2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To clooney:  "My final comment on this many on the Sunday evening were complaining that these incidents should not have been shown after an epic match.

I personally have no issue with this been highlighted its not B Cumming or S Dowling's fault at all, RTE probably decide what to show anyway, & I can only imagine what Limerick viewers would think, if you diden't, as the cameras have been trained on a few of there boys for a while.

I am not condoning the incidents at all but I think you would agree forwards come in for some brutal treatment as well with officials a few yards away frustration can build up. If you were up in Court and it was your first offense would it count for anything ? those 2 Clare players are ordinary lads who will pay for there actions this should not follow them around like a smell.

Whether you consider it tribal & petty or " fighting your corner" is a matter of opinion

I do recall though a very prominent Dublin footballer having a red card rescinded so that he could play in an All Ireland a number of years ago and I can only imagine what you might think when its your own County.

Hopefully weekend hurling gives us two classics with no controversies"
Good post.

I think the Q finals are a real mouth watering prospect of a double header. I'll be travelling as a neutral and tickets secured. The Galway v Cork match is a real 50-50 for me. Both have the firepower to put up big scores. Galway owe their manager a performance and have a very physical 15 that can expose Cork esp in their FB line. I rate concannon buy he's not on a great year..whelan is unmarkable and wouldn't surprise me to see millerick go in on him esp with doubts over Downey. Galway will go direct against Cork. Cork are building a bit of momentum..They won't be hugely pleased conceding 2-11 in a half v Antrim. They have the forward unit to expose Galway but they'll have to bring a huge intensity to their play. I think cork will bring a performance so for me it depends on Galway. Ive a feeling Galway will turn up. I think Gakway might squeeze through in a high scoring match.

Clare v Wexford will be physical. Wexford are better than people think and on their day can easily overcome clare. Reck will man mark kelly and they'll set up defensively. Clare might need Shanagher in for Duggan if the suspension holds as their game plan most of the year has been to go direct. That said they worked the ball v well v Limerick at times and in fact did it more than I thought they would. I think David Mc and David Fitz have been huge positives for clare this year. But in the 2 matches I saw v Limerick Shane o donnell , Peter Duggan, cathal malone have been v subdued and ineffectual as a whole. Clare need to get more from these guys. Wexford will target kelly and Fitzgerald in particular and clare will need to spread around the scores. Wexford are also getting healthy at a good time. I can't call this one but clare are 1/3 for a reason and that reason has been consistency. They've been very consistent. The only fear is the effort to get through munster and munster final.

This is the meat end of the season from here on in.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 13/06/2022 13:54:07    2424652

Replying To daveboy:  "Good post.

I think the Q finals are a real mouth watering prospect of a double header. I'll be travelling as a neutral and tickets secured. The Galway v Cork match is a real 50-50 for me. Both have the firepower to put up big scores. Galway owe their manager a performance and have a very physical 15 that can expose Cork esp in their FB line. I rate concannon buy he's not on a great year..whelan is unmarkable and wouldn't surprise me to see millerick go in on him esp with doubts over Downey. Galway will go direct against Cork. Cork are building a bit of momentum..They won't be hugely pleased conceding 2-11 in a half v Antrim. They have the forward unit to expose Galway but they'll have to bring a huge intensity to their play. I think cork will bring a performance so for me it depends on Galway. Ive a feeling Galway will turn up. I think Gakway might squeeze through in a high scoring match.

Clare v Wexford will be physical. Wexford are better than people think and on their day can easily overcome clare. Reck will man mark kelly and they'll set up defensively. Clare might need Shanagher in for Duggan if the suspension holds as their game plan most of the year has been to go direct. That said they worked the ball v well v Limerick at times and in fact did it more than I thought they would. I think David Mc and David Fitz have been huge positives for clare this year. But in the 2 matches I saw v Limerick Shane o donnell , Peter Duggan, cathal malone have been v subdued and ineffectual as a whole. Clare need to get more from these guys. Wexford will target kelly and Fitzgerald in particular and clare will need to spread around the scores. Wexford are also getting healthy at a good time. I can't call this one but clare are 1/3 for a reason and that reason has been consistency. They've been very consistent. The only fear is the effort to get through munster and munster final.

This is the meat end of the season from here on in."
I think Cork may shade it. I dont understand peoples high opinion on Millerick...I havent seen anything from him to suggest he could match someone with the power of Whelan especially in that position - however i havent seen a tonne of him either. Galway havent overly impressed me this year, even leaving the Leinster final aside. They've struggled to put teams away in the manner you'd imagine they should. The few wins in a row for Cork migh give them the confidence to get through.
You're right on Wexford. On paper I think they are a really good side and have plenty of physical men too. All form suggests Clare will win though. It'll be a very disappointing result if they go out at this point. They do seem to have the better panel of players also.
Cork by 3
Clare by 4

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 13/06/2022 14:07:24    2424666

clooney, I always said that the Dublin footballer should not have got off. Nor should Peter Casey. Nor should virtually any player who went to the appeals process.
I hate seeing players sent off and Kerry had a player sent off for a very dubious hit on Saturday, I am all for players being given the benefit of the doubt but that has to end somwhere.
The funny thing is, I was talking to a club stalwart from Wexford yesterday who hopes they are both cleared to play. His thoughts were that if Wexford are to win, he doesn't want to hear the excuses.
Anyway, I will be in Thurles with my Wexford children on Saturday and best of luck to all 4 teams. I will be cheering for Wexford and Galway but think Galway will win but Clare will have a few points too many for Wexford. But that depends on which Wexford turns up.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 13/06/2022 14:37:28    2424688

Replying To clooney:  "My final comment on this many on the Sunday evening were complaining that these incidents should not have been shown after an epic match.

I personally have no issue with this been highlighted its not B Cumming or S Dowling's fault at all, RTE probably decide what to show anyway, & I can only imagine what Limerick viewers would think, if you diden't, as the cameras have been trained on a few of there boys for a while.

I am not condoning the incidents at all but I think you would agree forwards come in for some brutal treatment as well with officials a few yards away frustration can build up. If you were up in Court and it was your first offense would it count for anything ? those 2 Clare players are ordinary lads who will pay for there actions this should not follow them around like a smell.

Whether you consider it tribal & petty or " fighting your corner" is a matter of opinion

I do recall though a very prominent Dublin footballer having a red card rescinded so that he could play in an All Ireland a number of years ago and I can only imagine what you might think when its your own County.

Hopefully weekend hurling gives us two classics with no controversies"
Absolutely totally agree. It is cheap selective use of the rules. Neither do I condone them but a warning or carrying a ticking into the next game. The NHL take into account if players are repeat offenders and get called in and warned.. I don't believe these players are. Incidents during play for me will always be different than off the ball. These worse mean incidents are not dealt with because the unscrupulous replays are not available and the commentators are not on the band wagon. I would ask a question ? Do the GAA go back and change the result of game after a score was called wrong ? Tipp's phantom goal against us that definitely change that result. Kilkenny's deflection against Limerick that probably changed who won all-Ireland and they would be going for four. This is selective hard punishment keeping two players out of probably the game of their lives. Yes I know they have responsibility themselves but the punishment fitting the crime ? I am not questioning the rule that "MAY ' get you sent off but do anyone know for certain if the incidents would be called yellow or red on the field ? It is like the hurler on the ditch. The referee on the ditch.
Yes kudos to the Limerick players involved. Got on with a games that they knew it was a battle between two titans who expect nothing less when they meet.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 13/06/2022 15:05:31    2424704

Replying To tiobraid:  "I think Cork may shade it. I dont understand peoples high opinion on Millerick...I havent seen anything from him to suggest he could match someone with the power of Whelan especially in that position - however i havent seen a tonne of him either. Galway havent overly impressed me this year, even leaving the Leinster final aside. They've struggled to put teams away in the manner you'd imagine they should. The few wins in a row for Cork migh give them the confidence to get through.
You're right on Wexford. On paper I think they are a really good side and have plenty of physical men too. All form suggests Clare will win though. It'll be a very disappointing result if they go out at this point. They do seem to have the better panel of players also.
Cork by 3
Clare by 4"
I'm going to go for Wexford by 2. No good reason only I think its possible and hope it happens!
And Im going for Galway by 1. They are due a big performance. I'm worried enough by their back 6 tbh as regards legs to track runners but think they might be able to stop the ball getting inside cleanly from further out the pitch. And I think Cork will struggle in the air against Galway. The 2 Munster teams with the big lads up front were the 2 who beat Cork. Galway will ask the same questions. Whelan is even better than Duggan.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 13/06/2022 15:15:48    2424708

As reported in "Examiner" Cork carrying injuries. Downey, O' Donoghue and Kingston all doubtful for Galway game.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/06/2022 16:42:59    2424755

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm going to go for Wexford by 2. No good reason only I think its possible and hope it happens!
And Im going for Galway by 1. They are due a big performance. I'm worried enough by their back 6 tbh as regards legs to track runners but think they might be able to stop the ball getting inside cleanly from further out the pitch. And I think Cork will struggle in the air against Galway. The 2 Munster teams with the big lads up front were the 2 who beat Cork. Galway will ask the same questions. Whelan is even better than Duggan."
Whelan is far superior to Duggan

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 13/06/2022 18:04:48    2424778

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm going to go for Wexford by 2. No good reason only I think its possible and hope it happens!
And Im going for Galway by 1. They are due a big performance. I'm worried enough by their back 6 tbh as regards legs to track runners but think they might be able to stop the ball getting inside cleanly from further out the pitch. And I think Cork will struggle in the air against Galway. The 2 Munster teams with the big lads up front were the 2 who beat Cork. Galway will ask the same questions. Whelan is even better than Duggan."
2 Leinster teams, a blown in and one Munster team in the final 4......surely not!

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 13/06/2022 21:14:47    2424830

Replying To daveboy:  "Good post.

This is the meat end of the season from here on in."
It will be one of the Recks, Shane held TK well last year (only 2 from play).

I predict Chin will go on the rampage.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 13/06/2022 21:20:20    2424831

Have the same feeling Viking but think wexford will win by more and fancy Galway in the other game by 4 or 5
Sunday game won't know what to say about all this Leinster dominance. At a guess I'd say Clare put too much into Munster and Corks injuries caught up with them deffinetly won't say we are a stronger province.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 218 - 14/06/2022 07:14:22    2424841

Replying To Shocs07:  "Whelan is far superior to Duggan"
Surely at this stage you must have your hatred of Clare dealt with, Peter Duggan has has a fine championship bar a frustrating Munster Final and even at that he still never gave up, was in line for MOM fir at least 3 championship matches

I was there you were not, you are getting very boring at this stage so give it a break

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 14/06/2022 08:49:47    2424851

Replying To WEX98:  "2 Leinster teams, a blown in and one Munster team in the final 4......surely not!"
Probably not but I'm thinking positive!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 14/06/2022 08:59:29    2424854

Replying To WEX98:  "It will be one of the Recks, Shane held TK well last year (only 2 from play).

I predict Chin will go on the rampage."
Is Shane fully fit wex98?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 14/06/2022 08:59:55    2424855

Replying To WEX98:  "2 Leinster teams, a blown in and one Munster team in the final 4......surely not!"
When Cody blew Wexford, Offaly and Dublin out of it for a period of 15 years, Galway and Antrim were blown in!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 14/06/2022 09:11:53    2424861

Replying To baire:  "When Cody blew Wexford, Offaly and Dublin out of it for a period of 15 years, Galway and Antrim were blown in!"
They would have blown Galway and Antrim out of it too! Be glad you weren't in Leinster back then. It was not easy.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 14/06/2022 09:49:57    2424874

Replying To clooney:  "Surely at this stage you must have your hatred of Clare dealt with, Peter Duggan has has a fine championship bar a frustrating Munster Final and even at that he still never gave up, was in line for MOM fir at least 3 championship matches

I was there you were not, you are getting very boring at this stage so give it a break"
Clare and Limerick are most likely to contest all Ireland final. Galway vs Cork is hard to predict, as both are struggling. Clare have momentum, should advance past Wexford even with suspensions.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 14/06/2022 10:32:15    2424885

Replying To clooney:  "Surely at this stage you must have your hatred of Clare dealt with, Peter Duggan has has a fine championship bar a frustrating Munster Final and even at that he still never gave up, was in line for MOM fir at least 3 championship matches

I was there you were not, you are getting very boring at this stage so give it a break"
Ah cop on a small bit.
I most definitely don't hate any county- silly comment.
Anyone with half a brain would recognize the importance of Whelan to the Galway team. You can't say the same for Duggan

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 14/06/2022 11:12:06    2424896

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "They would have blown Galway and Antrim out of it too! Be glad you weren't in Leinster back then. It was not easy."
Look at the record of G v KK since 2009 and show me the evidence of them been blown away by KK.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 14/06/2022 11:20:08    2424901

Replying To Tiger1:  "Have the same feeling Viking but think wexford will win by more and fancy Galway in the other game by 4 or 5
Sunday game won't know what to say about all this Leinster dominance. At a guess I'd say Clare put too much into Munster and Corks injuries caught up with them deffinetly won't say we are a stronger province."
Lord God a lot of mystic megs around here

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2472 - 14/06/2022 11:22:26    2424903

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "They would have blown Galway and Antrim out of it too! Be glad you weren't in Leinster back then. It was not easy."
And hasn't been easy for Galway since they have been in it.
In the 14 years they have played in Leinster, they've won it 3 times, Kilkenny have won it 9 times in that period (Dublin and Wexford 1 each).

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 14/06/2022 12:58:04    2424931