Sligo GAA thread

What do ye think lads, will it be in Sligo?

Agreed 2020 fixture should have been refixed, there was enough of a gap between the end of the Connacht final and the All Ireland series to allow this.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 10/04/2024 09:54:11    2537057

Replying To ahsure.:  "What do ye think lads, will it be in Sligo?

Agreed 2020 fixture should have been refixed, there was enough of a gap between the end of the Connacht final and the All Ireland series to allow this."
Can't see the game taking place anywhere only in Sligo but the delay in announcing it is very strange. Sligo playing mayo in the minor the night before at markievicz so maybe trying to move that to before the senior match on Saturday.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 10/04/2024 12:38:43    2537109

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Can't see the game taking place anywhere only in Sligo but the delay in announcing it is very strange. Sligo playing mayo in the minor the night before at markievicz so maybe trying to move that to before the senior match on Saturday."
That's a good point. Hopefully announced soon.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 10/04/2024 13:22:33    2537121

Is there a date when the club championship draws will be made? A lot of counties seem to have theirs done.

InAroundTheSqaure (UK) - Posts: 7 - 10/04/2024 13:26:56    2537124

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Can't see the game taking place anywhere only in Sligo but the delay in announcing it is very strange. Sligo playing mayo in the minor the night before at markievicz so maybe trying to move that to before the senior match on Saturday."
In this weather i can't see Markievicz Park taking 2. games plus 2 full warm ups on the one day. The longer the deliberations continue about the venue the more likely it seems that Sligo will be the venue

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1660 - 10/04/2024 15:33:34    2537169

Weather looks like dry enough from next week. Will there be many changes to the team for the next day. Sligo players look like the s&c work is starting to pay off. Lot more physical looking team than recent years. Murphy had a great game in playmaker role but prefer seeing him closer to goal. Is towey expected to be out for long. Good spine to the Sligo team just need to keep improving the squad.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 10/04/2024 18:59:13    2537199

Sligo 2-11 Leitrim 1-14

That was one of the most incredible finishes to a game. I don't know how we go the draw. Dillon Walsh when he got going basically dragged us over the line with Marren who was immense.

Leitrim had the game wrapped up. No one can question the character of our lads that's for sure.

Can someone explain to me the quick frees in the scoring zone in the 2nd half?

Somehow if we beat Mayo we will go through. And even if Roscommon Leitrim draw, we will edge leitrim on score difference.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 10/04/2024 20:10:58    2537208

All we have to do now is beat Mayo and hope Leitrim and Roscommon don't finish in draw. The truth is we got out of jail this evening. Leitrim were far superior to us and basically left it behind. They could regret that.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1660 - 10/04/2024 20:29:37    2537211

Replying To eoinog:  "All we have to do now is beat Mayo and hope Leitrim and Roscommon don't finish in draw. The truth is we got out of jail this evening. Leitrim were far superior to us and basically left it behind. They could regret that."
We are currently level on score difference with Leitrim, so a win against mayo would be enough even if the other game ends in a draw.

Sligostyle (Sligo) - Posts: 7 - 10/04/2024 21:06:33    2537226

Replying To eoinog:  "All we have to do now is beat Mayo and hope Leitrim and Roscommon don't finish in draw. The truth is we got out of jail this evening. Leitrim were far superior to us and basically left it behind. They could regret that."
If we can beat mayo it will put us through even if other match ends up a draw based on the scoring difference. Not easy to win in Castlebar but hopefully they can sign out a performance. Leitrim will be kicking themselves.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 10/04/2024 21:19:11    2537230

If the table is correct on Connachtgaa.ie then the draw doesn't affect us, Eoinog. If we win and Leitrim and Roscommon draw. We all end on 4 pts. 3 way tie goes on score difference.

Roscommon have 0pts difference
Leitrim have -4
Sligo have -4

It if we beat Mayo we go to -3 and knock Leitrim and Mayo out (if other game is a draw).

So we don't need to rely on anyone else. Its in our hands. I am open to correction.

Hard to believe we are still in it as we are playing awful stuff and well below capabilities but special mention to Marren and Dillon Walsh for bringing the energy and quality to drag it back from the death. Fair play to them both. There is hope but that performance was shocking at times. So many headless decisions and carries into contact without support.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 10/04/2024 21:20:00    2537231

As long as we beat Mayo, we will be fine. A draw between Leitrim and Ros won't improve their goal difference.
Table would be
Galway 5
Ros/Sligo 4 (depends how much we beat Mayo)
Leitrim 4
Mayo 3

That's my maths anyways

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 10/04/2024 21:30:04    2537236

Replying To Sligonian:  "If the table is correct on Connachtgaa.ie then the draw doesn't affect us, Eoinog. If we win and Leitrim and Roscommon draw. We all end on 4 pts. 3 way tie goes on score difference.

Roscommon have 0pts difference
Leitrim have -4
Sligo have -4

It if we beat Mayo we go to -3 and knock Leitrim and Mayo out (if other game is a draw).

So we don't need to rely on anyone else. Its in our hands. I am open to correction.

Hard to believe we are still in it as we are playing awful stuff and well below capabilities but special mention to Marren and Dillon Walsh for bringing the energy and quality to drag it back from the death. Fair play to them both. There is hope but that performance was shocking at times. So many headless decisions and carries into contact without support."
Score diff between the games of the teams involved….remember our league last year!

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 360 - 10/04/2024 21:38:16    2537238

Replying To SligoScot:  "As long as we beat Mayo, we will be fine. A draw between Leitrim and Ros won't improve their goal difference.
Table would be
Galway 5
Leitrim 4
Mayo 3

That's my maths anyways"
If Galway do top the group with them having a bye next week they will have 3 weeks off to the final. It might not be ideal for them.

Sligostyle (Sligo) - Posts: 7 - 10/04/2024 21:47:42    2537241

Replying To SligoScot:  "As long as we beat Mayo, we will be fine. A draw between Leitrim and Ros won't improve their goal difference.
Table would be
Galway 5
Leitrim 4
Mayo 3

That's my maths anyways"
Posters on here saying we only have to beat Mayo. There is not a hope we will beat Mayo with the performances that have been produced thus far. You wouldn't think that these same lads played in an all Ireland final a couple of months ago. A huge improvement is needed in attitude, workrate and performance. The middle third fadeout conceding 8 points either side of half time after a good syart was a replica of the Galway game.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 10/04/2024 22:00:21    2537247

Hard to believe we were 1-13 to 1-7 down with 10 mins left after being up 1-5 to 0-3 up. We were outscored 1-10 to 2 pts in the middle period and still managed to draw. The final quarter was some guts in fairness. I am not sure some of the issues with this team are fixable. Losing the ball in any sort of contact. There seems to be a drastic reduction in executing the basic skills under pressure and protecting possession within this team. That can happen as you start to get distracted by life as you get older and don't practice as much. Players who have played with each other for years don't expect the amount of mistakes we are making so we are getting out of position. Players taking each other for granted in terms of tidying up dirty ball.

I know Leitrim folk think they have a good side and all that and they do have some decent players but we handed that game to them on a silver platter for a large portion. Start of the second half especially was some of the worst decision making I have ever seen from a Sligo team on a football field. The turnovers were so carelessly cheap and shot selection non existent. A lack of support was evident when under pressure. I think we need to be ruthlessly honest with ourselves and just go back to basics which we probably have and that would be my concern. Today was the worst of the 3 performances so far.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 10/04/2024 22:13:40    2537253

Replying To Anto:  "Posters on here saying we only have to beat Mayo. There is not a hope we will beat Mayo with the performances that have been produced thus far. You wouldn't think that these same lads played in an all Ireland final a couple of months ago. A huge improvement is needed in attitude, workrate and performance. The middle third fadeout conceding 8 points either side of half time after a good syart was a replica of the Galway game."
I agree, we will struggle big time to beat Mayo. I was only answering a post about a Leitrim/Roscommon draw scenario. The truth is we only have to beat Mayo to stay in Competition. The "Only" can have two different meanings. For me it is now a Connacht quarter final for Sligo and on current form we are in trouble. Have faith though

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 10/04/2024 22:13:53    2537254

Some of the standard of our kick passing was dreadful and repeatedly throughout each game this year we keep carrying the ball into contact in slippery conditions. On the positive side, these lads continue never to give up, in the past they have always found a way, lets hope they can do the same next week.

It has been a great competition so far with nothing between the 5 teams and with the exception of tonight's game in the Hyde, it has been good open football and now 2 massive games next week for 4 teams.

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 10/04/2024 22:15:02    2537255

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Score diff between the games of the teams involved….remember our league last year!"
That's interesting. All 3 games would be draws so no score difference between teams. The next metric is scores for between teams and then Roscommon would be under pressure. Roscommon and Leitrim would have to draw and Roscommon more than 17pts to put us out.

Current scores for within teams
Sligo 26 pts for
Leitrim 17pts for
Roscommon 9pts for

If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win. I don't believe either scenario is happening as Roscommon are very defensive too.

We just need to beat Mayo which will require a huge improvement.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 10/04/2024 22:39:20    2537258

Replying To InAroundTheSqaure:  "Is there a date when the club championship draws will be made? A lot of counties seem to have theirs done."
Don't even have dates or fixtures for the senior football league at this stage not a mind thinking about championship draws.

benbulbingael (Sligo) - Posts: 2 - 11/04/2024 12:41:23    2537319