Monaghan GAA thread

Brilliant performance in second half
Showed belief that will stand us well in coming weeks.
A gane we could have lost, against a team who thought they had the beating of us - delicious.

Hon

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 16/04/2023 20:16:04    2471269

Great victory and the manner of it was v satisfying. Win lose or draw was proud of the lads in the second half today they just give it a right go something monaghan sides over the years didn't do against Tyrone sides preferring to play cagey defensive stuff. When monaghan have to really go for it they are a handful for any side as lot of pace in the team and decent forwards. Man of the match was Stephen o hanlon he ignited the game with a fantastic goal but he was constantly taking fight to tyrone the whole game really come on this year. Kieran Hughes after many disappointing days v Tyrone was immense when he came on. Mccarthy was excellent when he got the space to play in.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1805 - 16/04/2023 20:29:18    2471275

Great win, any day we go to Omagh and win its a good day. The last time we won down there look where we ended up and today's win will build confidence, resilience, belief and ambition on this team.

Although going into the game i thought our squad was light, the subs made a big impact particularly those that are demonised the most, i think today we saw in the heat of battle why some men are worthy of the jersey. In contract to Tyrone we decided to give youth a chance and started 3 debutantes and had the experience coming on. Tyrone started full tilt with their big guns and when they needed the experienced heads coming on they weren't fit for it in the melting pot, this is testament to Vinny who has primed and given these lads a chance in the league and trusted them. Although Mc philphs had an off day he will learn and this will be a big step in his path.

Again midfield is a big problem, any word on what is wrong with Mohan ? Lavelles tacking is questionable but his workrate is extraordinary. Darren probably didn't have the speed for Kennedy and kilpatrick but he will suit other teams. Also shoutout to a wonderful second half by our half forward line, full of speed, scorers and running, they justify their selection and its obvious on the biggest day and pressure times some men deliver.

Roll on Derry a different type of game and i am sure if we hit 18 points like last year we will win.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 382 - 16/04/2023 20:41:58    2471276

Well done great win

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 98 - 16/04/2023 21:00:13    2471279

Well done players and management. Hard luck tyrone but we wanted it that bit more . Great to see youth stepping up . Not to many of the great forwards in the country would have done what Ryan o toole done today .. superb

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 214 - 16/04/2023 21:26:58    2471282

Replying To HB245:  "Any sign of 'Monaghanfan123'? All that giving out about the management team the whole year and it's blown up in your face. Delighted."
Still here. Great win today by the lads n would have no problem telling management what I feel abt them either. Just a personal feeling n I'm sure u r them won't loose sleep over it

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 16/04/2023 21:38:48    2471285

Replying To seanie08:  "Great victory and the manner of it was v satisfying. Win lose or draw was proud of the lads in the second half today they just give it a right go something monaghan sides over the years didn't do against Tyrone sides preferring to play cagey defensive stuff. When monaghan have to really go for it they are a handful for any side as lot of pace in the team and decent forwards. Man of the match was Stephen o hanlon he ignited the game with a fantastic goal but he was constantly taking fight to tyrone the whole game really come on this year. Kieran Hughes after many disappointing days v Tyrone was immense when he came on. Mccarthy was excellent when he got the space to play in."
Well said about the 2nd half approach being different than how we normally play against Tyrone. I noticed that O'Toole stressed this in a couple of post match interviews I've seen - that too often we sit back and allow Tyrone to dominate possession and control the game, and that we had to take a grip of the game and take the initiative. I found it interesting how a young guy like that was emphasising this, so I've no doubt Vinny is drilling that into them non stop and building confidence.

Delighted for Vinny, what a win for him in his first championship game in charge. Alot of people were writing him and the team off early, so between staying in Division 1 and now winning in the championship in Omagh, that's not a bad start at all to his managerial career. I'd say even himself would have rathered take a bit more time before taking the big job, but it kinda presented itself and Vinny is never going to let the county down. He's blooded a load of young lads in the league and we've seen a few championship debutants today, and that will pay off down the road.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 16/04/2023 23:06:58    2471293

Well done Monaghan, exceptional second half performance. What a game of football this was, best game in a long time. I was one of those writing off Monaghan before the game, you would think I would have learned my lesson by now. It is a real credit the way Monaghan just give everything but that isn't the full picture as they have some really brilliant players. What a start for Vinny Corey. Stephen O'Hanlon was man of the match, he typified everything that was good about the performance, all heart and serious skill.

Tyrone were very good in the first half but couldn't cope with Monaghan in the second. I still think Tyrone are a really good side and will definitely come through the group qualifiers, they have always been brilliant at regrouping after an Ulster exit. The real race for the All Ireland title will start around the quarter final stage after the group games and pre-quarter final games. Congratulations to both sides for putting on such an entertaining game. I can see both teams progressing really far this this year.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1883 - 17/04/2023 10:09:35    2471309

No medals awarded yesterday. Great victory but we have alot to improve on. We cannot always be left to rely on the classic Conor McManus.

Awful sloppy goal we conceded but great character to come back to win.

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 597 - 17/04/2023 10:51:41    2471320

Replying To Bernardo:  "No medals awarded yesterday. Great victory but we have alot to improve on. We cannot always be left to rely on the classic Conor McManus.

Awful sloppy goal we conceded but great character to come back to win."
McManus is a legend and deserves all the praise in the world - and we did have him to thank for keeping us in touch in the first half - but tbh I think it's a little overblown how he got MOTM and is the headline on various reactions this morning. He of course played a part in that second half as did the whole team, but I thought there were several other key performances in that 2nd half: O'Hanlon, Beggan, McCarty, O'Toole, O'Connell, K Hughes; to name a few. Some lazy analysis is falling back into the trap of saying Monaghan are so overly reliant on McManus, but to me there were a spread of big performers in that 2nd half. And this doesn't even include McCarron who had one of his quietest days in ages, and you'd imagine he'll have more of a part to play next day out.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 17/04/2023 11:31:34    2471337

Was dessie ward injured yesterday ??

flukey (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 17/04/2023 12:01:32    2471349

Replying To patk:  "McManus is a legend and deserves all the praise in the world - and we did have him to thank for keeping us in touch in the first half - but tbh I think it's a little overblown how he got MOTM and is the headline on various reactions this morning. He of course played a part in that second half as did the whole team, but I thought there were several other key performances in that 2nd half: O'Hanlon, Beggan, McCarty, O'Toole, O'Connell, K Hughes; to name a few. Some lazy analysis is falling back into the trap of saying Monaghan are so overly reliant on McManus, but to me there were a spread of big performers in that 2nd half. And this doesn't even include McCarron who had one of his quietest days in ages, and you'd imagine he'll have more of a part to play next day out."
Fully agree,was surprised McManus got it and I think he was himself but a great game but what a second half, exactly what we want to see.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 17/04/2023 12:27:31    2471354

Just some notes from yesterday.. The ref was poor in my opinion.. His blowing up for Stephen O'Hanlon for over carrying was the peak of his obvious cluelessness , but he allowed Tyrone to repeatedly collide with Monaghan players take them out of the movement of play, they should have gotten black cards this, as well as for pulling players down after a break was on.. plus you had Conor Meyler constantly getting in Stephen O'Hanlon's face giving him the Tyrone commentary on his play. none of these were were addressed.
Brian Dooher in the first half was constantly in linesman's face and the fourth official, When David Gough came over to that side of the pitch he stopped as he knew where Gough would have told him to go..
The team are not reliant solely on Conor McManus, while he is a legend. Many of the Monaghan players burst a gut yesterday.. so many of them were heroes on the day... I just hope that the 13 day turnaround to the Derry game gives them enough time to recover and get patched up..
Vinny got credit for his changes that he made... but he could have taken Karl off sooner. He had ran his legs off and given everything.. but he should have been off 5 minutes earlier than he was.
In the first half Rory Beggan was hitting kickouts long and we lost them to the giant Tyrone midfielders. He ignored the players running short, but in the second half, Kieran Hughes ran short and demanded the ball of Beggan, he didn't ignore him and passed the ball out to him. Maybe other players need to do the same with him. Kieran Hughes was magnificent yesterday!!
finally the Disabled Parking or Wheelchair Access at Healy Park is very poor.. I was with a person who is about to get a knee operation and has the blue badge.. After getting denied access to the ground, I had to leave her at the gates while I drove off to find a parking spot, one kind man helped her get her coat on while I was gone.. the worst part was having to climb the steps in the stand while people queued behind as we slowly made our way up the tight set of stairs, only later I found out that we could have went around the front of the stand. but there is no accommodation here to help or guide.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 17/04/2023 13:44:59    2471376

Yeah well done on yesterdays win. I was kinda watching Myler and O'Hanlon as the game went on. The amount of gibes, third man, holding the jersey and this pushing the man after he give the pass that Myler was at. O'Halloran then lets it get to him a bit for the yellow card. But the best way to answer all that sort of stuff is stick it in the net. He turned Myler on a sixpence and left him for dead... Well I laughed!!! Answering gibes was easy after that.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 542 - 17/04/2023 14:30:29    2471390

Great win for ya yesterday,but in the crazy world of the All Ireland Championship if you lose to Derry you are no further on than them...Madness

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 151 - 17/04/2023 15:07:53    2471398

At half time yesterday I thought here we go again another inept bitty performance against Tyrone and not doing what we can do well. I would say the dressing room wasn't as calm at half time as we are led to believe it
Second half we played the way every Monaghan supporter knows we can and should play like, North - South as opposed to East- West- East. It's a lesson for any team. We play like that for the next few games, especially against Derry, we can take Ulster and perhaps have a good cut at the All Ireland series.
Tyrone will be back they weren't ready for that second half, they will the next time, if we meet again
By the way only RTE gave Mc Manus man of the match, most others gave it to O Hanlon or O Connell

There is plenty to work on for sure, but hopefully we have a good Summer playing direct football

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1045 - 17/04/2023 15:47:55    2471408

No surprise in that result, well done Monaghan with some great football played by both teams

germac (Down) - Posts: 536 - 17/04/2023 19:02:10    2471446

Replying To Farney:  "Just some notes from yesterday.. The ref was poor in my opinion.. His blowing up for Stephen O'Hanlon for over carrying was the peak of his obvious cluelessness , but he allowed Tyrone to repeatedly collide with Monaghan players take them out of the movement of play, they should have gotten black cards this, as well as for pulling players down after a break was on.. plus you had Conor Meyler constantly getting in Stephen O'Hanlon's face giving him the Tyrone commentary on his play. none of these were were addressed.
Brian Dooher in the first half was constantly in linesman's face and the fourth official, When David Gough came over to that side of the pitch he stopped as he knew where Gough would have told him to go..
The team are not reliant solely on Conor McManus, while he is a legend. Many of the Monaghan players burst a gut yesterday.. so many of them were heroes on the day... I just hope that the 13 day turnaround to the Derry game gives them enough time to recover and get patched up..
Vinny got credit for his changes that he made... but he could have taken Karl off sooner. He had ran his legs off and given everything.. but he should have been off 5 minutes earlier than he was.
In the first half Rory Beggan was hitting kickouts long and we lost them to the giant Tyrone midfielders. He ignored the players running short, but in the second half, Kieran Hughes ran short and demanded the ball of Beggan, he didn't ignore him and passed the ball out to him. Maybe other players need to do the same with him. Kieran Hughes was magnificent yesterday!!
finally the Disabled Parking or Wheelchair Access at Healy Park is very poor.. I was with a person who is about to get a knee operation and has the blue badge.. After getting denied access to the ground, I had to leave her at the gates while I drove off to find a parking spot, one kind man helped her get her coat on while I was gone.. the worst part was having to climb the steps in the stand while people queued behind as we slowly made our way up the tight set of stairs, only later I found out that we could have went around the front of the stand. but there is no accommodation here to help or guide."
i agree with you on the ref i only seen the first half but everytime tyrone lost the ball they cynically fouled the monaghan man in possession to prevent them from breaking this happened 5 or 6 times with only a free awarded. I hate the cynical football that tyrone play along with their sledging great to see them gone.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 17/04/2023 21:30:37    2471468

Replying To ponger:  "Yeah well done on yesterdays win. I was kinda watching Myler and O'Hanlon as the game went on. The amount of gibes, third man, holding the jersey and this pushing the man after he give the pass that Myler was at. O'Halloran then lets it get to him a bit for the yellow card. But the best way to answer all that sort of stuff is stick it in the net. He turned Myler on a sixpence and left him for dead... Well I laughed!!! Answering gibes was easy after that."
Well said ponger...best of luck against Armagh

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 18/04/2023 01:13:49    2471476

Replying To Farney:  "Just some notes from yesterday.. The ref was poor in my opinion.. His blowing up for Stephen O'Hanlon for over carrying was the peak of his obvious cluelessness , but he allowed Tyrone to repeatedly collide with Monaghan players take them out of the movement of play, they should have gotten black cards this, as well as for pulling players down after a break was on.. plus you had Conor Meyler constantly getting in Stephen O'Hanlon's face giving him the Tyrone commentary on his play. none of these were were addressed.
finally the Disabled Parking or Wheelchair Access at Healy Park is very poor.. I was with a person who is about to get a knee operation and has the blue badge.. After getting denied access to the ground, I had to leave her at the gates while I drove off to find a parking spot, one kind man helped her get her coat on while I was gone.. the worst part was having to climb the steps in the stand while people queued behind as we slowly made our way up the tight set of stairs, only later I found out that we could have went around the front of the stand. but there is no accommodation here to help or guide."
Vinny should have taken Karl of 5 minutes before he did?
If he tool Karl off 5 minutes earlier then O'Toole's goal doesn't happen.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 18/04/2023 11:42:08    2471521