gap is as important as any age gap in GAA. But when the county board aren't giving it enough recognition or respect, players tend to drop off. It's as simple as that.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 21/07/2022 16:23:54    2433423

Not long till championship. Who do we fancy for junior, intermediate and senior?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 28/07/2022 11:16:29    2435038