Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "A lot of bickering going on here today. Very childish I must say. If poor rorysboys was at it he would be called every name going.. a bit of kop on wudnt go amiss. We all want Donegal to do well."
Declansboy calling people childish! the fun never stops on here.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2859 - 02/06/2024 21:43:47    2549037

Replying To eunans4ever:  "That was a long long journey home with silence in the car most of the way - bitter disappointment after been on such a high the previous few months.

Did anyone get the turnover count ? I haven't seen us turned over that much in a long long time - most of cork scores came from that. Having not conceded a goal in championship to cough up 3 yesterday was very very poor.

To the lads shipping digs at Monaghan I wouldn't be as quick to do so - remember 2013/15 and we have a poor record against them - they also went deeper in the championship last year than we have been in 10 years.

No point crying about the fixture/turnaround time / trip etc - we were well beaten by the hungrier more disciplined better team - simple as that.

I still think we are in a great place with the messiah from glenties / fintown steering the ship - I wouldn't swap him for anyone. We will learn from it re-group and most likely tank Clare and still top the group.

No need for panic even though sport has a horrible habit of kicking u in the stones when u least expect it….."
When a Monaghan man comes on laughing at Donegal without looking at the mess they are in themselves, then he is fair game.
From all the different posters around the country coming on the Donegal forum to laugh, it just goes to show we must be doing something right.
Well done to cork, a great county with fantastic supporters, and footballers.
Always found the cork supporters gracious in victory and defeat over the many years I have followed the gaa.
Something other supporters could learn from.
Well done to the Donegal players, a tough week, with a great victory of our neighbours and a narrow defeat to Cork.
Onwards and upwards we go

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 694 - 02/06/2024 21:43:56    2549038

Replying To The keeper:  "When a Monaghan man comes on laughing at Donegal without looking at the mess they are in themselves, then he is fair game.
From all the different posters around the country coming on the Donegal forum to laugh, it just goes to show we must be doing something right.
Well done to cork, a great county with fantastic supporters, and footballers.
Always found the cork supporters gracious in victory and defeat over the many years I have followed the gaa.
Something other supporters could learn from.
Well done to the Donegal players, a tough week, with a great victory of our neighbours and a narrow defeat to Cork.
Onwards and upwards we go"
Agree with you 100%, Cork were always a manly team with great supporters, they are a team I'd love to see doing well as long as it's not against us.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2859 - 02/06/2024 22:24:23    2549044

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Munster's second best team (and a very second at that) comfortably beat the Ulster champions! What does that say about your very vaunted Ulster championship?

I shudder to think what Kerry would do to ye!"
We shall see come August.....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 02/06/2024 23:00:24    2549049

Replying To greenfan:  "No need for panic after yesterday. No doubt, Jim will learn from the game and make the necessary adjustments. Everyone just ignore the idiots coming out of the woodwork now. Donegal are in a great place and there are good days ahead."
Well posted

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 02/06/2024 23:02:10    2549050

Replying To sligo joe:  "Agree no big setback for Donegal but I suppose it does indicate that while Derry, Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal can get a result against anyone on their day, currently the three best teams in the country are not from Ulster, Dublin, Kerry and Galway."
Wait till the season is over before making a call like that my dear boy.....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 02/06/2024 23:04:29    2549052

Replying To WestRules:  "I think there needs to be some kind of rational thinking applied here. Repeatedly using words like brilliant is a kind going overboard when describing the performance and players. From a neutral point of view, the game was interesting because of the closeness of the score tally but if we take away the rose-tinted glasses there were glaring shortcomings and mistakes by both sides. To me, Armagh were the more energetic and opportunistic but didn't avail of their lead to put Donegal's ambitions to bed. At the end of the day, this was just a provincial championship final where two reasonable teams (not brilliant as suggested) exercised their skills to the best of their ability but both are a far cry from the level needed to make an impact in the All Ireland championship where the Dubs, Kerry, Galway and Mayo which have a status that pale teams from Ulster into insignificance with the exception maybe of Derry."
Well, I was lambasted for my honest and objective comment previously but I hope those who ridiculed me will have now accepted the realism that Donegal may achieve at provincial level where Ulster teams have paled in terms of quality when one compares them with the likes of the Dubs, Kerry, Galway and Mayo, and in there lies the problem when Cork, which aren't exactly top opposition, knocked Donegal of its pedestal. Has McGuinness's dream run out of steam? The jury is out.

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 02/06/2024 23:14:42    2549054

Replying To WestRules:  "Well, I was lambasted for my honest and objective comment previously but I hope those who ridiculed me will have now accepted the realism that Donegal may achieve at provincial level where Ulster teams have paled in terms of quality when one compares them with the likes of the Dubs, Kerry, Galway and Mayo, and in there lies the problem when Cork, which aren't exactly top opposition, knocked Donegal of its pedestal. Has McGuinness's dream run out of steam? The jury is out."
Why are you throwing Galway and Mayo in with Kerry and Dublin. this time last year Cork beat Mayo in the group stage did that knock Mayo of its pedestal. Has McStay's dream run out of steam at that stage?

As for Galway they have Armagh to play next and must beat them to top the group or for the 2nd year in a row could face another Prem Quarter final exit.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3407 - 03/06/2024 00:29:07    2549059

Replying To WestRules:  "Well, I was lambasted for my honest and objective comment previously but I hope those who ridiculed me will have now accepted the realism that Donegal may achieve at provincial level where Ulster teams have paled in terms of quality when one compares them with the likes of the Dubs, Kerry, Galway and Mayo, and in there lies the problem when Cork, which aren't exactly top opposition, knocked Donegal of its pedestal. Has McGuinness's dream run out of steam? The jury is out."
i guess armagh v galway might give us a better idea

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 03/06/2024 02:22:19    2549063

I think people are taking issue more with as you say your "honest and objective" comment placing Galway in the same category as Kerry or Dublin, scraping past Westmeath with a late goal from a mistake doesn't really support your "objective" comment, Dublin and Kerry are ahead of the rest.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 03/06/2024 02:32:20    2549064

What on earth do you think Galway have done over the past decade or two to merit being categorised with Dublin or Kerry!? McGuinness' dream as you weirdly put it is doing grand after his first six months back. Joyce's maybe not so much. How many years now is it since he declared they were going all out for Sam?? Still waiting.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 47 - 03/06/2024 07:18:23    2549069

Sligo, Longford, Kerry, Monaghan and Galway posters making their way here in the last 24 hours for a gloat. They must have very little going on in their own lives or have a secret crush on Jim.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 03/06/2024 08:43:27    2549082

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Wait till the season is over before making a call like that my dear boy....."
Sport is dynamic, evolving and never static so if you read my post again I deliberately and clearly used the word "currently".
Derry were clearly top 3 six weeks ago but "currently" not top 5.
So, in fact, your reply to my post makes no sense as I made no reference to who will be top 3 in two months time!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 03/06/2024 09:00:19    2549088

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Declansboy calling people childish! the fun never stops on here."
Haters are going to hate your famous words from yesterday. Rich coming from you lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 03/06/2024 09:17:39    2549094

Replying To Peadarw:  "i guess armagh v galway might give us a better idea"
I would expect Galway to win that match. They are a serious outfit in my opinion and with the players coming back and fit and firing, I'd be surprised if they are beaten before meeting Kerry or Dublin

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 113 - 03/06/2024 09:44:45    2549104

Long ol' day on Saturday now. I will admit that before the group stages started I was very worried about this match, however the nature of the win against Tyrone gave me huge confidence that we would do the job in Cork as well. It didn't pan out that way and Cork gave us huge problems with their running game. In fairness it was similar in the league match where they got two goals but we really dominated them early in that match and built up a huge lead.

The two goals after half-time obviously were the killer, in particular the third one which I've seen some people say had an element of luck to it. I suppose with the ball bouncing around like that you can call it luck, but I felt we needed someone to just go down and win that ball and nobody really went for it, the Cork players wanted the ball more and were rewarded with the goal.

I thought we looked very leggy at points and I would have preferred Mark Curran to have started but I'm really nitpicking, the way we fought back after the third goal was impressive in my opinion and showed a real confidence in the squad to keep chipping away and believe in the structure and their own abilities. Another positive in my opinion was Paddy's display, 7 points, he's definitely lost a step but considering some comments about him being "over the hill" I think it's safe to say he's our best forward along with Farah.

Cork full value for their win, they deserve huge credit as well for resetting and getting the final winning points considering they had been reeled in from such a big lead, weaker teams mentally would have folded at that point but they stuck at it.

Really interesting final day now, Tyrone's hammering of Clare definitely puts a cat amongst the pigeons with the score difference now coming into play. In spite of Cork's impressive performance on the weekend I do expect Tyrone to beat them. I think their hard running style of play will come unstuck against that Tyrone side to be honest. I may be way off on that as I've been off with most predictions this year! But if that happens, we have a huge opportunity to top the group if we put in a good performance against Clare.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 113 - 03/06/2024 09:55:29    2549108

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "What on earth do you think Galway have done over the past decade or two to merit being categorised with Dublin or Kerry!? McGuinness' dream as you weirdly put it is doing grand after his first six months back. Joyce's maybe not so much. How many years now is it since he declared they were going all out for Sam?? Still waiting."
Totally agree.
We shall see how they do against Armagh in 2 weeks time as well...

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 03/06/2024 09:58:22    2549109

Watching the highlights of the games last weekend across the country its amazing the amount of breakaway goals being scored where a team are caught out with everyone ahead of the ball, and the opposition turns them over before racing up the pitch unopposed and scoring a goal. Those goals were the winning of the games in each case. The current basketball style approach that many teams are taking is being revealed to be a wee bit flawed.

From watching highlights of our game though it seems like that was only the case for the first cork goal? For the other two we did manage to get numbers back but we were just not setup in any way and so we're easily cut through. I think we do have a very good defensive shape but it takes us too long to get ourselves into that shape when we've been turned over, is that a fair assessment? Hard to tell from the highlights. In rugby people talk of a scramble defense which is less structured than a normal defence but is based on pure intensity when there is danger...

In any case its not a bad moment in the season to have our flaws exposed. We have 2 weeks now before clare to try to improve.

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 03/06/2024 10:15:33    2549114

I think Donegal will beat Clare and top the group. Hard to call Cork vs Tyrone but maybe Tyrone will have enough to win and finish 2nd. We face a difficult match against Armagh and with Comer and Finnerty out you would make Armagh favourites to top the group leaving Galway 2nd to face a third place team in the pre-lim. There is no third placed team in the All-Ireland race. There are two teams Dublin well out ahead and Kerry a clear second.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 03/06/2024 11:50:08    2549138

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "What on earth do you think Galway have done over the past decade or two to merit being categorised with Dublin or Kerry!? McGuinness' dream as you weirdly put it is doing grand after his first six months back. Joyce's maybe not so much. How many years now is it since he declared they were going all out for Sam?? Still waiting."
Totally agree. Putting Galway in the same category as Dublin and Kerry is way off the mark. Galway are not All Ireland contenders and I would put Donegal ahead of them. McGuinness has done a great job.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 03/06/2024 12:26:16    2549144