Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Saynothing:  "Sorry lads but it's time to burst the bubble."
That didn't age well.

Hand_Solo (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 25/05/2024 21:15:16    2547082

Donegal as serious outfit again, Jim has the magic touch. Impressive total too.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8642 - 25/05/2024 21:19:39    2547083

Replying To Saynothing:  "Well done Donegal. Thought Tyrone would have a bit more in them but Dooher soon put paid to that. Inherited a brilliant team left behind by Micky Harte and turned them around. From Ulster hopefully it's Donegal for Sam."
What did you think of him hooking McCurry? He was causing us bother in the first half. Strange decision I thought.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 25/05/2024 21:27:58    2547086

Surprised how easily Donegal held the ball in the last quarter, Tyrone seemed to be out on their feet. A great win.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 226 - 25/05/2024 21:31:55    2547088

Replying To peiledoir20:  "What did you think of him hooking McCurry? He was causing us bother in the first half. Strange decision I thought."
Between that and making changes at half time. Tyrone were in the game at halftime without playing well and kicking some poor wides. First 15 minutes of second half it was over. Donegal will not be easily stopped. Well done. Also indiscipline didn't help Tyrone, too many silly late tackles.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2040 - 25/05/2024 21:45:18    2547091

Replying To Hand_Solo:  "That didn't age well."
It certainly didn't.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2040 - 25/05/2024 21:46:31    2547092

That was some performance tonight, 8/1 4th favs for SAM. I find it hard to see where any team is going to get the better of yez.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1242 - 25/05/2024 21:47:47    2547093

Brilliant performance, we're really playing well. My worry is the games are coming thick and fast can we sustain it. Take Kerry Dublin out of it there's no one else we would fear. Can we beat Dublin or Kerry we can definitely beat Kerry as for Dublin I still think it's a bit early, but as we seen in 2014 anything is possible.. . It's been a great year so far but I feel it's far from over yet. Hopefully the injuries stay away . Cork away next Saturday it's along trek but I can't see cork beating us. They will let us play so it should be a good game. Heading down Friday but only staying Friday night all these games are taking a toll on rorysboys pocket, but I don't care no better place to be than following your county.. we had a lot of brilliant performances but I can't forget peadar mogan what a performance this man is special watched him from underage level by god he is a special player an all star in waiting..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 26/05/2024 08:41:18    2547120

Haven't posted for a while but been keeping up to date on here.

The glory days are back - we are a serious team again under the brilliant tactician from Glenties/Fintown - he's simply superb.

Lot of guff on here over the last year or 2 about us not having the players - utter nonsense from 1 particular poster on that front.

Some experience year on year been at that game v the 9 point drubbing at the hands of Tyrone at home last year - remarkable actually.

We are in fantastic shape physically and mentally and the players are giving us all they have which is all we ever asked for.

One observation from the last few games which I don't like is the booing of opposition frees - it always find that disgusting when in croke park and the jacks are doing it from the hill - I know we have a lot of new and younger fans jumping on the bandwagon but I wish we would cut it out.

Exciting to see how far we can go now.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1603 - 26/05/2024 09:09:08    2547127

Replying To giveitlong:  "That was some performance tonight, 8/1 4th favs for SAM. I find it hard to see where any team is going to get the better of yez."
8/1 seems a fairly decent price after last night. Think it was 10/1 before the match.

Winning puts us in prime position now to top group.

If things go to plan that would mean:

We avoid prelims, we should also avoid Kerry and Dublin(assuming both top their groups) and pretty sure we can't draw Armagh or Tyrone in quarter final. The extra weeks rest will be huge too whoever we face.

So in theory we have a really great chance now of making All Ireland Semi final.

Looking at groups, worst draw would be Derry or Mayo. Unless Mayo go for broke and defeat Dublin in last group match and blow the whole championship wide open.

Fun summer ahead.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 26/05/2024 09:17:38    2547128

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Haven't posted for a while but been keeping up to date on here.

The glory days are back - we are a serious team again under the brilliant tactician from Glenties/Fintown - he's simply superb.

Lot of guff on here over the last year or 2 about us not having the players - utter nonsense from 1 particular poster on that front.

Some experience year on year been at that game v the 9 point drubbing at the hands of Tyrone at home last year - remarkable actually.

We are in fantastic shape physically and mentally and the players are giving us all they have which is all we ever asked for.

One observation from the last few games which I don't like is the booing of opposition frees - it always find that disgusting when in croke park and the jacks are doing it from the hill - I know we have a lot of new and younger fans jumping on the bandwagon but I wish we would cut it out.

Exciting to see how far we can go now."
Ah no why spoil a brilliant weekend by making a comeback. You're just a bandwagon poster. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2471 - 26/05/2024 10:17:56    2547145

Fair play Donegal. We deserved to lose. Only one team in it in the second half. Couple of fussy decisions by McQ, and we missed a lot, but none of that was why we lost - we played with some spirit at times, but we look neither organised nor motivated. Donegal played like men with a mission, worthy winners, and it's a credit to Jim how he can get the best out of people. Dooher was a brilliant footballer, but he does not get the best out of people; been saying that for years, but the Tyrone board is v timid about underperforming managers. Omagh CBS have just won back-to-back Hogans with a team that walked through every other team they met, and our U20s won their second recent AI title easily.

I feel sorry for those lads, as now they're about to enter the Tyrone senior twilight zone.

Successful teams are a mix of ability and team spirit. Taking one or two out of the ranks of such teams and mostly benching them on the seniors for a couple of years while Dooher's pets and bigger names continue to underperform is all that will happen though. Meanwhile, teams with wining spirit are broken up, and young good plyers rot on the bench. Can't even play club football, with all this starred stuff. If I was a young player who enjoyed playing football, I'd be seriously asking why on earth I'd ever want to go near the senior county set-up.

I'd get rid of most of the current team and the managers, and let the U20 boys step up, both team and management.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 256 - 26/05/2024 10:38:01    2547152

Really important win for Donegal. It's vital that we top the group because it means a game less and that could be important as Donegal are basically using the same 20 players in every game and they've come through some serious battles already.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 26/05/2024 10:43:43    2547155

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Haven't posted for a while but been keeping up to date on here.

Exciting to see how far we can go now."
First off a brilliant performance, blew Tyrone away in the 2nd half, had we bagged some of those early goal chances it could have been even easier, we are playing fantastic stuff, Jason McGee is a powerhouse of a man, what a game he played.
Trouble is down the line as we know you'll be running into teams that have had an easy run but I think I'd rather be battle hardened and full of momentum, the time to meet the Dubs is the quarter or semi final, Kerry will always be hard to beat as will the likes of Galway,
Our Ulster buddies haven't gone away either, they will regroup and battle on, all dangerous teams, there has to be another kick in Derry.
If we beat Tyrone again this season in Championship do we get to keep them? lol Tyrone will be back no worries, still massive potential there.
I agree on the stupid booing of opposition frees, it's classless imo. I have heard Mayo fans at it more than anyone down the years, rem them booing Michael Murphy that day in Castlebar, it's disgusting childish behaviour and has no place in the GAA.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2859 - 26/05/2024 11:29:10    2547170

Great performance last night, team looking fresh and hungry.
Beat Cork and we have 4 weeks to prepare for a quarter-final against a preliminary winner ( Mayo, Derry, Armagh, Louth possibly) who will be playing for the 3rd week in a row. If we can avoid Dublin/Kerry in Semi-final draw we could be in business.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 729 - 26/05/2024 11:50:23    2547176

One of the best displays from a Donegal team I have seen in a long time, good defensively, solid in midfield and a great variety in our attacking play. By winning the group we can ensure playing every two weeks from here on in, important to avoid the preliminary quarter final.

Also I thought the pace in our play and our fitness levels were outstanding

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 957 - 26/05/2024 11:56:55    2547179

I wouldn't be able to add much to what's been said here already. Absolutely fantastic performance from the lads. Fitness, work rate, decision making & quality score taking all in evidence last night. Great to see & long may it continue.

One tiny criticism is that we don't create a lot of goal scoring chances. I know Ciaran Thompson almost finished off a lovely team move last night, but other than that, I can't remember us threatening Morgan's goal too much.

I'd discount the Derry game as their tactics that day left them a sitting duck.

But look, as Donegal supporters we're in dreamland at the minute compared to this time last year. McGuinness is truly the Oracle. There was a lot of half-wit online commentary when Jim returned, that he was "going to ruin football again" etc etc. Not so much noise out of them now.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 26/05/2024 13:11:02    2547189

Great win that. The shackles definitely came off a bit, from both teams actually. The difference the two weeks made to eoghan ban was huge. He look really good and when you add his running power to the likes of mogan, moore, Shane o'donnell, mcgonagle, mchugh the become very hard to play against, particularly if you go more man on man and give them space to run into. Niall o'donnells play making ability was very evident.
Interesting that he had only on recognised man marker in mccole. He really wants every player to be a threat going forward so the opposition don't really know who to defend against and he wants the players to have pace. Conversely though the attackers are expected to work hard and cover back as well. That probably doesn't suit the likes of mcbreaty and gallen but so be it. Also glad they took gallen off near the end as he does fatigue and that increases the chance of injury.

Also they closed our the last 5/10 mins really well. Mchugh controlled the tempo and patton came our and created the overlaps really well to create points. And my goodness mogan was super yesterday. His pace but also his stamina and ground he covers is very impressive.

And great to see such a crowd and enthusiasm. Pity it's not a two week break as players have really no option but get off the field straight away at the end and get into recovery for cork.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 26/05/2024 13:42:01    2547199

Quite a statement win that was last night. Very dominant around the middle with Jason again excellent and Michael Lanagan really finding his form again....he was superb. Tyrone didn't tie down Ryan as effectively on this occasion and he was very influential. The return of Patton also made a big difference compared to the first game. That's just to mention a few in a fantastic win. It's hard but not be excited about what lies ahead especially if you're one of those who had a 50/1 or 33/1 docket directly after Jim came in. Looking ahead we should win the group and straight into the quarter finals at which stage I'd like not to see another Ulster rival. Jim really does have it but this was a decent group just needed the right person to drive them on. Anyone who has played sport at a decent level can attest to the importance of good management and coaching to overall performance.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2792 - 26/05/2024 14:46:13    2547211

Replying To rorysboys:  "Brilliant performance, we're really playing well. My worry is the games are coming thick and fast can we sustain it. Take Kerry Dublin out of it there's no one else we would fear. Can we beat Dublin or Kerry we can definitely beat Kerry as for Dublin I still think it's a bit early, but as we seen in 2014 anything is possible.. . It's been a great year so far but I feel it's far from over yet. Hopefully the injuries stay away . Cork away next Saturday it's along trek but I can't see cork beating us. They will let us play so it should be a good game. Heading down Friday but only staying Friday night all these games are taking a toll on rorysboys pocket, but I don't care no better place to be than following your county.. we had a lot of brilliant performances but I can't forget peadar mogan what a performance this man is special watched him from underage level by god he is a special player an all star in waiting.."
Settle down man, there is a lot of football to be played before we start thinking about Dublin or Kerry.
Brilliant performance yesterday and we played well for the full 75 minutes or so.
Yes Mogan has improved considerably under Jim, the talent was always there but now with his fitness and licence to attack he has gone to the next level.
The booing is disgusting and has no place at Donegal matches, the only dissappointing thing about yesterday.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 26/05/2024 16:23:23    2547251