NFL Prediction Competition Final Standings

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi lads, this is the final table.

thebronze14 with a narrow win so congratulations to him/her. A few of us needed a correct winning margin call to reel him in but it wasn't to be. Well done to all imvolved though. It was a bit iof craic that helped pass the spring and added a wee bit of further inetrest in the League in all divisions.

I'll leave it up to the Admins to see if they'll donate a prize maybe :P

Username Score
thebronze14 112
thestrapper49 108
Ollie2 105
ninjasmyth 105
Lockjaw 103
GreenandRed 101
Kerry15 101
Wexfordgaa 100
foreveryoung 99
Gaa_lover 98
dave1988 97
Sligonman1234 96
achara 96
Byanthon 94
tiobraid 92
CarlowRising 92
fkd12 89
UsernameInvalid 89
katser 87
YourJoking 83
SayNothing 83
TheRock2121 82
tonorio 82
97cavans 79
tomthumbless 79
aiden64 78
OhToBeARossie 77
mickcunningham 77
jacktheboy 75
Tirchonaill1 74
carlovia 74
peiledoir 74
francie81 74
Tacaí Liatroma 72
kentuckytucky 70
lady_gaagaa 67
CiarraiMick 66
beano 57
royaldunne 55
Monaghan08 54
Erne12 41
bennybunny 30
TotalBaller 29
shocko 26
BarneyGrant 22
Richieq 21
royal.legend 15"
Thanks for doing this lockjaw. It was a bit a fun during the leagues. A tough job on ur behalf. But I enjoyed it. Fair play to you

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/04/2022 17:10:45    2409833

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Ah forever young not doing ye yankees much favours when ya can't count to 9"
That was the icing on the cake for me :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/04/2022 17:14:46    2409834

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Kerry are looking very good at the moment alright. Scary to think that Sean O'Shea still has to come back in. For me, their improvement in defence has been moist impressive. Tally has done a good job down there with them. I'd still have some concerns about their midfield but as of this moment you'd have to say they're favourites.

Tyrone will be vastly improved come championship though. There were promising signs that they were getting fitter and sharper towards the end of the league. The players dropping out are a bit of a concern but they'll not want to relinquich their crown without a hell of a battle. They have a sticky enough path to the Ulster final but if they can get there without injuries/suspensions they'll fancy their chances. Of the other Ulster teams, ourselves, Monaghan, Derry and Armagh will feel that with a bit of luck they could well capture a provinical title, but I just feel all 4 teams are a wee level below Tyrone at full tilt.

Connacht is very intriguing. I thought Galway were very impressive during the league and fully expected them to put in a statement performance last Sunday in their final with Roscommon. Hard to know if Galway were holding back a bit in prepapration for Mayo? Perhaps Mayo were at the same against Kerry? I don't think I've ever seen Mayo as poor as they were the other day and expect a massive improvment in them in a few weeks. Roscommon are a great team to watch, with some realy quality sprinkled around their team. It would not be a huge shock to see them emerge from Connacht as champions.

Leinster is strange as well. Foir the first time in a long long time Dublin don't look invincible. Kildare will certainly be targetting a long overdue title but might just still be a wee bit off Dublin's level if they have Con and a few others back. It would be great if the likes of Meath, Offaly and Louth could further shake things up and make the Leinster championship a decent competition again. Time will tell."
Mayo certainly held back plenty in Sundays final and were without 4 key players that will be back for the Galway match, their replacements aren't up to it yet.

A statement from Galway was never really likely against opposition like Roscommon whom are well matched to themselves. Might be a shock but not a huge shock. The last six Connacht titles was Galway 2,Mayo 2 and Roscommon 2.

Dublin are in decline but should still win Leinster, Kerry will stroll to another Munster title. Ulster like Connacht one of three teams could win it (Monaghan,Tyrone, Donegal) not convinced by Derry and Armagh have a woeful record in Ulster under McGeeney

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 05/04/2022 18:02:18    2409846

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi lads, this is the final table.

thebronze14 with a narrow win so congratulations to him/her. A few of us needed a correct winning margin call to reel him in but it wasn't to be. Well done to all imvolved though. It was a bit iof craic that helped pass the spring and added a wee bit of further inetrest in the League in all divisions.

I'll leave it up to the Admins to see if they'll donate a prize maybe :P

Username Score
thebronze14 112
thestrapper49 108
Ollie2 105
ninjasmyth 105
Lockjaw 103
GreenandRed 101
Kerry15 101
Wexfordgaa 100
foreveryoung 99
Gaa_lover 98
dave1988 97
Sligonman1234 96
achara 96
Byanthon 94
tiobraid 92
CarlowRising 92
fkd12 89
UsernameInvalid 89
katser 87
YourJoking 83
SayNothing 83
TheRock2121 82
tonorio 82
97cavans 79
tomthumbless 79
aiden64 78
OhToBeARossie 77
mickcunningham 77
jacktheboy 75
Tirchonaill1 74
carlovia 74
peiledoir 74
francie81 74
Tacaí Liatroma 72
kentuckytucky 70
lady_gaagaa 67
CiarraiMick 66
beano 57
royaldunne 55
Monaghan08 54
Erne12 41
bennybunny 30
TotalBaller 29
shocko 26
BarneyGrant 22
Richieq 21
royal.legend 15"
A great weekend all around for the Wee County with us winning the third Division title on Saturday and myself, the Strapper and Ninjasmyth all from Louth finishing second and joined third. To Lockjaw thanks for much for organising it.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 785 - 05/04/2022 20:49:21    2409871

This is my take on Championship 2022.
Leinster.
A win for Dublin, even if they are not the Dublin of old. Meath on a good day might defeat them, but it looks likeDublin again. Offaly are rebuilding, not in the frame just now.

Munster.
In a word Kerry.

Ulster.
The most even province. Tyrone look like they are getting in shape, Donegal and Monaghan could achieve a win. It's Tyrone for me, barring an upset.

Connacht.
It is between Mayo and Galway I think. I always liked Galway's style of football, but will they beat Mayo in the championship. I fancy a Galway win in Connacht. I know the Rossi's will love me writing them off.
Sam Maguire? Kerry

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 08/04/2022 12:25:45    2410236

I think getting to Croke Park is the big thing. What I mean by that is certain teams are better equipped to deal with Croke Park's size and quick sod in summer. Monaghan for example are well capable of beating Tyrone up in Ulster, but can never beat them in Croke Park. That's why I'd be wary of handing Kerry the title just yet. Tyrone have the physicality, pace and athleticism to match anyone in Croke Park. Plus you can be damn sure they'll have a better plan than Mayo had last Sunday to deal with David Clifford. I think Tyrone have better attacking options than Mayo have as well. But the key for Tyrone will be making it to Croke Park relatively unscathed in terms of injuries and suspensions. Ulster promises to be be even more attritional than usual.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 08/04/2022 14:49:35    2410266

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think getting to Croke Park is the big thing. What I mean by that is certain teams are better equipped to deal with Croke Park's size and quick sod in summer. Monaghan for example are well capable of beating Tyrone up in Ulster, but can never beat them in Croke Park. That's why I'd be wary of handing Kerry the title just yet. Tyrone have the physicality, pace and athleticism to match anyone in Croke Park. Plus you can be damn sure they'll have a better plan than Mayo had last Sunday to deal with David Clifford. I think Tyrone have better attacking options than Mayo have as well. But the key for Tyrone will be making it to Croke Park relatively unscathed in terms of injuries and suspensions. Ulster promises to be be even more attritional than usual."
Mayo were outclassed last Sunday, a big problem with Mayo, I think is their tendency to fall on the big day at HQ. In 2022, they beat Dublin, Tyrone beat Kerry, then Mayo lost to a more focussed Tyrone 15, who could score goals. Tyrone if they avoid injuries and keep their disciplined, could be in the shake up.

They don't fear Kerry, and will have a way of dealing with their approach to matches. Down in the 1960's could also deal with Kerry, Kerry have never beaten Down in the championship to my knowledge.
It is all to play for, would like to see Galway win Sam, what about Armagh?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 08/04/2022 15:48:09    2410278

Replying To thelongridge:  "This is my take on Championship 2022.
Leinster.
A win for Dublin, even if they are not the Dublin of old. Meath on a good day might defeat them, but it looks likeDublin again. Offaly are rebuilding, not in the frame just now.

Munster.
In a word Kerry.

Ulster.
The most even province. Tyrone look like they are getting in shape, Donegal and Monaghan could achieve a win. It's Tyrone for me, barring an upset.

Connacht.
It is between Mayo and Galway I think. I always liked Galway's style of football, but will they beat Mayo in the championship. I fancy a Galway win in Connacht. I know the Rossi's will love me writing them off.
Sam Maguire? Kerry"
I would say you've called that pretty accurately in fairness. Although I reckon Kildare will have something to say in Leinster more so than Meath. We are always gonna be behind Mayo and Galway in the Connacht reckoning but that will suit us just fine. Any of the 3 teams can win it on a given day. In my opinion I have a strange feeling that Tyrone could retain the All Ireland. All the talk is about Kerry but something tells me Tyrone could just sneak it again this year. Ps write Mayo off at your peril!!!!

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 08/04/2022 17:21:53    2410296

Replying To thelongridge:  "Mayo were outclassed last Sunday, a big problem with Mayo, I think is their tendency to fall on the big day at HQ. In 2022, they beat Dublin, Tyrone beat Kerry, then Mayo lost to a more focussed Tyrone 15, who could score goals. Tyrone if they avoid injuries and keep their disciplined, could be in the shake up.

They don't fear Kerry, and will have a way of dealing with their approach to matches. Down in the 1960's could also deal with Kerry, Kerry have never beaten Down in the championship to my knowledge.
It is all to play for, would like to see Galway win Sam, what about Armagh?"
Armagh have improved and will be a tough nut for us to crack but I don't think they're realistic All Ireland challengers. I believe that they had a large block of training done ahead of the League in comparison to other teams. If they do beat us I'm sure they'll go on the Ulster final and if they get there who knows. But, I'm quietly confident we can derail their progress by beating them in a few weeks, especially if their suspensions are upheld.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 08/04/2022 20:18:53    2410310

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think getting to Croke Park is the big thing. What I mean by that is certain teams are better equipped to deal with Croke Park's size and quick sod in summer. Monaghan for example are well capable of beating Tyrone up in Ulster, but can never beat them in Croke Park. That's why I'd be wary of handing Kerry the title just yet. Tyrone have the physicality, pace and athleticism to match anyone in Croke Park. Plus you can be damn sure they'll have a better plan than Mayo had last Sunday to deal with David Clifford. I think Tyrone have better attacking options than Mayo have as well. But the key for Tyrone will be making it to Croke Park relatively unscathed in terms of injuries and suspensions. Ulster promises to be be even more attritional than usual."
Lockjaw its a bit like Cork and Kerry. Cork can beat Kerry in Munster but cant beat them in Croke Park.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 785 - 09/04/2022 13:08:16    2410363

Replying To Ollie2:  "Lockjaw its a bit like Cork and Kerry. Cork can beat Kerry in Munster but cant beat them in Croke Park."
Exactly. Cork can turn Kerry over in Munster somethimes when the mood takes them but I'd give them zero chance of beating Kerry in Croke Park.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 09/04/2022 15:01:03    2410371

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Armagh have improved and will be a tough nut for us to crack but I don't think they're realistic All Ireland challengers. I believe that they had a large block of training done ahead of the League in comparison to other teams. If they do beat us I'm sure they'll go on the Ulster final and if they get there who knows. But, I'm quietly confident we can derail their progress by beating them in a few weeks, especially if their suspensions are upheld."
Armagh haven't reached a Ulster final since 2008 and their record in Ulster championship football is dreadful under McGeeney. Outside of Kerry they had the most training and preparation done for this year league it allowed them to pick up a few wins, once teams caught up in fitness there results tailed back.

I'd expect Donegal to win by a bit to spare regardless of the suspension situation but no doubt McGeeney will use it as excuse if they lose.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/04/2022 14:39:28    2410545

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Exactly. Cork can turn Kerry over in Munster somethimes when the mood takes them but I'd give them zero chance of beating Kerry in Croke Park."
Know it's a lot of work for you, but is it worth doing a Championship prediction thread?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 11/04/2022 14:48:20    2410548

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Know it's a lot of work for you, but is it worth doing a Championship prediction thread?"
No bother at all. A lot less fixtures to collate and analyse in Championship so it should be pretty straightforward.
I'll get a separate thread going for that a little later. Hard to believe we're getting underway this weekend!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 12/04/2022 09:48:05    2410617