I think that possibly some clubs haven't been putting in enough effort with juveniles in recent times. Some are and have been. Others, not so much. Kiltegan and the west are making progress. Aughrim and Barndarrig are making strides. Avondale are trying. Arklow Rocks are making strides - but it hasn't shown at senior yet. Bray, Carnew and Glenealy are busy as ever but Glenealy could be struggling for numbers. Pats and Greystones likewise. I'm not sure if it's a lack of success, too many alternatives for kids or whatever but we certainly as low as we have ever been.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 08/04/2025 09:24:14 2601056 Link 0 |
It does, it also shows the strides Cavan have made. I remember a chap from Wicklow, think he was a Garda, got stationed up there and was instrumental - or influential in helping get hurling off the ground. That was probably 70s. Despite what some who might come on here and say, we have been badly served by the CoB over the last 50 yrs or so. Hurling has long been regarded as the 2nd branch. Talking to hurling people over the last number of years, some of what went on was jaw dropping. Like I said in an earlier post. Too many have been hanging around the top table in Wicklow for far too long. It's an old boys club, which they have made their lives, and genuinely believe the whole thing wouldn't work without them. Some very industrious people have come - and gone, without ever being able to really shake the foundations. Maybe it's the same in other counties, but I doubt it.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 08/04/2025 09:34:54 2601057 Link 1 |
Remember last year our manager and a chunk of the panel just walked away the week the league started. sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2923 - 08/04/2025 13:29:53 2601097 Link 0 |
To be fair, our minor hurlers are competing at a level above the seniors. Antrim and Offaly are up next and hopefully we will perform well. liam500 (Wicklow) - Posts: 197 - 08/04/2025 18:58:48 2601153 Link 0 |
Said it before on here many times that we punched way above our weight in Hurling for a long time due mainly to a gifted generation of hurlers than would not have looked out of place in any county - Bosco, Don Hyland, John Keogh, Leighton Glynn, Wayne O'Gorman, the Collins brothers, Eamon Kearns etc. Beaten in a few Christy Ring finals with this group and could have been hurling Joe McDonagh level. The end of this generation , coupled with the outright contempt for hurling by our County Board for as long as I can remember has us where we currently find ourselves. Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 157 - 08/04/2025 21:13:34 2601162 Link 0 |
Far be it from me to defend the county board but are those officers still there because no young people want the job? I'd love to know peoples' opinion who know a lot more about what goes on behind the closed door than me. To develop a hurler requires a huge amount of work. I'd estimate that to develop hurlers requires more coaching and work than developing a footballer which might explain why there are only a handful of counties competing at the highest level. I think the GAA hierarchy in HQ are drawing criticism for neglecting of hurling in the country. Those in HQ took their eye off the ball a long time ago, going to Australia, America and god knows where to promote hurling when two-thirds of the counties in Ireland are unable to play to a decent level. Madness. I think the current president wants hurling to be developed in weaker counties, it is an ambitious objective so it will be interesting to see what he does. On a related note, what are the Wicklow county board doing in terms of protecting players. Wicklow played Longford last Sunday, required extra time and are now expected to play Dublin who have had two weeks rest. The county board should be raising this at congress as it isn't sustainable and puts a lot of pressure on amateur players. Why aren't the GPA raising this as a player welfare especially considering weaker counties don't have a big panel of players to draft in.
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2088 - 09/04/2025 15:43:01 2601248 Link 0 |
Truth is you dont want the co bord to try to develop hurling in this county you think its all a waste of time and money and we should let it go and all the money should be put into football. Well truth is all is put into football and look wheres that got us. You know my views that the co football team is a waste of money and the county is 350 grand in debt and thats nearkly all down to spending mad money on the senior football tea. Far more success to be got developoing hurling as someone said we can be top halve of the country easy but not in football dewspite all the money and now left with the debt. Theres 100 grand spent on the football team thats not spent on the hurling team But you dont agree do you you think we should dump hurling ???? Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 409 - 09/04/2025 16:36:52 2601258 Link 0 |
Are you saying your not a member of a club for someone with loads of opinions about wicklow gaa ? You must have a home club every one has and thats where your opinions should be heard and by paying up thats a contribution far better than saying prioritse everything on hear!! Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 409 - 09/04/2025 16:44:55 2601261 Link 0 |
I know one ticket will sort the 2 of ye out !
Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 409 - 09/04/2025 16:45:48 2601262 Link 0 |
Thats very true a few year ago cavan couldnot field a co team and then they can beat us in no time.
Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 409 - 09/04/2025 16:47:23 2601264 Link 0 |
Congrats to the u20 lads and management for a hard fought win tonight. Dubs next week but they are beatable too. Should be a good game. The squad seems to be strong as the subs made an impact when they came on. I was surprised that Nolan didn't start. I've seen him a few times and I like the way he goes about his business. This Tisdall seems a good type also - St Jude's ?, what's the story there ? Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 09/04/2025 23:00:25 2601313 Link 0 |
clown
InterestWicklow (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 10/04/2025 13:25:01 2601370 Link 0 |
In a way it doesn't really matter what the final score is on Sunday. What I hope is having a big match in our own county, the razamataz & atmosphere that the Dubs bring to town and that uniquely GAA experience of the big championship day inspires some of our own kids to pick up a football or hurl and aspire to represent Wicklow in the future then we'll take something from it. Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 157 - 10/04/2025 16:15:38 2601411 Link 0 |
Nice one. Let's hope it comes to pass. In fairness to those young players, they keep going to the final whistle.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 10/04/2025 18:36:19 2601435 Link 0 |
Carlow showed once again how closely matched Wexford, Wicklow and Carlow are at underage football. We seemed to fall behind again to an early barrage of scores. Why is it that many Wicklow teams, particularly at underage seem to be slow getting out of the blocks ? Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 10/04/2025 21:32:48 2601446 Link 0 |
An interesting line out for the Dublin game - if indeed it is the starting line up. Jackson must be a plus. Defence, which has been coughing up big scores will be tested like never before. Best of luck to the lads anyway. Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 11/04/2025 22:30:33 2601552 Link 0 |
A great win and display from Boscos boys. Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 12/04/2025 14:34:32 2601577 Link 0 |
Matthew ging WAS footballer of the year he needs to be used he can also score goals . The team for tommorrow is a good selection lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 249 - 12/04/2025 15:54:44 2601592 Link 0 |
He is without doubt one of the best forwards in the county, but, is he even on the panel ? Possibly injured or off the panel by choice ?
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1587 - 12/04/2025 21:16:51 2601628 Link 0 |
If he was a s good as people on here seem to think surely he would be on the team if available? Backs are our problem in my opinion
heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 154 - 12/04/2025 22:09:39 2601639 Link 0 |