Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Go away now our defence has always been a problem since Lacey etc retired. If you think otherwise that's your prerogative. Hopefully we can build on last Sunday."
It'll never happen but a return to man-on-man football might see us develop better one-on-one defenders and inside forwards who can win their own ball, take on a man and score.

It was very interesting to hear Darran O'Sullivan talking about Kerry's struggles. He mentioned that Kerry have stopped kicking the ball. He also referred to David Moran's retirement being a huge loss. Moran was a great man for winning ball & his first instinct was always to kick it accurately into the inside forwards.

There is a growing disillusionment with how the game is currently being played. This craic of holding onto possession and passing it backwards ad nauseum is not what most supporters want to see.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 07/06/2023 10:32:03    2484667

Replying To The keeper:  "You see if you actually watched Naomh Conail on a regular basis, you would see that our manager constantly plays young talent in the league.
We are actually county champions, so the manager doesn't need to justify his selection to rorysboys, lol.

We stayed with Derry up until it mattered, and that is a mental and fitness issue.
What is it the great managers used to call it, the championship quarter (third quarter). It's where most games are won or lost. We are weak mentally when the going gets tough, but to be fair to the players, it has been a turbulent year.
Nobody can judge the team this year with the whole shambles of the county board, players injured, players opting out, and the loss of MM.

If we get our house in order and start to rebuild next year with structure and build confidence and resilience, then we will know where we are talent wise.

I have faith in Donegal footballers, we just need to give them the right platform to produce there best."
So he doesn't trust the young players in knockout football. So frustrating for the young players. If you're happy keeper that's good. But I guarantee you a lot of the young players are not.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 07/06/2023 11:41:12    2484700

Replying To rorysboys:  "Go away now our defence has always been a problem since Lacey etc retired. If you think otherwise that's your prerogative. Hopefully we can build on last Sunday."
If you think Scenicparish comment deserves a "go away now" you're away with the faeries. Did you watch the match or just read the score-line? Each of Derry's goals, and most of their points came from un-checked runs from their full-back and half-back line. If you think that's the fault of the defence then I don't know what to tell you.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 401 - 07/06/2023 11:41:27    2484701

Croke Park recommend that Donegal GAA appoint a Head of Operations to oversee coaching, finance and governance, and a new committee to be formed to oversee the workings of the underage academy.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1123 - 07/06/2023 12:33:07    2484718

Replying To Commodore:  "We could have had another one or two goals ourselves and we left a good few points behind us, we could have won that game just as easily as Derry.

As I said, our man markers weren't to blame for us conceding goals, it wasn't out back six, it was our midfield and attacking six who were supposed to be tracking Derry half backs. Watch the match again closely, watch were the free Derry runner is coming from, in each case it was a runner from deep who lost his tracker. Now in one case Jason McGee dropped with cramp/injury, so those are things that can't be helped.

But overall I have been more impressed with our defending in the last 2 games, lots more physicality compared to earlier this year and while there is inexperience in our defence, I actually see things in a more positive light.
Great work by Aidan O'Rourke and Paddy Bradley."
We play zonally. We had all men behind the man with a set defence. Agree it was runners from deep that caused the issue but it was more our defensive structure that was the issue. They simply over powered us as the game went on. We stopped it for as long as we could.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1143 - 07/06/2023 13:37:25    2484740

Replying To Commodore:  "Croke Park recommend that Donegal GAA appoint a Head of Operations to oversee coaching, finance and governance, and a new committee to be formed to oversee the workings of the underage academy."
We can't keep a Games Development manager in position so good luck with another one.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 817 - 07/06/2023 13:42:04    2484741

We conceded 3:14 and probably should have conceded Alot more yet it's not the defenders fault. Yea there runners caused problems but sure anytime Derry attacked we had 14 behind the ball. They got through us so easy in the second half. I would be very worried about meeting a top side in the preliminary quarter final. If we don't shore up we'll be in big trouble. We need Stephen Mc menamin back especially.. I agree we showed well on Sunday but we are short a lot of top players. A lot of players like Mc niallas and Mc brearty ( Stephen) being mentioned but forget about them. They seem to not want to commit so look to the future with players who do . The o donnells nial and Shane will be back next year plus Mc fadden ferry so there's a nucleus of a good team there.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 07/06/2023 14:46:00    2484761

Replying To peiledoir20:  "We can't keep a Games Development manager in position so good luck with another one."
My understanding is that this role will be filled via Croke Park, not Donegal GAA.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1123 - 07/06/2023 14:46:15    2484762

Replying To Commodore:  "My understanding is that this role will be filled via Croke Park, not Donegal GAA."
Who do we see as suitable candidates?

Paul McGonigle the obvious name that comes to mind.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 817 - 07/06/2023 15:12:53    2484771

Replying To rorysboys:  "So he doesn't trust the young players in knockout football. So frustrating for the young players. If you're happy keeper that's good. But I guarantee you a lot of the young players are not."
Once again you prove you know zero about our club and just chance your arm with your comments. NC played 3 young players over the weekend. Obviously he does have trust in them.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 297 - 07/06/2023 15:32:48    2484777

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Who do we see as suitable candidates?

Paul McGonigle the obvious name that comes to mind."
No idea, obviously it would depend on the job description and whether candidates meet the criteria. It could be someone from outside the County if Croke Park are involved.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1123 - 07/06/2023 17:01:09    2484804

Replying To tidytownman:  "Once again you prove you know zero about our club and just chance your arm with your comments. NC played 3 young players over the weekend. Obviously he does have trust in them."
Don't be so sensitive I only stated what I seen.. yous played 3 players over 3 matches well done but yous always played 3 over 35. Nothing against these outstanding players just making a point where's this young talent that n Conal have.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 07/06/2023 18:20:31    2484821

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't be so sensitive I only stated what I seen.. yous played 3 players over 3 matches well done but yous always played 3 over 35. Nothing against these outstanding players just making a point where's this young talent that n Conal have."
You see your missing the point as usual, which is no great surprise, lack of knowledge.

A good team is a combination of experience and Young talent mixed together. Hence why we are county champions, even through we were missing one of our best forwards last season and also one of our best defenders.

And it's very simple as regards Donegal conceding so much even through we got men back. We are not agressive enough, and that had nothing to do with talent, and everything to do with coaching and preparing the team in the right manner.

Agression and work rate and structure are learned at training, if you don't burst through the wall at training, it will never happen in a game when the going gets tough.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 07/06/2023 19:31:01    2484828

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't be so sensitive I only stated what I seen.. yous played 3 players over 3 matches well done but yous always played 3 over 35. Nothing against these outstanding players just making a point where's this young talent that n Conal have."
I am surprised that someone with your level of knowledge has time to be posting on this forum, I would have thought you would be coaching the young fellas at your own club to prevent n conaills old men from winning county titles, a man with your eye for football is wasted posting on this forum. I hope for martin Regan's sake you don't go into management because you are obviously more knowledgeable about how to pick a team than he is.

tirconaillabu (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 07/06/2023 19:39:18    2484830

Sensitive? Don't make me laugh. Nobody can mention the Bonner name on here without you going into meltdown.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 297 - 07/06/2023 20:01:00    2484835

Thoroughly enjoyed the sport over the weekend . From club football on in the Banks to Donegal on Sunday.

We can sit here and talk about xyz… if we had this player and this player. Fair play to the lads that are there and battling hard for the county. Monaghan will be an interesting game/test.

Fair play to Glenties making another final. Thought they were unlucky not to win. Felt they should have played Eoghan way closer to goal. I seen Charles Mc G and Nathan Byrne not togged? Are they carrying knocks? Has Kieran Gallagher disappeared again?
Gweedore just didn't have enough experience on the field to see the game through. Kevin was still able to get up off the ground.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 07/06/2023 20:03:51    2484836

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It'll never happen but a return to man-on-man football might see us develop better one-on-one defenders and inside forwards who can win their own ball, take on a man and score.

It was very interesting to hear Darran O'Sullivan talking about Kerry's struggles. He mentioned that Kerry have stopped kicking the ball. He also referred to David Moran's retirement being a huge loss. Moran was a great man for winning ball & his first instinct was always to kick it accurately into the inside forwards.

There is a growing disillusionment with how the game is currently being played. This craic of holding onto possession and passing it backwards ad nauseum is not what most supporters want to see."
True, this tactical keep ball stuff is a complete borefest, plus the fact that this new split season is a complete disaster imo, if you read Pat Spilanne's comments on this website I think he is spot on, we have been sold a pup.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 07/06/2023 21:06:30    2484845

Dunno what game some people on here were watching on Sunday judging by some of he posts. Anyone praising O'Rourke and Bradley for the work with the defence must have missed the fact that Derry could have scored 6 goals and how they opened up our defence multiple times. Also, in terms of fitness, our players are nowhere near the fitness levels of the top teams. Derry players looked fresh at the end of the game while many of our players were struggling for the last quarter, many of them cramping up.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 483 - 07/06/2023 22:06:21    2484852

If you watched Naomh Conaill matches on a regular basis you would see the manager slowly integrates the young players into the team. To have so many older players still playing at the top level is an absolute credit to them and the club in general. There is no aminosity between players as you are implying. We at Naomh Conaill are one big family and we must be doing all right when we are current County Champions.........

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 301 - 07/06/2023 22:42:44    2484855

Replying To rorysboys:  "We conceded 3:14 and probably should have conceded Alot more yet it's not the defenders fault. Yea there runners caused problems but sure anytime Derry attacked we had 14 behind the ball. They got through us so easy in the second half. I would be very worried about meeting a top side in the preliminary quarter final. If we don't shore up we'll be in big trouble. We need Stephen Mc menamin back especially.. I agree we showed well on Sunday but we are short a lot of top players. A lot of players like Mc niallas and Mc brearty ( Stephen) being mentioned but forget about them. They seem to not want to commit so look to the future with players who do . The o donnells nial and Shane will be back next year plus Mc fadden ferry so there's a nucleus of a good team there."
You are now contradicting yourself. You are saying when Derry attacked we had 14 players behind the ball. Why then are you blaming the defence alone for all Donegal problems then so?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 301 - 07/06/2023 22:46:43    2484856