Donegal GAA thread

Roll on next year till we get our Ulster and an all Ireland semi final. That's the barometer for our next manager. Nothing less or il be on the case.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 18/07/2022 10:32:06    2432643

Just in case you think I'm not answering questions, I am but there not being posted. I hear there's going to be a fall out after Wednesday. The joys of inside knowledge.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 18/07/2022 11:55:32    2432678

Replying To rorysboys:  "Just in case you think I'm not answering questions, I am but there not being posted. I hear there's going to be a fall out after Wednesday. The joys of inside knowledge."
Take some time out - it would b great for you.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 18/07/2022 13:36:47    2432706

Replying To rorysboys:  "Just in case you think I'm not answering questions, I am but there not being posted. I hear there's going to be a fall out after Wednesday. The joys of inside knowledge."
Don't be so modest - it's the joys of being a shrewd GAA man John!

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 18/07/2022 13:47:07    2432712

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Take some time out - it would b great for you."
It worked for you. You were a bit silly a few years ago but your are the moderator on here now. Giving your words of wisdom. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 18/07/2022 13:57:51    2432717

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Don't be so modest - it's the joys of being a shrewd GAA man John!"
Your right there lad. An peiladoir is a modest name for you. No harm in thinking you are lad. It keeps the spirits up. The old heat still effecting you lad.have a nice day, John is off to the beach

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 18/07/2022 14:02:46    2432718

Replying To rorysboys:  "Your right there lad. An peiladoir is a modest name for you. No harm in thinking you are lad. It keeps the spirits up. The old heat still effecting you lad.have a nice day, John is off to the beach"
Maybe you should look up the word modest John. Enjoy the beach, I'm sure Dooey will be nice today.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 18/07/2022 15:18:56    2432751

Great piece on the democrats website this morning. Local media are being treated like demons. What, did Declan think Highland radio were going to grill him post Armagh? Any time he's ever been interviewed it has been soft touch, as the local media are terrified of losing access. They won't be there tomorrow night either.

Over a month now since the Armagh match and we are still in the dark as to the future of the senior county team, and not a peep from those we should be hearing from in that time. What other county would accept this circus?

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 19/07/2022 09:05:32    2432838

https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/863957/off-the-post-local-media-in-the-dark-as-managerial-issue-to-be-addressed.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook

An interesting article which makes a number of very valid points about how the County Board conducts its business.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 19/07/2022 09:24:03    2432841

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/863957/off-the-post-local-media-in-the-dark-as-managerial-issue-to-be-addressed.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook

An interesting article which makes a number of very valid points about how the County Board conducts its business."
This media ban is very peculiar. It's not the new leader of the Chinese Communist party they're discussing. A good point is made re: club delegates. Most club delegates attend with genuine intentions I'm sure, and can be trusted to vote according to the mandate given to them by their clubs. But we all know that in each and every club in the country there can be internal rivalries and agendas. By having the local media present a certain level of transparency is assured. The big question that the journalist asks, and indeed I would ask as well, is why the need for such secrecy?

Ireland 101 really. Say nothing....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 19/07/2022 09:51:00    2432852

Replying To papa_pump:  "Great piece on the democrats website this morning. Local media are being treated like demons. What, did Declan think Highland radio were going to grill him post Armagh? Any time he's ever been interviewed it has been soft touch, as the local media are terrified of losing access. They won't be there tomorrow night either.

Over a month now since the Armagh match and we are still in the dark as to the future of the senior county team, and not a peep from those we should be hearing from in that time. What other county would accept this circus?"
They don't need to be at county board meetings, club delegates are there to come back to there clubs and inform there members what happened at the meeting. No big deal we're acting like spoilt children as if any management and players who are amateurs are entitled to be at the call of all the local media. Most of the supporters showed there true worth by there attendance at the Armagh game. Most of them deserve nothing so fair play to management and players for there stance. Bonner will be there tomorrow night ask him all the questions yous want , I'm damn sure some of the posters on here will be there so it's a perfect opportunity. Ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 19/07/2022 10:12:59    2432857

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/863957/off-the-post-local-media-in-the-dark-as-managerial-issue-to-be-addressed.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook

An interesting article which makes a number of very valid points about how the County Board conducts its business."
A lot of debate on whether Bonner should stay or not, and understandably so.

What is of more concern is what is happening above hope as it has a far ranging impact on the county as a whole and fair play for the Democrat for highlighting it.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 19/07/2022 10:20:50    2432858

Replying To rorysboys:  "They don't need to be at county board meetings, club delegates are there to come back to there clubs and inform there members what happened at the meeting. No big deal we're acting like spoilt children as if any management and players who are amateurs are entitled to be at the call of all the local media. Most of the supporters showed there true worth by there attendance at the Armagh game. Most of them deserve nothing so fair play to management and players for there stance. Bonner will be there tomorrow night ask him all the questions yous want , I'm damn sure some of the posters on here will be there so it's a perfect opportunity. Ha"
How much are they paying you lad? Couldn't be enough for the amount of PR you're doing.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 19/07/2022 10:21:46    2432860

Replying To rorysboys:  "They don't need to be at county board meetings, club delegates are there to come back to there clubs and inform there members what happened at the meeting. No big deal we're acting like spoilt children as if any management and players who are amateurs are entitled to be at the call of all the local media. Most of the supporters showed there true worth by there attendance at the Armagh game. Most of them deserve nothing so fair play to management and players for there stance. Bonner will be there tomorrow night ask him all the questions yous want , I'm damn sure some of the posters on here will be there so it's a perfect opportunity. Ha"
Do club delegates accurately report everything back though? I'd have my doubts.
Having professional journalists there ensures that nothing is missed and the general public is kept abreast of all developments. Like it or not rorysboys we are all stakeholders in the well being of Donegal GAA as well.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 19/07/2022 10:32:35    2432863

Replying To papa_pump:  "How much are they paying you lad? Couldn't be enough for the amount of PR you're doing."
I'm entitled to my opinion as well. You disagree with every thing I say.. just because you have an opinion doesn't mean your right.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 19/07/2022 10:44:53    2432866

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Do club delegates accurately report everything back though? I'd have my doubts.
Having professional journalists there ensures that nothing is missed and the general public is kept abreast of all developments. Like it or not rorysboys we are all stakeholders in the well being of Donegal GAA as well."
If we're all stakeholders in the well being of Donegal gaa it's about time we showed it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 19/07/2022 10:50:30    2432869

Replying To Lockjaw:  "This media ban is very peculiar. It's not the new leader of the Chinese Communist party they're discussing. A good point is made re: club delegates. Most club delegates attend with genuine intentions I'm sure, and can be trusted to vote according to the mandate given to them by their clubs. But we all know that in each and every club in the country there can be internal rivalries and agendas. By having the local media present a certain level of transparency is assured. The big question that the journalist asks, and indeed I would ask as well, is why the need for such secrecy?

Ireland 101 really. Say nothing...."
The author, Gerry McLaughlin, although an Erne Gaels, Belleek clubman, and a respected GAA man, would have a wealth of knowledge of the County Board Chairman

The article rightly mentions when the press are present, you may have an element of grandstanding by some delegates. But on the other side of that coin, when held in camera, many delegates could be under pressure not to raise their hand, to ask the question that needs to be asked. Also, and I've seen it myself at meetings, you try to raise a point, but the Chair will rule it out of order. At least in those circumstances the intention of the delegate may reach the outside world, and maybe improved upon for the next occasion.

Personally, I would be worried about how business is being conducted, at a time when we are at a crossroads.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 19/07/2022 10:56:04    2432873

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm entitled to my opinion as well. You disagree with every thing I say.. just because you have an opinion doesn't mean your right."
If I make a point and someone comes along to make a better point, I'll gladly stand down. At the end of the day I'd rather be right than self righteous.

With that said, when someone's 'opinions' are along the lines of "my predictions are always right, you'll see" and "I'm the most knowledgeable poster on here", then it's hard to think of a poster like that as anything other than a troll. So yes you're entitled to your opinion but don't expect me to respect it.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 19/07/2022 11:11:02    2432883

Replying To rorysboys:  "If we're all stakeholders in the well being of Donegal gaa it's about time we showed it."
Going to county matches is only a small part of being a stakeholder in Donegal GAA. The bread and butter stuff of coaching the kids, organising blitzes, selling the club lotto tickets etc is more important than traipsing to Clones to watch a team which if we're being honest here, was a beaten docket under current management.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 19/07/2022 11:13:56    2432885

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Going to county matches is only a small part of being a stakeholder in Donegal GAA. The bread and butter stuff of coaching the kids, organising blitzes, selling the club lotto tickets etc is more important than traipsing to Clones to watch a team which if we're being honest here, was a beaten docket under current management."
We all help out our clubs well I hope most of yous do. A lot of yous have plenty of opinions on the Donegal team, yet you say a lot more important things than going to clones to watch as you say a beaten docket under current management.
Your the last person I expected to come out with tripe like that. Just sums most of yous up, we'll only go to clones if we have a good team. As I said before most of yous deserve nothing and I'm delighted mgt and players have taken the stance they have.. don't waste your time attacking me lads I'm sure yous could be out selling lotto s and coaching a few kids. Sure it's only the senior team and nobody cares yet we can talk plenty about it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 19/07/2022 11:30:22    2432890