If you look today you had Conor McManus score 1-6 you have a rejuvenated Aiden O'Shea and we have a retired Michael Murphy. I fully believe we have been short shafted of the greatness that is Murphy and it all boils down to previous management and county board. He should have been in around the square last year and for the next 2-3. That would probably have kept Bonner in a job and we would have none of this fiasco that's happening at the minute. naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 26/03/2023 16:57:56 2466762 Link 2 |
He should have been on the edge of the square for the last 3/4 years and ball put into him… he would be virtually unmarkeable … the guts was ran out of him tearing around the middle of the pitch… bad management
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3841 - 26/03/2023 17:02:23 2466768 Link 1 |
Time to wipe the slate now, knuckle down and focus on down go after the 3 odonnells as they got a raw deal when paddy came in. Hopefully Ryan will be rearing to go in a few wks time and lads build up some fitness. Put the league behind now and forget about it till next Yr. Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 26/03/2023 17:29:30 2466791 Link 0 |
Just back from Hyde Park. Abysmal stuff, aside from all the rubbish going on at administrative level, the players need to look at themselves too. They got rid of Carr but very few of them were prepared to walk the walk today. I wasn't expecting a win but I thought we might see some chinks of light. Bradley and orourke need to be moved on and we need a management team now to take us forward, not an appointment in the autumn. totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 26/03/2023 17:38:58 2466796 Link 1 |
How did the 3 O Donnells get a raw deal?
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 486 - 26/03/2023 17:41:30 2466798 Link 2 |
Tw o of them Explained they wouldn't be able to commit right away for different reasons but could come in later on and we're told if they missed the start of training that's it for this year, the other that could of committed never got a call.
Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 26/03/2023 18:01:10 2466812 Link 1 |
Another week gone by, another 15 minute display, and again the wheels came off. Like last week we were trailing by 0-06 to 0-05 with 15 minutes played. But you could sense that we wouldn't be able to sustain that start. Another week where our first score of the second half drew a derisory cheer from the crowd, because the game was long over as a contest. Truthfully, we were lucky to keep it to 12 points. Roscommon carved us open on a number of occasions. Patton made a couple of saves, and they butchered probably 3 clear goal chances. SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 777 - 26/03/2023 18:13:47 2466819 Link 0 |
Why???
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 26/03/2023 18:13:57 2466820 Link 0 |
I hate giving out about players but that was abysmally poor. They've a few week to get themselves sorted out. They got rid of Paddy Carr but didn't back it up today. I travelled yesterday and was expecting a kick from us.
Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 26/03/2023 18:14:28 2466821 Link 0 |
Is this actually true, spending 35k on a wkend training camp for the seniors, with us just after spending a fortune on a Centre of excellence. The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 26/03/2023 18:44:11 2466844 Link 1 |
Back from Hyde, what can you say another shocking performance. Didn't expect us to win but thought there would be a bit of fight in us. It was tough to watch some of young lads playing for county for 1st or 2nd time and they starting out with team in disarray-not enough leadership on field that settle game to take pressure off when it started to go away from us. Last week you could say Mayo had good more work done than us but Ros appointed manager at same time and we looked well off fitness levels. It was challenge game pace and like a McKenna cup team against another team few weeks from championship. Our defence was picked open at will. We started ok but alarming fade out. Thompson and Brennan showed ok in first half. At 6-5 we seemed to go loose ball in contact very easily and Roscommon picked us off. We don't look like getting at goal or into double figures points wise. Michael Langan looked well off it and was withdrawn at HT ( hope not injury) and with ban coming off it isn't looking any brighter. It's a team out of confidence- in second half big hugh won a good mark in front and kicked mark wide from straight in front about 25 yards out. It's just a team where it's all falling the wrong way. 4 weeks or so from championship and we in a bad place. Was listening to o'rourke and by sound of it just agreed to finish league. It tough medicine so close to championship but I'd draw a line under that management ticket and start afresh. It's not going to get better without big changes and quickly. DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 26/03/2023 19:59:08 2466883 Link 1 |
No manager could work with the defenders we have. Been saying it for for three years. Bonner got grief for playing Eoin MC Hugh corner back (he was vgood here) as quite simply we don't have defenders. People saying Mogan and Ryan MC Hugh are too light for half back and Push them up the field ? Grand , who goes in half back in their place ? Apart from Mc Cole who has the attributes of a county player , we are in deep bother.. TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 26/03/2023 20:07:38 2466889 Link 1 |
I suppose the writing was on the wall when about 10 minutes before throw in, when the stadium announcer came over the public address, seeking "anyone from the Donegal Management team make contact to let us know if there are any late changes to the Donegal line up". It brought the obvious reply from those present, after the late change to the management team. SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 777 - 26/03/2023 20:54:03 2466909 Link 0 |
Apparently it was the only vote held at Thursday night meeting approving 35k for training camp, we have no manager!! All this as the two pantomime villains sat up at the front and smirked their way through the majority of the meeting. Marvellous effort from our sheepish clubs, no wonder we have become the laughing stock of the GAA totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 26/03/2023 21:15:42 2466919 Link 2 |
Div 2 next season is going to be, Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3186 - 26/03/2023 21:17:45 2466920 Link 1 |
Hard luck Donegal. Build next year and make a rapid return like Dublin Jack L (None) - Posts: 3150 - 26/03/2023 21:44:47 2466930 Link 0 |
Where's this great talent that bonner and rochford were holding back last year.. not much noise from the armchair supporters now. I've followed Donegal all my life but I guarantee this if bonner and rochford were still in charge we would still be in division one and looking forward to the Ulster championship with a hope of winning it. . rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 26/03/2023 21:55:28 2466943 Link 1 |
Here we go again, the Bonner was doing a great job brigade, the I am a real Donegal supporter brigade, the talent is not there brigade, Bonner was working miracles brigade. Its getting boring at this stage kid. Move on. Bonner had his chance with murphy the best full forward in Ireland, and played him in midfield in ulster final, where his man scored 3 points. When we had no focal point in the forward line and couldn't break Derry down. The fact is we are a badly coached team at the moment that look miles off in terms of fitness and physical strength. That is nothing to do with talent and everything to do with pre season preparation. The fact is we have lost players in murphy, mcbrearty, the 3 o'donnells are county material. And i am sure i forgot others. The fact is the mess the county committee is making of everything, the whole Donegal gaa community is on a downer. But that may not change this year, but with a full squad, the right management team and the best possible preparation for pre season next year, we are more that capable of returning to Div 1. The sad news is there is very few great managers out there with that X factor, as we have seen post mcguinness The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 27/03/2023 07:17:22 2466954 Link 5 |
Is this all you do everyday is sit on this website? No malice or anything, just an honest question?
MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 27/03/2023 09:15:23 2466974 Link 4 |
I have to admit I was one of those that thought Declan should resign, nothing against him, really good guy but I just felt things had gone stale. However I never envisaged the fiasco in appointing his successor, I don't think anybody saw that coming. This year has been a reality check for myself and probably most of the supporters, we don't have new players coming through that are ready for inter county football due to lack of underage structures in previous years - the academy needs to be back up and running ASAP. Our club football doesn't produce county players either, its dull, slow and everybody is behind the ball. Where on earth do we go from here? I didn't post last week on the removal of Paddy Carr but what where the players thinking? Are they trying to appoint their own manager? Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1906 - 27/03/2023 10:03:25 2466981 Link 3 |