Donegal GAA thread

Replying To sligo joe:  "Relax, I'm happy enough to dip in and out of any page, that's what the HS forum is all about, don't feel restricted, and especially don't be prescriptive, good lad."
I love comments like this from fans from pages thinking its an exclusive forum.. the whole idea of this website to give your opinion.. unfortunately some lads don't understand this

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 453 - 16/06/2024 07:25:19    2551765

Good day yesterday albeit against a very poor Clare outfit. We roll on looking forward to seeing us in croker. Could we meet Armagh Tyrone or Derry again. Hopefully mc gee back fit . I expected bigger support yesterday I thought I heard the announcer saying 5 k but I could be wrong. Hopefully the gaa will gave the supporters plenty time to make arrangements now. Is the draw for semis made like if the four provincial winners make it is it Dublin v Kerry. Here's hoping

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 16/06/2024 10:18:53    2551785

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good day yesterday albeit against a very poor Clare outfit. We roll on looking forward to seeing us in croker. Could we meet Armagh Tyrone or Derry again. Hopefully mc gee back fit . I expected bigger support yesterday I thought I heard the announcer saying 5 k but I could be wrong. Hopefully the gaa will gave the supporters plenty time to make arrangements now. Is the draw for semis made like if the four provincial winners make it is it Dublin v Kerry. Here's hoping"
The old system for the semi finals is gone where it's predetermined which provincial winners play each other. There is a provision, however, to avoid previous championship games where possible, including the provincial championship

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 16/06/2024 11:22:33    2551799

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Great result today lads..back on track. Just wondering if anybody was at the match and how did Ciaran Moore get on at midfield? By all accounts he slotted in nicely. Also I have a wee feeling that it's going to be Tyrone v Derry and Derry beat Tyrone and then guess what..we play Derry in a quarter final again..can that happen??"
I think that could happen. In the quarter final draw they keep teams apart if they have played each other in the provincial final or in the Group phase so we could certainly get Derry again. However, they'll need to improve a lot from their showing against Westmeath to make it thru to the quarters.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 16/06/2024 11:26:20    2551800

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good day yesterday albeit against a very poor Clare outfit. We roll on looking forward to seeing us in croker. Could we meet Armagh Tyrone or Derry again. Hopefully mc gee back fit . I expected bigger support yesterday I thought I heard the announcer saying 5 k but I could be wrong. Hopefully the gaa will gave the supporters plenty time to make arrangements now. Is the draw for semis made like if the four provincial winners make it is it Dublin v Kerry. Here's hoping"
Just a bit over 5k is what they said alright. It was pretty close to being all donegal support. I'm kind of glad it wasn't anymore for sligo was very slow as it was. God knows what it would have been like if there was a really big crowd going through it. And castlebar is a long enough aul drive.

It was well set up there and going round to the breafy exit was a great job. That road from castlebar to westport didn't exist the last time I was there. There are a few roads like that needed in donegal.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 16/06/2024 11:46:12    2551802

Replying To veterngaa:  "I love comments like this from fans from pages thinking its an exclusive forum.. the whole idea of this website to give your opinion.. unfortunately some lads don't understand this"
100% some posters on here think that nobody should have an opinion only themselves. Very fickle bunch. I love people from all over the country having an opinion on Donegal football it shows we're doing something right, it's easy spotting the wums. Rorysboys is tired but happy today the two week rest hopefully will do him good. Met Christy the piper yesterday very knowledgeable gaa man a gentleman I may add. He is what I call a real gaa suppporter.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 16/06/2024 11:46:41    2551803

I could be wrong but I think Ulster would be due to play Leinster, Munster v Connacht. if the old system still applies. Dublin and Kerry met in semi 2 years ago. Derry had Kerry last year, Galway year before.

chancer (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 16/06/2024 12:00:15    2551808

Very good performance yesterday but Clare just didn't get going at all. Once the first goal went in they seemed to have resigned themselves to defeat. The stadium in Castlebar is fantastic for a game and the Donegal supporters that showed up were brilliant. Saturday afternoon isn't a great time for a game with people working and kids activities. We seem to have 5k to 6k loyal fans who go to most matches. Like most teams we have a lot of bandwagon supporters.

The game itself isn't really worth analysing but just some points to note. Ciaran Moore was excellent at midfield. Was good to see Mark Curran back and he had a good half. Paddy and Oisin are really coming into top form. The best part of the day was Conor O'Donnell returning, looked good as well. Stephen McMenamin was good when he came on. We will have a good chance of making the semi final now.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1897 - 16/06/2024 12:51:53    2551827

Great exhibition of score taking yesterday and nice to have a low pressure game and a really well deserved rest now before the quarter final, we can sit back now and watch them all battle it out next weekend and see who we draw in the quarters.
If someone had told us this time last year we'd win div 2, be Ulster Champions after one of the toughest Ulster campaigns in years and be sitting comfortable in the All Ireland quarter final we'd have said they were dreaming.
Have to laugh now how the media are talking up Armagh, a team that haven't won anything in a very long time.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2859 - 16/06/2024 13:37:26    2551843

All the Southern Media saying Ulster football is competitive but not a high standard yet the two finalists make it straight to quarter final seeded mmmm?

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 175 - 16/06/2024 15:40:09    2551897

Replying To RoryGall35:  "All the Southern Media saying Ulster football is competitive but not a high standard yet the two finalists make it straight to quarter final seeded mmmm?"
Don't worry, you won't hear as much coverage about that.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1351 - 16/06/2024 16:25:01    2551909

Replying To chancer:  "I could be wrong but I think Ulster would be due to play Leinster, Munster v Connacht. if the old system still applies. Dublin and Kerry met in semi 2 years ago. Derry had Kerry last year, Galway year before."
You are wrong. The old system for the semi's is gone

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 16/06/2024 16:59:50    2551943

Replying To RoryGall35:  "All the Southern Media saying Ulster football is competitive but not a high standard yet the two finalists make it straight to quarter final seeded mmmm?"
Totally correct, Ulster football never gets the credit it deserves..

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 16/06/2024 18:06:43    2551969

Wooly Parkinson wet himself after we lost to Cork but he's remarkably silent this week about ourselves and Ulster football. Antrim beating his Laois next week would be the icing on the cake.

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 51 - 16/06/2024 21:17:20    2552040

Replying To WestRules:  "Well, I was lambasted for my honest and objective comment previously but I hope those who ridiculed me will have now accepted the realism that Donegal may achieve at provincial level where Ulster teams have paled in terms of quality when one compares them with the likes of the Dubs, Kerry, Galway and Mayo, and in there lies the problem when Cork, which aren't exactly top opposition, knocked Donegal of its pedestal. Has McGuinness's dream run out of steam? The jury is out."
I think maybe it's the Joyce train that's running out of steam? Ulster teams are doing fine since Donegal and Armagh have topped our respective groups. Galway again flatter to deceive when they were in a winning position.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 16/06/2024 21:36:54    2552049

Replying To sligo joe:  "Agree no big setback for Donegal but I suppose it does indicate that while Derry, Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal can get a result against anyone on their day, currently the three best teams in the country are not from Ulster, Dublin, Kerry and Galway."
Mr Sligo, do you want to revise your selections?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 16/06/2024 21:41:10    2552052

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Mr Sligo, do you want to revise your selections?"
As I said b4 all rankings are current and of course after each round revision is needed but no Dublin and Kerry still 1 and 2 and galway still 3 despite blowing a lead.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 16/06/2024 23:32:30    2552094

Looking like Galway or Mayo although I believe there is a possibility Louth could upset Cork if there is to be an upset in the preliminary qf.

We have a poor record against mayo and Galway are physically big and have better forwards than mayo.

I do think croke Park will suit us irrespective of the opposition

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 957 - 17/06/2024 09:59:30    2552200

Replying To veterngaa:  "I love comments like this from fans from pages thinking its an exclusive forum.. the whole idea of this website to give your opinion.. unfortunately some lads don't understand this"
Good man Veteran, you're welcome back. You finally got your long awaited annual pitch invasion yesterday. Fair play, no stopping you now.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 616 - 17/06/2024 11:35:07    2552266

Replying To totalrecall:  "Looking like Galway or Mayo although I believe there is a possibility Louth could upset Cork if there is to be an upset in the preliminary qf.

We have a poor record against mayo and Galway are physically big and have better forwards than mayo.

I do think croke Park will suit us irrespective of the opposition"
Yeah hopefully Louth will prevail as its 50% chance we would draw them.

Mayo going back to back v Dublin & Derry you would imagine would be tired and potentially we'd have an advantage there but tbh I'd not want to face Mayo who just ran Dublin all the way and beat Derry. Their confidence would be sky high.

Galway too will be difficult as they may have injuries cleared up and I honestly dont see Monaghan putting any kind of challenge up to them. I know Monaghan caught them in Salthill a few seasons back but they look like they have really regressed this season.

Whatever happens, I hope Kerry and Dublin get really dirty ties. Ideally Kerry v Tyrone and Dublin v Galway. Can't have them cruising into semi finals annually.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 17/06/2024 11:44:34    2552275