Replying To Monaghan2011: "You are wrong there was two on it. Doesn't say much how what you know about football when you don't know how many of your club players were on the panel."
"Was" past tense… Good man, thanks for proving my point. Not my club either, I just go to games with unlike yous twitter bandits.
The fine day it was yesterday was enough reason for me to go to the U20 B final. It was an entertaining if error ridden game. With U20 and especially minor level you have to take it there will be mistakes and lots of them. Monaghan should have been out of sight in the U20 final after 15 minutes. They kicked 7 sides and butchered two goal chances, not speculative efforts but all from very scorable positions. Westmeath grew into the game after that and took the lead before Monaghan realised they were going to be in a tight game.
The second half was a more even affair with Monaghan squandering a few gilt edged chances to win the game in normal time. There was a lot of handling errors from both teams, poor decision making. Westmeath hit the front only for Monaghan to rescue a draw. Extra time seen more loose and wild play from both teams and it looked like Monaghan were going to shoot themselves out of it only for the excellent Carolan to show the leadership and score the equaliser with the last kick of the ball. In truth Monaghan's penalties were bad - Callan's run up and kick just showed a lack of belief. McCaffrey and Kearns both went high and hit the cross bar. But fair play to any lad who volunteers in that situation to do it.
I've been critical of the U20 management and how they set this team up this year. Injuries did play a part - McGorman had hamstring issues. Charlie McQuillan likewise had hamstring issues. McCaul's cruciate injury was a hammer blow to the U20's. But the U20 Management they made some very strange starting team 15's and substitutions over the Ulster and B-U20 competitions. Even last night, Colleran and Meehan were subbed off and both were having a good games.
Hard luck to the Monaghan minors. That opening 20 minutes was the difference in the end. They had a equal share of possession for that opening 20 minutes but kicked a load of very bad wides and 9 points was a big lead to give Tyrone. Even converting half those wides would have made a huge difference in the end. They showed brilliant spirit and footballing ability to take the lead with 10 minutes to go. I thought the minors played a lovely brand of football, man to man over all over pitch, being brave with the ball. Some hugely promising players in the minor age group.
Absolutely gutted for our young players and management. A penalty shootout is no way to decide an all Ireland final. Some great prospects on show last night, the future is bright. Onto Inniskeen Saturday now for our minors game with Meath. Let's bring an All Ireland to the county this year
Replying To sleater: "The fine day it was yesterday was enough reason for me to go to the U20 B final. It was an entertaining if error ridden game. With U20 and especially minor level you have to take it there will be mistakes and lots of them. Monaghan should have been out of sight in the U20 final after 15 minutes. They kicked 7 sides and butchered two goal chances, not speculative efforts but all from very scorable positions. Westmeath grew into the game after that and took the lead before Monaghan realised they were going to be in a tight game.
The second half was a more even affair with Monaghan squandering a few gilt edged chances to win the game in normal time. There was a lot of handling errors from both teams, poor decision making. Westmeath hit the front only for Monaghan to rescue a draw. Extra time seen more loose and wild play from both teams and it looked like Monaghan were going to shoot themselves out of it only for the excellent Carolan to show the leadership and score the equaliser with the last kick of the ball. In truth Monaghan's penalties were bad - Callan's run up and kick just showed a lack of belief. McCaffrey and Kearns both went high and hit the cross bar. But fair play to any lad who volunteers in that situation to do it.
I've been critical of the U20 management and how they set this team up this year. Injuries did play a part - McGorman had hamstring issues. Charlie McQuillan likewise had hamstring issues. McCaul's cruciate injury was a hammer blow to the U20's. But the U20 Management they made some very strange starting team 15's and substitutions over the Ulster and B-U20 competitions. Even last night, Colleran and Meehan were subbed off and both were having a good games.
Hard luck to the Monaghan minors. That opening 20 minutes was the difference in the end. They had a equal share of possession for that opening 20 minutes but kicked a load of very bad wides and 9 points was a big lead to give Tyrone. Even converting half those wides would have made a huge difference in the end. They showed brilliant spirit and footballing ability to take the lead with 10 minutes to go. I thought the minors played a lovely brand of football, man to man over all over pitch, being brave with the ball. Some hugely promising players in the minor age group."
It was quite obvious why Colleran and Meehan were substituted last night. Colleran was injured in a tackle early in the game and done well to stay on as long as he did. He played some great stuff despite being hampered by that injury. Meehan was taken off with 3 minutes left in extra time simply because he was out on his feet after putting in a serious shift. There were some unforced errors on both sides but one had to be impressed with both defences. There definitely are some future senior stars on that Monaghan squad. Lads who died with their boots on last night. Thanks to Paul and his management team for their committment over the past 2 years. Was told by a Westmeat fan at the game that their midfielder and captain is the son of the great Ollie Baker of Clare hurling fame. Small Monaghan support in Breffni. I suppose they were at home watching the great spectacle on TV from Bilbao.
Replying To farneygael3: "Absolutely gutted for our young players and management. A penalty shootout is no way to decide an all Ireland final. Some great prospects on show last night, the future is bright. Onto Inniskeen Saturday now for our minors game with Meath. Let's bring an All Ireland to the county this year"
I thought Keegan was very dismissive of your result last week on RTE today, equating it, from a Mayo perspective, to the loss to Longford 2010. Imagine, and him one of your own too. The man needs a history lesson.
Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1211 - 22/05/2025 12:45:30