Donegal GAA thread

Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24:  "Could be a big win for Donegal tonight. Expect Jim McGuinness to lay down a marker and win Division 1 this year."
Derry should probably beat Ksrry tomorrow considering their first but who knows interesting to see how Kerry approach it .

I would say Donegal Kerry Armagh galway 2 out them in final
If guess Kerry Donegal

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 575 - 01/02/2025 21:43:55    2588812

Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24:  "Could be a big win for Donegal tonight. Expect Jim McGuinness to lay down a marker and win Division 1 this year."
No chance of Donegal winning Division 1 this year, there objective is to stay in Division 1 and use the games to test out as many fringe players as possible ahead of Ulster Preliminary round opener against Derry.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1244 - 02/02/2025 15:37:52    2588892

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Derry should probably beat Ksrry tomorrow considering their first but who knows interesting to see how Kerry approach it .

I would say Donegal Kerry Armagh galway 2 out them in final
If guess Kerry Donegal"
Derry threw that game away, conceding 5 goals like that, they didn't learn from last years Championship.

Its hard to know what this league will be like, as the new rules is making it difficult to judge. Galway look to have adapted well so far, if its National league potential winners, they will be in the mix.

I honestly don't see Donegal in the mix for the league, the goal will be staying in Division 1 and getting everything right for Championship.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1244 - 02/02/2025 15:54:14    2588899

Replying To Commodore:  "Derry threw that game away, conceding 5 goals like that, they didn't learn from last years Championship.

Its hard to know what this league will be like, as the new rules is making it difficult to judge. Galway look to have adapted well so far, if its National league potential winners, they will be in the mix.

I honestly don't see Donegal in the mix for the league, the goal will be staying in Division 1 and getting everything right for Championship."
Galway ye have adapted well and Kerry look good defeat probably should happened with being first game they were clinical though

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 575 - 02/02/2025 16:41:57    2588925

Replying To Commodore:  "No chance of Donegal winning Division 1 this year, there objective is to stay in Division 1 and use the games to test out as many fringe players as possible ahead of Ulster Preliminary round opener against Derry."
Maybe galway

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 575 - 02/02/2025 16:42:30    2588926

I had a TG4 blackout for their online player for the first half but I listened to it on highland. Eventually the blackout was lifted for the second half. It was looking like Dublin were going to go on and win with the wind advantage but Donegal found a bit and managed to pull away to get the win. Dublin were no doubt hampered by the early substations and Donegal were able to call on the likes of Paddy McB in the second half. All in all you got to be pleased by getting any win over the Dubs. The introduction of Con will make a big difference to them down the line. This year could be a survival of the fittest scenario listening to the post match reactions. The new rules are putting more pressure on physical output leaving players susceptible to injury. Ulster will be at a disadvantage too given the strength of the province and tough games prior to any group stages. I think Jim will be looking for a mid table finish and won't be in a rush to get Murphy out with an eye to what's to come.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2826 - 02/02/2025 21:46:21    2589067

One thing is for sure that under the new rules a four or 5 point lead certainly isn't the same as it was in old money!
I thought we played very well in the first half, but left at least 4 or 5 points behind with some inaccuarte shooting. The second half was looking dodgy for a wee spell. We couldn't get possession from our own kick outs and it looked like Dublin were going to get ahead given they had a strong enough wind advantage. But fair play to the lads, they stuck at it and I thought they were very composed in working the scores that got us over the line.

The squad is looking good this year. When you consider the lads that were missing from the 26 especially.
It will be very interesting to see what role Murphy plays. I think Ethan Rafferty's performance for Armagh on Saturday night will have caught many a manager's attention.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9583 - 04/02/2025 12:08:20    2589400

Deserved win lads

Year 2 of Jim Mc being back

Can see you boys having a good year, you won't be far off.. that's for sure.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20747 - 04/02/2025 12:38:50    2589415

I was a bit surprised at Kerry's Jack O'Connor making jibs at Donegal's pre-season training after Kerry beat Derry, he sounds like he is giving credence to that negative propaganda spewed online by people with an Anti-Jim agenda.

From looking at the games so far, I would say there isn't much between the teams in terms of fitness, Galway look a bit ahead of the rest and Kerry aren't far behind them. So if we lose in Killarney, I will be turning the spotlight onto Kerry's pre-season activities.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1244 - 04/02/2025 12:46:23    2589418

Replying To Lockjaw:  "One thing is for sure that under the new rules a four or 5 point lead certainly isn't the same as it was in old money!
I thought we played very well in the first half, but left at least 4 or 5 points behind with some inaccuarte shooting. The second half was looking dodgy for a wee spell. We couldn't get possession from our own kick outs and it looked like Dublin were going to get ahead given they had a strong enough wind advantage. But fair play to the lads, they stuck at it and I thought they were very composed in working the scores that got us over the line.

The squad is looking good this year. When you consider the lads that were missing from the 26 especially.
It will be very interesting to see what role Murphy plays. I think Ethan Rafferty's performance for Armagh on Saturday night will have caught many a manager's attention."
I honestly didn't know what to make of the game. Ordinarily if you beat Dublin in any game, its a great day, as they have been consistently the best team in the Country for the last 14 years, no matter what competition they are in.
But Dublin fielded a lot of new players, good players, but who will need a bit more time and were unlucky with hamstring injuries etc, and we were sloppy and it could very well have went either way.

Kick-outs will be what is all about, I think bigger players in the half forward and half back lines will be needed in order to have serious options across the pitch for longer kickouts, otherwise it will be a crowded mess around key midfielders for every kick out. If a team catch the quick kick out clean and offload to runners or kick inside, it will be interesting.

I wouldn't get too carried away yet, I think it will be near impossible to pick up points in Killarney and we have a lot of battles ahead.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1244 - 04/02/2025 13:06:53    2589425

Not many lessons to learn from games so far. No reason for any team to show their hand in the league. Has made for a few enjoyable games up and down divisions so far, but the period set for rule tweaks after Roinn 5 will have very little to go on.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 444 - 04/02/2025 14:32:14    2589449

From listening to McGuinness after the game I think it's pretty clear he sees the league as something to be navigated, hopefully retaining Div 1 status, but most importantly to avoid injuries to key players. It will be interesting to see if his 6 sub suggestion is taken on board. I'd say if he got his way, rolling substitutes would be allowed!

Galway to me look to be the team to watch. They have most of their squad fit now bar Comer. They are a big, mobile team who have a lot of experience. And perhaps crucially have the pain of losing two All Ireland finals in the last few years. It won't guarantee success, as their near neighbours in Mayo would attest, but it could be the difference in them winning a first AI since 2001.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9583 - 04/02/2025 15:51:06    2589465

Replying To Lockjaw:  "From listening to McGuinness after the game I think it's pretty clear he sees the league as something to be navigated, hopefully retaining Div 1 status, but most importantly to avoid injuries to key players. It will be interesting to see if his 6 sub suggestion is taken on board. I'd say if he got his way, rolling substitutes would be allowed!

Galway to me look to be the team to watch. They have most of their squad fit now bar Comer. They are a big, mobile team who have a lot of experience. And perhaps crucially have the pain of losing two All Ireland finals in the last few years. It won't guarantee success, as their near neighbours in Mayo would attest, but it could be the difference in them winning a first AI since 2001."
Galway are a very talented team, arguably man for man the best team in the Country. I think Maher was there most important player last season in the latter part of the season, power house midfielder. They have stuggled to get everyone fit at the same time and get a clean run at it. I fear they are running out of runway at this point for this group.

In a way, the new rule changes were proposed to restore the dominance of the old order of Kerry, Galway etc in football, so maybe that will help the likes of Galway, who haven't managed to win an All Ireland since the advent of blanket defense football in 2002. But I think the landscape has changed dramatically since the old days, and it might not change the All ireland pecking order dramatically.

Yeah I get what McGuinness is saying, Ulster Championship preliminary round is coming in April, and he has 6 league games in 8 or 9 weeks before then. Obviously he wants us to stay in Division 1, as its great for developing players. But getting the squad ready for Championship is key.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1244 - 05/02/2025 08:45:01    2589540

Replying To Commodore:  "Galway are a very talented team, arguably man for man the best team in the Country. I think Maher was there most important player last season in the latter part of the season, power house midfielder. They have stuggled to get everyone fit at the same time and get a clean run at it. I fear they are running out of runway at this point for this group.

In a way, the new rule changes were proposed to restore the dominance of the old order of Kerry, Galway etc in football, so maybe that will help the likes of Galway, who haven't managed to win an All Ireland since the advent of blanket defense football in 2002. But I think the landscape has changed dramatically since the old days, and it might not change the All ireland pecking order dramatically.

Yeah I get what McGuinness is saying, Ulster Championship preliminary round is coming in April, and he has 6 league games in 8 or 9 weeks before then. Obviously he wants us to stay in Division 1, as its great for developing players. But getting the squad ready for Championship is key."
I've said it before on here that I think this year's championship could be extraordinary. I know teams play a bit more loosely in the league. They try out different systems and players out etc, but I just think if some of the new rules make it to Championship time, then we're going to see a lot of high scoring games and it literally could come down to survival of the fittest. A big squad is not only essential, but each and every one of the 26 needs will need to be primed and ready for action when called upon.

Then you throw in the fact that there is no one team out ahead of the rest. There is a clutch of teams who will fancy their chances of winning it if things go right for them/

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9583 - 05/02/2025 10:51:18    2589569

I see Jamie Grant has transferred to Ballymun. He'll be a big loss to Termon in their return to senior.
No sign of the big transfer which was previously discussed on here. Still in the pipeline though I assume?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9583 - 06/02/2025 16:48:19    2589783

37 years since Donegal won on Kerry soil. Big ask tomorrow but really looking forward to the test.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 261 - 07/02/2025 21:20:28    2589953

Replying To Commodore:  "Galway are a very talented team, arguably man for man the best team in the Country. I think Maher was there most important player last season in the latter part of the season, power house midfielder. They have stuggled to get everyone fit at the same time and get a clean run at it. I fear they are running out of runway at this point for this group.

Yeah I get what McGuinness is saying, Ulster Championship preliminary round is coming in April, and he has 6 league games in 8 or 9 weeks before then. Obviously he wants us to stay in Division 1, as its great for developing players. But getting the squad ready for Championship is key."
Was very impressed with Maher last year who Cian O'NEILL didn't rate by alla accounts!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1005 - 07/02/2025 22:41:21    2589960

Replying To FootballGuy:  "37 years since Donegal won on Kerry soil. Big ask tomorrow but really looking forward to the test."
Safe travelling to all those heading down.

I think we have a good chance today. Be nice to shut Jack up after his sly little dig last week. Still have fond memories of him crying coming off the pitch 2 years ago in Ballybofey.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1102 - 08/02/2025 09:47:09    2589978

Shame this game not on TV. Far more interesting than the hurling on offer. It was scheduled to be on TG4 when cancelled so not sure why they're not showing it.

Even GAAGo would have been good.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 287 - 08/02/2025 11:31:50    2589992

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Safe travelling to all those heading down.

I think we have a good chance today. Be nice to shut Jack up after his sly little dig last week. Still have fond memories of him crying coming off the pitch 2 years ago in Ballybofey."
What did he say? He's an awful whinger

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 431 - 08/02/2025 14:21:15    2590025