Carlow GAA thread

Replying To hurleronthestool:  "There's no issue coming down hard on it when it's proven absolutely should be a total suspension for the remainder of the competition. However I'd honestly have serious question marks over the truth of this incident- it's a telling factor that no major outlet like off the ball has brought him on air to discuss it or outline exactly how the incident occurred. 'A few of the players told me in the dressing afterwards' in my eyes is not good enough 'proof' when firing such an allegation out that's extremely damaging to a county's reputation. Again I really want to stress that I'm not condoning sectarian abuse but I am really disappointed at the swift call to hang draw and quarter players by our own supporters when we don't even know if the incident actually took place. We've no news of anyone being suspended or statements from the Gaa itself even which would indicate to me that someone's being loose with the truth."
Don't think you should be indirectly accusing anyone of lying by doubting the story. You don't know what happened either. The Down manager made an accusation and said he will name names if he has to. The Carlow county board is having an investigation. None of the Carlow team or management have denied the allegations so far but that might come from the Carlow enquiry. I believe that's where it's at unless I've missed something.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 12/02/2022 10:56:22    2399895

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "Don't think you should be indirectly accusing anyone of lying by doubting the story. You don't know what happened either. The Down manager made an accusation and said he will name names if he has to. The Carlow county board is having an investigation. None of the Carlow team or management have denied the allegations so far but that might come from the Carlow enquiry. I believe that's where it's at unless I've missed something."
I'm merely stating that it's not correct to come out talking about something without proof or credible evidence. Which if they had any should have been brought to the attention of officials on the day. Where has he said he'd name names and where is his proof? I don't know what happened but I don't see why we should jump to conclusions it did happen? I've come across that manager as an opposing coach and he's no saint himself so I find it hard to listen to our county hurlers being bad mouthed off the back of what seems like a throw away allegation which it totally is at present. I'll happily retract it if true and players responsible should be punished IF true but you'd imagine the down players would back their manager in such a situation

hurleronthestool (Carlow) - Posts: 5 - 12/02/2022 15:53:19    2399929

Well I'm going to wait for the report before saying that an individual is guilty of telling serious lies.
For the record he stated he would name names in the first sentence of an Irish Examiner report dated 8 February.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 12/02/2022 16:38:06    2399942

Good win for Hurlers today

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 13/02/2022 15:36:50    2400112

Well done to the hurlers today. Nice to see some of the younger players performing so well along with the more experienced players. Carlow hurling is alive and well.

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 78 - 13/02/2022 16:12:26    2400119

That's the best performance by the hurlers in a few years.

All 6 backs excellent and midfield very mobile.

Chris Nolan unmarkable and very important two points.

Monster game home to Kerry in two weeks.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 13/02/2022 16:13:13    2400120

Really impressive display. Use of the ball and work rate were top class. With more lads coming back to the panel every week, they will improve with each game. They are building a nice panel.
Today was a really big game and could put them back to course to hopefully push for promotion.

Skippy2 (Carlow) - Posts: 61 - 13/02/2022 17:09:10    2400138

Savage performance today from the lads. Was worried that without Sean Murphy & Mouse that we would struggle but all the lads stood up. The penalty at the end only made the score look better for Westmeath & we probably should have won by more. I was also there 2 weeks ago in Kehoe cup final & this performance was light years away from that. Reading some of the comments before the game on the Westmeath page & they expected to win & some even predicted an easy win. Wonder did that seep through to their players? Nonetheless a great result & performance & great to see Carlow Town & Naomh Brid represented on the panel again. We need all the clubs providing players to money forward

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 212 - 13/02/2022 17:34:37    2400148

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "Well I'm going to wait for the report before saying that an individual is guilty of telling serious lies.
For the record he stated he would name names in the first sentence of an Irish Examiner report dated 8 February."
It looks like some are now trying to squeeze the door open for a set of alternative facts. One is taking swipes at the Down manager. I hope non of it is true about Carlow players. Not proven publical yet but the balance of opinion has to be Down are not lying. Carlow will the right thing and move a past this. Good win today.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 13/02/2022 18:33:28    2400165

Replying To Canuck:  "It looks like some are now trying to squeeze the door open for a set of alternative facts. One is taking swipes at the Down manager. I hope non of it is true about Carlow players. Not proven publical yet but the balance of opinion has to be Down are not lying. Carlow will the right thing and move a past this. Good win today."
Nobody in Carlow would back any scenario where racist or sectarian comments are spoken or were said even once and that is the truth.
It would be most unusual for any manager to draw attention to such comments unless he has significant evidence.
I don't think anybody is having a go at the Down manager. I am sure he has passed on whatever information he has to the relevant authorities.
I do think that the only solution is to confront all players and find out exactly what happened. I don't know at what stage the investigation is at or if there are any conclusions.
If players from Carlow have uttered racist and or sectarian comments then the rules of the GAA should be applied. And all involved in Carlow GAA I believe would back that too.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 15/02/2022 15:29:47    2400518

Replying To Canuck:  "It looks like some are now trying to squeeze the door open for a set of alternative facts. One is taking swipes at the Down manager. I hope non of it is true about Carlow players. Not proven publical yet but the balance of opinion has to be Down are not lying. Carlow will the right thing and move a past this. Good win today."
I'm not at all impressed with your post, or should I say the looseness of it when you suggest that someone is now trying to "squeeze the door open for a set of alternative facts" and to suggest "One is taking swipes at the Down manager" is insensitive and unhelpful, Facts are facts there is no such thing as alternative facts.

We all hope none of it is true about Carlow players you say, but when you add, Not proven publical yet but the balance of opinion has to be "Down are not lying". Please allow me to respectfully add that balance of opinion is no more than that, ie opinion, you are however correct when you say, "Not proven publically yet," if the investigations find the allegations true then all will know beyond fear of contradiction that "Down are not lying" there is no Carlow person that I am aware of in script here suggesting that Down are lying, it may conveniently depends of course on script interpretation.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 19/02/2022 13:35:49    2401075

Footballers win with some key players back in action . Tough assignment next time out against Cavan

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 19/02/2022 20:43:59    2401163

Good win tonight & played some nice football at times. However lapses in concentration could have proved costly & Waterfords penalty goal at the end had them only 3 points behind when the game should have been dead & buried. I posted previously that I didn't think we would pick up any points in this years league but I am very happy to be wrong. Morrisey & Jamie Clarke looked very good tonight & the old war horse Darragh Foley kicked some very valuable scores when we needed them. Still some very tough games to come but I will take this win. Finally how did this Waterford team draw with Tipp? They looked very poor & no player stood out to me. Tipp obviously have regressed dramatically

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 212 - 19/02/2022 21:38:04    2401174

Good luck to Eire Og's Joe Murphy who has been appointed manager of the Naas senior football team.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 23/02/2022 17:31:17    2402125

Seemed like an improved display today
Anyone have first hand report

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 27/02/2022 15:38:22    2402703

Replying To Blackbog:  "Seemed like an improved display today
Anyone have first hand report"
Any news from the Cavan match? I see Turlough tweeting that we could have had a few goals. A win or two in the last two games would be a positive finish given the start we had...

carlovian (Carlow) - Posts: 15 - 27/02/2022 17:47:48    2402767

Replying To carlovian:  "Any news from the Cavan match? I see Turlough tweeting that we could have had a few goals. A win or two in the last two games would be a positive finish given the start we had..."
I drove across, saw 55 of the 70 mins, if Carlow played to their potential against London and Sligo they would be Leaders of div.4 as of now. Cavan are very beatable. Div. 4 is no more than a fluky challenge, with a capital F.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 27/02/2022 21:06:55    2402840

Disappointing from the hurlers yesterday. No question Kerry were the better team, their half back line and midfield were very good, but was expecting more from Carlow after a good win against Westmeath.

Second half felt very similar to Offaly last year, continually pucking the ball out into the opposition half back line and losing it every time. Understand not much you can do when down to 14, but when Kerry also had a man sent off there was no change or attempt to go short. Worrying getting dominated like that against division 2 teams.

Overall though the performance felt off, lads struggled to get to grips with the conditions. Spilt alof of ball and too much in decision when in possession.

Next game against Kildare in Newbridge is massive now. Another similar performance and they will be starring down a relegation decider the week after against Meath in Navan.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 28/02/2022 07:26:36    2402855

Replying To Blackbog:  "Seemed like an improved display today
Anyone have first hand report"
Ye played very decently. Practically scored with every chance you got in the 1st half due to the very strong wind. Scored a number of 45+ metres points that floated over the bar. Cavan had to work a lot harder to get inside the 21 to get a shot away, and that seemed to take a lot out of us. It was tit for tat a lot of the way through the half, with Cavan getting to 3 point leads here and there before brought back to 2 for half time. We didn't use the wind as well in the 2nd half as ye did. It had eased up a bit, but we still worked it in a bit to be sure of the point rather than too many long range efforts. We got the lead out to 6 before you got your goal, but still kept things at arms length and saw the game out ok. Lot of goal chances for both sides. Cavan had a ball cleared off the line and hit the post, while Carlow hit the bar and had a few other chances either saved or picked up before going over the line when it might have been easier to score. Overall result was fair I thought on overall play, and ye were quite good at times.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 28/02/2022 09:09:33    2402861

Replying To TaosHum:  "Disappointing from the hurlers yesterday. No question Kerry were the better team, their half back line and midfield were very good, but was expecting more from Carlow after a good win against Westmeath.

Second half felt very similar to Offaly last year, continually pucking the ball out into the opposition half back line and losing it every time. Understand not much you can do when down to 14, but when Kerry also had a man sent off there was no change or attempt to go short. Worrying getting dominated like that against division 2 teams.

Overall though the performance felt off, lads struggled to get to grips with the conditions. Spilt alof of ball and too much in decision when in possession.

Next game against Kildare in Newbridge is massive now. Another similar performance and they will be starring down a relegation decider the week after against Meath in Navan."
Disappointing all right but with Mouse and Fiachra Fitzpatrick missing it was always going to be a struggle.

We have to get the discipline sorted out as we were leading before going down to 14 players.

Still a chance of making the semi if we win the last two matches.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 28/02/2022 10:29:47    2402891