Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I knew very little about Paddy Carr before he got the job and I know about as much about him now. He seems a very decent honourable man though from what I seen of him when he had the job, the only game we won worth talking about was beating Kerry in McCumhaill park when Paddy was in charge.
I wish the man all the best in the future anyway.
I think if we don't beat Clare it will be a new low point for us, no disrespect to Clare but I think we should be beating them if we are at ourselves at all."
Kerry were pathetic in the League, absolutely nothing should be taken from that game.
Paddy Cart is a nice man but nice men don't make good managers......pardon the pun from past few days.
No disrespect to you or any other Donegal supporter but Donegal will not beat Clare......reasons have been discussed on this forum, nothing against Donegal football just a combination of things.... If the game was in Ballybofey or if they played Clare in the third game maybe they would have a chance, but not first game in Ennis.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 11/05/2023 21:16:54    2477744

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Kerry were pathetic in the League, absolutely nothing should be taken from that game.
Paddy Cart is a nice man but nice men don't make good managers......pardon the pun from past few days.
No disrespect to you or any other Donegal supporter but Donegal will not beat Clare......reasons have been discussed on this forum, nothing against Donegal football just a combination of things.... If the game was in Ballybofey or if they played Clare in the third game maybe they would have a chance, but not first game in Ennis."
Yeah it's very disheartening when the right structures aren't in place to give our players the best possible platform to demonstarte their ability. If it was the case that there was just a dearth of talent and we found ourselves where we are, you'd say fair enough. Back to the drawing board and lets concentrate on developing our youth structures to produce footballers for the senior team.

But there is still plenty of abaility within the county to be doing much better than we are, even accounting for the huge losses to retirement like Murphy and McGee.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 12/05/2023 11:49:46    2477822

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah it's very disheartening when the right structures aren't in place to give our players the best possible platform to demonstarte their ability. If it was the case that there was just a dearth of talent and we found ourselves where we are, you'd say fair enough. Back to the drawing board and lets concentrate on developing our youth structures to produce footballers for the senior team.

But there is still plenty of abaility within the county to be doing much better than we are, even accounting for the huge losses to retirement like Murphy and McGee."
There isn't plenty of ability in the county that's the whole point. That's the problem, the players aren't there. It's time to hit the rest button and start again.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 12/05/2023 12:37:58    2477843

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "There isn't plenty of ability in the county that's the whole point. That's the problem, the players aren't there. It's time to hit the rest button and start again."
Maybe not in terms of contending for All Irelands, or perhaps even provincial titles at present. But they're certainly capable of better than what they've showed in 2023.

if I gave you this squad fully fit and without all the BS sideshow stuff we've seen this year they'd certainly have been capable of beating Down and possibly even Armagh.

1. Patton
2. McFadden-Ferry
3. McCole
4. McMenamin
5. McHugh
6. Gallagher
7. Mogan
8. McGee
9. McGonagle
10. Thompson
11. Langan
12. N O'Donnell
13. McBrearty
14. Gallen
15. Brennan

Subs:
Curran
McColgan
Ward
O'Baoíll
MacCeallbhuí
McFadden
Tobin
C O'Donnell
McGettigan

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 12/05/2023 13:14:08    2477857

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "There isn't plenty of ability in the county that's the whole point. That's the problem, the players aren't there. It's time to hit the rest button and start again."
I think we still have plenty of excellent players if they are managed properly and given the leadership to be their best.
If we didn't have talent like we have available you'd say fair enough but I believe we should be doing much better with what we have despite the retirements and fellas stepping away,
hopefully next year we will get things back on track, and I think we will beat Clare, either way doesn't really matter as this season is a washout anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/05/2023 13:16:18    2477859

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Maybe not in terms of contending for All Irelands, or perhaps even provincial titles at present. But they're certainly capable of better than what they've showed in 2023.

if I gave you this squad fully fit and without all the BS sideshow stuff we've seen this year they'd certainly have been capable of beating Down and possibly even Armagh.

1. Patton
2. McFadden-Ferry
3. McCole
4. McMenamin
5. McHugh
6. Gallagher
7. Mogan
8. McGee
9. McGonagle
10. Thompson
11. Langan
12. N O'Donnell
13. McBrearty
14. Gallen
15. Brennan

Subs:
Curran
McColgan
Ward
O'Baoíll
MacCeallbhuí
McFadden
Tobin
C O'Donnell
McGettigan"
Jesus wept. That team fully fit and available would beat Down, yes. But Donegal at the moment are not within a thousand miles of Derry, Armagh or Tyrone. They just aren't.
The first thing you have to do overcome a problem is admit there is one......

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 12/05/2023 13:29:11    2477864

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think we still have plenty of excellent players if they are managed properly and given the leadership to be their best.
If we didn't have talent like we have available you'd say fair enough but I believe we should be doing much better with what we have despite the retirements and fellas stepping away,
hopefully next year we will get things back on track, and I think we will beat Clare, either way doesn't really matter as this season is a washout anyway."
As much as I would love to see it... Donegal will not beat Clare, unless conditions are extremely bad and Clare have an off day. People have it in their heads that because Donegal best Kerry in the league and Kerry hammered Clare that Donegal could/should beat them. Clares fitness levels are twice what Donegals are. Clares downfall against Kerry was turn overs and part of that was stage fright of playing the All Ireland champions. They will be no stage fright in Ennis vs Donegal. Collins will have them concentrating on the turnovers issue.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 12/05/2023 13:33:21    2477868

Have many players dropped off your panel since the loss against Down?

Westmeath played Donegal in a challenge game last night and from all accounts Donegal only had 18 players togged out...

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 383 - 12/05/2023 14:04:58    2477873

Replying To Temple56:  "Have many players dropped off your panel since the loss against Down?

Westmeath played Donegal in a challenge game last night and from all accounts Donegal only had 18 players togged out..."
how did it go?

armaghfan02 (Armagh) - Posts: 39 - 12/05/2023 14:18:37    2477878

Fitness and strength and conditioning seems to be a problem with all Donegal teams this last year or more and this should not be the case ,plenty of money spent on preparing these teams, yet lots of injuries and teams not fit to last full game. This season is lost at this stage , so nothing can be done. A new management team with trainers and coaches needs to be put in place by 1st July for all County Teams and work with or be part of Academy all working together, same applies for the Ladies teams, a complete clean out.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 12/05/2023 14:30:13    2477882

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Jesus wept. That team fully fit and available would beat Down, yes. But Donegal at the moment are not within a thousand miles of Derry, Armagh or Tyrone. They just aren't.
The first thing you have to do overcome a problem is admit there is one......"
I'm not saying there isn't a problem, there are obviously massive fundmental problems to be addressed before we can even think of being contenders in Ulster again, never mind the All Ireland.

But you stated in an earlier post that "there isn't plenty of ability in the county". I disagree with that. We'll always have decent footballers in this county. But until we address these underlying issues plenty of it will go waste.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 12/05/2023 14:36:51    2477888

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I'm not saying there isn't a problem, there are obviously massive fundmental problems to be addressed before we can even think of being contenders in Ulster again, never mind the All Ireland.

But you stated in an earlier post that "there isn't plenty of ability in the county". I disagree with that. We'll always have decent footballers in this county. But until we address these underlying issues plenty of it will go waste."
If everybody that is currently in the panel was fully fit and committed to the cause we might not be that bad despite what the Kerry Man we are stuck with thinks but there are a couple of iffs there.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 12/05/2023 15:21:30    2477901

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I'm not saying there isn't a problem, there are obviously massive fundmental problems to be addressed before we can even think of being contenders in Ulster again, never mind the All Ireland.

But you stated in an earlier post that "there isn't plenty of ability in the county". I disagree with that. We'll always have decent footballers in this county. But until we address these underlying issues plenty of it will go waste."
You obviously don't see many club games, standard is appaling. The way clubs are setting up and playing it's turning footballers into robots ,marthon runners and gym freaks. It's not just Donegal. The skill is being sucked out of the game.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 12/05/2023 16:00:45    2477918

Replying To gunman:  "If everybody that is currently in the panel was fully fit and committed to the cause we might not be that bad despite what the Kerry Man we are stuck with thinks but there are a couple of iffs there."
Why is so many players in the Donegal panel not fit? Why are so many club and county players around the county "injured"
Why aren't these county players committed ?

Why can't clubs put out reserve teams?
Why does Donegal run the most complicated county championship structure known to man?

I said at the beginning of the year Donegal wouldn't win a game. Bar beating Kerry in their worst performance in past ten years, they haven't and they won't.

It's not because I am anti Donegal, I am playing and coaching up her the guys of 15 years. I celebrated with ye guys when ye won the All Ireland and Ulsters. I was embarrassed on how we (Kerry) had to play in 2014 to beat Donegal, ye should have won that day. Donegal were the best and most consistent county in ulster for the best part of a decade and could have won a 3rd or 4th AI only for some serious teams being around the same time.

Donegal are in a low place right now, and Donegal supporters simply saying sure it will be grand next year, players will be back and injury free and a new manager will be in place, that things aren't that bad and Donegal will be back competing with the likes of Armagh... Those who think that are in for a big shock and until we all realise the size of the problem and all try and work together to fix it, the whole thing is doomed.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 12/05/2023 16:13:55    2477927

The below team could win Ulster and compete against decent sides. Plenty of pace throughout and skill with scoring forwards.

Many saw Donegal as a one man team when Murphy played, my hope was that we could have our strongest 15 available so we could show people we have the talent.

Unfortunately, this year's panel is extremely weak due to long term injuries, new injuries,and opt outs. Our S and C and physio work needs serious questioning.

Patton

Ban
Mc Cole
Grant (not getting picked)

Ryan(out for season)
MC Fadden Ferry (out for season)
Mogan (out for season)

Langan(out for season)
Mc Gonagle
Thompson

Niall O Donnell (not in this season)
Shane O Donnell (not in this season)
Conor O Donnell

MC Brearty (out for season)
Gallan(carrying an injury)

Subs.
Jeaic Mc Kelvey
Ethan O Donnell
Conor O Donnell Senior
Jamie Brennan
Jason Mc Gee
Eoghan Mc Gettigan
Hugh Mc Fadden
Aaron Doherty
Eoin MC Hugh
Stevie c Menamin
C.Ward
Paul Brennan
Mark Curran
Mc Colgan
Odhran MC Niallis (unlikely)

Probably forgetting a few others.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 12/05/2023 17:58:43    2477945

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "You obviously don't see many club games, standard is appaling. The way clubs are setting up and playing it's turning footballers into robots ,marthon runners and gym freaks. It's not just Donegal. The skill is being sucked out of the game."
You are 100% right. Club football is awful in the county. Skillful Players being stifled, having to fit into the system, playing with fear in case they lose possession and get called out by the stats man. Clubs paying thousands to coaches who coach systems instead of coaching players.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 462 - 13/05/2023 09:17:53    2477996

Replying To TheRock2121:  "The below team could win Ulster and compete against decent sides. Plenty of pace throughout and skill with scoring forwards.

Many saw Donegal as a one man team when Murphy played, my hope was that we could have our strongest 15 available so we could show people we have the talent.

Unfortunately, this year's panel is extremely weak due to long term injuries, new injuries,and opt outs. Our S and C and physio work needs serious questioning.

Patton

Ban
Mc Cole
Grant (not getting picked)

Ryan(out for season)
MC Fadden Ferry (out for season)
Mogan (out for season)

Langan(out for season)
Mc Gonagle
Thompson

Niall O Donnell (not in this season)
Shane O Donnell (not in this season)
Conor O Donnell

MC Brearty (out for season)
Gallan(carrying an injury)

Subs.
Jeaic Mc Kelvey
Ethan O Donnell
Conor O Donnell Senior
Jamie Brennan
Jason Mc Gee
Eoghan Mc Gettigan
Hugh Mc Fadden
Aaron Doherty
Eoin MC Hugh
Stevie c Menamin
C.Ward
Paul Brennan
Mark Curran
Mc Colgan
Odhran MC Niallis (unlikely)

Probably forgetting a few others."
Definitely think there is a problem with the S+C . It's not all bad luck that so many players pick up injuries, ould be that there's not enough core strengthening work being done.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 462 - 13/05/2023 09:20:03    2477997

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "You obviously don't see many club games, standard is appaling. The way clubs are setting up and playing it's turning footballers into robots ,marthon runners and gym freaks. It's not just Donegal. The skill is being sucked out of the game."
It's all about winning, not about playing entertaining football and I agree it is killing the game, thing is though if you had county management with a different philosophy they can coach and set their team up to play the way they want regardless of how the clubs are setting up.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 13/05/2023 10:43:07    2478010

The sad thing is in most cases it's about keeping the scoreline down. Clubs hire outside S+C, Trainers and managers paying them for their services, which is fair enough. But when a lot of the time it's all about keeping the oppositions score down there is a big problem. It's all about making it look respectable. Losing by 3-4 by playing 13 behind the ball is a moral victory in their eyes rather than having a go and getting beaten by far more. But you get the same outcome losing a game by 3 or by 30, but these trainers, coaches or managers are thinking about their next job.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 13/05/2023 12:38:31    2478040

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It's all about winning, not about playing entertaining football and I agree it is killing the game, thing is though if you had county management with a different philosophy they can coach and set their team up to play the way they want regardless of how the clubs are setting up."
Hmmmm i wonder who started all this carry on

germac (Down) - Posts: 533 - 13/05/2023 21:21:45    2478168