Donegal GAA thread

Replying To totalrecall:  "In relation to the academy debacle, there may have been a reluctance to engage in dialogue to resolve the issues at hand.. that is the first point I would make. In the second instance the whole problem may have arisen from people backtracking on a previous agreement. If the county board wants an academy it will cost money, it is time they got up off their backsides and actively cultivated the diaspora and other business sector elements to fund it. This could be done by engaging of successful business people or those in PR with a strong Donegal GAA connection. These people do exist, in Dublin, London, New York and further afield. I've heard figures of 250 to 400k to run the academy, small potatoes in the grand scheme of things. The issue is we have people with small minds others have mentioned on here they are serial committee goers who are not original thinkers or even have the nous to look at other counties and see what's working there"
Exactly. You see other counties organising big events in New York and the like. A wee bit of gumption and original thinking is lacking. What better way for example to reward the likes of Michael Murphy and Neil McGee for example, than to send them Stateside for a series of events as ambassadors for Donegal GAA? Have them tour the likes of Philly, Chicago, Boston and NY for a series of fund raising events coordinated by successful Donegal GAA diapsora...

That's just off the top of my head eating a sandwich here.
I know they did the house draw a while back, but in order to be successful you cannot rest on your laurels. If we're serious about running a successful academy it'll cost money so we need to be innovative and proactive.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9768 - 24/02/2023 14:16:12    2460008

Interesting stat to mull over when we talk about how inexperience is hurting us.When Mogan replaced McColgan we were leading .We know what happened after that.I am not blaming Mogan for the collapse but McColgan was definitely not to blame because he wasn't there.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1153 - 24/02/2023 15:44:51    2460026

Patton - 6th season
Curran - 2nd season
McCole - 6th season
Ward - 9th season
McColgan - 2nd season
McMenamin - 6th season
Ban - 8th season
McGonagle - 7th season
McGee - 8th season
O'Donnell - 5th season
O'Baoill - 6th season
Langan - 7th season
McFadden - 10th season
Gallon - 5th season
Brennan - 7th season

Mogan - 5th season

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 24/02/2023 16:18:47    2460030

Patton - 6th season
Curran - 2nd season
McCole - 6th season
Ward - 9th season
McColgan - 2nd season
McMenamin - 6th season
Ban - 8th season
McGonagle - 7th season
McGee - 8th season
O'Donnell - 5th season
O'Baoill - 6th season
Langan - 7th season
McFadden - 10th season
Gallon - 5th season
Brennan - 7th season

Mogan - 5th season

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 24/02/2023 16:22:41    2460032

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "not if we had 10 goes at them!"
Seriously. Are ye not in the exact same position we were last Sunday against Tyrone. Backs to the wall, some criticism after our defeat to the Rossies etc. In fairness to our guys they are a great group and stood tall last Sunday against a Tyrone team with plenty of their big names. Tbh if we get any kind of result from Letterkenny on Sunday I will be happy.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 24/02/2023 16:31:32    2460035

Replying To kiloughter:  "Seriously. Are ye not in the exact same position we were last Sunday against Tyrone. Backs to the wall, some criticism after our defeat to the Rossies etc. In fairness to our guys they are a great group and stood tall last Sunday against a Tyrone team with plenty of their big names. Tbh if we get any kind of result from Letterkenny on Sunday I will be happy."
Our biggest problem is that in the last two defeats, to Monaghan and Tyrone, two huge Ulster rivals, we didn't lay a glove on them. We didn't bring any physicality to either game, and let them cut through us like a knife through butter. Without the influence of Neil McGee and Michael we have developed a soft centre.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 783 - 24/02/2023 20:49:44    2460067

Replying To kiloughter:  "Seriously. Are ye not in the exact same position we were last Sunday against Tyrone. Backs to the wall, some criticism after our defeat to the Rossies etc. In fairness to our guys they are a great group and stood tall last Sunday against a Tyrone team with plenty of their big names. Tbh if we get any kind of result from Letterkenny on Sunday I will be happy."
Donegal don't do back to the wall. I'm not even talking about football here, but in general I've always found there to be an inherent defeatism in Donegal people. Almost like "ah look, sure there's the bad times back. This is why I didn't bother thinking about the good times because sooner or later the bad would be back".

Galway will win this game comfortably. From a Donegal perspective I'm just hoping to see us be a bit tighter and harder to break down. Good teams start by keeping the scores out, then from that foundation you build your own scores on top.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 24/02/2023 20:53:40    2460069

It's hard to know with us on this one, Letterkenny is an unlucky ground for us, Paddy is out injured, other lads just getting back from injury etc.
I can see the game staying close till around 50 mins or so, the last 20 will show were we are at fitness wise and if we can push on and win this one it will give everyone a great lift similar to the Kerry game.
If we lose then we are really staring down relegation.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3198 - 24/02/2023 21:39:20    2460073

Good win for minors today against TYrone. Anyday you beat TYrone at underage is a good result Probelms at Academy didnt do them any harm.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 478 - 25/02/2023 16:50:17    2460119

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Good win for minors today against TYrone. Anyday you beat TYrone at underage is a good result Probelms at Academy didnt do them any harm."
Big turnaround from a 4-10 - 0-15 point defeat last August.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 25/02/2023 17:01:33    2460121

Replying To ryan:  "Big turnaround from a 4-10 - 0-15 point defeat last August."
The u17 and u20 academy members agreed to stay with their teams as they had already started preparations for championship. Otherwise they would have gone too

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 271 - 25/02/2023 18:01:42    2460128

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "The u17 and u20 academy members agreed to stay with their teams as they had already started preparations for championship. Otherwise they would have gone too"
I see Lacey's own clubmate is the main organizer for the Academy Coaching Conference next month. Interesting....

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1203 - 25/02/2023 20:27:13    2460146

Replying To ryan:  "Big turnaround from a 4-10 - 0-15 point defeat last August."
good to get a win for a change

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 25/02/2023 20:40:45    2460149

Might as well give Sam to Mayo now they look unbeatable

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 25/02/2023 20:41:47    2460150

Tyrone were missing a lot of lads who were playing schools football. Basically a B team we bet today but a win none the less. Hopefully give the lads confidence and push on

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 25/02/2023 20:54:37    2460152

Replying To highdropingball:  "good to get a win for a change"
Means nothing. Minor league game against Tyrone's 2nd team. If its like the last few years under this manager, he'll have a squad of 33 and use about 20 of them, get a few wins early on against teams that are experimenting but ultimately lose out when it matters.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 637 - 25/02/2023 22:04:43    2460175

59 minutes gone not Donegal score in the past 30 minutes plus in another ruder less performance, no change in football style since Bonner left, static , pedestrian football that won't beat anyone of note

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1064 - 26/02/2023 13:51:29    2460241

The urgency we showed in the final 7/8 mins, where was that the entire second half until that point? That said, defensively better, more combative in middle third were all plus points. But our score rate is too low, even allowing for the time of year. Hard to know if that could be a very valuable point yet at the end or a point lost.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1416 - 26/02/2023 14:23:32    2460255

Think it's a point lost today tbh, very static upfront when on the ball and had not much luck today, two off the upright. Feel were not at full fitness yet and its really killing us with the style if ball we're adopting.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 26/02/2023 17:40:07    2460356

Can someone tell me this is not true. A man told me at game today that the 20's had no physio at last week's game v Sligo.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 683 - 26/02/2023 18:47:39    2460398