Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Mayo wil be underdogs against Kerry and rightly so, nobody will give them a chance and rightly so, but in that case they come out and win."
is it 'they' or 'we' today Jacktheboy? or should we just call you Jack the Mayo boy?
Kerry may be favs but Mayo will put it up them no doubt.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 14/06/2022 15:53:39    2424986

Replying To anotheralias:  "Thats a bit of a generalisation and i agree supported by a few of the most recent posts. Most Galway people want and hope Mayo to get success ( except when they play Galway). Mayo are brilliant to watch and always entertaining. Best of luck v kerry. A tough ask , but not beyond ye . Would be a great sunday in CP if both connacht teams could get through."
Totally with you and while I've nothing against Clare (will be cheering for them v Derry), but I was disappointed that the Rossies didn't make it 3 Connacht counties in the QFs. Lots of voices are predicting a Connacht-free semi-final line-up given the draw, so it'd nice to silence those voices on Saturday week.

An all-Connacht minor final could be on the cards too, with both semi-finals 50/50 games.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/06/2022 17:08:02    2425008

Replying To anotheralias:  "Thats a bit of a generalisation and i agree supported by a few of the most recent posts. Most Galway people want and hope Mayo to get success ( except when they play Galway). Mayo are brilliant to watch and always entertaining. Best of luck v kerry. A tough ask , but not beyond ye . Would be a great sunday in CP if both connacht teams could get through."
Yeah, that's fair enough anotheralias, nice sentiments though I am told by a few Mayo folk living in Galway city that it certainly wasn't the case a few years back, when we were playing the Dubs in those finals! I will also say one that not many (if any) Mayo posters have been popping up in those counties' threads recently, unlike our little influx here.

Still, best of luck against Armagh.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2022 17:18:59    2425013

Had a look on the Kerry fans forum. They are in the semi final already.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 14/06/2022 19:15:18    2425031

I was at the league final in 2001 and it'd be a Mayo dream to meet Galway in an AI final. I don't think we had the better players in 2001, but there wasn't any way our lads were going to let Galway add to their trophy tally at Mayo's expense, not even a league title. The 9 v 3 AI titles would never be let become 10 v 3, not while there was breath in Mayo lungs. But against anyone else, I'm 100% be behind our Connacht neighbours. The rough end of the stick has been shared by us all since Cromwell's time and the last 100 years hasn't done very much to redress things. Time for Connacht men to take and not wait to be given...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/06/2022 19:17:25    2425034

The Galway interest in us and vice versa is perfectly natural given we're neighbours who play and beat each other regularly. I've always found the Donegal obsession with us utterly bizarre.

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 14/06/2022 20:14:33    2425043

Replying To Vish:  "I've more faith in the Mayo players figuring a way to beat Kerry than Horan, but they will have to suffer 1st before reacting to it."
I'll always wonder where Mayo would have been if he hadn't taken over in 2011 and transformed a talented but flaky county that had zero direction.

Everything you see with Mayo today the togetherness, fitness, conditioning, never giving up regardless of how much of lost cause it appears comes from what Horan has instilled. In his own words the objective is to make Mayo consistently competitive.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/06/2022 21:25:23    2425054

Replying To Gleebo:  "Yeah, that's fair enough anotheralias, nice sentiments though I am told by a few Mayo folk living in Galway city that it certainly wasn't the case a few years back, when we were playing the Dubs in those finals! I will also say one that not many (if any) Mayo posters have been popping up in those counties' threads recently, unlike our little influx here.

Still, best of luck against Armagh."
Its an interesting point re the feedback in the city. I think that most genuine Galway supporters would wish Mayo ( or any Connacht team , even Roscommon) success outside of Connacht. Its like wishing fellow Irish people international success even if they are not from your own parish/county/province. Not only that Mayo's success in the AI series ( and by the way I do classify them as having been very successful despite not lifting SAM) is a positive reflection on Galway football and has given us something to strive for. If we were getting beaten by Mayo and in turn Mayo were non competitive at AI series we would be in a worse place.
But here's the thing. most genuine Galway supporters will wish and want Mayo to win. We may not get to many matches, particularly you could not justify taking an AI final ticket that could got to a deserving Mayo man. However, these same genuine well wishers ( myself being one) fall short of actually roaring our heads off for Mayo so it is not very apparent.
The same cannot be said of the anti Mayo supporter ( a group which I contend is both in the minority and from the less learned section of supporters i.e lads who played shag all) who although in the minority tend to be more vociferous.
All I can do as apologise for them. Shouting for Dublin versus Mayo by a Galway GAA person is embarrassing , silly and makes no sense at all, and there is only one term for it ...sour grapes.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 15/06/2022 09:15:06    2425071

Replying To yew_tree:  "Had a look on the Kerry fans forum. They are in the semi final already."
Yeah, have been reading that one too. They hammered us in 2019 and in the NFL final this year in fairness, can't blame them for being confident.

The days of managers sticking up newspaper clippings on the wall are over.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/06/2022 12:03:23    2425128

Replying To Yondu:  "I'll always wonder where Mayo would have been if he hadn't taken over in 2011 and transformed a talented but flaky county that had zero direction.

Everything you see with Mayo today the togetherness, fitness, conditioning, never giving up regardless of how much of lost cause it appears comes from what Horan has instilled. In his own words the objective is to make Mayo consistently competitive."
Here's the thing, Horan definitely did a good job in his first term, if you consider that we finished 2010 losing to Sligo and Longford, and then struggled past London in his first championship match. Obviously people viewed the subsequent results through the lens of losing the finals and then the infamous replay down in Limerick, which was a bit unfair.

This term, he's gotten to two finals with a team in transition and won an NFL, not bad so far. But the All-Ireland loss last September was bad, probably the worst performance in a final since the hammerings in the mid noughties, particularly from a tactical point of view. The management team seemed unprepared for what Tyrone brought, and Dooher and Logan had Mayo's game plan sussed out. The reluctance to put in a sweeper has definitely cost us at times.

We don't seem flexible enough to vary our play and the word is out to combat Mayo's style at this stage. We do seem to rely on the same running game plan as a decade ago, with players who are less athletic than those they are replacing.

He's been very unlucky with injuries this season, but one also wonders why so many Mayo players are going down, these past few years. The rate seems very high.

We seem to have gone stale and perhaps a new voice is needed IMO.

But sure then, pull a surprise against Kerry and I might even change my mind! People are fickle.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/06/2022 12:16:53    2425130

Replying To Immer:  "The Galway interest in us and vice versa is perfectly natural given we're neighbours who play and beat each other regularly. I've always found the Donegal obsession with us utterly bizarre."
It's not natural when they're not playing us, Immer. I don't see anyone from Mayo on the Galway page.

And the trolling seems to come almost exclusively from the two counties you mention, one of whom is already out of the championship.

I will say that some of it goes beyond mere trolling to something approaching hatred, which to my mind is unhealthy. The Mayo GAA social media accounts get some deluge just for naming the team before games...

But what you gonna do? Haters gonna hate.

As an aside, the minors have been put on at Saturday 25th June at 2.45 in Tullamore, with the seniors to play in Croke Park the following day at 4pm. The opposition in both cases is Kerry.

More joined-up thinking from HQ, complete contempt for supporters in these difficult times.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/06/2022 12:36:58    2425136

Replying To Gleebo:  "Here's the thing, Horan definitely did a good job in his first term, if you consider that we finished 2010 losing to Sligo and Longford, and then struggled past London in his first championship match. Obviously people viewed the subsequent results through the lens of losing the finals and then the infamous replay down in Limerick, which was a bit unfair.

This term, he's gotten to two finals with a team in transition and won an NFL, not bad so far. But the All-Ireland loss last September was bad, probably the worst performance in a final since the hammerings in the mid noughties, particularly from a tactical point of view. The management team seemed unprepared for what Tyrone brought, and Dooher and Logan had Mayo's game plan sussed out. The reluctance to put in a sweeper has definitely cost us at times.

We don't seem flexible enough to vary our play and the word is out to combat Mayo's style at this stage. We do seem to rely on the same running game plan as a decade ago, with players who are less athletic than those they are replacing.

He's been very unlucky with injuries this season, but one also wonders why so many Mayo players are going down, these past few years. The rate seems very high.

We seem to have gone stale and perhaps a new voice is needed IMO.

But sure then, pull a surprise against Kerry and I might even change my mind! People are fickle."
What do you mean players are less athletic than those they are replacing? If anything we've added more pace/athleticism the last few years with Mullin, McLaughlin, Durcan, Ruane, Diarmuid, ROD and Conroy when he's available.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 16/06/2022 09:11:08    2425269

Replying To MayoDan:  "What do you mean players are less athletic than those they are replacing? If anything we've added more pace/athleticism the last few years with Mullin, McLaughlin, Durcan, Ruane, Diarmuid, ROD and Conroy when he's available."
DOC broke through to the senior team in 2015, Paddy Durcan in 2016, they're hardly new additions in fairness! Ruane would probably have joined them back then but for injuries.

None of those players can match Keith Higgins for sheer pace, and IMO we lost a bit of power around the middle when Donie Vaughan and Colm Boyle retired/became squad players.

McLaughlin has speed but his poor distribution often negates it.

At the moment, we are definitely lacking some pace in our forward line, though ROD coming back would improve that situation.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/06/2022 11:55:02    2425336

Replying To Gleebo:  "DOC broke through to the senior team in 2015, Paddy Durcan in 2016, they're hardly new additions in fairness! Ruane would probably have joined them back then but for injuries.

None of those players can match Keith Higgins for sheer pace, and IMO we lost a bit of power around the middle when Donie Vaughan and Colm Boyle retired/became squad players.

At the moment, we are definitely lacking some pace in our forward line, though ROD coming back would improve that situation."
Lack of intercounty standard forwards rather than pace problem in your forwardline at the minute.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 16/06/2022 12:57:15    2425364

Replying To Gleebo:  "DOC broke through to the senior team in 2015, Paddy Durcan in 2016, they're hardly new additions in fairness! Ruane would probably have joined them back then but for injuries.

At the moment, we are definitely lacking some pace in our forward line, though ROD coming back would improve that situation."
Fair enough. I thought you were comparing things to Horan's first term which ended in 2014. I would say Mullin and McLaughlin have similar pace to Higgins.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 16/06/2022 13:39:14    2425384

Replying To Gleebo:  "Yeah, that's fair enough anotheralias, nice sentiments though I am told by a few Mayo folk living in Galway city that it certainly wasn't the case a few years back, when we were playing the Dubs in those finals! I will also say one that not many (if any) Mayo posters have been popping up in those counties' threads recently, unlike our little influx here.

Still, best of luck against Armagh."
Ha ha! I don't think there's been a particularly notable influx of Galway interest in the Mayo thread, though I've obviously just been having a glance myself - I do hope that's ok and hasn't perturbed you greatly! Anyway, Yew Tree, Pericles and other knowledgeable Mayo fans have been posting on the Galway thread for years. I certainly haven't complained. Banter is needed and it's a bit of craic. We love the game and we're entitled to post fairly, as and when we see fit. They're just opinions.
Hope ye beat Kerry, though I actually wouldn't fancy meeting Mayo again as the motivational and psychological advantage is always massively in favour of the team beaten in earlier meetings (i.e. Galway - Kilkenny recently in the hurling rematch and countless instances in football - Armagh-Donegal being one).

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 897 - 16/06/2022 18:32:59    2425500

Replying To MayoDan:  "Fair enough. I thought you were comparing things to Horan's first term which ended in 2014. I would say Mullin and McLaughlin have similar pace to Higgins."
They probably have more pace than Keith had but are poor defenders in comparison and, as yet, not as effective in attack.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 17/06/2022 10:27:25    2425555

Big result for the minors today, very efficient up front considering we were struggling off the kickouts. Any day you defeat the Kingdom is a good day.

Big performances from Clarke, Maheady, Silke and McMonagle, and a couple of big saves from Dolan.

We advance to meet the neighbours now, hopefully we can keep our noses in front.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/06/2022 17:16:40    2427427

Replying To Gleebo:  "Big result for the minors today, very efficient up front considering we were struggling off the kickouts. Any day you defeat the Kingdom is a good day.

Big performances from Clarke, Maheady, Silke and McMonagle, and a couple of big saves from Dolan.

We advance to meet the neighbours now, hopefully we can keep our noses in front."
Wouldn't say they were efficient today. Must have missed 5 or 6 handy points between frees and from play. In fairness, they have been much better in previous games and Kerry were very defensive.

Defensively very strong. Looks to be 3 really good full back line players on the team. Unlike our seniors, they don't seem to be converted half backs either!

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 25/06/2022 21:05:32    2427497

Serious battle ahead for Mayo. Kerry will need to warm up I feel so that is the time to go at them. Clifford's form/game time could be a factor, if hes on song, it'll be goodnight I think. But its Mayo, so....

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 25/06/2022 21:30:33    2427510