Mayo GAA Thread

That lad with axe to grind on Twitter is best ignored. Embarrassing.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/05/2022 18:36:04    2420247

Replying To anotheralias:  "That would be a pity. Great player, great heart. But a "naturally gifted passer" .....I don't think so."
Not many better kick passers than Kevin McLoughlin over the last decade.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 25/05/2022 18:56:29    2420249

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "This current Mayo panel have become social recluses. We never get to hear from the camp at all. Not even if someone is fit or not.

The wall of silence is even more frustrating when we can all see that they are unable or unwilling to fix the problems that have been obvious for a long time:

1. No long range point scorers in the half forward line
2. No accurate long range kick passers in the middle third
3. No left sided free taker
4. No consistently accurate 45 taker
5. No defensive minded middle third player to provide help to cover the top level forwards (and thus keep out goals in big matches)
6. No plan B.
7. Serious problems with S&C and injuries at the moment
8. No scoring forwards on the bench.

It is down to sheer guts that the team keeps going with all of the above issues.

"Lions led by donkeys""
You'll be comforted to hear that in Monaghan we too are lions led by donkeys.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 25/05/2022 20:00:32    2420255

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "You'll be comforted to hear that in Monaghan we too are lions led by donkeys."
I have some friends from Monaghan who suggest that Banty is very unpopular up there, and that impression was reinforced from reading the Monaghan page recently. I suppose it was Malachy O'Rourke who led ye to those Ulster titles...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2022 09:59:50    2420280

This current Mayo panel have become social recluses. We never get to hear from the camp at all. Not even if someone is fit or not.

The wall of silence is even more frustrating when we can all see that they are unable or unwilling to fix the problems that have been obvious for a long time:

5. No defensive minded middle third player to provide help to cover the top level forwards (and thus keep out goals in big matches)
6. No plan B.

It is down to sheer guts that the team keeps going with all of the above issues.

"Lions led by donkeys"

If the team is that bad, how did they reach the League Final this year and the last two All Ireland Finals. Have some Faith man

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 26/05/2022 10:04:54    2420281

I have to laugh. The S&C is now a problem because of a bad injury season. Some of our rivals have been suggesting for years our brilliant s&c is the only reason they lost to us…lol.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 26/05/2022 11:00:02    2420296

Replying To yew_tree:  "I have to laugh. The S&C is now a problem because of a bad injury season. Some of our rivals have been suggesting for years our brilliant s&c is the only reason they lost to us…lol."
Fans will see the things the way they want to see them, and in my experience, very few people will be open to changing their minds once they form a view on something. I have seen the S&C comments (particularly after we beat Galway last year) but, in fairness, I have also seen some off-colour comments from some of our fans after the Galway defeat. C'est la vie.

It's not the first time we've had a pile up of injuries (2018 and 2019 were also bad in that respect) but this is definitely the worst injury crisis I have seen in nearly 30 years of following Mayo. And it's been a feature of the entire season so far. I have heard some people suggest that it's down to the runs to the All-Ireland final the last two years, but that doesn't make much sense to me, given that a) the league programme was very light for the past two years; b) a lot of the panel were home-based; and c) a knockout championship meant less games.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2022 11:59:20    2420314

Replying To jacktheboy:  "This current Mayo panel have become social recluses. We never get to hear from the camp at all. Not even if someone is fit or not.

6. No plan B.

"Lions led by donkeys"

If the team is that bad, how did they reach the League Final this year and the last two All Ireland Finals. Have some Faith man"
I think besides Kerry no team took winning this year's league too seriously, too concentrated on the championship with the short gap afterwards. We can duke it out with the best of them but heading into the last quarter on the biggest day the anxiety sets into to some of our players where the better teams can close out a game better. Something we can work on. Maybe management can show a bit of confidence in the starting 15 by naming them a few days before the game instead of the usual dummy team nonsense. What serious contenders have ever been undone by a few changes just before kickoff? Never seen a rabbit jump out of a hat and kick 1-7 in championship football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 26/05/2022 12:19:06    2420320

Replying To Gleebo:  "Fans will see the things the way they want to see them, and in my experience, very few people will be open to changing their minds once they form a view on something. I have seen the S&C comments (particularly after we beat Galway last year) but, in fairness, I have also seen some off-colour comments from some of our fans after the Galway defeat. C'est la vie.

It's not the first time we've had a pile up of injuries (2018 and 2019 were also bad in that respect) but this is definitely the worst injury crisis I have seen in nearly 30 years of following Mayo. And it's been a feature of the entire season so far. I have heard some people suggest that it's down to the runs to the All-Ireland final the last two years, but that doesn't make much sense to me, given that a) the league programme was very light for the past two years; b) a lot of the panel were home-based; and c) a knockout championship meant less games."
There is alot of clubs with big injury lists also, dont know if its the same in other counties..
Is it the result of having less football the last 2 years and now this year is back to the normal, too much, training, teams were back in January or February doing the hard running/slogging and after 2 years of shorter seasons, are people finding it hard to adjust to the excessive amount of trainings now.
And if the clubs are finding it difficult, the county lads will find it even worse.
I would also add, that maybe alot of players did too much gyming and its effecting them now..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 26/05/2022 14:27:09    2420360

I see Cork minors beat Kerry in Munster final by 11pts last night. A couple of weeks ago in the round robin phase Kerry beat Cork by 14 points. Three weeks ago Mayo beat Galway by 14points and meet the same opposition on Monday in the Connacht final. Hope the team and management realise what can happen at this age group and are ready for a Galway backlash. The prize for the winners is a quarter final against Kildare while the losers have to play the Dubs. Genuinely think this game on Monday could be the best of the long weekend.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 02/06/2022 09:57:38    2421724

Agree 100%…the game Monday evening won't be anything like the Tuam hammering. Mayo will need to be at it. It has the makings of a great game. Looking forward to it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 02/06/2022 13:20:00    2421783

Super result for the minors, was a bit worried that the lay off might leave them rusty but a comfortable win in the end. It's also good to rack up another Connacht minor win, as we were very poor at that level for four or five years til 2019. Hopefully the lads have left enough in the tank for the quarter-final at the weekend. In any case, there seems to be several players with great potential on that side, McMonagle, Mortimer, Hurley, Clarke, Maheady among them.

How are people feeling about the seniors' draw against Kildare at HQ? The throw-in at 6pm on a Saturday is a tough ask for our locally-based supporters, particularly given that the minors are playing the same opposition the following day in Tullamore! Someone might want to tell the lads in the Ard-Chomhairle that there's an inflation crunch going on out there...

Kildare probably isn't the worst draw we could have gotten, given the presence of the two Ulster teams, but I'd still expect them to be hurting after the Dubs game and put up a better display at the weekend. In spite of a few of our lynchpin players coming back, some of them are still probably short of match fitness and we are still disjointed, particularly in attack. It would be a big boost if we could get Ryan O' Donoghue back to play some role.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/06/2022 10:09:09    2422863

1.Rob Hennelly - Kickouts were good, didnt have much to do otherwise, needs to improve on the long range frees

2.Lee Keegan - Played well, had to come up and show the rest how to kick a point, important score that one.

3.Oisín Mullin - Solid game, hopefully that game brings him on cause hes still not fully up to speed

4. Enda Hession - poor first half, could not handle McCarron at all. Hopefully plays the next day as he needs games.

5. Paddy Durcan - Solid game, same as others needs the games and will improve each game.

6. Stephen Coen © - Doesnt offer enough to be starting, he either passes sideways or backwards nearly every time

7. Eoghan McLaughlin - Great athlete, great pace but lacks football ability, its not good that his kicking has not really improved since he first came into the panel. He will always get chances to score so needs to be scoring more.

8. Aidan O'Shea - solid game, worked hard, chased down players which was good to see

9. Matthew Ruane - Good game, still not up the the levels of last year and Mayo need him back at those levels.

10. Bryan Walsh - Quiet game, bit of a passenger, cant see what he offers to be getting a starting place.

11. Aiden Orme - Decent game, theres football in him and hopefully improves gain the next day, needs to be getting a few scores

12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Quiet game, worked hard but again needs to do bit more and chip in with few scores.

13. James Carr - Has the ability but just doesnt do enough, needs to be getting more scores

14. Jack Carney - Decent game from him, not a full forward but did ok, will be learning al the time and improving

15.Cillian O'Connor - Quiet game, hard to know will he get up to speed quick enough for this year, might be a struggle for him. Great penalty.

Hopefully O Donoghue can make an appearance against Kildare, they will need him, Kildare will run at Mayo alot more than Monaghan did and will cause problems.
Mayo need to sort out the long range frees, they need alot higher conversion rate.
Hard to know about the Monaghan penalty appeal, the ref was letting alot go through out the game and thought he was consistent with that for the penalty. have seen them given tho..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 07/06/2022 10:41:00    2422887

Tickets for Saturday will be on sale at midday.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 07/06/2022 10:41:33    2422888

Replying To tommy132:  "1.Rob Hennelly - Kickouts were good, didnt have much to do otherwise, needs to improve on the long range frees

2.Lee Keegan - Played well, had to come up and show the rest how to kick a point, important score that one.

3.Oisín Mullin - Solid game, hopefully that game brings him on cause hes still not fully up to speed

4. Enda Hession - poor first half, could not handle McCarron at all. Hopefully plays the next day as he needs games.

5. Paddy Durcan - Solid game, same as others needs the games and will improve each game.

6. Stephen Coen © - Doesnt offer enough to be starting, he either passes sideways or backwards nearly every time

7. Eoghan McLaughlin - Great athlete, great pace but lacks football ability, its not good that his kicking has not really improved since he first came into the panel. He will always get chances to score so needs to be scoring more.

8. Aidan O'Shea - solid game, worked hard, chased down players which was good to see

9. Matthew Ruane - Good game, still not up the the levels of last year and Mayo need him back at those levels.

10. Bryan Walsh - Quiet game, bit of a passenger, cant see what he offers to be getting a starting place.

11. Aiden Orme - Decent game, theres football in him and hopefully improves gain the next day, needs to be getting a few scores

12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Quiet game, worked hard but again needs to do bit more and chip in with few scores.

13. James Carr - Has the ability but just doesnt do enough, needs to be getting more scores

14. Jack Carney - Decent game from him, not a full forward but did ok, will be learning al the time and improving

15.Cillian O'Connor - Quiet game, hard to know will he get up to speed quick enough for this year, might be a struggle for him. Great penalty.

Hopefully O Donoghue can make an appearance against Kildare, they will need him, Kildare will run at Mayo alot more than Monaghan did and will cause problems.
Mayo need to sort out the long range frees, they need alot higher conversion rate.
Hard to know about the Monaghan penalty appeal, the ref was letting alot go through out the game and thought he was consistent with that for the penalty. have seen them given tho.."
I thought Mullin was excellent the last day. Marked McManus out of it, then did the same to McCarron in the 2nd half. Didn't show any signs of rustiness from the injury.

McLaughlin has more football ability than he's given credit for. Had 1 poor wide but unfair to single him out when Orme, Keegan and Durcan also had bad misses in the 2nd half.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 07/06/2022 11:30:41    2422920

Replying To MayoDan:  "I thought Mullin was excellent the last day. Marked McManus out of it, then did the same to McCarron in the 2nd half. Didn't show any signs of rustiness from the injury.

McLaughlin has more football ability than he's given credit for. Had 1 poor wide but unfair to single him out when Orme, Keegan and Durcan also had bad misses in the 2nd half."
Mullin was good, maybe its tactics and not fitness but would like him attacking more..
McLoughlin does lack football skills and more so its his kicking, either kick passing or shooting. ITs the same with Westport and in the Sigerson, gets on good amount of ball but if he has no space to run into he struggles, then either hesitates to long or not able to give a good pass into the forwards and his shooting is not great. his goal chance was a bad finish, for inter county he needs to be scoring them. He is still a good player and gets himself into good positions but would have hoped his kicking would have improved by now.
Hopefully that game brings them all on a bit, you cant beat games for improving lads..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 07/06/2022 13:12:54    2423000

Replying To tommy132:  "Mullin was good, maybe its tactics and not fitness but would like him attacking more..
McLoughlin does lack football skills and more so its his kicking, either kick passing or shooting. ITs the same with Westport and in the Sigerson, gets on good amount of ball but if he has no space to run into he struggles, then either hesitates to long or not able to give a good pass into the forwards and his shooting is not great. his goal chance was a bad finish, for inter county he needs to be scoring them. He is still a good player and gets himself into good positions but would have hoped his kicking would have improved by now.
Hopefully that game brings them all on a bit, you cant beat games for improving lads.."
What do you mean if he's no space to run into he struggles? He got a point against Monaghan and Galway and both teams were set up very defensively. Also won a scoreable free the last day by taking on his man. Show me a player that thrives in that kind defensive of game? Even Gavin White against Tyrone last year kept running down blind alleys. I don't think Eoghan's kicking is as bad as you say either. Have seen him give several good kick passes forward over the last year or 2.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 07/06/2022 13:54:36    2423035

Replying To MayoDan:  "What do you mean if he's no space to run into he struggles? He got a point against Monaghan and Galway and both teams were set up very defensively. Also won a scoreable free the last day by taking on his man. Show me a player that thrives in that kind defensive of game? Even Gavin White against Tyrone last year kept running down blind alleys. I don't think Eoghan's kicking is as bad as you say either. Have seen him give several good kick passes forward over the last year or 2."
I agree about McLaughlin. Yes football skills are not his forte but he seems to be improving in that regard. Hs pace really makes him a major addition . If Galway were to play Mayo again and I was given a choice of 3 Mayo players to be unavailable , he would be one of the ones I would prefer not to be up against.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 07/06/2022 14:13:24    2423041

Tommy132 - I thought Coen received a lot of Mayo kickouts and generally had a decent game. Don't get the hyped about Carr and Orme…hope I'm proved wrong but o don't get it. Bryan Walsh not at the standard required…why is he there? We need lads who can put the ball over the bar. Our half forward line does not score at all.

Jack Carney is not a full forward. He is better driving at goal from midfield, not receiving the ball with his back to goal.

Interesting to note Jordan Flynn played for his club Sunday, as did Darren Coen who apparently kicked a few scores.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/06/2022 14:27:29    2423050

I thought McLaughlin played well. He's not playing football that long so his shooting can definitely improve. But he gave us energy and the crowd responded. Hard to know that a forward would have buried the chance that Beggan saved, hindsight is a great thing. But why aren't forwards trying to kick more points? Mattie Ruane was good winning posession but, bar one lovely point, he was kicking when he shouldn't. Still a class player and room to improve. I still prefer Oisin Mullin playing closer to midfield. I thought that more of his, or Paddy's or Lee's running at Monaghan defence to create some space was worth a try. Watched the game back yesterday. Aidan Orme wasn't so much of a scoring threat but was busy throughout, has a great atitude. Enda Hession had a much better game than I remembered and I thought he played well. Stephen Coen was good, not great, much better than v Galway and in the League. He's rarely gonna give an eyecatching display but he's steady, uses his experience. Aido is playing some stuff, bar the ill-flighted pass to Lee. I think dropping him early this year has revived him. But please leave him in midfield. Ryan, Swanny, Darren McHale should be options for Kildare match. Hopefully Jordan Flynn too. What chance he starts at 11? Anyways. Kildare will be a tough test but we can beat them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 07/06/2022 14:36:39    2423055