Mayo GAA Thread

We did enough to win against a good Armagh team. Some bad ref calls both ways. Last point was class.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 27/02/2022 15:50:37    2402717

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think year on year the gap between commitment for underage County or colleges football is widening. Were Tyrone in the 2000s the last county to bring a big crop of successful Minor and U21s onto to senior success? Senior intercounty at any level is a huge commitment now compared to 20 or 30 years ago,especially when players are working full time. They live like hermits during the season, god bless their commitment. I wonder are any counties trying to encourage full-time students to study online so they're more flexible with their time and might get more downtime?"
Not going to get any easier for players after yesterday's vote. League starting in January, which means county managers having teams back in November/December as league places are vital. Season continues right through to end of August, 65% more games plus Sigerson games for many who are students. No social lives, not able to work extra hours due to training & games demands & then expected to play club from August on. The players are used by managers as commodities, they don't care about their well being, just winning. Look at some county managers making Sigerson players play intense games on bad pitches, some on the same day, following day or 72 hours later. GAA analysts spouting about burnout & player welfare, yet they want more games for them, GAA talking out of both sides of its mouth about burnout & player welfare. Average age of county player has fallen year on year as demands & injuries increase.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 27/02/2022 16:35:22    2402745

Good win today against the in form team in Ireland. Safe now so we can relax.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 27/02/2022 18:16:06    2402776

Replying To yew_tree:  "Good win today against the in form team in Ireland. Safe now so we can relax."
But ye are the form team..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 27/02/2022 19:16:00    2402797

Good win, which I wasn't expecting. Looks like Kerry and ourselves aren't hiding any lights under a bushel going into our meeting in Tralee. Mind you Kerry have been on this trajectory before and not too very long ago. Won't put a point on a scoreboard come championship. Still nicer to be winning and looking forward to next game.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/02/2022 19:29:37    2402804

Replying To Pericles:  "Good win, which I wasn't expecting. Looks like Kerry and ourselves aren't hiding any lights under a bushel going into our meeting in Tralee. Mind you Kerry have been on this trajectory before and not too very long ago. Won't put a point on a scoreboard come championship. Still nicer to be winning and looking forward to next game."
Great to see genuine competition for places too. The starting 15 seemed to pick itself easily for a few years and the strength off the bench wasn't great. Still only February but we could have a decent 15 and a good bench for the championship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 27/02/2022 20:11:51    2402816

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Great to see genuine competition for places too. The starting 15 seemed to pick itself easily for a few years and the strength off the bench wasn't great. Still only February but we could have a decent 15 and a good bench for the championship."
Having a strong and experienced bench is absolutely vital. Things going well without actually setting the world on fire. I'd imagine that all focus will be on April 24th now. I'm hearing MacHale park won't be ready and a return to Hyde Park is the most likely venue for Mayo v Galway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 01/03/2022 19:28:20    2403320

How's it going lads, I was just wondering what yer last 2 football fixtures are?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2022 10:52:26    2404195

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How's it going lads, I was just wondering what yer last 2 football fixtures are?"
Tyrone and Kildare

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 07/03/2022 12:51:27    2404242

Replying To yew_tree:  "Tyrone and Kildare"
Sound U3, I take it yer away to Tyrone and home to Kildare.

We're away to Armagh and home to Tyrone in the last game.

Are you travelling down to Tralee Saturday night?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2022 14:27:24    2404286

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sound U3, I take it yer away to Tyrone and home to Kildare.

We're away to Armagh and home to Tyrone in the last game.

Are you travelling down to Tralee Saturday night?"
KingdomBoy1 - Yes away to Tyrone and "home" to Kildare but that game will take place in Carrick on Shannon as MacHale Park is still closed due to a new pitch being laid last year. Hopefully it will be ready for our championship opener v Galway.

I won't be in Tralee unfortunately as duty calls. I'll be watching it on the box though. Tralee will do well Saturday night with a big Mayo following heading down the road ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 07/03/2022 18:14:11    2404347

Replying To yew_tree:  "KingdomBoy1 - Yes away to Tyrone and "home" to Kildare but that game will take place in Carrick on Shannon as MacHale Park is still closed due to a new pitch being laid last year. Hopefully it will be ready for our championship opener v Galway.

I won't be in Tralee unfortunately as duty calls. I'll be watching it on the box though. Tralee will do well Saturday night with a big Mayo following heading down the road ;)"
Ya ye always travel in big numbers to Tralee, I'd say it'll be 50/50 in the crowd and on the field, both teams going well so far.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2022 11:39:44    2404415

3 weekends in a row and the final the following week for whatever teams top the division. I don't think Mayo would want the distraction of a final so close to the first round of championship. I think we will target the Tyrone game as they are all Ireland champions and it would be good to see where we are at. Experimental teams I would imagine for Kerry and Kildare.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 08/03/2022 12:26:38    2404434

Replying To xxx:  "3 weekends in a row and the final the following week for whatever teams top the division. I don't think Mayo would want the distraction of a final so close to the first round of championship. I think we will target the Tyrone game as they are all Ireland champions and it would be good to see where we are at. Experimental teams I would imagine for Kerry and Kildare."
Ya it'll be interesting to see what team James Horan will pick, I'd expect Jack O'Connor to go with the strongest team available to him as we need these div1 games as they'll be the last competitive games we'll have till the allireland quarter final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2022 13:19:48    2404450

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya it'll be interesting to see what team James Horan will pick, I'd expect Jack O'Connor to go with the strongest team available to him as we need these div1 games as they'll be the last competitive games we'll have till the allireland quarter final."
Agree. Kerry are in a great position to be able to focus for the 1/4 finals. I know ye were caught before but I simply cannot see Kerry losing in Munster this year. In fact every game will be a procession. Mayo have no such luxury with the Galway game edging closer and closer. And if we are to get over that will likely face Roscommon who in their day can beat Mayo or Galway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/03/2022 19:32:22    2404533

Replying To yew_tree:  "Agree. Kerry are in a great position to be able to focus for the 1/4 finals. I know ye were caught before but I simply cannot see Kerry losing in Munster this year. In fact every game will be a procession. Mayo have no such luxury with the Galway game edging closer and closer. And if we are to get over that will likely face Roscommon who in their day can beat Mayo or Galway."
Ya there is a lot to be said about a handy provincial run U3, although if you win an allireland people will say its because of the easy run and if you don't win it its because youve gone a long time without a challenge.

Personally I'd rather a challenge, when we won 5 allirelands in the 00s Cork were flying as well and they pushed us hard.

Yer lucky to have Galway and Roscommon.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2022 10:23:09    2404564

Kerry favourites on Saturday night. Could be a great battle between David Clifford and Oisín Mullin.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 09/03/2022 12:03:09    2404592

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Kerry favourites on Saturday night. Could be a great battle between David Clifford and Oisín Mullin.

Maigh Eo Abú!"
Aye it'll be a good battle between David Clifford Oisín Mullin and Lee Keegan, I'd say ye'll only put the 2 markers on him Saturday night every1 else seem to put 3 on him.

The weather is supposed to be bad by all accounts so nothing new there.

Safe travels to all the Mayo supporters.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2022 13:32:02    2404613

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Maigh Eo Abú!"
Aye it'll be a good battle between David Clifford Oisín Mullin and Lee Keegan, I'd say ye'll only put the 2 markers on him Saturday night every1 else seem to put 3 on him.

Safe travels to all the Mayo supporters."
Apart from UCG in Sigerson Final. He was held reasonably well by a single marker.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 09/03/2022 14:57:43    2404636

Replying To anotheralias:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "link

Maigh Eo Abú!"

Safe travels to all the Mayo supporters."
Apart from UCG in Sigerson Final. He was held reasonably well by a single marker."]Fair play, I never saw the game, a fair achievement.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2022 19:32:06    2404688