Westmeath Football thread

It's a fair point by another poster that while Loman's are red hot favourites and have strolled through the championship their displays on county final day in recent years throw some doubts about them. In 2018 they were beaten by Shamrocks, Garrycastle in 2019 despite Loman's leading by 9-10 at one stage, the finals they won in 2020 and 2021 were won despite being poor by their standards for first game vs Garrycastle and in closing stages versus Tyrrellspass, last year was similar to 2018 in that a hungrier team outfought them and deservedly won. The key Loman's players will be aware of these performances and will either produce a massive display where they'll win by ten points or more or else it will be cagey and tight which gives the red and whites a fighting chance. Kinnegad are young, hungry and have a decent bench, they also have a very capable and experienced management team. Don't rule out a replay.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1869 - 25/09/2023 16:25:31    2505676

Replying To leitrimman68:  "Lomans worth a few pound?"
If you have 10 grand to spare

lakecounty90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 109 - 25/09/2023 16:40:49    2505680

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Lomans are massive favourites, their experience in finals (contested 10 out of the last 11) along with their inter county standard forward line make them hard to overlook. There is always huge pressure on them to deliver a title every year with the players they have at their disposal and they dont handle it very well on the big day so you never know. One thing compared to previous years I dont think they are as good depth wise, Kelvin Reilly was brought on in semi final for first appearance this year, a brilliant footballer but what does that say for the rest of the lads left on the bench. I get the impression that Dowdall is worried about his defence bringing in Kelvin now. In the league final Kinnegad made them look very average at the back, their full back especially has looked very poor in games Ive seen."
The likes of TJ Cox, Kelvin Reilly, Ryan Jones and Conor o Donoghue on the bench shows me that they do have a strength in depth

westmeath99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 19 - 25/09/2023 19:53:16    2505712

ok for me St Lomans to win by 4pts in Senior. Just experience will get them over the line. Would be great to see Kinnegad win.
Malachys to win by 2 pts. If David Lynch doesn't play for Malachys, it would be a huge loss. does anyone know if he's in or out. Did he play with Castletown at weekend.
Kilbeggan to win by 2pt in Junior.

gti (Westmeath) - Posts: 241 - 26/09/2023 09:06:08    2505740

Replying To gti:  "ok for me St Lomans to win by 4pts in Senior. Just experience will get them over the line. Would be great to see Kinnegad win.
Malachys to win by 2 pts. If David Lynch doesn't play for Malachys, it would be a huge loss. does anyone know if he's in or out. Did he play with Castletown at weekend.
Kilbeggan to win by 2pt in Junior."
He was out not sure how serious I think he may be back

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 480 - 26/09/2023 09:53:31    2505746

St.Lomans by 5 in senior
Milltownpass by 3
Kilbeggan by 2
All close games though and weather conditions might have a say

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 208 - 26/09/2023 10:36:01    2505756

Replying To gti:  "ok for me St Lomans to win by 4pts in Senior. Just experience will get them over the line. Would be great to see Kinnegad win.
tickets for the offaly final were on sale in centra in tullamore are the westmeath tickets on sale in mullingar

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1865 - 26/09/2023 10:48:31    2505760

Lynch did not play for Castletown was a huge loss perhaps he was saving himself for the football final as he's one of the few lads in Castletown whose first priority is football definitely would fancy mtp if he's missing

DanGer966 (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 26/09/2023 11:40:09    2505785

Replying To DanGer966:  "Lynch did not play for Castletown was a huge loss perhaps he was saving himself for the football final as he's one of the few lads in Castletown whose first priority is football definitely would fancy mtp if he's missing"
Lynch suffered a suspected broken jaw in semi final vs tubberclair hence why he wasn't playing against LLG in the hurling.. if it was that of a broken jaw you would suspect he will miss the football this weekend too. A big loss

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 336 - 26/09/2023 22:03:56    2505910

Replying To Westmeath213:  "Lynch suffered a suspected broken jaw in semi final vs tubberclair hence why he wasn't playing against LLG in the hurling.. if it was that of a broken jaw you would suspect he will miss the football this weekend too. A big loss"
Good player will be huge lost should still be close either way

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 480 - 27/09/2023 09:54:06    2505947

Replying To Bruno@1:  "St.Lomans by 5 in senior
Milltownpass by 3
Kilbeggan by 2
All close games though and weather conditions might have a say"
Kinnegad by 1
Intermediate a draw

Captainfantastic (Westmeath) - Posts: 48 - 27/09/2023 23:33:51    2506054

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Good player will be huge lost should still be close either way"
I have it from a malachys source , David Lynch will start the intermediate final on Saturday

coffey (Westmeath) - Posts: 13 - 28/09/2023 15:26:18    2506129

Replying To coffey:  "I have it from a malachys source , David Lynch will start the intermediate final on Saturday"
That would be great for Malachys. Would like to see them win it. They've been long enough playing the poor relation to the hurlers.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 153 - 28/09/2023 15:52:38    2506135

3 intriguing finals in store this weekend , I hope the weather gods give each team the break they so badly need ,
In the senior I think it's hard to look passed Lomans the old dog for the hard road , 9 finals in a row there going to take stopping there improving while making it look effortless with each game , kinnegad great team and this won't be a one off there here for the future too but I think Sunday will be a valuable learning curve for them.
Lomans by 5 for me

Milltownpass And Malachys I've seen each side once this year one impressed whilst the other I honestly would of laughed if someone told me that day that they were on the verge of becoming intermediate champions because what I saw against Bal that day was worlds away from what they are now , malachys have been impressive winning all games a lot depends of mangan and lynchs availability but I fancy the momentum behind Milltownpass to finally see them over the line

In the junior haven't seen either team , but I think lomans will pip it from what I hear they've a lovely mixture of expieriexe and talented youth ready to make the step up , the future may well be blue in Westmeath .
Also shamrocks for the minor

Best of luck to each and every team contesting finals , no matter what outcome 6 very good teams fair play to every panellist from each side in each final

TheGaaMan77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 55 - 28/09/2023 18:55:56    2506157

Replying To Bettyboo22:  "Will Flanagan Cup be heading back to Lomans or out the road to Kinnegad"
St Lomans all the way Kinnegad very average in semi final. The boys in blue have to much up front to let this one slip really think they will give Lenister a good crack .

Undertheroad (Westmeath) - Posts: 65 - 28/09/2023 22:52:31    2506171

When is the senior football final on between Kinnegad and Lomans. I have looked at the WestMeath Gaa website page and on the face book page and it not there. Is it a secret or are they afraid to many people will turn up to see Kinegad win.
There is a constant issue withe the offical web page not being up to date with Match times and I know of a number of people who have turned up to matches to find that the time on the offical web page is incorrect.

BarrRst (Westmeath) - Posts: 28 - 30/09/2023 16:43:49    2506382

Replying To BarrRst:  "When is the senior football final on between Kinnegad and Lomans. I have looked at the WestMeath Gaa website page and on the face book page and it not there. Is it a secret or are they afraid to many people will turn up to see Kinegad win.
There is a constant issue withe the offical web page not being up to date with Match times and I know of a number of people who have turned up to matches to find that the time on the offical web page is incorrect."
215pm tomorrow as per Westmeath GAA website and live on TG4. Kilbeggan defeated Lomans 2nd team in junior 1 final with a late late goal. Kinnegad won junior 2 beating Delvin by 2. Malachy's pipped Milltownpass by a point. Tough conditions today for football. Hopefully Cusack Park holds up for tomorrow. If day is wet I give Kinnegad every chance - 3/1 with the bookies.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1159 - 30/09/2023 18:03:07    2506389

Replying To BarrRst:  "When is the senior football final on between Kinnegad and Lomans. I have looked at the WestMeath Gaa website page and on the face book page and it not there. Is it a secret or are they afraid to many people will turn up to see Kinegad win.
There is a constant issue withe the offical web page not being up to date with Match times and I know of a number of people who have turned up to matches to find that the time on the offical web page is incorrect."
More nonsense re website and fixtures. It's been widely circulated for last fortnight that senior final is at 2.15, it's on national tv so it would be near impossible not to find out the throw in time. It's on the website, national newspapers, local newspapers, universe ticket site,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1869 - 30/09/2023 18:45:12    2506392

Great excitement in the Park today, two exciting games, easily could have been draws in both, Kilbeggan totally dominated first half but half goal chances missed looked costly. Loman's wing back Sean Bracken scored 1-1 in second half, prob best player on field, Loman's missed glaring chances when up by 2 to get insurance point, scrambled Kilbeggan goal won the day. Malachy's and Milltownpass was a very even contest, Milltownpass always chasing the game and looked to have replay with a great Brandon Kelly point. Morgan Gavigan kicked a 40 metre free in injury time to bring Malachy's back senior. Hard on Milltownpass who played well. Shane Corcoran and Shane Clavin stood out with Johnny Bermingham getting the early goal. Pitch held up well but four sets of supporters congratulating and commiserating after both matches didn't do much good, no one's fault.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1869 - 30/09/2023 20:04:12    2506400

In fairness ya could only laugh

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 244 - 30/09/2023 20:21:25    2506401