NFL Prediction Competition Final Standings

Hi lads, this is the final table.

thebronze14 with a narrow win so congratulations to him/her. A few of us needed a correct winning margin call to reel him in but it wasn't to be. Well done to all imvolved though. It was a bit iof craic that helped pass the spring and added a wee bit of further inetrest in the League in all divisions.

I'll leave it up to the Admins to see if they'll donate a prize maybe :P

Username Score
thebronze14 112
thestrapper49 108
Ollie2 105
ninjasmyth 105
Lockjaw 103
GreenandRed 101
Kerry15 101
Wexfordgaa 100
foreveryoung 99
Gaa_lover 98
dave1988 97
Sligonman1234 96
achara 96
Byanthon 94
tiobraid 92
CarlowRising 92
fkd12 89
UsernameInvalid 89
katser 87
YourJoking 83
SayNothing 83
TheRock2121 82
tonorio 82
97cavans 79
tomthumbless 79
aiden64 78
OhToBeARossie 77
mickcunningham 77
jacktheboy 75
Tirchonaill1 74
carlovia 74
peiledoir 74
francie81 74
Tacaí Liatroma 72
kentuckytucky 70
lady_gaagaa 67
CiarraiMick 66
beano 57
royaldunne 55
Monaghan08 54
Erne12 41
bennybunny 30
TotalBaller 29
shocko 26
BarneyGrant 22
Richieq 21
royal.legend 15

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 04/04/2022 11:40:21    2409475

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi lads, this is the final table.

thebronze14 with a narrow win so congratulations to him/her. A few of us needed a correct winning margin call to reel him in but it wasn't to be. Well done to all imvolved though. It was a bit iof craic that helped pass the spring and added a wee bit of further inetrest in the League in all divisions.

I'll leave it up to the Admins to see if they'll donate a prize maybe :P

Username Score
thebronze14 112
thestrapper49 108
Ollie2 105
ninjasmyth 105
Lockjaw 103
GreenandRed 101
Kerry15 101
Wexfordgaa 100
foreveryoung 99
Gaa_lover 98
dave1988 97
Sligonman1234 96
achara 96
Byanthon 94
tiobraid 92
CarlowRising 92
fkd12 89
UsernameInvalid 89
katser 87
YourJoking 83
SayNothing 83
TheRock2121 82
tonorio 82
97cavans 79
tomthumbless 79
aiden64 78
OhToBeARossie 77
mickcunningham 77
jacktheboy 75
Tirchonaill1 74
carlovia 74
peiledoir 74
francie81 74
Tacaí Liatroma 72
kentuckytucky 70
lady_gaagaa 67
CiarraiMick 66
beano 57
royaldunne 55
Monaghan08 54
Erne12 41
bennybunny 30
TotalBaller 29
shocko 26
BarneyGrant 22
Richieq 21
royal.legend 15"
Well done thebronze14, winner alright. Thanks Lockjaw for doing this. You've some patience !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 04/04/2022 11:50:43    2409479

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Well done thebronze14, winner alright. Thanks Lockjaw for doing this. You've some patience !"
No worries, once I got my system nailed down after the first week or two it wasn't too bad. Excel did the hard work really!

But at one stage I definitely was reminded of Sean Lock's line in 8 out of 10 Cats does Countdown...

"I've come to realise that the main thing this game tests....is my patience"

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 04/04/2022 11:55:22    2409481

Congratulations thebronze14. Well done! And thanks Lockjaw for doing it. It was a bit of fun that I enjoyed.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 04/04/2022 13:14:16    2409508

Happy enough with 8th first time doing it. Fair play lockjaw for doing the competition need a hurling one

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 256 - 04/04/2022 13:24:24    2409513

I'm very upset on my final position but maybe Kerry s win yesterday will help me get over it in time. Seriously though a big thank you to Lockjaw for your great idea your time and effort. A very enjoyable exercise and congrats to Bronze.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 04/04/2022 13:43:55    2409522

Was close there in the end. If Tipp had got that final goal that hit the crossbar, would have seen me over the line with the correct result and score. Well done The Bronze and thanks Lockjaw for the effort. Up the Wee County..

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 713 - 04/04/2022 14:59:30    2409551

Well done the Bronze great weekend for the wee country national league winners 3 in the top 4 in competition Thanks Lockjaw for all your work

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 313 - 04/04/2022 15:22:59    2409560

Happy enough with my 9th place finish, probably would have finished higher if i didn't take a gamble on a few predictions that didn't pay of.

Thanks to Lockjaw for running this, made the league a lot more interesting and well done to the winner Thebronze spent those winnings wisely

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 04/04/2022 15:46:48    2409569

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Happy enough with my 9th place finish, probably would have finished higher if i didn't take a gamble on a few predictions that didn't pay of.

Thanks to Lockjaw for running this, made the league a lot more interesting and well done to the winner Thebronze spent those winnings wisely"
Good man, Gaa_lover. It just goes to show that us Americans are up there with the best of them; you in 9th place and myself in 8th.

And you'd have fellas on here trying to tell us that we know nothing about Gaelic games, and for us to stick to the baseball. Actually, one fella even had the audacity to ask me a few weeks ago if I were Russian. Russian???

Well, I'll tell you that you have to go down a long way through the list of names to find that fella's name on this prediction list; well near the bottom. It's a good indicator, and even with his having over 18,000 posts on here, what that fella knows about football.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 04/04/2022 16:29:51    2409590

Where are you based foreveryoung? I did a wee spell in Yonkers many moons ago. Great times.

I'll do one for the Championship as well but I don't think it works as well as league. Sure if people are interested it's not hard to put together.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 04/04/2022 16:43:36    2409595

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Good man, Gaa_lover. It just goes to show that us Americans are up there with the best of them; you in 9th place and myself in 8th.

And you'd have fellas on here trying to tell us that we know nothing about Gaelic games, and for us to stick to the baseball. Actually, one fella even had the audacity to ask me a few weeks ago if I were Russian. Russian???

Well, I'll tell you that you have to go down a long way through the list of names to find that fella's name on this prediction list; well near the bottom. It's a good indicator, and even with his having over 18,000 posts on here, what that fella knows about football."
Think of how high you might have been if you hadn't been weighed down by that chip.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 469 - 04/04/2022 16:43:45    2409596

Thanks Lockjaw

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 04/04/2022 16:46:23    2409599

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Good man, Gaa_lover. It just goes to show that us Americans are up there with the best of them; you in 9th place and myself in 8th.

Well, I'll tell you that you have to go down a long way through the list of names to find that fella's name on this prediction list; well near the bottom. It's a good indicator, and even with his having over 18,000 posts on here, what that fella knows about football."
Ah forever young not doing ye yankees much favours when ya can't count to 9

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 256 - 04/04/2022 16:48:39    2409601

Thanks for running Lockjaw...Very happy with my victory!! Look forward to defending the title in 2023

thebronze14 (Donegal) - Posts: 41 - 04/04/2022 18:07:15    2409628

Stick to the super bowl is another comment i get when giving a valued opinion. At least those fellas was brave enough to offer up their predictions while plenty of insulting posters chose to chicken out.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 04/04/2022 18:24:58    2409632

Thanks Lockjaw and well done thbronze14 who wins the gold and the trip to Ukraine all expenses paid lol.
Tailteann Cup for me next season.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 04/04/2022 18:39:41    2409635

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Thanks Lockjaw and well done thbronze14 who wins the gold and the trip to Ukraine all expenses paid lol.
Tailteann Cup for me next season."
Jeez I feel bad now about making that flippant remark way back in January now. Those poor Ukrainians God love them.
Putin is a menace to the world, not just Ukraine. Can only hope for some sort of diplomatic and peaceful outcome but that is wishful thinking.

I think Putin is locked in some sort of Soviet era time warp, yearning for the days when the Soviet Union was respected and feared. A bit like the Brits with their Brexit and taking back control nonsense. I watched a good show on Prime last night called Citizen K about one of the Russian oligarchs in exile in England and how he is trying to vain to topple Putin from afar.

There was one chilling quote from Putin from a few years back which makes me seriously doubt he gives a toss about all these sanctions the world is imposing..

"It would have been great for us if those who want to introduce sanctions had introduced them all at once, & as soon as possible. This would have untied our hands to protect our national interests by the means that we consider the most efficient"

Make of that what you will. It seems to me that Putin is calling the West's bluff. There is zero appetite for armed conflict after the utter fiasco in Afghanistan. So he is willing to pummel the Ukraine into oblivion and sanctions be damned.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 05/04/2022 10:11:12    2409682

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Jeez I feel bad now about making that flippant remark way back in January now. Those poor Ukrainians God love them.
Putin is a menace to the world, not just Ukraine. Can only hope for some sort of diplomatic and peaceful outcome but that is wishful thinking.

I think Putin is locked in some sort of Soviet era time warp, yearning for the days when the Soviet Union was respected and feared. A bit like the Brits with their Brexit and taking back control nonsense. I watched a good show on Prime last night called Citizen K about one of the Russian oligarchs in exile in England and how he is trying to vain to topple Putin from afar.

There was one chilling quote from Putin from a few years back which makes me seriously doubt he gives a toss about all these sanctions the world is imposing..

"It would have been great for us if those who want to introduce sanctions had introduced them all at once, & as soon as possible. This would have untied our hands to protect our national interests by the means that we consider the most efficient"

Make of that what you will. It seems to me that Putin is calling the West's bluff. There is zero appetite for armed conflict after the utter fiasco in Afghanistan. So he is willing to pummel the Ukraine into oblivion and sanctions be damned."
Putin is a former KGB agent in Soviet Era. He wants to restore that outdated concept, and operates as a dictator. Any opposition, is either dead or in jail. Putin is hoping the West will do nothing about Ukraine, it's a big test for them. Militarily Russia has not got the quick win they hoped for, so they resorted to civilian targets as we see.

I think Putin's error will be the end of him, he will be taken out internally. Russia sadly has no tradition of a parliamentary system, they went from Czar to Soviets, until the end of Communism.
The ordinary Russian needs a change from autocrats, hopefully they will get a real chance of a normal life.
I hope Ukraine prevail for everyone's sake. Looking forward to the GAA, will Kerry win Sam do you think? Keep up the interest in the championships.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 05/04/2022 14:05:22    2409763

Kerry are looking very good at the moment alright. Scary to think that Sean O'Shea still has to come back in. For me, their improvement in defence has been moist impressive. Tally has done a good job down there with them. I'd still have some concerns about their midfield but as of this moment you'd have to say they're favourites.

Tyrone will be vastly improved come championship though. There were promising signs that they were getting fitter and sharper towards the end of the league. The players dropping out are a bit of a concern but they'll not want to relinquich their crown without a hell of a battle. They have a sticky enough path to the Ulster final but if they can get there without injuries/suspensions they'll fancy their chances. Of the other Ulster teams, ourselves, Monaghan, Derry and Armagh will feel that with a bit of luck they could well capture a provinical title, but I just feel all 4 teams are a wee level below Tyrone at full tilt.

Connacht is very intriguing. I thought Galway were very impressive during the league and fully expected them to put in a statement performance last Sunday in their final with Roscommon. Hard to know if Galway were holding back a bit in prepapration for Mayo? Perhaps Mayo were at the same against Kerry? I don't think I've ever seen Mayo as poor as they were the other day and expect a massive improvment in them in a few weeks. Roscommon are a great team to watch, with some realy quality sprinkled around their team. It would not be a huge shock to see them emerge from Connacht as champions.

Leinster is strange as well. Foir the first time in a long long time Dublin don't look invincible. Kildare will certainly be targetting a long overdue title but might just still be a wee bit off Dublin's level if they have Con and a few others back. It would be great if the likes of Meath, Offaly and Louth could further shake things up and make the Leinster championship a decent competition again. Time will tell.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 05/04/2022 15:24:39    2409799