Donegal GAA thread

The game was there for us at half time in spite of Patton's meltdown, get in to the dressing room and let management sort the players out and get the players right for the 2nd half, do or die and we had already shown how much better than Armagh we can be when we get going in that first half.

I have wanted Bonner to be given time and a bit of leeway over the past couple of years but I'm sorry to say that 2nd half says more than any of so-called trolls could say about the management in all honesty.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 12/06/2022 17:30:39    2424274

From a neutral POV it's an absolute disgrace the booing and jeering from Armagh is totally uncalled for and humiliating. I'd have shouted for them in the past but never again in this championship I'll actually be shouting for whoever plays them, you'd swear they earned the right to jeer haven't done much ever.
Croogan sledging fullback simulating you would t see Kerry Dublin at that nonsense

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 215 - 12/06/2022 17:33:49    2424277

Good night , Good bye and good riddance BONNNER. On your way RORY too . Seen enough, still feel for Murphy and the players!

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 12/06/2022 17:34:02    2424278

Anyone remember that scene from Father Ted with the hammer and the car from the raffle. That reminds me of Bonner and this Donegal team.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 112 - 12/06/2022 17:35:27    2424280

Replying To ahsure.:  "No more than my Mayo friends, some amount of delusion in here too if ye think ye will put a rattle in for the All Ireland based on what's gone on so far.

If Armagh had a bit of composure about themselves that would have been a much closer game, Armagh missing about 7/8 scores in good scoring areas should be a big worry for ye. I don't think Tyrone or Derry will be so forgiving in Ulster, or Dublin/Kerry if ye get further.
."
mystic ahsure.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1581 - 12/06/2022 18:09:23    2424304

Big changes needed in Donegal, new Manager, end of line for McGee, Murphy and R McHugh and maybe McBrearty.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 409 - 12/06/2022 18:26:54    2424320

Defining moments of the game
1. Armagh goal in the first 30 seconds from the throw-in.
2. Simultaneous black card and penalty, which cost Donegal about 1-4

Until the black card and penalty I still thought Donegal looked the stronger team and would win, but those consecutive short kick-outs by Shaun Patton really gave Armagh ascendancy. And at that point we were chasing a game against a blanket defense which works best in that very scenario.

Deserved win for Armagh in the end, as Donegal management seemed lost at sea on how to best use the players in the Donegal squad. We are better than that result today showed.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1123 - 12/06/2022 18:42:30    2424334

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "From a neutral POV it's an absolute disgrace the booing and jeering from Armagh is totally uncalled for and humiliating. I'd have shouted for them in the past but never again in this championship I'll actually be shouting for whoever plays them, you'd swear they earned the right to jeer haven't done much ever.
Croogan sledging fullback simulating you would t see Kerry Dublin at that nonsense"
Totally agree with you. That booing and jeering is soccer stuff and doesn't belong in the GAA. Armagh county board need to remind supporters that this is a Gaelic sport where respect to other Gaelic players is paramount and that there s no room for that cheap rubbish in our stadiums. Irs the one thing that I don't like about Armagh.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 12/06/2022 19:27:01    2424351

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Big changes needed in Donegal, new Manager, end of line for McGee, Murphy and R McHugh and maybe McBrearty."
Please stop, Ryan Mc, Paddy Mc and Michael have loads to give us. Big Neil is different as he is a bit older, let them back to their clubs and rest them during the national league, so what if we go down to division 2, but if we are building it will be worth it. I agree a new manager is needed. Declan has done loads for Donegal and is a gentleman but his time is up. I would give Rochford the job or get Kevin O'Brien the Corofin three time All Ireland winning manager in. If we don't others will be looking for them. From what I see there is absolutely no one inside the county with the standard of club football been played. We need to get away from this defensive cautious craic.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 12/06/2022 19:39:32    2424354

Game changed with the two short kickouts, lucky not to get punished the first one, second one was a double whammy, conceded a goal and a man down for ten minutes. Why we cant kick it long with the power of his kickouts and the size of our midfield and half forward line, i will never know.
But the reality is, well coached and mentally strong teams are able to overcome adversity when things are not going there way. And that is not something we have shown the last few years.
A lot of the players looked losted and frustrated at what was happening, and lost there way when under pressure.
I have to say even through our keeper made a terrible decision, i didn't like the reaction of a certain player that had to come off for the black card. You back your team mate when he is down, not abuse him.
A rebuilding job is needed now, and i feel the players need new management for that.
It will be the end of the road for a few players, but they owe no one anything, as they gave there best.
Who is the man to step into the hot seat, well i would love mcguinness, but its highly unlikely.
I believe management should make the decision quickly as to give the county board plenty of time to find the right man.
Someone in there 40s who understands the modern game and the fitness and conditioning requirements for a county team.
I would actually look outside the county as there are no standout candidates within the county.
I believe we have talented footballers, we just need the right personality to lead them.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 12/06/2022 20:03:22    2424361

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Big changes needed in Donegal, new Manager, end of line for McGee, Murphy and R McHugh and maybe McBrearty."
Miguel yes but the others have plenty left if used correctly. I wonder who will be in the running, nobody excites me from the club management scene, any ideas? I doubt Jimmy would give it another go.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 12/06/2022 20:03:52    2424362

thought ryan and murphy and mcbrearty played well today
murphy was ripped and dragged by forker and not a card shown found it strange
n mcgee is probly finished as he doesnt play anyway and is lacking pace now

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 12/06/2022 20:08:55    2424368

Replying To The keeper:  "Game changed with the two short kickouts, lucky not to get punished the first one, second one was a double whammy, conceded a goal and a man down for ten minutes. Why we cant kick it long with the power of his kickouts and the size of our midfield and half forward line, i will never know.
But the reality is, well coached and mentally strong teams are able to overcome adversity when things are not going there way. And that is not something we have shown the last few years.
A lot of the players looked losted and frustrated at what was happening, and lost there way when under pressure.
I have to say even through our keeper made a terrible decision, i didn't like the reaction of a certain player that had to come off for the black card. You back your team mate when he is down, not abuse him.
A rebuilding job is needed now, and i feel the players need new management for that.
It will be the end of the road for a few players, but they owe no one anything, as they gave there best.
Who is the man to step into the hot seat, well i would love mcguinness, but its highly unlikely.
I believe management should make the decision quickly as to give the county board plenty of time to find the right man.
Someone in there 40s who understands the modern game and the fitness and conditioning requirements for a county team.
I would actually look outside the county as there are no standout candidates within the county.
I believe we have talented footballers, we just need the right personality to lead them."
Maybe we would of been better to get punished with the first kickout we wouldn't be a keeper down and losing our shape for 10 mins from which they actually scored 1.04.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 12/06/2022 21:06:26    2424389

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "From a neutral POV it's an absolute disgrace the booing and jeering from Armagh is totally uncalled for and humiliating. I'd have shouted for them in the past but never again in this championship I'll actually be shouting for whoever plays them, you'd swear they earned the right to jeer haven't done much ever.
Croogan sledging fullback simulating you would t see Kerry Dublin at that nonsense"
Brilliant game brilliant fans jeering and cheering, long may it last and the players responded, not one fan in the stadium complained about the jeering, its our football, ULSTER football. Dont berate other fans who are gasping in the sunshine when your county has nothing to cheer about.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 12/06/2022 21:35:02    2424407

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Brilliant game brilliant fans jeering and cheering, long may it last and the players responded, not one fan in the stadium complained about the jeering, its our football, ULSTER football. Dont berate other fans who are gasping in the sunshine when your county has nothing to cheer about."
That kind of attitude has served Monaghan football so well. Simple fact is the great counties take defeat well and are humble when successful. All I could see was lads falling around the stand well before throw in and booing as soon as the ball went in. Donegal has done more in the last decade than Armagh has ever done. Hope they get Kerry or Dublin then you'll see what great counties will do when they turn up the heat.
Worry about Banty g'lad

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 215 - 13/06/2022 07:46:36    2424420

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Brilliant game brilliant fans jeering and cheering, long may it last and the players responded, not one fan in the stadium complained about the jeering, its our football, ULSTER football. Dont berate other fans who are gasping in the sunshine when your county has nothing to cheer about."
Indeed Monaghanmad, some v sensitive souls lol. Jeers like that only energise a good opposition player anyway

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 13/06/2022 08:37:00    2424424

Didn't post yesterday was travelling unlike most of the people on here. First thoughts is for people to get the ridiculous idea out of your heads that we have great footballers and a great team. Absolute silly talk from people who don't go to games. When Murphy was in his prime he made us good but sadly our greatest ever player doesn't have as big an impact now. There were calls for him to be played at full forward we know now after yesterday why management wernt keen to play him there. No disrespect to Murphy there were a wall of players around him when he went for the ball as predicted by those of us who know football. Murphy had a bigger influence out the pitch. . Secondly a lot of yous calling yourselves supporters get a life, support yesterday was a joke players and management deserves better, they put in the work all year. Those of yous who wernt there are an embarrassment to this great county. I spoke to a few players and supporters last night they all were saying about how we deserve nothing . Totally agree bad when players talk about it.. the best part then idiots on social media giving there two penny's worth. As for management thanks for everything lads that's if yous decide to go. I'm glad players and management refused to speak to the local press . Especially the few scribes who are on ego trips and know very little about present day football.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 13/06/2022 09:10:26    2424435

I was listening to some of the commentary after and think Eamon McGee spoke well on Highland radio. Well worth a listen.
More generally it's hard to make a case for the status quo regarding structure but there's no guarantee it will get better. Armagh and Derry are good examples of getting lost in the wilderness for years.

The Donegal support was also incredibly disappointing yesterday. I know it's not easy at the minute and it's hardly an equidistant location but the players deserved better than what showed up.

On the game itself Armagh fully deserved their win and play very decent football. They had themselves well geared up and even without mistakes from the kickouts I think Armagh were going to win. They had a look about them.
The wind was a big factor and Donegal needed to be well up at ht. The first goal was really important for Armagh as it kept them in the game when Donegal rattled over a lot of points to be 4 up. Thompson missed a point from distance and was a bit of a turning point to me.
Patton really did need to go long after the the short one that got coughed up by mcff but Armagh were really squeezing well on long ones as well at that point. Armagh then being 4 ahead a ht, playing with the breeze and on their own terms really made the result inevitable in the second half.

Overall it's obviously been a disappointing year. If you take the blame the manager for everything view out of it some of the players have not been at the level they need to be at. Whether it was injury, loss of form or whatever they've not just been at it.
Despite all the negatives Shane O'Donnell is a young man who as done very well and kicked I think 4 points from play today. Peader Mogan although not at the level of say the Derry game has been very good this year. I think there are some players from the 20s who'll start to see game time next year as well. There's definitely a few who look like they'll be able to add something.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 13/06/2022 09:31:37    2424446

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "That kind of attitude has served Monaghan football so well. Simple fact is the great counties take defeat well and are humble when successful. All I could see was lads falling around the stand well before throw in and booing as soon as the ball went in. Donegal has done more in the last decade than Armagh has ever done. Hope they get Kerry or Dublin then you'll see what great counties will do when they turn up the heat.
Worry about Banty g'lad"
To be very honest your comment about Armagh's achievements versus ours are way off the mark. We have had a golden period the past 10 years in terms of Ulster final appearances and wins but Armagh were the undisputed kings of Ulster in the 2000s. From 1999-2008 they won 7 Ulsters, never losing an Ulster final in that period. We have been in 10 finals since 2011 and won 5. We have one more Sam than Armagh but they have 4 more Ulsters. So I would not say we've done more than Armagh has ever done in the last decade.

There were a few drunken young ones in Clones, stop being so precious. I've heard plenty of horrible things said about players and shouted from the stands that are much much worse than a few horns and boos.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 13/06/2022 09:32:20    2424447

Rory just because you go to games does not make you some saint that knows everything about football. You frequently say you know what posters are fair but you come out with tripe like that about attendances. At the end of the day many of us could not afford it or had other commitments but I trekked down to Killarney to watch a dire "performance" in February, am I allowed to criticise or do I need to have clocked in a certain amount of miles before you'll accept someone can have an opinion.

Maybe we don't have the players to win Sam but we beat Armagh out the gate less than 2 months ago so I don't think it's unreasonable to expect better than what we got in that 2nd half yesterday.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 13/06/2022 09:36:57    2424448