Limerick GAA thread

Replying To dingo:  "Any update on Mike Casey? Worrying that he was down before going off yesterday. Hopefully not an issue with the knee"
it was only cramp

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 10/06/2022 17:35:56    2423823

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well, I am up the country and as I presume the said reporter is attached to, shall we say, the most widely read newspaper in the county, I did not see it. There was an article published on line, which quoted the '33 to 40 statistic, but made no reference to GH or Bob McC.. I have not read that local paper since 2019, when a certain reporter made such ridiculous predictions before the Semi Final, that I said never again. The same publication all carried some utterly nonsensical stuff before the '14 Minor Final."
Not to mention the ridiculous carry on after the 2013 Munster final when they and 95FM hyped the team up to such an extent the team didn't perform against Clare in Croke Park.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 10/06/2022 20:52:55    2423842

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Not to mention the ridiculous carry on after the 2013 Munster final when they and 95FM hyped the team up to such an extent the team didn't perform against Clare in Croke Park."
I think we all made mistakes in 2013. Off the ball did a long interview with Seamus Hickey and there were some songs recorded about 40 years of hurt etc. It was nobody's fault, I guess we were all just excited at the thoughts of what lay ahead and our first Munster in 17 years.

I think we were all sucked into thinking the Clare & Cork were gone due to provincial results. Both came to life in their back door runs.

The 2013 semi final was one tough day for us. The drive home was practically in silence and thoughts of the management & selectors trying to work out what to do for five minutes near the dug out at half time was a hard one to swallow.

Kiely and Kinnerk were on opposite sides back then. Thankfully they've come together and learned from those days to give us what we have now.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/06/2022 08:43:44    2423864

We had a great day at that semi final in 2013. I was with a mixture of Limerick and Clare family and a mate of mine from Israel. I ll never forget the crowds from Limerick and Hannons missed frees but the better team won on the day. Clare were very solid and steady. Colin Ryan on the frees was excellent.
Before the match my best mate from Raheen momentarily let go of his ticket as a gust of wind blew. His ticket was whipped into the air and came to land on the railway track below us. The guards let him jump the fence to get it. Pandemonium. He got stuck on the fence and we had to knock him off. He got the ticket. You wouldn't mind but he's a rugby man . He enjoyed his pint in the 'auld Triangle' after.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 14/06/2022 20:46:52    2425046

Replying To slayer:  "I think we all made mistakes in 2013. Off the ball did a long interview with Seamus Hickey and there were some songs recorded about 40 years of hurt etc. It was nobody's fault, I guess we were all just excited at the thoughts of what lay ahead and our first Munster in 17 years.

I think we were all sucked into thinking the Clare & Cork were gone due to provincial results. Both came to life in their back door runs.

The 2013 semi final was one tough day for us. The drive home was practically in silence and thoughts of the management & selectors trying to work out what to do for five minutes near the dug out at half time was a hard one to swallow.

Kiely and Kinnerk were on opposite sides back then. Thankfully they've come together and learned from those days to give us what we have now."
I think as you look back on it now 2013 was only the beginning for us and not an end in itself. Sunday weeks semi-final will be our seventh in 10 years and it had to start somewhere even if it was a bad one. Alot of our important people now were involved that day including the minors who missed out due to the infamous hawk eye blunder and some of our big leaders who suffered in the senior game. I think the more we look back on these days the more us supporters should appreciate these ones and the more our players and management will be determined not to go back to them. Sunday week we are warm favourites again like 2013 but this time we know how to handle it and Croke Park is a place we grow in now and not shrivel up.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 22/06/2022 09:32:35    2426751

Replying To updwell:  "I think as you look back on it now 2013 was only the beginning for us and not an end in itself. Sunday weeks semi-final will be our seventh in 10 years and it had to start somewhere even if it was a bad one. Alot of our important people now were involved that day including the minors who missed out due to the infamous hawk eye blunder and some of our big leaders who suffered in the senior game. I think the more we look back on these days the more us supporters should appreciate these ones and the more our players and management will be determined not to go back to them. Sunday week we are warm favourites again like 2013 but this time we know how to handle it and Croke Park is a place we grow in now and not shrivel up."
Good point. The days of wishing/hoping for favourable match ups and are also well in the rear view mirror. Limerick are now firmly the team everyone wants to avoid and has been for a while. 7 semi finals in 10 years in phenomenal and with the age profile only going to increase one the next 5 years you'd hope. Croke park is firmly now Limericks playground now. Their approach is incredibly methodical but they come alive up there. The Galway match will be a serious test esp with the likelihood of Lynch and Casey not starting but the belief in the panel now must be huge. They look to be timing the run nicely. They won a munster with plenty to work on. Tactically now they'll have a lot done on analysis of opposition etc. and the training camp in kerry last weekend is a nice prep for Sunday week.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 22/06/2022 10:13:06    2426773

if mcinerney is out for galway he is a huge loss as he brings huge physicality.............galway were terrible last saturday but will probably improve a bit for the semi final but croke park seems to bring the best out of the limerick players......hopefully lynch and casey will make the bench if they are not ready to start.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 22/06/2022 11:21:24    2426796

Some very positive news coming from kiely yesterday evening with Casey Murphy and Lynch all back training

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 23/06/2022 09:24:49    2426966

Replying To daveboy:  "Some very positive news coming from kiely yesterday evening with Casey Murphy and Lynch all back training"
Ya despite winning Munster which is always great we definitely need these lads back for Sunday week if only to bring on.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 23/06/2022 10:04:14    2426978

Replying To munsterchamps:  "if mcinerney is out for galway he is a huge loss as he brings huge physicality.............galway were terrible last saturday but will probably improve a bit for the semi final but croke park seems to bring the best out of the limerick players......hopefully lynch and casey will make the bench if they are not ready to start."
McInnerney is indeed a huge loss. They will probably have to bring J Cooney back, especially with our half forward line. That leave a void up front/mid field where he was doing very well for Galway. I think Sean, Mike & Barry will manage Whelan & Co leaving very few options for Galway. I can't see Cian or Peter starting but I think CIan will definitely be brought on. I don't think JK will risk Peter this year.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 23/06/2022 18:30:00    2427127

Anyone interested,better tickets now again on sale on ticketmaster..why does this sh..keep happening??people panicked into buying tickets last week..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 28/06/2022 12:28:47    2428283

Our 5th AI semi final in a row. Mind blowing really. A build up to an AI semi final used to be a different experience pre 2018. We are in amazing times.

The build up has been low key and headline free. Just the way you'd like it. I've said all year the key word is "freshness" come July and the squad is in the right place physically and mentally to have a right crack off another AI. The word from the camp is very promising from a health perspective. This time of year personnel can begin to drop away with injuries as the season progresses. Limerick seem to be pulling from a full deck. Peter casey and Barry Murphy are back full tilt now with the rumours Cian Lynch is right there too.

Complacency is not in this squads mentality. The competition for places doesn't allow it to surface. Kiely has options in every line of the field. He can replace someone outside of Quaid in each line and possibly make the team even stronger. Its a fine position to be in. Limerick for me haven't quite clicked fully yet but croke park is their playground. The best and most successful teams can often be stingy when producing the real showpiece performances. I'm hoping they are timing their levels nicely and we'll see a nice step up in execution from the munster final. The energy and physicality was there that day but the execution lacked at times.

Galway and shefflin will bring everything. There is a bite in them when they play Limerick. Shefflin will only encourage more of that. They don't like Limerick. Maybe they feel Limerick have taken a bit of what they had assumed would be theirs. They have fabulous hurlers in whelan, mannions and burkes. My concern for them is their ability to score heavily enough v an awesome backline in limericks. Surely concannon starts.

Limerick will be an interesting selection. I think if I'm to guess it'll be one of two selections. Same 15 that started munster final with lynch and casey ok the bench or lynch 11 and casey and o neill on the bench. I see Kyle staying up top.

Looking forward to the match Sunday . Bringing two small lads to see croke park for their first time. Ive tried often to forget mine. For me so often a dark, trauma filled but compelling journey but now an auto pilot spin to a happier place. Hoping Sunday will be more to the latter. As always can't wait.

Luimneach abú.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 28/06/2022 19:31:02    2428462

Best of luck on Sunday. I hope Limerick make the final. I expect very stiff opposition from Galway. It could be a physically thunderous affair. However, I can see Limerick's experience and know-how-to-win to get ye over the line.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 30/06/2022 14:12:04    2428830

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Best of luck on Sunday. I hope Limerick make the final. I expect very stiff opposition from Galway. It could be a physically thunderous affair. However, I can see Limerick's experience and know-how-to-win to get ye over the line."
Best of Luck on Sunday. It should be a tough hard game. A one point win would do fine.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 30/06/2022 16:22:29    2428874

Nothing against Galway but I will be rooting for Limerick to make the three in a row. This century needs a new dynasty. Fed up with the same old same old the last century gave us. The only disappointing part is it should be four in a row. Of course I want us to break through but in that absence happy with what we are getting.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 01/07/2022 17:35:37    2429076

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Best of Luck on Sunday. It should be a tough hard game. A one point win would do fine."
Good rezm picked, with lots of scoring options on the bench. We should get through if we perform to a high level.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 01/07/2022 21:23:31    2429111

Best of luck to all involved,hopefully another final to look forward to..I like the look of team and bench looks very strong..fingers crossed..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 02/07/2022 14:01:05    2429188

Replying To Canuck:  "Nothing against Galway but I will be rooting for Limerick to make the three in a row. This century needs a new dynasty. Fed up with the same old same old the last century gave us. The only disappointing part is it should be four in a row. Of course I want us to break through but in that absence happy with what we are getting."
They would be going for 5 in a row Canuck if they had won it in 2019.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11799 - 02/07/2022 14:25:37    2429201

Congratulations Limerick on a great battling win. Did ye think that there was unusually lot of handling errors from Limerick today, especially in the first half? Hope ye go on now to nail the cats.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 03/07/2022 17:13:15    2429440

Great performance in the end. Galway will point to alit of wides but ultimately when the game was there to be won, Limerick won it. Reidy is someone I pull my hair out at sometimes. Not today,he was great. I saved my hair pullin for Calamity Casey at the back. He was very very dodgy today. All his hand passes are throws. That's one thing. He lost Concannon terribly for the goal and then he hand passes out to no man's land . He also gave a hospital pass to WOD who ended up giving away a free for throwing it. Id put Morrissey back there straight away.
That game will stand to the team but they have some work to do. Gillane was brilliant and Byrnes frees were sublime when they needed him most.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 03/07/2022 19:23:10    2429487