Carlow GAA thread

Last chance saloon for the hurlers Saturday.

Hopefully get over the line against Down.

It's on pairc tv at a shocking 15 euro.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 12/05/2022 18:38:28    2416776

Good win yesterday against Down. Will need to produce their best performance of the year next week in Tullamore if they're going to progress imo. Crossed fingers they can do it. Ceatharlach abu!

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 79 - 15/05/2022 13:17:15    2417230

Good performance for most of the match yesterday. Very good at the start to get ahead but missed two good goal chances to push on.

Half back line very good as was the midfield. Got to ht 8 points up. Second half we started well but then fell asleep conceding a goal and let Down get back to three points. Brian Treacy made two great saves to keep us ahead.

It was only after Jack got sent off that we woke up and got the two goals. Fair play to Down as their supporters were telling us they only have 3 senior hurling clubs but they are a tidy team.

John Michael Nolan, Sean Murphy, Richard Coady and the entire back line were the pick of the players. Our shooting was very good as well.

Roll on next week with a free hit against Offaly.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 15/05/2022 16:42:06    2417257

Replying To carlovia:  "Good performance for most of the match yesterday. Very good at the start to get ahead but missed two good goal chances to push on.

Half back line very good as was the midfield. Got to ht 8 points up. Second half we started well but then fell asleep conceding a goal and let Down get back to three points. Brian Treacy made two great saves to keep us ahead.

It was only after Jack got sent off that we woke up and got the two goals. Fair play to Down as their supporters were telling us they only have 3 senior hurling clubs but they are a tidy team.

John Michael Nolan, Sean Murphy, Richard Coady and the entire back line were the pick of the players. Our shooting was very good as well.

Roll on next week with a free hit against Offaly."
Agree with your assessment of the match. A bit of a start stop style game especially in the third quarter but our lads stuck to the task despite a good Down onslaught and finished with 2 goals as Down ran a little out of steam.
Offaly won't be as courteous and will punish any slack in the effort.
Hope Marty is OK to play as he looked in some discomfort when he came off.
A few lads did not perform to their optimum and I hope these lads are able to be at least 60% better against Offaly and if the rest play to form we have a chance.
That Kerry display is in the players minds and hopefully the panel has learned from it.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 18/05/2022 16:35:05    2418490

Now that Hurlers are done for this season... Great win yesterday by the way.
What's the chances of the likes of Conor Lawlor and Sean Murphy throwing in a hand to the footballers
Their know how would be a huge benefit
Unlikely to come to pass

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 22/05/2022 09:20:43    2419323

Replying To Blackbog:  "Now that Hurlers are done for this season... Great win yesterday by the way.
What's the chances of the likes of Conor Lawlor and Sean Murphy throwing in a hand to the footballers
Unlikely to come to pass"
Limerick used to do it years ago and they got to Munster finals.
Throw in Diarmuid Byrne as well and those three would make a big difference.
Probably not fair to the lads who have been there all year.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 22/05/2022 12:51:05    2419378

Replying To Blackbog:  "Now that Hurlers are done for this season... Great win yesterday by the way.
Unlikely to come to pass"
Be nice to think so but unlikely as you say. It should be doable. It's not like they were off lying out in the sun they were committed to another of the county's GAA teams. They should be welcomed in. We could badly fo with both in positions we're now weak in.

Fiachra Fitzpatrick could also make an impact I'd say.

In fairness to Tom Mullally he let the hurlers play U/20 county football at a time when there was a clash. Now there's none. Niall Carew needs to get them in this week and no one should have any complaints. We're too small a county not to take every advantage and opportunity we get and this is one.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 22/05/2022 13:26:17    2419384

Replying To carlovia:  "Limerick used to do it years ago and they got to Munster finals.
Throw in Diarmuid Byrne as well and those three would make a big difference.
Probably not fair to the lads who have been there all year."
Meath brought Shane McEntee in for last weeks semi final v Dublin. It didn't do them any good but having been away for months he was brought in and came in at half time last week. His absence was work related. In our case the lads were hurling for the same county GAA so I don't think anyone should have a problem and I don't agree it's unfair.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 22/05/2022 13:53:20    2419386

Have lads left the panel that ye are asking for hurlers to play this Sunday ?
Do you really think they would be welcomed with open arms ?
It's gas really, when the footballers are down they look for hurlers to bail them out !!!!!!!
The real question that needs to be asked is why did the former footballers opt for the hurling team this year ? And in fairness they made a very valuable contribution too.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 23/05/2022 16:56:43    2419827

Replying To carlowman:  "Have lads left the panel that ye are asking for hurlers to play this Sunday ?
Do you really think they would be welcomed with open arms ?
It's gas really, when the footballers are down they look for hurlers to bail them out !!!!!!!
The real question that needs to be asked is why did the former footballers opt for the hurling team this year ? And in fairness they made a very valuable contribution too."
Ross Dunphy has left for US as far as I'm aware.
Yes they should be welcomed with open arms. If not that's managements problem. Leaders are needed.
Small dual county. We need everyone of county standard we can get. They're footballers as well as hurlers.
Because they saw prospects were better. Not wrong but now the hurling season is over. Circumstances give us an opportunity to play a stronger football team next Sunday. We should take it.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 24/05/2022 14:38:19    2419990

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Ross Dunphy has left for US as far as I'm aware.
Yes they should be welcomed with open arms. If not that's managements problem. Leaders are needed.
Small dual county. We need everyone of county standard we can get. They're footballers as well as hurlers.
Because they saw prospects were better. Not wrong but now the hurling season is over. Circumstances give us an opportunity to play a stronger football team next Sunday. We should take it."
Your arguments are fair enough but why did players not stay with the footballers and opt for the hurlers ?
If you were /are.a fotball panellist would you be happy to welcome back 2 or 3 players who opted to just play hurling and now want to come back to play football ?
Has it ever happened that the hurlers have looked for footballers when the fitball team was out of championship?
Seems to be a recurring theme... football team is never happy!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 24/05/2022 21:10:21    2420062

Replying To carlowman:  "Your arguments are fair enough but why did players not stay with the footballers and opt for the hurlers ?
If you were /are.a fotball panellist would you be happy to welcome back 2 or 3 players who opted to just play hurling and now want to come back to play football ?
Has it ever happened that the hurlers have looked for footballers when the fitball team was out of championship?
Seems to be a recurring theme... football team is never happy!"
It has happened yes but I'm going back a while to days of Joe Hayden and Johnny Nevin. Anyway it's academic at this stage the two/three hurlers are not involved today.

Probably the weakest and least experienced Carlow team I've ever seen for a championship match has been named for today. No Jordan Morrissey for some reason not even in subs. I really hope I'm wrong but I can only see a big Tipp win today.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 29/05/2022 09:31:31    2420710

Well OB . Thankfully you are wrong
Sounded like a strong display by Carlow.
Jordan Morrissey was there at half time I think.giving out prizes
Anyway a real shot in the arm for Carlow footballers.
Tipp would have fancied a good run in this competition

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 29/05/2022 15:48:12    2420766

Replying To Onion Breath:  "It has happened yes but I'm going back a while to days of Joe Hayden and Johnny Nevin. Anyway it's academic at this stage the two/three hurlers are not involved today.

Probably the weakest and least experienced Carlow team I've ever seen for a championship match has been named for today. No Jordan Morrissey for some reason not even in subs. I really hope I'm wrong but I can only see a big Tipp win today."
Humble pie for dinner for me and delighted to eating it:) Great guts out there today and well deserved. Great to see. I honestly thought we were a couple of years away from winning a game like that again. Fair play Niall Carew.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 29/05/2022 15:48:42    2420767

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Humble pie for dinner for me and delighted to eating it:) Great guts out there today and well deserved. Great to see. I honestly thought we were a couple of years away from winning a game like that again. Fair play Niall Carew."
Wrong again.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 29/05/2022 16:06:49    2420778

Well done to the young team today. Thought Hulton and Foley were excellent. The two Bambricks so strong throughout and Jamie Clarke full of running. Fair play to Eoghan Ruth, the service that man has given and he was so strong today.

But even picking out some players is unfair on the others as they were all brilliant.
Fair play to Niall Carew on getting that performance.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 29/05/2022 20:40:34    2420885

Well done to Niall Carew, and his team. Like OB, never been happier to eat some humble pie... that said, let's not get carried away... Tipperary looked unfit, and wilted badly in the second half... we kicked a lot of wides (but the weather conditions were awful for football)... let's hope the guys kept the celebrations to a minimum and are fully focussed on next weekend... after Westmeath, we'll have a clearer picture of where we stand.

Great win, lads... would be great if something of substance is coming together.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 591 - 30/05/2022 10:31:42    2420964

Well done on your win yesterday over Tipperary. How would ye fancy your chances against us next weekend? Home advantage has to be a factor for ye but I would like to think we are further on as a panel and management team. From looking at your team it appears there are a lot of new faces from your successful O'Brien/Poacher Division 4 team of a few years ago. I hope to make it down depending what day it is on and hopefully it is a good competitive game. If ye look at some of our performance against Laois yesterday ye won't fear us

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/05/2022 10:48:56    2420974

Replying To mintyfresh:  "Well done on your win yesterday over Tipperary. How would ye fancy your chances against us next weekend? Home advantage has to be a factor for ye but I would like to think we are further on as a panel and management team. From looking at your team it appears there are a lot of new faces from your successful O'Brien/Poacher Division 4 team of a few years ago. I hope to make it down depending what day it is on and hopefully it is a good competitive game. If ye look at some of our performance against Laois yesterday ye won't fear us"
We did not expect that performance
We only have Ruth, Morrissey, O Brien and Foley from the Poacher days.
Huge turnaround... losing players of the Calibre of Gamnon, the 3 Murphys, Redmond and all-star ominee Broderick
Despite your display yesterday I am sure you are clear favourites.
We are at home there will be a decent and noisy home crows including the Bush Ultras and I think Carlow showed yesterday they are growing as a team.
I am hoping for a close contest.
Best of Luck.

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 30/05/2022 12:16:32    2421029

Well done to the panel of players who stuck with the system and got their reward yesterday.

People can talk all night and tomorrow about Tipp this and Tipp that but Carlow never looked like losing yesterday especially after they got stuck in after half time.
They played with belief on the system and in each other and despite all the massive criticism of Carew and of the players and the moaning after previous management's, it was great to witness a new style - and playing with panache and no little confidence either. Well done.
Well done for sticking at it and getting your rewards yesterday !
Nice to have a win and Westmeath next Sunday...looking forward to that match too!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 30/05/2022 21:26:31    2421271