Westmeath Hurling thread

Well done to all the players and management. Unbelievable result and no less than they deserve.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 175 - 22/05/2023 10:34:44    2480359

Make it the start of something now, rather than the ceiling of ambition. Well done Westmeath.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 22/05/2023 11:08:37    2480393

Good to have a positive news day for us. Serious second half showing. Hopefully Westmeaths performance will be lauded rather than Wexfords capitulation.

puglerdaly (Westmeath) - Posts: 125 - 22/05/2023 11:38:59    2480418

Sincere congratulations to Westmeath on your victory yesterday. It is one thing to beat Wexford, to beat them having been 17 points down is nothing short of amazing. Put it this way, if Limerick did what ye did, writers would be gushing with praise of 'Champions spirit' etc. Ye guys did it and a lot of the talk was how poor Wexford were, which is somewhat insulting.

Well done, mighty.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/05/2023 11:43:06    2480422

Replying To slayer:  "Sincere congratulations to Westmeath on your victory yesterday. It is one thing to beat Wexford, to beat them having been 17 points down is nothing short of amazing. Put it this way, if Limerick did what ye did, writers would be gushing with praise of 'Champions spirit' etc. Ye guys did it and a lot of the talk was how poor Wexford were, which is somewhat insulting.

Well done, mighty."
First of all congrats to Westmeath. Unfortunately poor doesn't adequately describe our second half performance. Jackie Tyrell described it accurately on the Sunday Game last night.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 22/05/2023 12:19:05    2480447

Yop Westmeath

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 22/05/2023 14:17:50    2480526

A few points:
- firstly, congratulations on a fine comeback win.
- a few goals are looking like they will be achieved this year; 1st division status retained, a bigger scalp taken, and likely sam Maguire status retained
- permutations for next week would indicate that Westmeath will stay up either way if wexford fall to Kilkenny. Kilkenny will do them no favours.
Westmeath should do no favours to Antrim either and shoot to finish 4th in the group of 6 regardless.
- midfield pairing seems to have finally clicked in the 2nd half.
- they showed they can hurl for 35 minutes yesterday. Now to do it for the full 70.
- lastly Mullingar Colaiste Mhuire are gaining traction in Leinster schools hurling. This cannot be allowed to lose pace. Limerick city had no hurling to speak of 20 years ago.
Mullingar can be pushed to do the same. With 3 great clubs in the immediate environs.

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 22/05/2023 14:22:09    2480529

Replying To 35OLT:  "A few points:
- firstly, congratulations on a fine comeback win.
- a few goals are looking like they will be achieved this year; 1st division status retained, a bigger scalp taken, and likely sam Maguire status retained
- permutations for next week would indicate that Westmeath will stay up either way if wexford fall to Kilkenny. Kilkenny will do them no favours.
Westmeath should do no favours to Antrim either and shoot to finish 4th in the group of 6 regardless.
- midfield pairing seems to have finally clicked in the 2nd half.
- they showed they can hurl for 35 minutes yesterday. Now to do it for the full 70.
- lastly Mullingar Colaiste Mhuire are gaining traction in Leinster schools hurling. This cannot be allowed to lose pace. Limerick city had no hurling to speak of 20 years ago.
Mullingar can be pushed to do the same. With 3 great clubs in the immediate environs."
a wonderful comeback win for a highly motivated bunch of players , many congrats to joe fortune his management team and the players

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 22/05/2023 15:07:44    2480567

Replying To MillerX:  "Great, great result for Westmeath. Hard to know about next week. I'd definitely go for it, win and you are definitely safe, lose and you're safe on the head-to-head, PROVIDED Kilkenny beat Wexford!!!!! Do you trust Kilkenny that much? I wouldn't even though they need the win to reach the Leinster final. Do it for yourselves."
There's nothing Kilkenny would love more than to send Wexford down. Don't worry about that.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 591 - 22/05/2023 15:30:58    2480585

Great win by my friends in Westmeath.

Keep the pitch warm for us for next year !!

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 22/05/2023 16:04:03    2480594

Congratulations to all concerned. A superb victory.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 22/05/2023 16:33:45    2480611

Great win yesterday for all hurling folk in Westmeath. They kept battling away, and got the win.
Tommy Doyle your excellent no 3, has an Offaly mother from my own area. It helps, but everyone played their part.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 22/05/2023 16:56:04    2480623

Replying To carlovia:  "Great win by my friends in Westmeath.

Keep the pitch warm for us for next year !!"
Huge game next saturday for ye lads.Carlow and ourselves have lots in common as do Laois and Offaly.We need to push on and get a win against Antrim which is doable but will be very dificult.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 22/05/2023 18:19:18    2480661

Replying To thelongridge:  "Great win yesterday for all hurling folk in Westmeath. They kept battling away, and got the win.
Tommy Doyle your excellent no 3, has an Offaly mother from my own area. It helps, but everyone played their part."
His father from Collinstown was an excellent full back

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 782 - 22/05/2023 19:24:03    2480683

I remember Westmeath coming to Thurles in 2017 and pushing the then All Ireland champions for well over 55 minutes. Darren Gleeson had to make 2 great saves to keep Westmeath from getting within a whisker before a few late points ensured the win. Well done on the victory yesterday and hope this is not in vain.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/05/2023 19:24:42    2480684

Congratulations Westmeath. I have admired your hurling for years. If only you could bring consistency and that is not winning every game but keeping the defeats in single digits. Then you will climb the ladder to where you should be.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 22/05/2023 22:59:51    2480718

Was in the gym this morning and got chatting to a lad from Athlone in the sauna after who was on holiday with his family after the communions. His youngest son is 5 and has just started out hurling with the Southern Gaels, is it?, in that area. He said they were very busy trying to get friends and family members in to play hurling fair play to them. He played football himself and never hurled so he said he was watching the coaches to get ideas off them what to be doing with his son. Great to hear the game is growing there.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 23/05/2023 13:34:35    2480896

Id say all the Westmeath people here would thank all you guys for your kind words.But the brutal reality is we have to perform for 80 minutes next Sunday not 40.If we dont we will be back in Joe Mcdonagh and there will be no cue saying its a disaster for hurling.The Antrim game will be a huge dog fight just like the two we have had with Laois in the last 12 months.Without Kilian Doyle,Jack Galvin and of course Aonghus Clarke its a huge ask.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 23/05/2023 13:35:40    2480898

Replying To Viking66:  "Was in the gym this morning and got chatting to a lad from Athlone in the sauna after who was on holiday with his family after the communions. His youngest son is 5 and has just started out hurling with the Southern Gaels, is it?, in that area. He said they were very busy trying to get friends and family members in to play hurling fair play to them. He played football himself and never hurled so he said he was watching the coaches to get ideas off them what to be doing with his son. Great to hear the game is growing there."
The key to Westmeaths future is the growth of hurling in Mullingar and Athlone who have half the population between them but little hurling tradition especially in Athlone but its beginning to change but needs a lot of nurturing.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 23/05/2023 17:14:53    2481020

Replying To WildPundit:  "I remember Westmeath coming to Thurles in 2017 and pushing the then All Ireland champions for well over 55 minutes. Darren Gleeson had to make 2 great saves to keep Westmeath from getting within a whisker before a few late points ensured the win. Well done on the victory yesterday and hope this is not in vain."
They did the same three years ago to Waterford in the qualifiers when we went on to the final. If they could achieve that consistency to self belief if that is what it is.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 23/05/2023 17:39:19    2481030