Donegal GAA thread

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Just a thought.
Sad to see how Tyrone have gone. A once good team now in bits. Haven't done well in Ulster in ages and we can beat them well with one decent year prep. They are weak mentally. A lot of good underage players going through so maybe they can compete with us soon again.

Armagh the real danger now."
I'd be as nice as possible to Tyrone for the next week or so given the favour we need of them to top the group!

Or is this Reverse Psychology 101? :)

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 08/06/2024 07:36:53    2550122

Sad to see how Tyrone have gone. A once good team now in bits. Haven't done well in Ulster in ages and we can beat them well with one decent year prep. They are weak mentally. A lot of good underage players going through so maybe they can compete with us soon again.

Tyrone are on the way back I'm afraid. You don't win all Ireland u 20 without good players. Our success rate at under age level is terrible. We need someone like bonner to come in and take charge of our underage structure ie getting the right managers in . All Tyrone are lacking is a good management team they have far too many good players not making themselves available the Lee brennans. Richie Donnelly , mark Bradley and there's plenty more.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 08/06/2024 08:30:01    2550126

Jeez not sure if you're just on a windup or not, but think you're being a bit premature there. Tyrone are never too far away. Think they might benefit from a fresh voice in the dressing room & for their successful underage teams to fully integrate. But it'll not be long before they're back sickening us & other teams!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 08/06/2024 08:43:15    2550127

To me the lack of the same gap between matches is something that needs work. It's not equal to have some teams with two weeks and others with one. Ideally it would be two weeks for all but if that can't be accommodated then have the week between first and second group game for all. If they did that then they wouldn't be making group draws before provincials are over.
You could also add a few perks to the winner of the hardest province. The winners of the most competitive provincial championships (or maybe top 2) get two games at home. The most competitive provincial championships being determined by the average league a team is in. Add the league each team is in and divide by number of teams in the province.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 08/06/2024 09:39:27    2550134

I wouldn't worry about tyrone. Omagh cbs have won the last two hogan cups and obviously the macrorys cups that go with that. Their hardest games were in the macrory and tyrone had four teams in it this year and three in the semis. The under 20 all ireland this year and two years ago. They had what about 8 championship debuts against cavan and see how quickly some of them are progressing. Add in the next batch and they'll be more than fine!
Unfortunately donegal have no teams in the maccrory. It was great to see the abbey in donegal town win the maclarnan and all ireland b and presumably they'll go up next year. Though not sure how many players they'll lose from this year. And it does show that the great work four masters are doing at underage benefits more than just the club.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 08/06/2024 10:01:20    2550136

Tyrone will be back at the top table soon enough and they might have a big say this year yet. I think Cork will give them a hell of a game though next weekend, hard one to call, Cork have a head of steam up now after beating us, they won't lack confidence anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2859 - 08/06/2024 13:22:50    2550162

Replying To rorysboys:  "Tyrone are on the way back I'm afraid. You don't win all Ireland u 20 without good players. Our success rate at under age level is terrible. We need someone like bonner to come in and take charge of our underage structure ie getting the right managers in . All Tyrone are lacking is a good management team they have far too many good players not making themselves available the Lee brennans. Richie Donnelly , mark Bradley and there's plenty more."
When are you going to accept that Bonner isn't a good manager?

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 123 - 08/06/2024 16:05:51    2550182

Replying To StockholmGael:  "When are you going to accept that Bonner isn't a good manager?"
I have no real stake in this great Bonner debate but he's the most successful underage manager we've had for the last decade, he couldn't get us over the line at senior but I don't think he'd be bad to have to sort things out at underage

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 51 - 09/06/2024 00:43:29    2550258

Replying To StockholmGael:  "When are you going to accept that Bonner isn't a good manager?"
He's a lot better than majority of managers in the county he can back it up with his cv.. we're badly performing at underage level for a county of our size. Bonner would get the right people in. People on here saying Tyrone are finished look at the conveyor belt of talent they have. Mc Guinness will not be here for good. It's time to get the underage structures right.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 09/06/2024 11:16:26    2550285

Having won ulster and the fantastic buzz and joy it brought to the county I wouldn't want to do away with ulster championship. It's a realistic target where as the all ireland is a little more aspirational.

Though if you were targeting an ireland you'd stick the under 20s in ulster and target the group stage and that's not right. Donegal got a much better draw last year than this year. Two weeks between every game and hardest game at home. If donegal had a full panel last year they could have really rattled derry at home.
Before the group stages last year we'd got relegated with one win and a draw in the league and poor exit against down.

This year we get promoted, win a very tough ulster. We get the two weeks break which is fine but then a week later it's a 6 hour bus journey to Cork on a friday for a team who have a two week break to prime for you. Not alone are you not rewarded but you're punished for winning the ulster championship.

I don't know what the prenty structure is but in this round robin competition the gap between games has to at least the same break for all teams. So if that means all provincial finals on the weekend then grand.

And also don't really see the need to treat provincial winners the same. Reward the provincial winners of the best overall standard of team with a better draw. Say best two provinces winners get two home games. That best province could easily be based on the average league a team is in.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 09/06/2024 12:27:23    2550294

Opinions please!

Does having a double header with their hurlers on Saturday give Cork an advantage playing Tyrone?

Coupled with Tyrone's complete collapse in support in recent times, it could prove vital.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 616 - 10/06/2024 09:27:49    2550474

We should have enough in the tank to get over Clare on Saturday. Looking forward to the game. I think Paddy will kick about 8/9 again as he will have more space.

Hopefully Jason is back and Langan can add another 2/3 points. If we keep them to 8/9 scores and we attack them greatly we should put up a big score.

On a club level , very hard to look at league form. The same 3/4 clubs at the top.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 10/06/2024 10:48:44    2550494

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Opinions please!

Does having a double header with their hurlers on Saturday give Cork an advantage playing Tyrone?

Coupled with Tyrone's complete collapse in support in recent times, it could prove vital."
This did cross my mind once I saw it was a double header.

The swelled support they'll get from the hurling fraternity will certainly help them. You'd only hope with the under 20 campaign done and dusted that the Tyrone support will increase as well.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 10/06/2024 11:26:08    2550512

Not much news going yet about the weekend's big game. I think we need to just forget about Tyrone v Cork and concentrate on getting our own business done first and foremost. If we end up in a preliminary quarter final so be it.

Hopefully Jason McGee is fit. Himself and Langan have a great understanding and give us a great platform. He also usually chips in with a couple of points a game. Is it too soon for Conor O'Donnell? I don't think he'd start even if fully fit, but it'd be great to see him come on and fire over a few points. The more attacking options we have the better.

In the other games, it'll be interesting to see if Derry can save themselves. Ordinarily you'd fancy them to beat Westmeath. But Westmeath are stubborn opponents and Derry's body language has been awful. It would be a spectacluar fall from grace for them from where they were just a few short months ago after their impressive league win.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 11/06/2024 09:56:12    2550738

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Not much news going yet about the weekend's big game. I think we need to just forget about Tyrone v Cork and concentrate on getting our own business done first and foremost. If we end up in a preliminary quarter final so be it.

Hopefully Jason McGee is fit. Himself and Langan have a great understanding and give us a great platform. He also usually chips in with a couple of points a game. Is it too soon for Conor O'Donnell? I don't think he'd start even if fully fit, but it'd be great to see him come on and fire over a few points. The more attacking options we have the better.

In the other games, it'll be interesting to see if Derry can save themselves. Ordinarily you'd fancy them to beat Westmeath. But Westmeath are stubborn opponents and Derry's body language has been awful. It would be a spectacluar fall from grace for them from where they were just a few short months ago after their impressive league win."
I think we need another out and out forward on the pitch.I think we should start Jamie Brennan at the expense of some of the more stamina type players we are inclined to go for.It would be great if Conor came back in to the mix.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1078 - 11/06/2024 10:19:29    2550743

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Opinions please!

Coupled with Tyrone's complete collapse in support in recent times, it could prove vital."
Definitely an advantage to the Cork footballers, they will be confident going into this and have no fear of Tyrone, big support will make it feel like a home game for them.
I think Tyrone will have a tough time beating them. maybe some magic form Darragh Canavan will swing it their way.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2859 - 11/06/2024 14:05:56    2550812

Replying To gunman:  "I think we need another out and out forward on the pitch.I think we should start Jamie Brennan at the expense of some of the more stamina type players we are inclined to go for.It would be great if Conor came back in to the mix."
I'm not so convinced. The Bundoran man was given 22mins on the pitch vs Cork and he didn't register a score, when that is what he's meant to do. He scored a goal v Derry, but that isn't the most difficult feat this year. I believe that Jim could get more out of Jamie but feel we'll have to wait until next year to see it. We definitely need to unearth or develop a forward or two if Jim is in for four years as Paddy I doubt will be there at the end of that, given his age profile.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 123 - 11/06/2024 15:15:45    2550830

Replying To StockholmGael:  "I'm not so convinced. The Bundoran man was given 22mins on the pitch vs Cork and he didn't register a score, when that is what he's meant to do. He scored a goal v Derry, but that isn't the most difficult feat this year. I believe that Jim could get more out of Jamie but feel we'll have to wait until next year to see it. We definitely need to unearth or develop a forward or two if Jim is in for four years as Paddy I doubt will be there at the end of that, given his age profile."
I think Jamie has a role inside beside Oisin, Paddy now appears to be more withdrawn. Two scoring forwards inside gives opposition team a different issue inside. I'd pick him on Saturday to start, forwards needs scores and pitch time to build confidence.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 11/06/2024 17:44:51    2550860

Replying To StockholmGael:  "I'm not so convinced. The Bundoran man was given 22mins on the pitch vs Cork and he didn't register a score, when that is what he's meant to do. He scored a goal v Derry, but that isn't the most difficult feat this year. I believe that Jim could get more out of Jamie but feel we'll have to wait until next year to see it. We definitely need to unearth or develop a forward or two if Jim is in for four years as Paddy I doubt will be there at the end of that, given his age profile."
I see Kilcar are playing Stephen Mc Brearty inside this year. Wonder wound he be tempted to come back into the fold with Jim back and give us another option inside. Another man who is motoring well for them is Eoin Mc Hugh. Just thinking on who Jim could add to the panel next year.

Finbar Roarty
Eoin Mc Hugh
Ethan O Donnell
Stephen Mc Brearty
Jamie Grant
Odhran Mc Fadden Ferry
Conor O Donnell Senior
Conor Morrison

In my opinion the above players are ahead of some lads we have on our panel already.

Anyone know what the story is with Hugh Mc Fadden?
Hopefully Conor O Donnell not far away.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1153 - 11/06/2024 18:01:37    2550863

Replying To TheRock2121:  "I see Kilcar are playing Stephen Mc Brearty inside this year. Wonder wound he be tempted to come back into the fold with Jim back and give us another option inside. Another man who is motoring well for them is Eoin Mc Hugh. Just thinking on who Jim could add to the panel next year.

Finbar Roarty
Eoin Mc Hugh
Ethan O Donnell
Stephen Mc Brearty
Jamie Grant
Odhran Mc Fadden Ferry
Conor O Donnell Senior
Conor Morrison

In my opinion the above players are ahead of some lads we have on our panel already.

Anyone know what the story is with Hugh Mc Fadden?
Hopefully Conor O Donnell not far away."
The above players you say are ahead of some lads we have on the panel already. I don't agree, the players who are on the panel want to be there which is what mc Guinness looks for. A lot of the players bar mc fadden ferry we're on squads but left because they weren't getting game time. Same would happen again. Young roarty will be in next year..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 11/06/2024 19:39:23    2550875