Limerick GAA thread

Delighted with that match,ideal preparation for meeting with killkenny in 2 weeks..room for improvement as I thought a few showeda lay off of 4 weeks didn't work for them..a huge physical battle in two weeks time and one to really look forward to...well done today to everyone..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 03/07/2022 21:01:54    2429512

The team are not functioning as well as they did last year. That may be because other teams are analyzing us and counter acting what we're doing or more likely in my opinion - we've really, really missed Cian Lynch. I believe he has to come back into the starting XV. The potential moves could include:

Does Dan go back full back in anticipation of a barrage from KK?
Does Kyle Hayes go back to No 7 where he can dominate down the left hand side or stay at centre forward where he's a physical mismatch versus Reid?
Does Cian Lynch come into the team at 11 or does he slot in to midfield instead of DoD?
Does Mulcahy keep the 15 jersey or is he passed out by Peter Casey?
Could Cathal O'Neill start as a double centre forward with just two inside?
Do you start Reidy?

Lots of options to consider very carefully. Limerick must play their best game of the year in 2 weeks time.

The key reasons we won yesterday were:

Aaron Gillane
Our subs bench
Our backs including the long range striking of Byrnes
Galway hitting so many wides

The Green Machine needs finetuning but we can and should win this.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 04/07/2022 09:14:33    2429553

If Limerick dont cut out that Stupid passing in the middle third the Cats Kittens will beat them ,this passing of the ball to men who are being marked is ridiculous ,Galway overturned them more times and if they had their shooting boots on it was bye bye ,you want fast ball into Gillane and co and why not take their chance with the odd line ball to go for a point instead of this tipp tapping .

Dublinculchie1 (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 04/07/2022 09:34:36    2429557

Replying To Dublinculchie1:  "If Limerick dont cut out that Stupid passing in the middle third the Cats Kittens will beat them ,this passing of the ball to men who are being marked is ridiculous ,Galway overturned them more times and if they had their shooting boots on it was bye bye ,you want fast ball into Gillane and co and why not take their chance with the odd line ball to go for a point instead of this tipp tapping ."
I get your point to an extent but it was having the guts and courage to stick with it and launch controlled attacks through the lines in the last 5 - 10 mins and not take the easy "launch it forward" option that won the day for them. All the supporters were on their edge of their seats with nerves in the closing stages but the players just kept their cool and kept working it and holding possession despite the amazing pressure on them.. Limerick play high-risk hurling, if you don't play the passes and commit and beat the opposition the space won't be there for the likes of Gillane. It will break down sometimes but the risks are well worth the rewards.
Hats off to Galway, there was nothing between the sides. David Reidy was the real hero on the day coming off the bench and banging over three points.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 387 - 04/07/2022 10:56:53    2429580

Replying To Fitzy01:  "I get your point to an extent but it was having the guts and courage to stick with it and launch controlled attacks through the lines in the last 5 - 10 mins and not take the easy "launch it forward" option that won the day for them. All the supporters were on their edge of their seats with nerves in the closing stages but the players just kept their cool and kept working it and holding possession despite the amazing pressure on them.. Limerick play high-risk hurling, if you don't play the passes and commit and beat the opposition the space won't be there for the likes of Gillane. It will break down sometimes but the risks are well worth the rewards.
Hats off to Galway, there was nothing between the sides. David Reidy was the real hero on the day coming off the bench and banging over three points."
Reidy must be in with a huge chance to start the final, he's made decent contributions in the last few games. Especially seen as how so many of the forwards misfired yesterday.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 04/07/2022 13:50:30    2429637

Well done Limerick. We matched ye for most of that game but ultimately your overall class won the day. Gillane is unmarkable in many ways as we did a lot right to nullify Hegarty and T. Morrissey who have been central to a lot of your play over the years. Reidy surely is in with huge chance of a starting berth in the final. Now to our footballers and hoping we can kick on from the quarter final and start to create our own history in that code.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 04/07/2022 14:42:36    2429660

Replying To Dealer:  "The team are not functioning as well as they did last year. That may be because other teams are analyzing us and counter acting what we're doing or more likely in my opinion - we've really, really missed Cian Lynch. I believe he has to come back into the starting XV. The potential moves could include:

Does Dan go back full back in anticipation of a barrage from KK?
Does Kyle Hayes go back to No 7 where he can dominate down the left hand side or stay at centre forward where he's a physical mismatch versus Reid?
Does Cian Lynch come into the team at 11 or does he slot in to midfield instead of DoD?
Does Mulcahy keep the 15 jersey or is he passed out by Peter Casey?
Could Cathal O'Neill start as a double centre forward with just two inside?
Do you start Reidy?

Lots of options to consider very carefully. Limerick must play their best game of the year in 2 weeks time.

The key reasons we won yesterday were:

Aaron Gillane
Our subs bench
Our backs including the long range striking of Byrnes
Galway hitting so many wides

The Green Machine needs finetuning but we can and should win this."
Some good points there. I still think Dan is the better option at 3 at the minute. I was big fan of Casey prior to his injury but I thought his positional sense was questionable a number of times yesterday. For a Galway long range free he was still on the 65 when he should have been minding the house. For me he was too involved in general play - which probably sounds crazy. I thought Nash was brillaint again and I'd have him third behind Byrnes and Gillane for hurler of the year as it stands.
Kiely must take huge credit for what he done from 60 mins on yesterday. The trust Limerick have in each other is something I've only seen once before and that was from Dublin footballers. Lads disappointed going off but they all jog off and run up to their places on the bench regardless if they have all stars or hurlers of the year. Seemed crazy to take off Flanagan, Hegarty and Tom M towards the end despite them being below par - Limerick were not ahead when any of them went off as far as I remember.
I dont think Limerick have been brilliant in any game this year but I'll stick my neck out and say I think they could win by double figures in the final.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/07/2022 15:09:03    2429672

Replying To tiobraid:  "Some good points there. I still think Dan is the better option at 3 at the minute. I was big fan of Casey prior to his injury but I thought his positional sense was questionable a number of times yesterday. For a Galway long range free he was still on the 65 when he should have been minding the house. For me he was too involved in general play - which probably sounds crazy. I thought Nash was brillaint again and I'd have him third behind Byrnes and Gillane for hurler of the year as it stands.
Kiely must take huge credit for what he done from 60 mins on yesterday. The trust Limerick have in each other is something I've only seen once before and that was from Dublin footballers. Lads disappointed going off but they all jog off and run up to their places on the bench regardless if they have all stars or hurlers of the year. Seemed crazy to take off Flanagan, Hegarty and Tom M towards the end despite them being below par - Limerick were not ahead when any of them went off as far as I remember.
I dont think Limerick have been brilliant in any game this year but I'll stick my neck out and say I think they could win by double figures in the final."
No Tiobraid, I think we will just get over the line but there are lads there who are not just reaching the heights of the last few years, which is only natural after five or six years on the road. If Lynch and Casey were fully fit we could win by a big margin. As it is a one point win would do. I never felt we would beat Galway by a cricket score and the same applies here.
I heartily agree about the trust thing. When the heat was on in the last ten minutes Limerick and their management held their heads better and did not lump long and high hit and hope balls into the Galway Square. The Galway team and management also overreacted to the appearance of Casey and Lynch and took their eyes completely of David Reidy.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 05/07/2022 09:27:28    2429777

Replying To tiobraid:  "Some good points there. I still think Dan is the better option at 3 at the minute. I was big fan of Casey prior to his injury but I thought his positional sense was questionable a number of times yesterday. For a Galway long range free he was still on the 65 when he should have been minding the house. For me he was too involved in general play - which probably sounds crazy. I thought Nash was brillaint again and I'd have him third behind Byrnes and Gillane for hurler of the year as it stands.
I dont think Limerick have been brilliant in any game this year but I'll stick my neck out and say I think they could win by double figures in the final."
dont think we'll win by double figures tiobraid but i still fancy limerick to grind it out and win by 4 or 5 ...to win 3 in a row would be the greatest ever achievement ill have seen as a limerick supporter and if limerick do pull it off with up to 30 or 40 thousand limerick supporters there the roof will be blown off this great stadium with the celebrations.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 05/07/2022 09:54:26    2429780

Season tickets holders, tickets are on sale now.. Lower Cusack..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 05/07/2022 12:53:24    2429850

Replying To munsterchamps:  "dont think we'll win by double figures tiobraid but i still fancy limerick to grind it out and win by 4 or 5 ...to win 3 in a row would be the greatest ever achievement ill have seen as a limerick supporter and if limerick do pull it off with up to 30 or 40 thousand limerick supporters there the roof will be blown off this great stadium with the celebrations."
And fair play to ye if you do it. I think the 3 in a row will be well deserved if it happens. Its a rare thing in the GAA. Teams come and go...some stay longer at the top than others but you'd be right to soak it all in when you're there.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2022 13:05:58    2429861

That was an absorbing game and could take a lot out of Limerick, would be terrible to loose it now after that win the great performances all year, wish ye the best of luck in the final.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 05/07/2022 13:17:52    2429865

Replying To munsterchamps:  "dont think we'll win by double figures tiobraid but i still fancy limerick to grind it out and win by 4 or 5 ...to win 3 in a row would be the greatest ever achievement ill have seen as a limerick supporter and if limerick do pull it off with up to 30 or 40 thousand limerick supporters there the roof will be blown off this great stadium with the celebrations."
Where are Limerick and their supporters going to get 30 or 40 thousand tickets from?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 05/07/2022 13:24:59    2429867

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Where are Limerick and their supporters going to get 30 or 40 thousand tickets from?"
Around the other 31 counties including your own! It was a pain but I drove from Galway city to Glanbia the Saturday afternoon before the All Ireland in 2016 to pick up two end Canal tickets. Limerick will ge them dont worry.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2022 14:57:55    2429902

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Where are Limerick and their supporters going to get 30 or 40 thousand tickets from?"
no minor match kilkenny will use about 20000 tickets max 20000 for neutral counties that leaves 40,300 for limerick.....)))

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 05/07/2022 17:14:06    2429953

I was a bit concerned about the amount of our own long puck outs we lost on Sunday! I haven't had the chance to watch match back but I remember at the time I was not happy. I thought it let Galway back into the game a few times.
If Cody's Cats get any sniff of a weakness they will exploit it better than Galway did. In fairness there were periods last Sunday where Limerick were out of the game only for poor Galway wides to keep us in it. And many of their wides were from very scorable positions.
I think that if it was a Limerick V KK semi final last weekend it would have been a similar outcome to 2019. So hopefully Sunday was a wake up call and if so the Cats will be leaving Dublin with their tails between their legs…..

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 07/07/2022 10:16:28    2430217

I would like to see Limerick win the 3 in a row this is top side & have brought hurling up another notch.

A victory Sunday week will copperfasten their legacy, in saying that Kilkenny relish their role as party poopers.
In 2006 our own 3 in a row came crashing down in a Black & Amber web, we haven't won a final since.

Best of luck to all in the Treaty County enjoy these times & soak in every breath of these glory days for Limerick hurling.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 105 - 07/07/2022 10:56:42    2430241

If I were JK (and I know that he knows more than I), my selection for the final would be as follows:

Quaid
Finn
Morrissey
Nash
Byrnes
Hannon
Hayes
O'Donovan
O'Donoghue
Morrissey
Lynch
O'Neill
Gillane
Hegarty
Flanagan

Basically, I'm going back to the 2021 team with O'Neill at wing forward and Hegarty at full forward with Peter Casey as the only difference. Also I'd probably only keep Hegarty at the edge of the square for the first 20 minutes and move him out the field for the rest of the game. I'd like Hegarty to play the full 70+.

The name of the game is to give KK somethings that they might not be expecting and to win as many one on one duels as possible. I've shifted Dan to full back in anticipation that KK will go long. I'm not knocking Mike Casey but I am concerned about the aerial blitz that will be coming at us. I want Hayes back at wing back because that's he's best position. He's not just another defender when he plays there - he's also an attacking factor that has to be accounted for. We need Lynch back. The single biggest reason that Limerick have not hit the top gear that they achieved last year is his absence. There's no replacement for a generational player like him and he has the ability to both challenge Reid defensively and to stop him spraying ball around.

Playing Gearoid at full forward is a pet notion of mine and is the least likely to actually happen in reality but I reckon he could kill a full back if he's deployed there even just for a period and give, particularly Gillane, a bit of freedom to do terrible things to a KK corner back.

The key to winning are (1) scoring efficiency (2) discipline.

I'd like to to go 15 on 15 and make it an individual battle by battle a bit like the 2017 U21 All Ireland because I'm confident that the quality of players on our team us higher.

Finally, it's to Limerick's advantage that KK blew the lights out against Clare and we struggled against Galway. There's no hiding in the long grass now for KK and Limerick know that they need an outstanding performance to win. I think that this team is trained and calibrated to maximize it's performance levels in July so I believe but we need to get those performance levels back to 2021 levels.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 07/07/2022 14:42:31    2430316

Dealer. Unless injured, Mike Casey will be full back. I think Graeme will be play 15 as he is probably the best spoiler of the short pick out in the game. It's very hard to see who to drop if Cian is going to start. So if he is going to start it has to be one of the Ahane brothers? Tom has taken a long time to "warm up" in a lot of games this season. Although his work rate off the ball is good. Dan has done nothing wrong whatsoever but as you say putting Kyle at 7 is a serious option. Very difficult one for management as loyalty has to come in to play!!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 07/07/2022 21:49:54    2430391

I think Hegarty needs to be Dropped and brought on in the second half in the final ,he,s being Pulled and Dragged all over the field in every game and not one free and linesmen looking in at it ,it,s affecting him and his Hurling , when things open up and settle down in the second half it would suit him better .

Dublinculchie1 (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 08/07/2022 09:13:31    2430398