Well down awaits us. We don't know what to expect but we still have the nucleus of a good team. Sunday won't be easy but there's absolutely no reason why we can't win this game. As for what team we'll have we probably won't know till Friday when the 26 is released. Hopefully we'll get a good support il be leaving early to get in early for the minor game. . These lads have given up a lot to play for Donegal.. with eoin Mc gettigan back in the squad , can't see him starting but he might be introduced if the game is in the melting pot late on but with him being out so long it'll be very difficult for him to have a big impact. The keeper might know more about his sharpness. rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2616 - 17/04/2023 17:24:32 2471428 Link 0 |
Ah jez rorysboys give it a rest would you, we've a team this year compared to bonners last Yr of no murp mchugh mcbreaty N od Sod Omc FF and not to mention Neil if needed that's a huge chunk of certain starters on any team. I've good time for declan but he stayed a year too long tbh. We'd be far better in transition if he wasn't there last year. And before you start I will be there on Sunday as usual but I won't be going about bragging about it for weeks afterwards. I'm hopeful of a response this Sunday aswell. Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 17/04/2023 18:26:46 2471442 Link 1 |
Looking at the elder lemons of Monaghan yesterday made me think why MM packed it in surely he could have contributed for another year.
neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 17/04/2023 19:44:05 2471448 Link 0 |
I'd rather have a few wides than have players afraid to kick wides. There were points kicked from positions yesterday by Tyrone and Monaghan that our players would have recycled. SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 781 - 17/04/2023 23:49:13 2471475 Link 1 |
I think that's fair comment. Declan stayed on a year too many, had he stepped away after 2021 we'd have been in an excellent position to push on for an All-Ireland and the job would have been very attractive to a new manager. Murphy is likely to have stayed on too. Instead what happened was Bonner stayed too long, he then took an age to step down which delayed the process starting and then we all know the disaster that followed. We are now paying for that shambles. PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 154 - 18/04/2023 10:26:59 2471503 Link 1 |
The obvious reason he stayed on was that players wanted him. If not he would have been gone.. easy to say that he should have left. He left this year and look what happened.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2616 - 18/04/2023 12:09:49 2471538 Link 1 |
This is very unfair on Declan, he stepped down relatively quickly and it took what, 3 or 4 months for the farce of a replacement selection to happen? I have my issues with rorysboys and how he goes on and we disagree on the end of Declan's tenure but don't think this is fair on Declan at all CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 180 - 18/04/2023 12:46:28 2471551 Link 0 |
We know roughly what kind of squad we have available, but maybe aren't so sure about where different players are at in terms on injuries and sharpness. What would you make of the team below? Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9766 - 18/04/2023 12:54:44 2471555 Link 0 |
you're asking me questions that I never went on about, I didn't be posting before this year but I lurked a long time. I don't think there's any big swathe of talent that was staying away because of Declan, in fact I agree with you the man has huge respect within the county and the players and I don't really think anyone who wasn't involved in the panel the last few years under Declan was really good enough to have made a huge difference. You get hung up on the same old arguments but never address that Declans tenure had gone stale towards the end, he got spooked or something changed after the Cavan Ulster final defeat and the problem in the last while was a mindset, not a talent pool and not Declan's own ability as a coach in my view. I still think we have good enough players with a full deck to challenge for an All-Ireland, even with how bad this year has gone. Not much has changed from last year in terms of the talent in the county, and we were not far away. We fell apart against Armagh in that 2nd game but with just a bit more tactical nous and bravery we'd be Ulster champions last year again. That final was the tiniest margins and I think Declan lost it on the line as much as anything. but there's no use going on about what was, even though that's what you love to do and I know you think you're just better and more knowledgeable than anyone else, I dunno why you can't imagine any other type of supporter who goes to games and just doesn't think you're 100% right, but it's a concept you seem to struggle with anyways because you just default to calling other people deluded or spoofers or bluffers or whatever else and just get everyones backs up CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 180 - 18/04/2023 13:10:31 2471563 Link 2 |
Bonner did great things at underage and the start of his senior stint but it went stale after that. We lost games we should have won and we seemed to get stuck without improving. We simply didnt progress in 2021 and 2022. You can call that unfair if you like but I think it's fairly well acknowledged by most that we regressed. After loosing heavily to Armagh in the qualifiers it took Bonner nearly 7 weeks to step down. He has since said that he knew he was stepping down the day we lost to Armagh so why did he wait?. That was 7 valuable weeks wasted. We all know the farce that followed but it certainly wasn't helped by the length of time Bonner took. Its all water under the bridge now I guess. I am hopeful that we can do something in Newry, not expecting a lot just hopeful as Down are no great shakes. PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 154 - 18/04/2023 13:53:24 2471574 Link 2 |
Agree with some of your points but not about losing it on the line. In a game of small margins the winning manager is called a genius and the losing manager is no good. Last years Ulster final firstly was lost by Mc menamin losing pattons kickout with us 2 ahead and 7 minutes to go. Absolutely nothing to do with bonner or rochford. Just bad luck on pattons and Mc menamin s behalf. Yet as is the norm in this county is players are blameless .secondly with time almost up and us level .it was the players that decided to play keep ball and not go for the win. By the way I know nobody agrees with me on here but instead of attacking me take a wee step back and think to yourself that maybe this person does know what he's talking about..I'm looking forward to Sunday . Hope to see yous all. Up donegal
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2616 - 18/04/2023 13:53:28 2471575 Link 0 |
Great post. Rorysboys is passionate about Donegal GAA for sure, that can't be disputed. But I think most fair-minded people did, and still do, have great time for Declan Bonner & fully appreciate what he gave to Donegal GAA both as a player, and as a manager (twice). There is no doubt though that things had run their course under his tenure. It's not just a Donegal thing. It happens frequently in other teams, and even other sports. Things need freshening up, and players need a new voice to challenge them. That isn't necessarily a slight on Declan, more a case of it just was what it was. Now I do agree with you that things have been handled woefully since then. It's easy to say now, "oh sure we should've just stuck with Declan & everything would've been grand". But if another world, with a properly functioning executive, we could've had a Kav/Lacey/Jim ticket in place in good time. Perhaps even Murphy would still be involved, and things would be a whole lot better looking than they are. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9766 - 18/04/2023 14:02:01 2471576 Link 3 |
There is absolutely no doubt that Murphy would still be playing if everything hadn't fallen apart.
greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 441 - 18/04/2023 14:38:47 2471587 Link 1 |
do we not believe what Murphy said??
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1153 - 18/04/2023 15:25:59 2471603 Link 0 |
Did you not believe him when he said he said he was excited for the upcoming season under Paddy Carr? https://highlandradio.com/2022/11/05/michael-murphy-excited-to-get-working-with-new-donegal-managers-paddy-carr-aidan-orourke/ greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 441 - 18/04/2023 15:57:56 2471608 Link 1 |
I think the players deserve blame but I don't think we plucked a conservative keep-ball tactic outta nowhere in the final years of Declan's tenure. That attitude comes from the sideline. And if the players are going rogue and Declan is shouting at them to go for the win and they ignore him, you don't think that's a management issue either? Players are not blameless in that situation but that would say to me the manager has lost control of them, you think a manager should stay in situ in that scenario? A lot of your arguments seem to be that Declan had no influence to change any of these things And playing Murphy out the field for Rogers to have a field day with his mobility was a disaster that they never addressed from the sideline. You can be generous and say that Murphy would do what he want on the pitch, but even if you do take that view, Declan is the manager, so he deserves a good portion of blame for that. I would say the most disappointing aspect from the players is not showing the steel or nerve to figure things out on the pitch themselves. But things changed with Declan you can't deny that. I don't even have too much of an issue with mirroring Derry on the day last year they are a nightmare set up and I'd challenge the best in the country to have taken them on that day in that heat in Clones. But he didn't adapt from the sideline and the players didn't take the opportunity that was there. I'm looking forward to the game as well I love championship and like I said I still think we've good talent in the county. Even if we lose this weekend the All-Ireland group stages are a great opportunity. CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 180 - 18/04/2023 16:26:36 2471618 Link 1 |
No. What else could he say. Murphy too much of a gentleman. Absolutely no way should Murphy not be playing this Sunday. Get our house in order and get rid of the egos. For god sake this is championship week . We should all be getting ready to travel to Newry in huge numbers, sadly this is not going to happen.. which is a shame for the senior and minor teams.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2616 - 18/04/2023 16:30:32 2471623 Link 0 |
I like the team. To be honest we don't have any other options. I'd start Hughie at 14 to occupy a defender and keep him in there. I'm hearing Mogan is out and Gallan. Hopefully wrong on both accounts.
TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 18/04/2023 17:11:35 2471636 Link 0 |
Mogan and Gallen definitely out according to an interview with Aidan O'Rourke.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 636 - 18/04/2023 18:48:47 2471650 Link 0 |
No, as much respect as I have for him as a footballer, there's no real reason for any of us to believe anything he has told the media. It's PR, and politics, and it's ok to be cynical about it. Murphy won't get upset by someone not taking him at his word. By all means, it won't be the last time!
SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 452 - 18/04/2023 18:51:20 2471651 Link 2 |