Westmeath Football thread

Replying To jamsie:  "It's a fair point, that if basing on population , you should put it halfway between Mullingar and Athlone. But based on geography, Mullingar is smack in the middle of the county. I imagine if it were too far West or South then the hurling clubs would be the ones not supporting. Hard to please everyone.
Am I right in saying that the link road referred to is the Robinstown link road? So directly opposite Shamrocks proposed new entrance? A lot of pitches in a very small area when factoring in Lomans too."
Correct on location - at the back of St Lomans Hospital with vehicular access off ring road. Just off N4 obviously so very accessible nationally but a bit of a spin from the likes of Castledaly.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 02/02/2024 13:07:50    2523847

Replying To jamsie:  "It's a fair point, that if basing on population , you should put it halfway between Mullingar and Athlone. But based on geography, Mullingar is smack in the middle of the county. I imagine if it were too far West or South then the hurling clubs would be the ones not supporting. Hard to please everyone.
Am I right in saying that the link road referred to is the Robinstown link road? So directly opposite Shamrocks proposed new entrance? A lot of pitches in a very small area when factoring in Lomans too."
stop talking about property and talk about the clare match . its not a property forum

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 02/02/2024 13:09:08    2523848

Dessie gone with the same starting 15 again for Clare. Kevin Maguire listed amongst the subs which is good news.
That of course may not be the team that starts.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 02/02/2024 13:38:05    2523854

Replying To Temple56:  "Rumours have it that clubs around Athlone/Moate area will not support the COE as they were not consulted on the location. Half the population in Westmeath around the Athlone/Moate area.

Very hard to see young lads aged 13/14/15 travelling to the far side of mullingar 2/3 times a week for development training if they are from this area. COE should have been built around Tyrrellspass or Rochfordbridge.

But anyway it is positive news that we are atleast getting one but I believe it's going to take 10/15 years to build"
It would be laughable if thats true about clubs around Athlone and Moate not rowing in behind this major development which will be key to developing future generations in Westmeath for years to come. Good job we are smaller than most counties? You would have some sympathy for South Kerry clubs going to the Kerry centre of excellence . God help the future Castledaly underage players having to go all the way to Mullingar for training.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 175 - 02/02/2024 14:32:36    2523865

Replying To Temple56:  "Rumours have it that clubs around Athlone/Moate area will not support the COE as they were not consulted on the location. Half the population in Westmeath around the Athlone/Moate area.

Very hard to see young lads aged 13/14/15 travelling to the far side of mullingar 2/3 times a week for development training if they are from this area. COE should have been built around Tyrrellspass or Rochfordbridge.

But anyway it is positive news that we are atleast getting one but I believe it's going to take 10/15 years to build"
Its clear that many do not realize that Westmeath extends north to Clonmellon and Finea and that more that half Westmeath is north of Mullingar.

BarrRst (Westmeath) - Posts: 14 - 02/02/2024 14:38:30    2523867

Replying To BarrRst:  "Its clear that many do not realize that Westmeath extends north to Clonmellon and Finea and that more that half Westmeath is north of Mullingar."
Exactly. It would take roughly half hour to get from St Pauls pitch to the site of the proposed centre of excellence, its even further from Castletown pitch. Mullingar is the focal point of Westmeath

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 175 - 02/02/2024 15:04:52    2523872

Replying To A_Chairde:  "It would be laughable if thats true about clubs around Athlone and Moate not rowing in behind this major development which will be key to developing future generations in Westmeath for years to come. Good job we are smaller than most counties? You would have some sympathy for South Kerry clubs going to the Kerry centre of excellence . God help the future Castledaly underage players having to go all the way to Mullingar for training."
It's most likely just a rumour, maybe initiated by someone trying to stoke up a bit of controversy. Clubs araound the Athlone/Moate area (including Castledaly) are well used to travelling to Mullingar for county board meetings, national league games, county finals, and just about anything else that involves the whole county.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 543 - 02/02/2024 15:28:18    2523877

Replying To BarrRst:  "Its clear that many do not realize that Westmeath extends north to Clonmellon and Finea and that more that half Westmeath is north of Mullingar."
Population!!!

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 386 - 02/02/2024 15:35:38    2523878

Same starting 15 as was against Offaly for the Clare game picked by Dessie but I have a feelimg there might be one or two changes-Mattie Whittaker might start.Heres to a home win and a good solid second half performance-we have to put an end to this secondhalfitis we seem to suffer from.Anyways best of luck to all squad and management.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 166 - 02/02/2024 15:58:23    2523880

Replying To Temple56:  "Population!!!"
Mullingar is virtually bang in the middle of the county, and it's the county town, the county grounds are there, it's the administrative capital of the county, It's easily accessible to all by main road… Makes complete sense for the centre of excellence to be built in the proposed location

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 02/02/2024 16:13:49    2523887

Replying To midlands:  "It's most likely just a rumour, maybe initiated by someone trying to stoke up a bit of controversy. Clubs araound the Athlone/Moate area (including Castledaly) are well used to travelling to Mullingar for county board meetings, national league games, county finals, and just about anything else that involves the whole county."
Exactly, and they're probably fed up

Tailteannchamps (Westmeath) - Posts: 17 - 02/02/2024 16:29:38    2523890

Replying To Bruno@1:  "Same starting 15 as was against Offaly for the Clare game picked by Dessie but I have a feelimg there might be one or two changes-Mattie Whittaker might start.Heres to a home win and a good solid second half performance-we have to put an end to this secondhalfitis we seem to suffer from.Anyways best of luck to all squad and management."
I heard that of the 22667 people living in Mullingar, there were 11333 at training in Shamrocks and 11334 at training in Lomans last night.

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 226 - 02/02/2024 17:27:04    2523901

You can throw in Oliver Plunketts Hurling Club and the CBS harbour field when you are at it.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 02/02/2024 19:16:54    2523920

Great news about the COE, will benefit all gaa players in westmeath going forward. How could it not. Now an important game tomorrow, a win puts us in a great position for promotion. There will be bumps along the way but am confident and hoping to see more of the panel used.

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 03/02/2024 09:20:07    2523976

A lucky one point win, Clare looked better side for long spells, late disallowed goal a big call, Andy McCormack was excellent as was Charlie Drumm and Ronan Wallace and Sam Mc good in parts, only one forward scoring from play in nearly 80 mins is worrying, our half backs scored 1-3, subs and midfielder 0-3, good to have four points after these two games,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1491 - 04/02/2024 17:41:17    2524272

Great win-great 2 points but we got out of jail bigtime-Clare by far the better team physically and football wise.Clare just relegated after 8 years in div.2 and it showed.We need to take our chances and it shows how much we miss John Heslin when hes not playing.2 wins from 2 is great and Wicklow in Aughrim will be another big test but im sure the lads will he up for it-showed great character to win out in the end today.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 166 - 04/02/2024 18:15:39    2524291

We played our get out of jail card, got the rub of the green, Clare were the better team etc. Still though another two precious points collected en route to Aughrim in two weeks time. When the chips were down our big players stood up. It was a difficult day for scoring forwards, Coughlan for Clare was best on show but attacking half backs / midfielders remain a prominent feature in gaelic football. The entire Dublin half back line and midfield got on the scoresheet last night.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 175 - 04/02/2024 19:41:30    2524325

A massive 2 points today. Truth be told; Clare were slightly the better team throughout. Saying that; it's always encouraging to win when you're not at your best.

Andy McCormack was outstanding again today; put in a massive effort. Ray also had another very strong game today. We left 2:4 at least behind in the first half and we got away with it today. I'd like to see one of Forde or Whittaker to start the next day.

The bench made a big difference again today. One big thing this year is we have options form the bench and Dessie is using the bench earlier which is great to see! Good that we have a few more players to come back and we are on maximum points & we know we can play a lot better. Wicklow away in 2 weeks time now!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 04/02/2024 19:47:47    2524330

Solid performance devoid of great play. The conditions didn't help. Westmeath left 1-3 in scores they didn't get in the first half, which would have put the game to bed early in second half. McNamara was immense in Clare's midfield, matched by our own Ray Connellan. imo The maturity of Heslin was missed on a day like today. Dont know if there was cameras at the game, but from what some supporters said leaving the ground was that we were lucky to get square ball for Clare's last goal.

Good to see Ronan Wallace back to full fitness and a strong performance from Drumm at full back. For €12 you'd be hard pressed to find better excitement

Maroon Heaven (Westmeath) - Posts: 34 - 04/02/2024 19:49:49    2524336

Replying To Maroon Heaven:  "Solid performance devoid of great play. The conditions didn't help. Westmeath left 1-3 in scores they didn't get in the first half, which would have put the game to bed early in second half. McNamara was immense in Clare's midfield, matched by our own Ray Connellan. imo The maturity of Heslin was missed on a day like today. Dont know if there was cameras at the game, but from what some supporters said leaving the ground was that we were lucky to get square ball for Clare's last goal.

Good to see Ronan Wallace back to full fitness and a strong performance from Drumm at full back. For €12 you'd be hard pressed to find better excitement"
From Tommy Rooney's twitter account there is a photo of the square ball incident, was a clear goal Cormac Murray of Clare ran in after the ball was passed. Fair play to ye in Westmeath ye made a great comeback.

CartaDubh (Clare) - Posts: 51 - 04/02/2024 20:29:57    2524353