Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Best possible group for Monaghan

Leinster champion the weakest of the 1st seeds

Clare is the weakest of the 2nd seeds

Down the weakest of the 4th seeds

Did Monaghan management go to knock before the draw?"
Went to Rome last wk

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 232 - 30/04/2025 19:12:20    2605838

Great draw, we should be targeting the last 8 appearance directly. Our u20s are in the all Ireland semi final and minors in the Ulster semi this weekend. Crest of a wave feeling. MONAGHAN ABU

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 30/04/2025 19:49:39    2605840

For years we got no luck with draws. I recall 08 drawing derry donegal and kerry in qualifier draws one after the other 09 the same armagh derry then our team of the 00s got Tyrone twice after winning ulster a side they couldn't beat in croke Park and Dublin in 2 other quarter finals who were streets ahead of everyone. Its a grand draw alright but there will be no complacency. Down deservedly beat us in clones this year and meath who are flying or louth certainly won't fear us. Clare always have a go too.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1881 - 30/04/2025 20:12:56    2605846

Replying To farneygael3:  "Great draw, we should be targeting the last 8 appearance directly. Our u20s are in the all Ireland semi final and minors in the Ulster semi this weekend. Crest of a wave feeling. MONAGHAN ABU"
After reading all of the above , i hope you the hotel booked in Dublin and enjoy all the home comings , believe me there worth the wate

germac (Down) - Posts: 561 - 30/04/2025 20:26:40    2605848

It is not a bad group but I would not bank we will top it- down game will be tricky and meath and louth will fancy a crack at us.

222 (UK) - Posts: 845 - 01/05/2025 12:01:53    2605995

2008 dumped by Fermanagh
2011 Humbled by Offaly
2012 caught by Down and Laois
2016 shocked by Longford
2017 shocked again by Down
2018 shocked by Fermanagh
2019 beaten by Cavan
2020 blew it against Cavan
2024 well bet by Cavan

Of all teams I don't think Monaghan have any reason to be talking about a straightforward draw. History says we have no capacity to deliver when expected to.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1195 - 01/05/2025 13:15:39    2606013

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "2008 dumped by Fermanagh
2011 Humbled by Offaly
2016 shocked by Longford
2019 beaten by Cavan
2024 well bet by Cavan

Of all teams I don't think Monaghan have any reason to be talking about a straightforward draw. History says we have no capacity to deliver when expected to."
Jaysus Eddie some bad days in there! Down in 2017 was bad one…. And Fermanagh in Omaha! They were tough defeats

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 01/05/2025 14:56:53    2606046

Replying To veterngaa:  "Jaysus Eddie some bad days in there! Down in 2017 was bad one…. And Fermanagh in Omaha! They were tough defeats"
you're right there about 2017...the Monaghan supporter beside me asked me at half time if I knew what date the Ulster final was...we all know how that game ended!!

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 462 - 01/05/2025 16:53:39    2606087

Replying To seanie08:  "For years we got no luck with draws. I recall 08 drawing derry donegal and kerry in qualifier draws one after the other 09 the same armagh derry then our team of the 00s got Tyrone twice after winning ulster a side they couldn't beat in croke Park and Dublin in 2 other quarter finals who were streets ahead of everyone. Its a grand draw alright but there will be no complacency. Down deservedly beat us in clones this year and meath who are flying or louth certainly won't fear us. Clare always have a go too."
Outside of Kerry, Monaghan hadn't a bad draw last year. Meath and Louth

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2874 - 01/05/2025 17:47:31    2606107

Think a lot of our opposition in the the coming weeks are going to set up like donegal as in 7 players around the arc its a new version of blanket defence and possibly going to set football back again and is designed to squeeze the life out of a team who wants to play ball 2 of the 3 matches we lost this year set up this way problem is have we a plan b ??

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 57 - 01/05/2025 20:06:12    2606123

2011 Humbled by Offaly
2016 shocked by Longford
2019 beaten by Cavan
2024 well bet by Cavan

Of all teams I don't think Monaghan have any reason to be talking about a straightforward draw. History says we have no capacity to deliver when expected to."
i remember the longford one well too...we played donegal in two games right beforehand. somewhat excusable that the lads were tired. i remember being at the first donegal game and thinking that a loss would be better than a draw here..its not often im right but unfortunately was that day

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 221 - 02/05/2025 10:05:26    2606209

2011 Humbled by Offaly
2016 shocked by Longford
2019 beaten by Cavan
2024 well bet by Cavan

2017 in the Athletic Grounds was a bad day but I'll always remember one of my fav McManus scores when he flicked it up along the wing and bounced through two Down men before kicking a beauty.

Weren't some of the squad involved in a car accident that morning?

antok (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 02/05/2025 11:34:29    2606237

2011 Humbled by Offaly
2016 shocked by Longford
2019 beaten by Cavan
2024 well bet by Cavan

I got a few shivers reading that list. 2008, 2017 and 2018 are the ones that annoy me the most. That team was more than good enough to win Ulster in all those years.

As far as I remember both defeats to Down were in the Athletic grounds. Am I right to say we are due to play Down at a neutral venue,? If it is the Athletic grounds I definitely would not take a game against Down for granted given that record.

When was the last time we won a championship match there? I've been going to matches since the mid-80s and I can't seem to remember one.

TheHunter (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 02/05/2025 11:54:42    2606243

Replying To TheHunter:  "I got a few shivers reading that list. 2008, 2017 and 2018 are the ones that annoy me the most. That team was more than good enough to win Ulster in all those years.

As far as I remember both defeats to Down were in the Athletic grounds. Am I right to say we are due to play Down at a neutral venue,? If it is the Athletic grounds I definitely would not take a game against Down for granted given that record.

When was the last time we won a championship match there? I've been going to matches since the mid-80s and I can't seem to remember one."
We shouldn't be taking any team for granted , and it won't be as easy as people think , Meath and Louth will be stepping it up a gear for their final and will be stronger come the qualifiers, Down are a very good team and very unlucky to be relegated, We know very little about Clare and they definitely won't fear Monaghan. It's ours to loose like as in previous years , this group has a different way about them and should leave everything on the field

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 232 - 02/05/2025 12:04:03    2606249

Replying To MalsBalls:  "i remember the longford one well too...we played donegal in two games right beforehand. somewhat excusable that the lads were tired. i remember being at the first donegal game and thinking that a loss would be better than a draw here..its not often im right but unfortunately was that day"
The Offaly defeat was a bizarre set of circumstances. A few of the ex-Offaly hurlers slagged of the footballers for lack of commitment the previous week. I never seen a team as fired up for a match, they tore into us from the throw in and completely caught us off guard. We were beat before we knew what was happening.

TheHunter (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 02/05/2025 12:04:29    2606250

Replying To TheHunter:  "The Offaly defeat was a bizarre set of circumstances. A few of the ex-Offaly hurlers slagged of the footballers for lack of commitment the previous week. I never seen a team as fired up for a match, they tore into us from the throw in and completely caught us off guard. We were beat before we knew what was happening."
The battle of the Ciaran McManus's!!!!!

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 02/05/2025 16:17:05    2606321

Replying To veterngaa:  "The battle of the Ciaran McManus's!!!!!"
Mc Namee done the harm that day

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 410 - 02/05/2025 16:32:28    2606332