Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To heavyheart19:  "If he was a s good as people on here seem to think surely he would be on the team if available? Backs are our problem in my opinion"
Like I said a few posts back, we have been coughing up a lot of scores, even against so called "weaker" teams. Tomorrow will be a big test, but a great learning curve for this young side. They will see first hand how they measure up against one of the best sides in the country. Somebody has the Dubs at 5th favs for Sam. I'd put them closer than that.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1592 - 12/04/2025 22:32:05    2601645

Well done to all involved today, great crowd and atmosphere it was great to see a full Aughrim. The team did thier very best today and were far from being embarrassed by Dublin. If we can play with that intensity in the T Cup you would never know how far we can go!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 128 - 13/04/2025 19:22:32    2601723

Sligo vs Mayo
Antrim vs Armagh
Wicklow vs Dublin

3 pointless games, nothing learned on either side.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2924 - 13/04/2025 19:41:41    2601726

Ye showed well today Wicklow, fair play.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8722 - 13/04/2025 19:58:37    2601728

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "Well done to all involved today, great crowd and atmosphere it was great to see a full Aughrim. The team did thier very best today and were far from being embarrassed by Dublin. If we can play with that intensity in the T Cup you would never know how far we can go!"
I couldn't make it today due to family commitments but covered every snippet I could to keep up. A really good performance, one the lads can be proud of. These young lads will have learned a lot from rubbing shoulders with some of the finest players in the game today. Two things stood out, from what I can glean from reports. The amount of wides we chalk up needs to be addressed, and the lack of goals or goal scoring opportunities. We have some fine goal scoring forwards for their clubs but are we lacking in trying to get quick ball into them ? Does our game plan facilitate this ?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1592 - 13/04/2025 20:55:03    2601737

Was at the game as my wife is from Wicklow. Pleasantly surprised with the performance. Actually disappointed it wasn't a lot closer as they dropped a lot of balls into the keeper and a few silly wides. Wicklow had great joy for spells on the Dublin kickout. It never really was in doubt for Dublin but Wicklow gave a spirited account of themselves. Dean Healy was magnificent. Really took the game to Dublin and wouldn't be out of place on most top county teams. If Dublin didn't have Con it would have been closer again. The big thing for Wicklow now will be keeping the intensity levels for the lesser teams. Today should definitely give them a boost anyway. Would love to support ye again in Croker for a Tailteann cup final!

thebronze14 (Donegal) - Posts: 47 - 13/04/2025 23:05:51    2601759

GAA has to go professional or at least semi professional , viewing numbers and attendances are down around the country and no matter what rules are changed Football is struggling.

Albundy19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 92 - 14/04/2025 17:12:01    2601890

Replying To Albundy19:  "GAA has to go professional or at least semi professional , viewing numbers and attendances are down around the country and no matter what rules are changed Football is struggling."
The game is in big trouble. Country towns ain't what they used to be. All the changes in the rules/tactics over the last 25 years or so have not helped in my opinion. Dublin winning all those AIs didn't help either. People lost faith. But it's anyone's for the taking now, hopefully this will rekindle some kind of interest.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8722 - 14/04/2025 19:48:23    2601928

Replying To Albundy19:  "GAA has to go professional or at least semi professional , viewing numbers and attendances are down around the country and no matter what rules are changed Football is struggling."
How would going professional help attendances or viewing numbers?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15327 - 14/04/2025 21:10:37    2601941