Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "We can moan about the groups being unfair (I know I have) but Armagh had a tougher group and are home and dry so we shouldn't be saying they have it handy now. As much as it pains me to say it, they look like the team to beat. And right now, the way the groups are standing, I'd only maybe fancy a Kerry to beat them. It's a pity that two years in a row we get a tough ulster matchup in there. And when ya think back to the super 8S, we had tough groups both those years but ultimately your fate is in your own hands and we fucked up majorly by not at least drawing with Tyrone.

That being said, we may rest players next game out, we may not. Ultimately it's going to be difficult to rest a lot, some players will have to play that game since we can't be expected to field a complete different 15. Like there would be some uproar from Tyrone if we gave starts to players not even in the usual 26. I can see us resting a few from the start and depending on how the Cavan and Tyrone games go, introduce them later in the game or vice versa, start them and then take them off. A game like that would be good for players who have struggled this year like Gallen and Paddy though. Who knows. We're all speculating anyway.

Dream scenario is Cavan get something off Tyrone and we match that result(if both games are a draw we will top on points difference)
A more realistic scenario is we finish 2nd and hopefully get someone like a cork, Roscommon or Louth in the prelims.
Then of course if we finish 3rd we could get someone tough.
Knowing our luck we will finish 2nd and get Dublin!
Though if we put the possible fatigue question to the side, who are we afraid of playing at this stage? I would be confident playing anyone but Armagh or Kerry in a prelim or quarter final.

I see people saying if we get to a 1/4 via the prelims we probably play Kerry. I didn't think the draw was made, can someone clarify that for me? I'd love to get a go at Kerry in a quarter final though."
They look to avoid provincial repeats and the team from your group so that leaves Kerry or monaghan/down if Donegal gets that far.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 853 - 02/06/2025 19:22:35    2614409

Replying To totalrecall:  "Should be in breffni park, we had to go play Galway in castlebar in 03 for qf replay"
That was a great day though. One of the best experiences I've had following Donegal. That was a great year after losing to femanagh in Ulster and the going on a great run in the qualifiers

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 853 - 02/06/2025 19:24:44    2614410

Replying To totalrecall:  "Should be in breffni park, we had to go play Galway in castlebar in 03 for qf replay"
Did you do Geography at school? Or do you know how to use Google maps?

For biggest population base;
Castlebar to Cavan is 2 hrs 10 mins
Letterkenny to Cavan is 1 hrs 52 mins

For furthest clubs:
Belmullet to Cavan is 3 hrs
Malin to Cavan is 2 hrs 45

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 797 - 02/06/2025 20:31:58    2614423

I don't think playing every week will be a problem with the level of fitness teams have now.It might be more of a mental thing but it should only be a matter of tailoring the training accordingly.I know they are not pros but soccer teams often play big games within a couple of days even in the LOI sometimes Friday and Monday.Finn Harps haven't even the luxury of an overnight stay going to the likes of Cobh. The main thing now is to go full throttle against Mayo and at least get a home game.Donegal looked much sharper in Cavan than they did against Tyrone when they had a 2 week break.If we are good enough and get the attitude right things will be grand.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1165 - 02/06/2025 21:27:15    2614436

Good day at the office yesterday especially a scintillating second half. I was kinda worried after 25 minutes that despite looking the superior side I didn't think we were enough up with the wind. However the goal right at HT and the feisty few minutes leading up to it both on and off the pitch really changed the course of the game. We scored 3 goals but easily could have been double that. Roarty shot straight at the keeper when through pulling the trigger too late allowing the keeper to completely narrow the goal, Langan snatched a shot straight at the keeper when getting caught in 2 minds if to shoot or play in Shane O'Donnell. The most guilt edged was when Peader skied a hand pass for a tap in when no need with the goal open for him. Cavan really struggled on their kick outs and we cleaned up around the middle which laid the foundations. Big Hughie was instrumental in alot of this and had a fine game. Mulreaney done well to be fair but I'd be hoping Patton is back for Mayo as they can really get after the kick outs. Very good outings for Ban and McColgan which really increases our options. Surprised we didn't see Mark Curran but maybe he's still not fully at it after injury. Definitely prefer getting a home game for a potential prelim so don't think there'll be any resting in 2 weeks times.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2869 - 02/06/2025 21:53:22    2614444

As a 1 or 2 have already mentioned, the fact Cavan will play at same day and time as us...Breffni park will be ruled out as a venue. Would have absolutely nothing to do with fact we played there yesterday...that was Cavan's home game.
So that will most likely mean match being played in the Hyde due to unavailability or unsuitability capacity wise of Sligo /Carrick..or else part of a Croke Park double header with Armagh & Galway. Cavan v Tyrone possibly Clones and Derry v Dublin in Newry?
That would probably leave the other 2 groups playing their games the previous) next day

chancer (Donegal) - Posts: 33 - 02/06/2025 22:42:04    2614448

Replying To gaeltacht81:  "If the games go as planned and all the favourites win, itll mean tyrone, armagh, kerry and monaghan top their groups. We cant play armagh because we played them in the ulster final, and we had tyrone in the round robin. So it only leaves kerry and monaghan that we could potentially play in the QF. But thats a lkng way off if we make it at all."
Can we play Monaghan again then?

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 03/06/2025 04:57:32    2614460

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Roscommon is a neighbouring county for Mayo. Cavan isn't for us."
Sure we had to play an All Ireland semi final down in Limerick v Kerry. There was not much sympathy for us that time, in fact I remember everyone laughing.

Anyway Cavan is not an option due to their game on same time as ours (stewards etc). Is Roscommon handier for us? Of course it is but you're never going to get a dead central location for both counties. Donegal town is nearer to Roscommon than Belmullet is.

Personally I would have liked Croke Park (probably our only chance to play there this summer).

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11614 - 03/06/2025 08:00:15    2614465

Great victory in Breffni, few Cavan friends were very confident before the game and they fairly came back down to earth after lol

Reading a few posts saying rest players etc... not a hope, you want to win games to keep the momentum going... Mayo will go into the game with the same mindset as they did v Tyrone which is dangerous for us. I still think we will see them by a point or two..

Just on the club scene, there was a man beside me at the game and was talking about their game friday night. He was saying the ref didn't do the 3v3 rule.. he wouldn't look up when both benches were telling him.. So are refs at club level just going off their own bat? I've seen a few league game with my own club and other refs are using the new rules. Must be very frustraing for club players.

Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 03/06/2025 09:42:57    2614480

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure we had to play an All Ireland semi final down in Limerick v Kerry. There was not much sympathy for us that time, in fact I remember everyone laughing.

Anyway Cavan is not an option due to their game on same time as ours (stewards etc). Is Roscommon handier for us? Of course it is but you're never going to get a dead central location for both counties. Donegal town is nearer to Roscommon than Belmullet is.

Personally I would have liked Croke Park (probably our only chance to play there this summer)."
I just think Croker would be so dead atmosphere wise, I've always hated bringing any sort of "big" game there just for the sake of things, it seems like there's been a bit of a change in policy in that regard recently thankfully.

I'm fine with the Hyde, it's about as fair as you can get for both counties, of course Mayo a bit more familiar with it but sure it is what it is

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 199 - 03/06/2025 09:43:48    2614481

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Can we play Monaghan again then?"
Yes. Can play any team except the current group.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 528 - 03/06/2025 09:59:29    2614486

Replying To Whyme923:  "Great victory in Breffni, few Cavan friends were very confident before the game and they fairly came back down to earth after lol

Reading a few posts saying rest players etc... not a hope, you want to win games to keep the momentum going... Mayo will go into the game with the same mindset as they did v Tyrone which is dangerous for us. I still think we will see them by a point or two..

Just on the club scene, there was a man beside me at the game and was talking about their game friday night. He was saying the ref didn't do the 3v3 rule.. he wouldn't look up when both benches were telling him.. So are refs at club level just going off their own bat? I've seen a few league game with my own club and other refs are using the new rules. Must be very frustraing for club players."
You still think you will beat us by a point or two when we beat Tyrone by 7 and you lost to them by a point...

Mayo by 4 . When's the last time you beat us anyways 2012 ?

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 189 - 03/06/2025 10:19:14    2614489

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure we had to play an All Ireland semi final down in Limerick v Kerry. There was not much sympathy for us that time, in fact I remember everyone laughing.

Personally I would have liked Croke Park (probably our only chance to play there this summer)."
Sure, Ballyhanuis to Roscommon town is only 44km and Malin town to Roscommon is 236km. Sure you've a club based in Co. Roscommon in Ballaghaderreen, and that in reality is a home game for them lads. The Hyde would be the central location for Galway v Armagh, Clones or Cavan is fairest location for our game. The point about Limerick is nonsensical, The Hyde wasn't big enough for the game versus Galway and from memory Mayo wouldn't honour the home and away arrangement with Galway and travel to Salthill.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 116 - 03/06/2025 10:33:27    2614491

Replying To S1234:  "You still think you will beat us by a point or two when we beat Tyrone by 7 and you lost to them by a point...

Mayo by 4 . When's the last time you beat us anyways 2012 ?"
ah here young fella, never look at a game like that. Pointless.

Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 03/06/2025 10:35:58    2614492

Replying To S1234:  "You still think you will beat us by a point or two when we beat Tyrone by 7 and you lost to them by a point...

Go away, and stop posting as JimB1991 from Donegal on other threads. You're not from our proud county, so stop claiming to be from Donegal. You're an awful said individual with multiple profiles.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 116 - 03/06/2025 10:47:15    2614495

Yes we only beat Mayo in All Ireland finals as does everyone else.

Mayo will have zero fear of beating Donegal and know defeat will most likely result in elimination.

I wonder if Galway finished 2nd, would Mayo get tactical in final few minutes and take the draw as it would mean avoiding them and getting a team from group 2 or 3? Mayo have shown home advantage isn't something that they benefit from.

Right now, I'd take the draw pre match and escape with no injuries.

It's a long shot we top group so 2rd or 3rd isn't that big a deal if we can avoid Dublin, Derry, Galway in preliminary round.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 358 - 03/06/2025 10:52:39    2614499

Using your same logic, Mayo lost to Cavan by 3 and Donegal absolutely hammered them.
Anyone with a bit of cop on knows the Donegal-Mayo match could go either way. It's a fascinating group.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2351 - 03/06/2025 10:53:11    2614500

2012 - exactly when it mattered !

Jimmymark2 (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 03/06/2025 10:57:40    2614502

Replying To Commodore:  "Impressive win for Donegal in the end, Cavan were still very much in it at half time, but what a second half performance. Bringing the likes of Oisin Gallen, Jamie Brennan, Daire O'Baoill, Stephen McMenamin on really put the afterburners on and Cavan seemed to run out of steam.

Its difficult to know what to expect heading into Round 3, we have to beat Mayo, something we strangely haven't done in league or Championship since the 2012 All Ireland final. Mayo are a dangerous team, who along with Kerry can transition the ball extremely fast down the flanks. However for whatever reason Mayo do seem to switch off at times, lose focus or whatever.

I think Donegal will need to be focused and fresh to have any hope of winning, also we need high fielders Jason McGee and Caolan McGonigle back and Shaun Patton, although Mulreany put in a decent performance yesterday."
Beat mayo in league in 2016, and also been 4 league draws (3 of which felt like defeats) in league in 2013, 2018, 2020 and 2022.

NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 21 - 03/06/2025 10:58:29    2614503

A lot of the stewards I see are the same stewards that work at every game, in Ballybofey, Clones and Breifne. And i know that a lot of them are from Donegal. They are all working, getting expenses.

Do you think Cavan Co Board would turn down the opportunity to host a big game, with the potential to make money involved. Programmes, teas coffees etc would take in a good few grand for the coffers.

Also, Roscommon could also be playing Cork at the same time, but they would be able to get stewards. I don't know how you square that circle. Dublin could be playing Down possibly in Newry at the same time as Down and playing Monaghan. And at the same time Clones could be hosting Tyrone V Cavan, or even Armagh V Galway. They will find the stewards.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 797 - 03/06/2025 11:01:09    2614507