Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "I see on the Galway forum they are talking about a Convicing Win and resting some lads for the following weekend... this is eactly how Monaghan will like it. If Galway are complacent, who knows, a shock might be on the cards. Even with our injury list, we have the players if the attitude is right."
This post is simply not true, why make it up? Check the Galway forum up to 10.20am, all the regular posters say it will be a difficult game.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 743 - 17/06/2024 10:24:21    2552218

Replying To GDL:  "This post is simply not true, why make it up? Check the Galway forum up to 10.20am, all the regular posters say it will be a difficult game."
Agreed. This game is no gimme. Some posters state incorrect facts. Imagine we are unbeaten in the championship and yet Derry beaten three times are at the same stage. Mad structure. Injuries to our key players has killed us. Only ourselves to blame on yesterday as we were home and hosed and the better side. Monaghan have a free shot so I would take a 1 point win next weekend.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1962 - 17/06/2024 10:37:38    2552229

Replying To GDL:  "This post is simply not true, why make it up? Check the Galway forum up to 10.20am, all the regular posters say it will be a difficult game."
There should be no fearing Monaghan..
I'd imagine Comer will still be named on the bench but hopefully won't be needed..
One or two other changes needed just to rest a couple of lads..
A convincing win needed...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 17/06/2024 09:15:55

Tha's what I read earlier and is what I based my post on.. it reads pretty clear to me. It takes a while for Hoganstand to make the update then and I do see the tune has changed a bit now alright.
I think you should rest some of your best players though..it would be a wise move so you are fresh for the quarter final ;)

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 17/06/2024 10:41:40    2552232

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "I see on the Galway forum they are talking about a Convicing Win and resting some lads for the following weekend... this is eactly how Monaghan will like it. If Galway are complacent, who knows, a shock might be on the cards. Even with our injury list, we have the players if the attitude is right."
In fairness will you look back on what you incorrectly stated. The Galway forum (so far this morning) is anything but. Most Galway fans will view the match next weekend as a difficult challenge. If we had a full squad to pick from and I mean having all of our critical players we might be little more confident. But after throwing that game away yesterday the mental challenge with us will be as great as important as anything else.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1962 - 17/06/2024 10:47:26    2552237

Not so long ago Monaghan relegated us so there would be few in Galway that would see Monaghan as an easy game. We should have beaten Armagh yesterday so have to dust ourselves off and do our best to beat ye as its last chance saloon stuff in a winding road structure that really needs to be changed.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 17/06/2024 10:47:53    2552238

Replying To kiloughter:  "Agreed. This game is no gimme. Some posters state incorrect facts. Imagine we are unbeaten in the championship and yet Derry beaten three times are at the same stage. Mad structure. Injuries to our key players has killed us. Only ourselves to blame on yesterday as we were home and hosed and the better side. Monaghan have a free shot so I would take a 1 point win next weekend."
yes.. yous had brilliant wins over London and Sligo in the championship so far to remain unbeaten.
I think its unfair to compare your championship journey so far with Derry.
If you had to play Donegal (Div 1 next year), Armagh (Div 1 next year) and another Div 1 team, I would say your record would be similar. This is the point of the All Ireland Series though, why have Derry going out of the championship playing only Div 1 teams and the likes of Galway stroll to a Connacht final playing two Div 4 teams.
The knockout Championship starts now with 12 best teams remaining.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 17/06/2024 10:48:55    2552239

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "yes.. yous had brilliant wins over London and Sligo in the championship so far to remain unbeaten.
If you had to play Donegal (Div 1 next year), Armagh (Div 1 next year) and another Div 1 team, I would say your record would be similar. This is the point of the All Ireland Series though, why have Derry going out of the championship playing only Div 1 teams and the likes of Galway stroll to a Connacht final playing two Div 4 teams.
The knockout Championship starts now with 12 best teams remaining."
Sorry.. Apologies for any disrespect to Sligo.. Sligo are Div 3 and gave Galway a right rattle, as did Westmeath.
This should give Monaghan some confidence too.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 17/06/2024 11:00:38    2552249

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "There should be no fearing Monaghan..
I'd imagine Comer will still be named on the bench but hopefully won't be needed..
One or two other changes needed just to rest a couple of lads..
A convincing win needed...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 17/06/2024 09:15:55

Tha's what I read earlier and is what I based my post on.. it reads pretty clear to me. It takes a while for Hoganstand to make the update then and I do see the tune has changed a bit now alright.
I think you should rest some of your best players though..it would be a wise move so you are fresh for the quarter final ;)"
One poster with 22 posts. There are a few WUM's on every forum. Any regular and balanced Galway fan/poster will call it as it is. We always struggle with Monaghan even going back to PJ'S first game at Salthill which was against Monaghan. We will be doing pints in Wards (Robert Finnerty family run it) of Lower Salthill on Saturday or Sunday, call in. It will be a final day out for one of us. Safe trip down.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 743 - 17/06/2024 11:14:00    2552254

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "yes.. yous had brilliant wins over London and Sligo in the championship so far to remain unbeaten.
The knockout Championship starts now with 12 best teams remaining."
I accept that point but you must accept the unbeaten point I made. Unbeaten means unbeaten in any man's language. There is little jeopardy early on and while i noted Derry you could have had a team from Munster or Leinster (clearly weaker provinces overall than Connacht) or Connacht itself losing three times and still in the championship but the point holds irrespective of it being Derry or otherwise. I preface all this by saying yes we only have ourselves to blame and lack the ruthlessness which should have won that game yesterday with some ease.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1962 - 17/06/2024 11:19:01    2552256

Replying To GDL:  "One poster with 22 posts. There are a few WUM's on every forum. Any regular and balanced Galway fan/poster will call it as it is. We always struggle with Monaghan even going back to PJ'S first game at Salthill which was against Monaghan. We will be doing pints in Wards (Robert Finnerty family run it) of Lower Salthill on Saturday or Sunday, call in. It will be a final day out for one of us. Safe trip down."
ok.. piont taken.
Yes, I remember 2018 in Salthill, had a nice few pints beforehand and weather was great. There was a big Monaghan crowd that day and it was a great victory for us. I'll be down this time again for sure. Hope its Saturday evening.
I don't think Monaghan supporters will travel in same numbers as last time though but hope there is a good crowd there.
C'Mon the Farney.!! Joyce doesn't like playing Monaghan, especially with his Monaghan in-laws to slag him if we win :)

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 17/06/2024 11:23:10    2552259

Best draw for Monaghan in the circumstances. Nobody wanted Tyrone in Omagh and Mayo have that hard edge which our lads would definitely struggle with. Galway are obviously the clearest of favourites given the quality in their ranks, but at least we can hope Monaghan will have a go at them. It's great opportunity for developing some of the emerging players in the panel. If Monaghan can get Wilson, McBennett, Woods and Mooney in the game for longer periods it will a worthwhile venture. Jones too.

The curtain will probably fall on the career of Monaghan's greatest ever footballer next week, and possibly for one or two other legendary servants as well. A blue-blood county like Galway seem fitting opponents.

For that reason alone the stands should be swelled with Monaghan support.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1089 - 17/06/2024 11:30:23    2552263

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Best draw for Monaghan in the circumstances. Nobody wanted Tyrone in Omagh and Mayo have that hard edge which our lads would definitely struggle with. Galway are obviously the clearest of favourites given the quality in their ranks, but at least we can hope Monaghan will have a go at them. It's great opportunity for developing some of the emerging players in the panel. If Monaghan can get Wilson, McBennett, Woods and Mooney in the game for longer periods it will a worthwhile venture. Jones too.

The curtain will probably fall on the career of Monaghan's greatest ever footballer next week, and possibly for one or two other legendary servants as well. A blue-blood county like Galway seem fitting opponents.

For that reason alone the stands should be swelled with Monaghan support."
"The curtain will probably fall on the career of Monaghan's greatest ever footballer next week, and possibly for one or two other legendary servants as well. A blue-blood county like Galway seem fitting opponents.

Well said Eddie, I had the same thought.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 447 - 17/06/2024 11:43:57    2552274

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Best draw for Monaghan in the circumstances. Nobody wanted Tyrone in Omagh and Mayo have that hard edge which our lads would definitely struggle with. Galway are obviously the clearest of favourites given the quality in their ranks, but at least we can hope Monaghan will have a go at them. It's great opportunity for developing some of the emerging players in the panel. If Monaghan can get Wilson, McBennett, Woods and Mooney in the game for longer periods it will a worthwhile venture. Jones too.

agree Eddie,

I would rather our legends bow out to a traditional footballing country, who always play football the right away, then getting targeted by the likes of Tyrone.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 17/06/2024 11:55:45    2552283

Replying To kiloughter:  "I accept that point but you must accept the unbeaten point I made. Unbeaten means unbeaten in any man's language. There is little jeopardy early on and while i noted Derry you could have had a team from Munster or Leinster (clearly weaker provinces overall than Connacht) or Connacht itself losing three times and still in the championship but the point holds irrespective of it being Derry or otherwise. I preface all this by saying yes we only have ourselves to blame and lack the ruthlessness which should have won that game yesterday with some ease."
yes, agree there is little jeopardy but that's the format of the championship.
Burns said on the radio this morning that there will be changes next year to introduce more jeopardy but it will have to take seeding into account. It'll be interesting to see what's proposed. It will probably be just do a knockout draw based on seeding with best 16 teams left in the championship. Anyway, lets complete out this years championship first.!

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 17/06/2024 11:58:15    2552285

Another game and the best option for us against Galway! Nothing to lose and all the pressure on them. If we get it right we can rattle them

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 454 - 17/06/2024 12:07:37    2552290

agree with Eddie.. McManus deserves big Monaghan support in Galway this weekend but the younger Monaghan players need to dig deep and get a win, do it for Mansy .! get him back to Corke Park for at least one more game..
Any word on O'Toole ? it looked serious for him yesterday as he came off so doubt he'll figure this weekend.
Assuming we don't have Duffy, O'Connell and Ward back either, what's our starting team ?
I'd go with:
Beggan
McPhilips Lavelle Wylie
Irwin McAnespie McCarthy
Mohan McBennett
Hamill Bannigan OHanlon
Mooney Woods Jones

Subs to bring on:
McManus for Jones
McCarron for Woods (if needed)
Wilson for McBennett
McNulty for McPhilips, drop Irwan back in the corner and play McNulty in at half back.

looking at the team from 2018, only 4 starters remain from that team + McManus. This is pretty much a new team now.
Beggan
Wylie
McCarthy
McAnespie
McManus

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 128 - 17/06/2024 12:28:53    2552297

Monaghan have won the last few clutch games against Galway in recent times, a famous double scores win in 2018 saw monaghan advance to an all Ireland semi final (Galway were already through)
Both teams lost 7 days later to tyrone and dublin. In 2021, monaghan stole victory from the Jaws of defeat to relegate Galway from division 1. The game will be fondly remembered for banty being in the stand on his Nokia 3210. However it should be noted Galway have a healthy league record in recent times over the farney winning in 2018, 2019, 2020, 2023 and 2024. And p Joyce is of course married to a monaghan lady.

222 (UK) - Posts: 730 - 17/06/2024 12:49:19    2552316

Replying To patmouse:  "agree Eddie,

I would rather our legends bow out to a traditional footballing country, who always play football the right away, then getting targeted by the likes of Tyrone."
100% Galway are good lads play the game the right way tough but fair. We will both give it a go and the best side will prevail. Great trip over also to the West. Had enough trips to omagh with our old friends.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1827 - 17/06/2024 13:01:22    2552324

no one taking monaghan lightly in galway

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 17/06/2024 15:38:31    2552410

Replying To patmouse:  "agree Eddie,

I would rather our legends bow out to a traditional footballing country, who always play football the right away, then getting targeted by the likes of Tyrone."
I certainly will be there and whatever the result hope to see Conor McManus on the Salthill turf (one of the most improved surfaces in recent years) one last time. A truly great footballer. First time I saw him in the flesh was the year Monaghan came up from Division 3. Ye were playing Antrim that day in Clones. McManus was so natural with his kicking. What a servant for ye.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1962 - 17/06/2024 20:04:07    2552506