Monaghan GAA thread

One little thing that has been irking me since Saturday, the shove Jason Irwin gave Ryan Wylie early in the game. I don't think I've ever witnessed that between two players on the same team. Hope that behaviour will be dealt with by management, Jason would need to settle his head.

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 26 - 24/06/2024 15:18:31    2554452

Replying To Blackcardnot:  "One little thing that has been irking me since Saturday, the shove Jason Irwin gave Ryan Wylie early in the game. I don't think I've ever witnessed that between two players on the same team. Hope that behaviour will be dealt with by management, Jason would need to settle his head."
To be fair,Irwin had done superbly to get ahead of his man and win a long ball played in, and was completing the turnover when Wylie came in and fouled the Galway player.
Irwin was enraged tonsee his work undone and reacted. I thought it was great to see, a young lad staking his claim. Its easy for any established player to berate the mistakes of new lads on the team, showed guts to go the other way at it.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1089 - 24/06/2024 15:50:40    2554469

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Woods started against Galway and Mayo in the league and in them games his discipline cost him a chance of starting in more games during the year.

Hamill was one of the most consistent performers all season and deserved his spot. The game against Galway in the league he was exceptional. His pace and speed along with Bannigan and O'Hanlon make our half forward line the most dangerous line on the pitch.

I'd imagine the ball is in Mulligan's court to see if he wants to give the commitment needed to play at Inter County level. Has all the talent but is in danger of wasting it.

Jack wouldn't be my cup of tea at the moment. I think unfortunately he hasn't the sharpness of the mark to win his own ball, which means he starts drifting out the field picking up easy ball and then proceeds to pass it sideways and backwards.

His desire to get his own score cost Monaghan a glorious goal chance yesterday. Vinny in his post match interview mentioned it also his body language on the sideline told the real story.

Vinny has been one of the people that have drove the standard in the county. He come in when things were at a low ebb and playing the likes of Carlow,Waterford, etc. He knows that if fellas aren't 100% committed to the cause then he will find someone else who are."
I said vinney is ok but i not sure about his man manager skills at times.. i do agree that he was throw in to the deep end ...woods was very unlucky in galway game it was never a black card as for the mayo game 2 lads were at it harsh also.
I say again that if o connell hadnt of gone injured he wudnt of played Woods I rather have woods around for the next few seasons than get one or two half games out of karl.

The mangerment team not just (vinney) showed no trust in mohan taking him off ..mohan has played in big championships games before and a bit of trust even with a yellow card could have been showed to him...if darren hughes was in same position I don't think vinney & his selectors would of taken him off..we needed mohan on the field to have even the slightest chance of an upset.

Hamil is young and will come good i hope but he has nt scored since the cavan game not even a point agaisnt meath or louth 4 championship games in a row... o hanlon bannigan jack woods mcmannus mcartney wilson irwin and even mcnulty scored there couple of points each game.
Without a shadow of a doubt killian lavelle was our most consistent performer this year followed by mohan & I have to say irwin put a lot of effort in all the games he played.

I agree jack has been very poor this year but who was going to get the scores after taking him off.
If that all vinney had to go on in his post match interview that jack took a point sure a point at that stage didn't lose the game.

I think he can still make a good job out of it but he needs to freshen up the backroom team

AlanD (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 24/06/2024 16:24:12    2554481

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "To be fair,Irwin had done superbly to get ahead of his man and win a long ball played in, and was completing the turnover when Wylie came in and fouled the Galway player.
Irwin was enraged tonsee his work undone and reacted. I thought it was great to see, a young lad staking his claim. Its easy for any established player to berate the mistakes of new lads on the team, showed guts to go the other way at it."
yes.. I thought the shove by Irwin on Wylie didn't look good.
I'd like to see that clip again as I thought it was Wylie who did the grunt work to dispossess the Galway player but then Irwin got in front and attempted to chip the ball up to himself but failed and then ultimately fowled the Galway player. Wylie then got very annoyed over that. I think a bit of shouting at each other on the pitch is fine over mistakes as it keeps players on their toes but you can't be shoving your own player like that. To me, it didn't suggest much of a team spirit.
O'Hanlon showed (rightly) a lot of frustration at McCarron too for now passing the ball for a goal chance in 2nd half.
Small margins win championship games. We got them last year in games against Kildare and Armagh but not on Saturday.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 129 - 24/06/2024 16:32:28    2554486

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "To be fair,Irwin had done superbly to get ahead of his man and win a long ball played in, and was completing the turnover when Wylie came in and fouled the Galway player.
Irwin was enraged tonsee his work undone and reacted. I thought it was great to see, a young lad staking his claim. Its easy for any established player to berate the mistakes of new lads on the team, showed guts to go the other way at it."
Are you serious?

Wylie knocked the ball away from Finnerty, the ball broke loose. Irwin tried to flick the ball up which given the condtions was silly, he lost the ball and he foulded Finnerty. Wylie, quite rightly, gave Irwin an earful for poor skills execution and fouling the player. That was on Irwin not Wylie.

Dread88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2 - 24/06/2024 16:41:19    2554489

Replying To Dread88:  "Are you serious?

Wylie knocked the ball away from Finnerty, the ball broke loose. Irwin tried to flick the ball up which given the condtions was silly, he lost the ball and he foulded Finnerty. Wylie, quite rightly, gave Irwin an earful for poor skills execution and fouling the player. That was on Irwin not Wylie."
Yeah definitely Irwin made the foul. It was impetuous to say the least but Wylie handeld it well. I'm not sure all the
players would have taken it so well.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 24/06/2024 19:11:59    2554529

So ends a very tough season.

Where we go from here depends on a lot of "ifs" and "buts". Corey will most likely stay on. If Corey learned a good bit last year, he should have learned even more this year. It was a testing season, with an injury pile up that was shocking. Tactically the team needs a revamp - we have a half forward line with serious pace, but the team plays ponderously with little chance to best use that pace. Perhaps a new coach is required for fresh thinking.

For those who called for new players to be introduced this year , well, we got that in spades. Some successes and some just are not up to it. I was frustrated that it took to later stages off the season to figure some of this out. Like Irwin has now settled into defence, which is a very good move. McBennett belatedly got his chance and looks like a player that can be relied upon. Hamill is like a successor to Malone and Gollogly - that type of player is always hugely appreciated by Monaghan supports but he needs to improve - his end product in terms of making chances for others or taking scores himself has to be more consistent. Even at U20/minor level Hamill has never been that prolific. Wilson and McNulty has shown themselves to be a useful squad members.

For next season, there a plenty of questions:
Who of the senior players over 30 will announce retirement - Potentially Duffy, Hughes, Mansy and O'Connell could retire.
Who will return - will Conor Boyle, Shane Carey and Niall Kearns return? It's unlikely we'll see Gallagher back next season as he's got a two year contract with Adelaide.
What new players will be introduced to the squad for next season? Would imagine a good number of this years U20 will be added.

Outside of your own clubs, what players are folks here looking forward to seeing in this years clubs championships? I'm interested to see how Conor Eccles, Paudie McMahon, Bobby McCaul, Thomas Hughes, Aaron Carey, Sean Callan, Ryan Duffy, Ronan Boyle, Shane Hanratty and Aaron Mulligan perform.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 25/06/2024 09:33:56    2554639

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "Yeah definitely Irwin made the foul. It was impetuous to say the least but Wylie handeld it well. I'm not sure all the
players would have taken it so well."
It was a pitiful thing to do. You wouldn't see that ill discipline with the top teams or any of our players in the last 10 years doing it. Just shows the level of player we have coming through.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 388 - 25/06/2024 11:24:46    2554687

Replying To sleater:  "So ends a very tough season.

Where we go from here depends on a lot of "ifs" and "buts". Corey will most likely stay on. If Corey learned a good bit last year, he should have learned even more this year. It was a testing season, with an injury pile up that was shocking. Tactically the team needs a revamp - we have a half forward line with serious pace, but the team plays ponderously with little chance to best use that pace. Perhaps a new coach is required for fresh thinking.

For those who called for new players to be introduced this year , well, we got that in spades. Some successes and some just are not up to it. I was frustrated that it took to later stages off the season to figure some of this out. Like Irwin has now settled into defence, which is a very good move. McBennett belatedly got his chance and looks like a player that can be relied upon. Hamill is like a successor to Malone and Gollogly - that type of player is always hugely appreciated by Monaghan supports but he needs to improve - his end product in terms of making chances for others or taking scores himself has to be more consistent. Even at U20/minor level Hamill has never been that prolific. Wilson and McNulty has shown themselves to be a useful squad members.

For next season, there a plenty of questions:
Who of the senior players over 30 will announce retirement - Potentially Duffy, Hughes, Mansy and O'Connell could retire.
Who will return - will Conor Boyle, Shane Carey and Niall Kearns return? It's unlikely we'll see Gallagher back next season as he's got a two year contract with Adelaide.
What new players will be introduced to the squad for next season? Would imagine a good number of this years U20 will be added.

Outside of your own clubs, what players are folks here looking forward to seeing in this years clubs championships? I'm interested to see how Conor Eccles, Paudie McMahon, Bobby McCaul, Thomas Hughes, Aaron Carey, Sean Callan, Ryan Duffy, Ronan Boyle, Shane Hanratty and Aaron Mulligan perform."
Also very keen to see how Stephen Mooney performs.. I thought he would have got more game time in the group stages and also get a good 30 mins against Galway. He'll hopefully be a big player for Monaghan over the next 5-10 years and be our main scoring threat.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 129 - 25/06/2024 14:04:42    2554757

Monaghan County Championship

Now that the All-Ireland Championship has come to an end, we focus back on the Monaghan County Championship. This year is hard to call but I am interested to hear who might be in the running in each grade:
Senior Football Championship Final: Scotstown, Latton, Really hard to call?
Intermediate Football Championship Final: Magheracloone, Carrickmacross, Truagh?
Junior Championship Final: Toome, Drumhowan?

When does the groups start?

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 641 - 26/06/2024 09:12:16    2554896

Replying To MuineachanAbu:  "Monaghan County Championship

Now that the All-Ireland Championship has come to an end, we focus back on the Monaghan County Championship. This year is hard to call but I am interested to hear who might be in the running in each grade:
Intermediate Football Championship Final: Magheracloone, Carrickmacross, Truagh?

When does the groups start?"
Inniskeen for senior along with Latton and Scotstown.

Frist round of the groups start the weekend of the 10/11 August. The groups run through the rest of August and September barring 2 weekends for club hurling semi finals and final.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 150 - 26/06/2024 09:54:44    2554903

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "
Replying To MuineachanAbu:  "Monaghan County Championship

Frist round of the groups start the weekend of the 10/11 August. The groups run through the rest of August and September barring 2 weekends for club hurling semi finals and final."
I admire the writing off of the Ulster club finalists

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 457 - 26/06/2024 12:02:28    2554927

Replying To veterngaa:  "
Replying To MrPBoylan:  "[quote=MuineachanAbu:  "Monaghan County Championship

Frist round of the groups start the weekend of the 10/11 August. The groups run through the rest of August and September barring 2 weekends for club hurling semi finals and final."
I admire the writing off of the Ulster club finalists"]Scotstown are the second shortest priced favourites (after Glen) in the entire country to win their club championship.. I assure you nobody is writing them off! The parish of Tydavnet would probably win the county title, never mind the other 3 parishes (and extended parts of Currin) that you pick from!

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 210 - 26/06/2024 12:22:10    2554936

Replying To HB245:  "
Replying To veterngaa:  "[quote=MrPBoylan:  "[quote=MuineachanAbu:  "Monaghan County Championship

I admire the writing off of the Ulster club finalists"]Scotstown are the second shortest priced favourites (after Glen) in the entire country to win their club championship.. I assure you nobody is writing them off! The parish of Tydavnet would probably win the county title, never mind the other 3 parishes (and extended parts of Currin) that you pick from!"]Anything less than an ulster club title will be another failure for scotstown… Fergie didn't come out of a 10 year hibernation for anything less and the currin club was raided for a reason… for an ulster club tilt the currin man will want to show much better form than he has for monaghsn over the past few weeks…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 462 - 26/06/2024 17:01:34    2555007

Replying To mick2007:  "
Replying To HB245:  "[quote=veterngaa:  "[quote=MrPBoylan:  "[quote=MuineachanAbu:  "Monaghan County Championship

I admire the writing off of the Ulster club finalists"]Scotstown are the second shortest priced favourites (after Glen) in the entire country to win their club championship.. I assure you nobody is writing them off! The parish of Tydavnet would probably win the county title, never mind the other 3 parishes (and extended parts of Currin) that you pick from!"]Anything less than an ulster club title will be another failure for scotstown… Fergie didn't come out of a 10 year hibernation for anything less and the currin club was raided for a reason… for an ulster club tilt the currin man will want to show much better form than he has for monaghsn over the past few weeks…"]I'm starting to think Fergie give you a few digs back in the day

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 457 - 27/06/2024 07:37:56    2555081

Replying To veterngaa:  "
Replying To mick2007:  "[quote=HB245:  "[quote=veterngaa:  "[quote=MrPBoylan:  "[quote=MuineachanAbu:  "Monaghan County Championship

I admire the writing off of the Ulster club finalists"]Scotstown are the second shortest priced favourites (after Glen) in the entire country to win their club championship.. I assure you nobody is writing them off! The parish of Tydavnet would probably win the county title, never mind the other 3 parishes (and extended parts of Currin) that you pick from!"]Anything less than an ulster club title will be another failure for scotstown… Fergie didn't come out of a 10 year hibernation for anything less and the currin club was raided for a reason… for an ulster club tilt the currin man will want to show much better form than he has for monaghsn over the past few weeks…"]I'm starting to think Fergie give you a few digs back in the day"]He's found his way back to the Monaghan forum, finally. Tom here has been busy telling us how the Ulster championship is no longer worth winning. Apparently, only winning the All Ireland is now considered success. Come over for a look or to get involved in the debate. Tom's fighting a lonely battle for yous.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 122 - 27/06/2024 15:07:23    2555184

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "
Replying To veterngaa:  "[quote=mick2007:  "[quote=HB245:  "[quote=veterngaa:  "[quote=MrPBoylan:  "[quote=MuineachanAbu:  "Monaghan County Championship

I admire the writing off of the Ulster club finalists"]Scotstown are the second shortest priced favourites (after Glen) in the entire country to win their club championship.. I assure you nobody is writing them off! The parish of Tydavnet would probably win the county title, never mind the other 3 parishes (and extended parts of Currin) that you pick from!"]Anything less than an ulster club title will be another failure for scotstown… Fergie didn't come out of a 10 year hibernation for anything less and the currin club was raided for a reason… for an ulster club tilt the currin man will want to show much better form than he has for monaghsn over the past few weeks…"]I'm starting to think Fergie give you a few digs back in the day"]He's found his way back to the Monaghan forum, finally. Tom here has been busy telling us how the Ulster championship is no longer worth winning. Apparently, only winning the All Ireland is now considered success. Come over for a look or to get involved in the debate. Tom's fighting a lonely battle for yous."]You can have him!

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 150 - 28/06/2024 08:27:49    2555312