I wouldn't worry about some of the posters on our forum, they haven't a clue at all. It's going to be a very tough game for us, I think we might just edge the game with our experience and fitness but it's going to be a battle. Safe journey to yous, always have a lot of time for Monaghan supporters, good craic and fair people.
dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 106 - 27/06/2025 11:10:13 2621450 Link 0 |
Tomorrow there is absolutely no expectation on us at all from within or outside the county, we can thank history for that. The exact opposite can be said for the Donegal, the team and the messiah that is J Mc Guinness must be under huge pressure, them being big All Ireland contenders since the beginning of the year. Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 69 - 27/06/2025 14:43:09 2621530 Link 0 |
I'd expect Mohan to start if he's available or not to play at all, but no point in coming on if there's a doubt and he might have to go off again (unless it's the last 5 minutes and a goal is needed). Lavelle too has to be a worry. PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 27/06/2025 16:56:34 2621578 Link 0 |
With 3 Ulster Counties heading up the M1, what would be the most reasonable time to leave home? MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 661 - 27/06/2025 17:02:03 2621580 Link 0 |
I'm up tonight to avoid the traffic and to make sure the porter is on point for you lovely people
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 276 - 27/06/2025 17:36:51 2621590 Link 0 |
"White and blue descend, Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1265 - 28/06/2025 10:52:01 2621685 Link 1 |
Best of luck to team and management today in croke Park. Quietly confident we will do it. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1905 - 28/06/2025 13:27:59 2621721 Link 1 |
Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 69 - 28/06/2025 14:55:19 2621745 Link 0 |
Ah well. offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 174 - 28/06/2025 17:32:25 2621766 Link 2 |
Oh the joys of being a monaghan supporter. A tail of two halfs but donegal were superior when it really mattered. Best of luck to them and hard luck to the farney men. 222 (UK) - Posts: 870 - 28/06/2025 17:42:09 2621779 Link 0 |
How is it that we are team who is "fresh", yet we got ran ragged and had lads pulling up with injuries in the second half? MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 57 - 28/06/2025 17:57:49 2621794 Link 1 |
As bad as second half as we've had all year. 5 points including a 2 pointer in garbage time from Garland. Needed subs sooner in the second half. Players left it all out there but maybe we didn't have the depth MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 256 - 28/06/2025 18:11:03 2621803 Link 0 |
McCurrin a great impact all right
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 276 - 28/06/2025 18:45:35 2621817 Link 0 |
What did I just watch in the second half ? Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 28/06/2025 18:54:55 2621821 Link 0 |
Not sure but stage fright tends to happy to Monaghan in Croke Park. Decent team but a few players short to be all Ireland contenders.
Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 612 - 28/06/2025 20:05:41 2621837 Link 0 |
You watched a high profile team chasing Sam dismantle an OK sam Maguire team. Let's be honest. Better conditioning, more skillful and physically, they over powered us running the ball and kicking it. Stronger squad depth to. We were gassed at HT and 7 points in the new rules is nothing and the wind was significant. We have won one significant game in croke park since 1930. You cant be to hard on monaghan, you work with what you have got and we have done well this year but we are not near the level of donegal kerry armagh tyrone galway.
222 (UK) - Posts: 870 - 28/06/2025 20:12:26 2621840 Link 2 |
Ah thanks very much. Donegal are decent in Croke Park, even better in Breffni.
seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 28/06/2025 20:16:00 2621843 Link 2 |
You're up out of bed ?
Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 28/06/2025 20:18:01 2621845 Link 0 |
I don't think I've seen a team come apart mentally like that ever.. I counted 12 scoring chances in a row that fell apart. To top it all, starting the Kamikaze shooting with 10 minutes to go when there was loads of time.. Donegal scored 20 single points today and 3 doubles. if we would have dropped over a couple of single pointers in the 12 chances. we would have been in with a chance at the end.. so so infuriating. Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 818 - 28/06/2025 21:39:24 2621879 Link 0 |
Hard to argue with that. I'd add playing div 2 teams all year and injuries to key men lavelle mohan who didn't look fit were no help either. Don't think monaghan were able to handle losing the 7 pt lead and the heads seemed to go also taking wild shots etc . Expected the donegal onslaught first 15 second half but genuinely thought we'd steady the ship after that that and bring it down the stretch which was really disappointing that we didn't even do that. Game was effectively over 15 mins from time. The Beggan free off the bar and woods miss were our final shot at it and we just died after that.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1905 - 28/06/2025 22:07:46 2621895 Link 0 |