Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To Claretandblue:  "The chances of Joe Fortune working with Kevin O' Brien are pretty slim considering the deterioration in their relationship this year with overlapping players. It's pretty simple for Fortune, either work with coaches within the county or head back to Dublin. Thousands upon thousands being spent/wasted on outside coaches who are contributing nothing in reality"
westmeath hurling had 3 very good years under joe fortune. Few comments about money been spent been viewed as wasted as players been unfit and coaches "in reality doing nothing" I find very puzzling. Like lads have an agenda and are very narrow minded. I saw westmeath vs limerick in the league. Looked pretty fit and well drilled. Every team does good S And C work. Just when you are losing you don't look fit or as skilled as your actually are.

Premier12345 (Tipperary) - Posts: 46 - 07/06/2024 23:16:20    2550110

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "Of course you saw that, you were most likely at the game seeing as you're from that area and always spouting on about the county under 14s."
Its truly amazing how some people love to live in a world of depression and hate anybody who sees some positivity.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1503 - 07/06/2024 23:43:31    2550113

Replying To Premier12345:  "westmeath hurling had 3 very good years under joe fortune. Few comments about money been spent been viewed as wasted as players been unfit and coaches "in reality doing nothing" I find very puzzling. Like lads have an agenda and are very narrow minded. I saw westmeath vs limerick in the league. Looked pretty fit and well drilled. Every team does good S And C work. Just when you are losing you don't look fit or as skilled as your actually are."
Have you attended their training sessions? I wouldn't post my comments without basis in reality. Three good years under Joe's management is questionable, we faced Meath this year with the loser heading to Christy Ring,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1554 - 08/06/2024 12:00:47    2550155

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Have you attended their training sessions? I wouldn't post my comments without basis in reality. Three good years under Joe's management is questionable, we faced Meath this year with the loser heading to Christy Ring,"
The last year of the three was difficult. What would you view as a successful mgt term? The outside perspective woukd be joe s stock has definitely risen compared to before he started the westmeath job.

Premier12345 (Tipperary) - Posts: 46 - 08/06/2024 12:27:50    2550157

Competing in today's McDonagh Cup final would be a start. As a Tipp man would you be happy with Liam Cahill's tenure? There are many similarities, both eliminated at an early juncture from the championship after average league campaigns. Not sure that Joe's stock has risen in three years, we're now ranked approx 14th-15th nationally, anything below sixteenth is Christy Ring territory.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1554 - 08/06/2024 14:22:22    2550169

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Competing in today's McDonagh Cup final would be a start. As a Tipp man would you be happy with Liam Cahill's tenure? There are many similarities, both eliminated at an early juncture from the championship after average league campaigns. Not sure that Joe's stock has risen in three years, we're now ranked approx 14th-15th nationally, anything below sixteenth is Christy Ring territory."
You can't argue with that, hopefully we make a swift and good appointment now. Having an inside management would save money but it needs to be right.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 840 - 08/06/2024 15:57:36    2550180

Replying To Dheen:  "You can't argue with that, hopefully we make a swift and good appointment now. Having an inside management would save money but it needs to be right."
Offaly are on the rise, laois are always difficult to beat. The matches between offaly, laois and westmeath were always going to settle who would contest the final. I wouldn't be happy with Tipperary s year. They too have been accused of not been fit enough etc. I can tell you they are training aswell as anyone. The level of the other counties is through the roof. Also if anyone thinks because you have an internal appointment that costs will be lower Your joking right? . No matter who you get, there's a fee to be paid.

Premier12345 (Tipperary) - Posts: 46 - 08/06/2024 16:43:49    2550189

Replying To Premier12345:  "Offaly are on the rise, laois are always difficult to beat. The matches between offaly, laois and westmeath were always going to settle who would contest the final. I wouldn't be happy with Tipperary s year. They too have been accused of not been fit enough etc. I can tell you they are training aswell as anyone. The level of the other counties is through the roof. Also if anyone thinks because you have an internal appointment that costs will be lower Your joking right? . No matter who you get, there's a fee to be paid."
The reality is the appointment the board make has to inspire the players. If they dont get it right I can see some senior players retiring.We desperately need all of these to be committed to give young players time to bed in.
Long term I am optimistic for hurling in the county.The underage scene has 5 or 6 teams fit to compete for division 1 titles at most grades while clubs such as Southern Gaels,Fr Daltons and even St Brigids are fielding at every grade. Cullion, Ringtown and the Wood are worries but the standard of underage hurling in the county has without doubt improved.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1503 - 09/06/2024 10:40:49    2550277

Combination of Obrien and Grevvile would be the ticjet

Onionbagger (Westmeath) - Posts: 80 - 09/06/2024 18:28:08    2550383

Replying To Onionbagger:  "Combination of Obrien and Grevvile would be the ticjet"
So who coaches on this ticket?
Obrien has very little coaching experience, he usually brings in others like Frank Aughey or Sullivan from Clare.
Johnny has huge coaching experience himself and is also an excellent manager. I would expect Johnny to bring his own coaching team and that's if he even goes for the job.
Like I have said previously if its not Johnny we need to look outside.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 241 - 09/06/2024 21:54:45    2550435

There doesn't appear to be many outside candidates not already managing teams, Johnny Greville would be a good candidate if he's allowed to go for it.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1554 - 09/06/2024 22:05:49    2550437

Knowing the Co Board they'll bring in a lad from outer Mongolia before a local proven lad.

Bigjoe1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 45 - 09/06/2024 22:35:04    2550439

Replying To Onionbagger:  "Combination of Obrien and Grevvile would be the ticjet"
Would be great if the two lads could work together.

Kevin has a great record in club here and has done his time with the 20s

Johnny has never failed to deliver with Westmeath teams at all levels

County board should be working to get all the best lads together, no egos just everyone there for the right reasons

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 10/06/2024 11:34:05    2550516

Replying To Left Full:  "So who coaches on this ticket?
Obrien has very little coaching experience, he usually brings in others like Frank Aughey or Sullivan from Clare.
Johnny has huge coaching experience himself and is also an excellent manager. I would expect Johnny to bring his own coaching team and that's if he even goes for the job.
Like I have said previously if its not Johnny we need to look outside."
Ironically enough the two lads you mentioned there have both worked with both Kevin and Johnny in the past so they could well be part of any prospective ticket with either / both of them.

Frank Aughey was on a Clonkill management team with Kevin that won a championship in 2018 and was part of the Westmeath camogie management team with Johnny when they went up through the grades a few years back. As far as I know he hasn't worked with either of them for a while but I could be mistaken on that. I think I saw him on the Clonkill ticket last year in his own right.

Adrian O'Sullivan is from Limerick but he was with Kevin in Clonkill when they won the championship in 2019 and again with the 20s this season. He worked with Johnny in 2019 with the seniors when Joe Quaid got them promoted to division 1 and in Dublin when they got Faughs promoted to senior a few years back. He was with Plunketts last year aswel when they won the Senior B here in Westmeath.

Andrew Dermody could be one to appear on a ticket also. He did a decent job with the under 20s and is supposed to be a very good coach. He's back for a second stint with Rathmoylan in Meath and he's just taken over so his availability might be limited. It's his second stint with them he was coach in 2019.

Joey Williams could be a good addition also, excuse my local bias! Has done a nice job with the U19s here and also got us to senior county final last year. If we won the county this year he might be a live candidate to be part of a ticket, although it might all be wrapped up before then…

And before anyone says it yes I am a complete Westmeath hurling anorak for knowing all that detail haha

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 10/06/2024 11:52:20    2550529

Replying To LockLeanGayl:  "Ironically enough the two lads you mentioned there have both worked with both Kevin and Johnny in the past so they could well be part of any prospective ticket with either / both of them.

Frank Aughey was on a Clonkill management team with Kevin that won a championship in 2018 and was part of the Westmeath camogie management team with Johnny when they went up through the grades a few years back. As far as I know he hasn't worked with either of them for a while but I could be mistaken on that. I think I saw him on the Clonkill ticket last year in his own right.

Adrian O'Sullivan is from Limerick but he was with Kevin in Clonkill when they won the championship in 2019 and again with the 20s this season. He worked with Johnny in 2019 with the seniors when Joe Quaid got them promoted to division 1 and in Dublin when they got Faughs promoted to senior a few years back. He was with Plunketts last year aswel when they won the Senior B here in Westmeath.

Andrew Dermody could be one to appear on a ticket also. He did a decent job with the under 20s and is supposed to be a very good coach. He's back for a second stint with Rathmoylan in Meath and he's just taken over so his availability might be limited. It's his second stint with them he was coach in 2019.

Joey Williams could be a good addition also, excuse my local bias! Has done a nice job with the U19s here and also got us to senior county final last year. If we won the county this year he might be a live candidate to be part of a ticket, although it might all be wrapped up before then…

And before anyone says it yes I am a complete Westmeath hurling anorak for knowing all that detail haha"
Fair play that's great knowledge to be bringing to the forum!

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 840 - 10/06/2024 12:57:43    2550550

Replying To Left Full:  "So who coaches on this ticket?
Like I have said previously if its not Johnny we need to look outside."
OBrien coached on Michael Fennellys management team in Offaly. As I said the best bet is grevvile and Obrien. I can't see it though. It will be an outsider again. When is the last time westmeath had a local manage the county hurlers. Was it Gallagher??

Onionbagger (Westmeath) - Posts: 80 - 11/06/2024 11:01:21    2550749

Not happening.

Kevin O'Brien is staying with development squads and 20s.

Leaves Johnny the best internal candidate. I believe it's going to be a full search by county board and it will attract a lot of interest. New league format and genuine contenders for Joe McDonagh. Wouldn't be one bit surprised to see a big name take the job. The likes of Liam Sheedy would be ideal. Do a Páidí on it and bring him in. Will boost hurling in county.

Danup (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 11/06/2024 11:08:29    2550750

Johnny only takes the job when Gary & Robbie are retired from inter county hurling

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 226 - 11/06/2024 11:28:02    2550757

Replying To Danup:  "Not happening.

Kevin O'Brien is staying with development squads and 20s.

Leaves Johnny the best internal candidate. I believe it's going to be a full search by county board and it will attract a lot of interest. New league format and genuine contenders for Joe McDonagh. Wouldn't be one bit surprised to see a big name take the job. The likes of Liam Sheedy would be ideal. Do a Páidí on it and bring him in. Will boost hurling in county."
Don't Johnny and Kevin run the U14s together? Don't think it's outside the realms of possibility that it would happen…

I'm not sure about going for the big name for the sake of it?

We are entering a period of transition wouldn't it be better to get a local to bring them along for a couple of years and then go for a big outside name?

Because we all know what happens with outside managers… They play the lads that will win them games today… Development isn't always their number one

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 11/06/2024 11:31:09    2550758

Replying To LockLeanGayl:  "Don't Johnny and Kevin run the U14s together? Don't think it's outside the realms of possibility that it would happen…

I'm not sure about going for the big name for the sake of it?

We are entering a period of transition wouldn't it be better to get a local to bring them along for a couple of years and then go for a big outside name?

Because we all know what happens with outside managers… They play the lads that will win them games today… Development isn't always their number one"
Great posts Loch Lene thanks for the insights.Id say Johhny and Kevin would work together with 20s and seniors.But they would need a big name coach like we had with Noel Larkin with Shane O Brien if we are to entice all the players to stay on board.The board should be making sure the selection committee is in place in the next few days.Id say our job would be very attractive to lots of coaches.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1503 - 11/06/2024 18:49:12    2550869