Longford GAA thread

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "When he was on the ground Kelly said he touched the ball on the ground ."
I think it was the umpire who made the call as Kelly went in to talk to him first before making a call. I suppose that's a good possibility as to why it was disallowed.....I was too far away to see that.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 162 - 11/08/2024 18:03:00    2564622

Replying To Frank74:  "I think it was the umpire who made the call as Kelly went in to talk to him first before making a call. I suppose that's a good possibility as to why it was disallowed.....I was too far away to see that."
Possibly ye. Cracking game all the same

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 428 - 11/08/2024 18:14:52    2564625

Replying To Frank74:  "I think it was the umpire who made the call as Kelly went in to talk to him first before making a call. I suppose that's a good possibility as to why it was disallowed.....I was too far away to see that."
He didn't handle it on the ground lads. Goal should have stood.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 11/08/2024 18:32:45    2564627

Replying To williesboy:  "He didn't handle it on the ground lads. Goal should have stood."
Have to see again which we can't not sure maybe it wasn't umpire did make call that said with one point game maybe it is controversial but Clonguish should have not been as complacent and fair mullinaghta take advantage and come back.

On view I thought it was but who knows maybe wasn't. Big two games now for Clonguish

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 428 - 11/08/2024 19:02:30    2564631

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Have to see again which we can't not sure maybe it wasn't umpire did make call that said with one point game maybe it is controversial but Clonguish should have not been as complacent and fair mullinaghta take advantage and come back.

On view I thought it was but who knows maybe wasn't. Big two games now for Clonguish"
I watched it on clubber so I have the benefit of rewatching it and it was the umpire that didn't give it. Yea massive 2 games for everyone in the group. You would think abbey are through after that win this evening.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 11/08/2024 19:23:57    2564638

Replying To williesboy:  "Lyons is still there. Don't get carried away with a big win over Kenagh"
Very true. just Didn't expect to see them top of table after 3 games. Fair play to him. Must be doing good work there

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 301 - 11/08/2024 19:41:41    2564643

Replying To williesboy:  "I watched it on clubber so I have the benefit of rewatching it and it was the umpire that didn't give it. Yea massive 2 games for everyone in the group. You would think abbey are through after that win this evening."
Fair enough . Just thought umpire told referee but suppose ref had the decision.

Anyway good game clonguish can't just be annoyed over this then were ahead and let it slip

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 428 - 11/08/2024 21:27:52    2564666

I see a 3 team amalgamation won the minor league. Am I really to believe Ballymahon can't put 15 minor players out on the pitch ? If Clonguish can do it Ballymahon can do it.

Hitachi (Longford) - Posts: 15 - 14/08/2024 13:23:06    2565080

Replying To Hitachi:  "I see a 3 team amalgamation won the minor league. Am I really to believe Ballymahon can't put 15 minor players out on the pitch ? If Clonguish can do it Ballymahon can do it."
Numbers . Not every team has numbers like some. Maybe they should have but they dont

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 428 - 14/08/2024 14:26:38    2565085

Replying To Hitachi:  "I see a 3 team amalgamation won the minor league. Am I really to believe Ballymahon can't put 15 minor players out on the pitch ? If Clonguish can do it Ballymahon can do it."
Clonguish won the minor league on Monday night, beating Killoe in Clonee.
Ballymahon/Forgney/Carrickedmond/Legan won the shield.
Clonguish beat that amalgamation team 5-22 to 0-02 in the league.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 162 - 14/08/2024 15:09:15    2565095

Replying To Frank74:  "Clonguish won the minor league on Monday night, beating Killoe in Clonee.
Clonguish beat that amalgamation team 5-22 to 0-02 in the league."
True

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 428 - 14/08/2024 15:40:50    2565101

Replying To Frank74:  "Clonguish won the minor league on Monday night, beating Killoe in Clonee.
Clonguish beat that amalgamation team 5-22 to 0-02 in the league."
... and that amalgamation beat Slashers by 5-9 to 0-3 in the shield semi-final!

The Clonguish group in Division 1 had 4 teams. Clonguish beat Killoe by 3, Ballymahon Forgney/Carrick Sarsfields by 35 and Clonbroney/Wolfe Tones by 28. The top 2 from the two groups then played the semi, with Killoe beating Granard by 5 and Clonguish beating Colmcille/Dromard by 21. So in Minor there is Clonguish, Killoe and Granard, and then a massive gulf back to everyone else. Killoe stayed in it well for the first half the other night, but Clonguish came strong in second half and that was that.

Minor Championship will probably be a repeat of the league final. If Clonguish win it they will be the first to do 4 in a row. If Killoe win it will be their first in 6 years.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 541 - 14/08/2024 16:30:57    2565117

Means absolutely nothing at minor level, lads go to college / work after school and football can become a second thought. They'll head abroad for J1s and what not and before you know it they've missed a season and development has stalled. A minor team from this season may only have 2/3 players regularly featuring on a senior squad in the next 3/4 years. With more and more emigrating Longford will become weaker and weaker over the next few years

BallWatching (Longford) - Posts: 11 - 15/08/2024 09:40:21    2565193

Replying To BallWatching:  "Means absolutely nothing at minor level, lads go to college / work after school and football can become a second thought. They'll head abroad for J1s and what not and before you know it they've missed a season and development has stalled. A minor team from this season may only have 2/3 players regularly featuring on a senior squad in the next 3/4 years. With more and more emigrating Longford will become weaker and weaker over the next few years"
I don't agree that it means nothing. It isn't a guarantee of future success, but it is a big contributor. Between 2005 and 2018 Killoe and Northern Gaels won 10 of the 14 Minor Championships while in Juvenile they won 9 of the 14 Juvenile Championships and 9 of the 14 U-14 Championships in that period. It's no coincidence that both clubs then won 9 of the last 10 senior championships. Underage and particularly Minor was a big part of that.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 541 - 15/08/2024 10:48:09    2565209

Hard to know really who will win championship.

Killoe haven't really jumped out yet, but they're winning games easily enough without doing that.

Abbeylara look good but I think the second group may be unlucky based off how much they will have to work before things really kick off. 3 teams from killoe's group to get to the semis, killoe, Colmcille, Granard

Rockshorecider (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 18/08/2024 21:31:45    2565726

Replying To Rockshorecider:  "Hard to know really who will win championship.

Killoe haven't really jumped out yet, but they're winning games easily enough without doing that.

Abbeylara look good but I think the second group may be unlucky based off how much they will have to work before things really kick off. 3 teams from killoe's group to get to the semis, killoe, Colmcille, Granard"
Not convinced granard make it tight battles may help other group I think k 2 will make. I am saying mullinaghta if get some players back possibly out group 2 maybe Abbeylara and Kiloe colmcile but who knows .

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 428 - 18/08/2024 23:26:43    2565736

Expecting clonguish to win very easy this weekend. Dromard probably have the oldest team in the championship and don't seem to be playing atall well

drunkensailor (Longford) - Posts: 83 - 20/08/2024 13:50:35    2565989

Replying To drunkensailor:  "Expecting clonguish to win very easy this weekend. Dromard probably have the oldest team in the championship and don't seem to be playing atall well"
Dromard have a win and a draw against two teams that Clonguish failed to beat. How could Dromard be anything other than favourites, Clonguish have stuttered through the championship and don't look like producing too much apart from that good first half against Mullinalaghta when they had a goal wrongly ruled out. Dromard should have beaten Clonguish last year and will win a tight game this Sunday in my opinion

Clonbonnyrabbitt (Longford) - Posts: 37 - 20/08/2024 14:36:38    2566008

Dromard have been getting results, clonguish haven't

Rockshorecider (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 20/08/2024 16:05:09    2566028

Replying To drunkensailor:  "Expecting clonguish to win very easy this weekend. Dromard probably have the oldest team in the championship and don't seem to be playing atall well"
Hahaha..... nothing like a deliberately triggering comment to stir up the chat on this sleepy forum as of late!

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 32 - 20/08/2024 17:57:12    2566051